DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 02/03/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-13, 15-16 and 18-24 are pending.
Claims 5, 11, 14 and 17 are canceled.
Claims 21-24 are added new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/03/2026 with respect to claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-13, 15-16 and 18-24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 1 which now includes limitation from now include previously presented claim 5, the Applicant presented argument that Miedema is not analogous art per MPEP 2141.0l(a). The invention that is recited in amended claim 1 pertains to field of control systems …… Miedema is in the field of networking equipment ….. associated provisioning architectures, and addresses the problem of how to provision line/switch modules by using a server-based microservices architecture and associated web user interface. Therefore Miedema is not analogous and the "reassignment" of cards/modules into different slots as described in Miedema is not performed by anything analogous to the gateway device as recited in claim 1. (REMARKS, Pages 10, 11)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner presents, as the Applicant explains and amended claim 1, and similarly claims 10 and 16, characterize a gateway device or system as a communication equipment communicating in a control system network which is interpreted similar to a communication network as illustrated by Miedema Fig. 1 System 100 and Figs.2A-2B communication equipment 200c.
Further the Examiner notes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case the problem of the problem of reassignment of cards in a communication equipment of a network using web browser as client is being addressed by both the instant application and Miedema. Therefore, from the use case perspective Miedema is analogous.
Now, Miedema discloses
Fig. 2G, [0029] Referring to FIG. 2G, in one or more embodiments, system 218 can comprise administration personnel 200h interacting with a client user interface 218a running on personal computing device 200g. The client user interface 218a can comprise a web browser and can be used to provision communication equipment 200c as shown in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B. The web browser can comprise a first drop down menu to configure a card/module for slot 1. The administration personnel 200h can click the arrow such that the web browser can request sample data for the parameter (i.e., the different cards/modules available to be provisioned in slot 1 …… Further, the administration personnel can click the part number of a card/ module (e.g., XX-01) that can be provisioned in slot 1. In addition, the web browser can comprise a second drop down menu to configure a card/module for slot 2 ….. the available part numbers of the cards/module available to be provisioned in slot 2 given that the card/module associated with part number XX-01 has been provisioned in slot 2. Further, the administration personnel can click the part number of a card/ module (e.g., XX-03) that can be provisioned in slot 2.
From [0029] and Fig. 2G it is obvious that a card/ module can be assigned and reassigned to any of the different identified slots using a web browser.
Therefore, the combination of Papadopoulos and Miedema teach amended claim 1.
Accordingly claim 1 and similarly claims 10 and 16 are rejected.
Dependent claims, being dependent on claims 1, 10 and 16, are also rejected for the same reason as above..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papadopoulos et al. (US 6061603 A, of record, hereinafter 'PAPADOPOULOS') in view of Miedema; D. (US 20230319150 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘MIEDEMA’).
Regarding claim 1, PAPADOPOULOS teaches a gateway device (Fig. 1 system with Internet web site 4,
Col 3 Lines 34-36:
FIG. 1 shows an overview block diagram of typical system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6), comprising:
a first communication port that is configured to be connected to an input/output system communication bus of a first distributed control system (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-59:
…… system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6.
The web site 4 includes a network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18, a server 20, and an application program 22. The server 20 acts as the HTTP interpreter which uses TCP in conjunction with IP, through TCP/IP stack 24 to interact with the network interface 16 and the application program 22. This enables the data transfer between the application program 22 and the user 2 through the Internet 14.
See also Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Network Interface 16 for communication over Internet 14,
Col 4 Lines 11-50, :
The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30…… the user can disable the web server 30. A password and user list is provided in initial configuration files stored in the web server 30 that are downloaded from a remote server….. The web server 30 provides both a client and server interface…. The client interface allows a user to send commands to a remote node over the Internet
Using a web browser at a remote location through the Internet 14, a user can control and view configuration information of the PLC 32.);
a second communication port that is configured to be connected to a controller of a second distributed control system (
Fig. 1 Port connecting Process Control System,
Col 3 Lines 52-59:
The web site 4 includes a network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18, a server 20, and an application program 22 ….. The application program provides data from the process control system 6.
See also Fig. 2 Port connected to Backplane which is connected to I/O Devices 40,
Web Site 4 with Connection to Backplane 34 which is connected to PLC 32, Application Program 36, I/O Devices 40,
Col 11-50:
…..The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30. ……The web server 30 provides a direct connection for a programmable logic controller (PLC) 32 to the Internet 14 by plugging the web server 30 into its back plane 34. ….
Associated with the PLC 32 are its application programs 36, dual port memory 38 and I/O devices 40. …..);
a processor, and a memory that includes program code for causing the processor to (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Server 20,
Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Web Server 30
Fig. 3 Web Server 30 with CPU 46, Operating System 44, Ethernet Driver 48 with Memory 52,
Col 4 Lines 51-62:
A real time operating system 44 controls the interaction between the components. The operating system 44 allocates central processor (CPU) 46 to various tasks, provides memory management, and provides a set of message services and signal services. The message and signal services allow for communication between tasks, and between drivers and a task. Connection to the TCP/IP network 42 is through an Ethernet driver 48 which transmits and receives messages over Ethernet via an Ethernet communication chip such as an AM79C961.):
send and receive communications to and from the input/output system via a first communication protocol (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-36, 61-64:
…… system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6.
…. The TCP/IP stack 24 enables data transfers over the Internet 14 between the user 2 and the web site 4…
See also Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Web Server 30, and Network Interface 16 and Internet 14;
Fig. 3 Web Server Module 30 with Ethernet Driver 48 with Network 42,
(Construed that Web Server 30 with Ethernet Driver 48 provides communication with user at a remote node via Network 42 using TCP/IP equivalent to a first protocol));
send and receive communications to and from the controller via a second protocol that is different from the first protocol (
Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Web Server 30, and PLC 32 with I/O Devices 40 and Application Program 36 on Backplane 34.
Fig. 3 Web Server Module 30 with Backplane Driver 56 and Ethernet Driver 48,
Col 5, lines 24-43:
The TCP/IP network 42 allows special MSTR (master) functions that allow nodes on the network to initiate message transactions. These MSTR functions include reading and writing data and are used for commands and responses. They allow programs running in the PLC 32 to send commands to a remote node on the TCP/IP network 42 and receive the responses A back plane driver 56 sends commands and receives the response to the PLC 32 over the back plane 34.
The back plane driver 56 receives request from the PLC's ladder logic MSTR blocks stored in its memory 38. When a response is available, the back plane driver 56 passes it back to the MSTR block….. The client task 58 allows an application to receive a new MSTR request, and pass back the response to the ladder logic program.
(Construed that Web Server 30 with Backplane Driver 56 provides communication with PLC 32 with I/O Devices 40 using ladder logic program equivalent to a second protocol)); and
host a web application that permits configuration of the gateway device via a web browser (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-47:
FIG. 1 shows an overview block diagram of typical system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6. The user 2 will have a personal computer (PC) 8 having a commercially available browser 10, such as Netscape Communication's Navigator or Microsoft's Internet Explorer, installed for viewing the contents at the web site 4 by a monitor 12.
Col 3 Line 67 - Col 4 Lines 13-25:
The Web site 4 will display a home page which may contain text, some type of multimedia offerings such as graphic images, video, or audio, and possible hypertext links to other documents. The browser 10 will allow the user 2 to read the page and interact with the choices associated with it. ….The browser 10 functions as a remote human-machine interface or HMI control of the process control system as will be detailed below.
The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30. The web server 30 provides the home page for the website. ….. In addition to providing security for various pages at the site, the user can disable the web server 30. A password and user list is provided in initial configuration files stored in the web server 30 that are downloaded from a remote server ….
(Construed that Web Site 4, or the Gateway device, hosting Web Server 30 permits initial configuration through home page by User 2 using Browser 10)).
PAPADOPOULOS does not explicitly disclose receive an instruction from the web browser for reassigning an input/output card connected to the input/output system to a second location in the input/output system from a first location in the input/output system; and reassign the input/output card in accordance with the instruction received from the web browser.
In an analogous art, MIEDEMA teaches disclose receive an instruction from the web browser for reassigning an input/output card connected to the input/output system to a second location in the input/output system from a first location in the input/output system; and reassign the input/output card in accordance with the instruction received from the web browser (
Fig. 1, System 100, [0016] System 100 can include one or more platforms 180 for providing communication to end user device(s) 105 by way of communication network 125.
Fig. 2A communication equipment 200c,
Fig. 2B with Line Modules 205 or I/O cards in communication equipment 200c,
Fig. 2G, [0029] Referring to FIG. 2G, in one or more embodiments, system 218 can comprise administration personnel 200h interacting with a client user interface 218a running on personal computing device 200g. The client user interface 218a can comprise a web browser and can be used to provision communication equipment 200c as shown in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B. The web browser can comprise a first drop down menu to configure a card/module for slot 1. The administration personnel 200h can click the arrow such that the web browser can request sample data for the parameter (i.e., the different cards/modules available to be provisioned in slot 1 …… Further, the administration personnel can click the part number of a card/ module (e.g., XX-01) that can be provisioned in slot 1. In addition, the web browser can comprise a second drop down menu to configure a card/module for slot 2 ….. the available part numbers of the cards/module available to be provisioned in slot 2 given that the card/module associated with part number XX-01 has been provisioned in slot 2. Further, the administration personnel can click the part number of a card/ module (e.g., XX-03) that can be provisioned in slot 2.
(From [0029] and Fig. 2G it is obvious that a card/ module can be assigned and reassigned to any of the different identified slots using a web browser)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of card provisioning/assigning/reassigning Line Modules or I/O cards of MIEDEMA to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS in order to take the advantage of a method for web based client user interfaces that can be used to provision microservices on communication equipment utilized in a communication network providing possible and valid configuration options such as through use of generic interfaces in a distributed microservice, presenting sample data on a display (MIEDEMA: [0003, 0011]).
Regarding claim 2, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of MIEDEMA, teaches the gateway device of claim 1, wherein the program code for causing the processor to host the web application includes program code for causing the processor to generate a configuration file that is downloadable to the second distributed control system (
Col 2 Lines 56-67:
The Web interface provides access to the PLC back plane by a user at a remote location through the Internet. The interface translates the industry standard Ethernet, TCP/IP and HTTP protocols used on the Internet into data recognizable to the PLC. Using this interface, the user can retrieve all pertinent data regarding the operation of the PLC, including PLC configuration, I/O and register status, operating statistics, diagnostics, and distributed I/O configurations. Updates to operating software can also be downloaded through the Internet access.
Fig. 2, Col 4 Lines 4-10, 45-50:
The browser 10 will allow the user 2 to read the page and interact with the choices associated with it. The browser 10 will send commands to the Web site 4 which will use the application program 22 to display whatever information is available from the process control system 6. The browser 10 functions as a remote human-machine interface or HMI control of the process control system as will be detailed below.
…….. Using a web browser at a remote location through the Internet 14, a user can control and view configuration information of the PLC 32.
(Construed user 2 with Web Site 4 can control or configure PLC 32, generating and downloading control information or file for PLC 32)).
Regarding claim 3, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of MIEDEMA, teaches the gateway device of claim 1, wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive a configuration file from the web browser; and
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to use the configuration file to send and receive the communications to and from the input/output system in accordance with the configuration file (
See Col 2 Lines 56-67 cited above for Claim 2.
Fig. 1, Col 4 Lines 4-10:
The browser 10 will allow the user 2 to read the page and interact with the choices associated with it. The browser 10 will send commands to the Web site 4 which will use the application program 22 to display whatever information is available from the process control system 6. The browser 10 functions as a remote human-machine interface or HMI control of the process control system as will be detailed below.
Fig. 2, Col 4 Lines 45-50:
…….. Using a web browser at a remote location through the Internet 14, a user can control and view configuration information of the PLC 32.).
Regarding claim 7, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of MIEDEMA, teaches the gateway device of claim 1.
PAPADOPOULOS does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive a configuration for a second input/output card of the input/output system from the web browser; and
the configuration for the second input/output card of the input/output system is a clone of a first input/output card of the input/output system.
MIEDEMA teaches wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive a configuration for a second input/output card of the input/output system from the web browser, and the configuration for the second input/output card of the input/output system is a clone of a first input/output card of the input/output system (
See Fig. 2B with Line Modules 205 or I/O cards in communication equipment 200c, [0029] as cited for claim 5,
(It is obvious that MIEDEMA indicating administration personnel or user using web browser can provisioned with same type of line cards XX-01 or clones in slot 1 and slot 2 if user chooses to do so)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of card provisioning/assigning/reassigning Line Modules or I/O cards of MIEDEMA to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS in order to take the advantage of a method for web based client user interfaces that can be used to provision microservices on communication equipment utilized in a communication network providing possible and valid configuration options such as through use of generic interfaces in a distributed microservice, presenting sample data on a display (MIEDEMA: [0003, 0011]).
Regarding claim 16, PAPADOPOULOS teaches a method for integrating an input/output system of a first distributed control system into a second distributed control system (Fig. 1 system with Internet web site 4,
Col 3 Lines 34-36:
FIG. 1 shows an overview block diagram of typical system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6), the method comprising:
establishing a first connection to the input/output system of the first distributed control system via a first communication port of a gateway system (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with port/interface Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-59:
…… system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6.
The web site 4 includes a network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18, a server 20, and an application program 22. The server 20 acts as the HTTP interpreter which uses TCP in conjunction with IP, through TCP/IP stack 24 to interact with the network interface 16 and the application program 22. This enables the data transfer between the application program 22 and the user 2 through the Internet 14.
See also Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Network Interface 16 for communication over Internet 14,
Col 4 Lines 11-50, :
The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30…… the user can disable the web server 30. A password and user list is provided in initial configuration files stored in the web server 30 that are downloaded from a remote server….. The web server 30 provides both a client and server interface…. The client interface allows a user to send commands to a remote node over the Internet
Using a web browser at a remote location through the Internet 14, a user can control and view configuration information of the PLC 32.);
establishing a second connection to a controller system of the second distributed control system via a second communication port of the gateway system (
Fig. 1 Port/Interface connecting Process Control System,
Col 3 Lines 52-59:
The web site 4 includes a network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18, a server 20, and an application program 22 ….. The application program provides data from the process control system 6.
See also Fig. 2 Port connected to Backplane which is connected to I/O Devices 40,
Web Site 4 with Connection to Backplane 34 which is connected to PLC 32, Application Program 36, I/O Devices 40,
Col 11-50:
…..The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30. ……The web server 30 provides a direct connection for a programmable logic controller (PLC) 32 to the Internet 14 by plugging the web server 30 into its back plane 34. ….
Associated with the PLC 32 are its application programs 36, dual port memory 38 and I/O devices 40. …..);
hosting, by the gateway system, a web application that permits a configuration of the gateway system via a web browser (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-47:
FIG. 1 shows an overview block diagram of typical system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6. The user 2 will have a personal computer (PC) 8 having a commercially available browser 10, such as Netscape Communication's Navigator or Microsoft's Internet Explorer, installed for viewing the contents at the web site 4 by a monitor 12.
Col 3 Line 67 - Col 4 Lines 13-25:
The Web site 4 will display a home page which may contain text, some type of multimedia offerings such as graphic images, video, or audio, and possible hypertext links to other documents. The browser 10 will allow the user 2 to read the page and interact with the choices associated with it. ….The browser 10 functions as a remote human-machine interface or HMI control of the process control system as will be detailed below.
The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30. The web server 30 provides the home page for the website. ….. In addition to providing security for various pages at the site, the user can disable the web server 30. A password and user list is provided in initial configuration files stored in the web server 30 that are downloaded from a remote server ….
(Construed that Web Site 4, or the Gateway device, hosting Web Server 30 permits initial configuration through home page by User 2 using Browser 10));
receiving communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system via the first communication port of the gateway system based on the configuration of the gateway system via the web browser (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-36, 61-64:
…… system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6.
…. The TCP/IP stack 24 enables data transfers over the Internet 14 between the user 2 and the web site 4…
See also Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Web Server 30, and Network Interface 16 and Internet 14;
Fig. 3 Web Server Module 30 with Ethernet Driver 48 with Network 42,
(Construed that Web Server 30 with Ethernet Driver 48 provides communication with user at a remote node via Network 42 using TCP/IP)); and
sending the communications received from the input/output system of the first distributed control system to the controller system of the second distributed control system via the second communication port of the gateway system based on the configuration of the gateway system via the web browser such that the controller system can use the communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system to control equipment in the second distributed control system based on the communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system (
Col 3 Lines 33-64:
FIG. 1 shows an overview block diagram of typical system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6. The user 2 will have a personal computer (PC) 8 having a commercially available browser 10, such as Netscape Communication's Navigator or Microsoft's Internet Explorer, installed for viewing the contents at the web site 4 by a monitor 12. The PC provides a remote human-machine interface (HMI) to the process control system 6. Various interconnection services are readily available to provide the physical and electrical interconnection from the PC to the Internet 14 itself. …..
The web site 4 includes a network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18, a server 20, and an application program 22. The server 20 acts as the HTTP interpreter which uses TCP in conjunction with IP, through TCP/IP stack 24 to interact with the network interface 16 and the application program 22. This enables the data transfer between the application program 22 and the user 2 through the Internet 14. The application program provides data from the process control system 6. This data can be used to monitor the control process by the user 2 at the remote location.
Fig. 2, Col 4 Line 11-39:
The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30. The web server 30 provides the home page for the website. A firewall or security for the overall system can be included in the Web server 30, but is generally maintained as part of the network interface 16. In addition to providing security for various pages at the site, the user can disable the web server 30. …….. The web server 30 provides a direct connection for a programmable logic controller (PLC) 32 to the Internet 14 by plugging the web server 30 into its back plane 34. The web server 30 provides both a client and server interface. All signals between the PLC 32 and the web server 30 are through the back plane 34. ……. The client interface allows a user to send commands to a remote node over the Internet and the server interface allows for processing commands that originated from a remote node. Controlling the PLC 32 from a remote HMI, essentially on a real time basis is possible by controlling the data flow through the web server 30.
Fig. 3 Web Server Module 30 with Backplane Driver 56 and Ethernet Driver 48,
Col 5, lines 24-43:
The TCP/IP network 42 allows special MSTR (master) functions that allow nodes on the network to initiate message transactions. These MSTR functions include reading and writing data and are used for commands and responses. They allow programs running in the PLC 32 to send commands to a remote node on the TCP/IP network 42 and receive the responses A back plane driver 56 sends commands and receives the response to the PLC 32 over the back plane 34.
The back plane driver 56 receives request from the PLC's ladder logic MSTR blocks stored in its memory 38. When a response is available, the back plane driver 56 passes it back to the MSTR block….. The client task 58 allows an application to receive a new MSTR request, and pass back the response to the ladder logic program. ).
PAPADOPOULOS does not explicitly disclose receiving an instruction from the web browser for reassigning an input/output card of the input/output system to a second location in the input/output system from a first location in the input/output system;
reassigning, by the gateway system, the input/output card in accordance with the instruction received from the web browser.
In an analogous art, MIEDEMA teaches receiving an instruction from the web browser for reassigning an input/output card of the input/output system to a second location in the input/output system from a first location in the input/output system, reassigning, by the gateway system, the input/output card in accordance with the instruction received from the web browser (
Fig. 1, System 100, [0016] System 100 can include one or more platforms 180 for providing communication to end user device(s) 105 by way of communication network 125.
Fig. 2A communication equipment 200c,
Fig. 2B with Line Modules 205 or I/O cards in communication equipment 200c, [0029] Referring to FIG. 2G, in one or more embodiments, system 218 can comprise administration personnel 200h interacting with a client user interface 218a running on personal computing device 200g. The client user interface 218a can comprise a web browser and can be used to provision communication equipment 200c as shown in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B. The web browser can comprise a first drop down menu to configure a card/module for slot 1. The administration personnel 200h can click the arrow such that the web browser can request sample data for the parameter (i.e., the different cards/modules available to be provisioned in slot 1 …… Further, the administration personnel can click the part number of a card/ module (e.g., XX-01) that can be provisioned in slot 1. In addition, the web browser can comprise a second drop down menu to configure a card/module for slot 2 ….. the available part numbers of the cards/module available to be provisioned in slot 2 given that the card/module associated with part number XX-01 has been provisioned in slot 2. Further, the administration personnel can click the part number of a card/ module (e.g., XX-03) that can be provisioned in slot 2.
(From [0029] and Fig. 2G it is obvious that a card/ module can be assigned and reassigned to any of the different identified slots using a web browser)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of card provisioning/assigning/reassigning Line Modules or I/O cards of MIEDEMA to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS in order to take the advantage of a method for web based client user interfaces that can be used to provision microservices on communication equipment utilized in a communication network providing possible and valid configuration options such as through use of generic interfaces in a distributed microservice, presenting sample data on a display (MIEDEMA: [0003, 0011]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papadopoulos et al. (US 6061603 A, hereinafter 'PAPADOPOULOS') in view of Miedema; D. (US 20230319150 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘MIEDEMA’) and with further in view of Ansari et al. (US 20200013492 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘ANSARI’).
Regarding claim 4, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of MIEDEMA, teaches the gateway device of claim 1.
PAPADOPOULOS and MIEDEMA do not explicitly disclose wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive a software update for the gateway device from the web browser; and
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to install the software update for the gateway device based on an instruction received from the web browser.
In an analogous art, ANSARI teaches wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive a software update for the gateway device from the web browser, and the memory includes program code for causing the processor to install the software update for the gateway device based on an instruction received from the web browser (
Fig. 1 A, Gateway Appliance 10, [0044] FIG. 1A, the present invention is a next-generation multi-services residential gateway appliance 10, also referred to herein as “the appliance”, ….. connectivity is required between the appliance 10 and a network operations support infrastructure or service center (SC) 50 described in further detail herein below and that is particularly enabled to support the next-generation multi-service applications gateway appliance.
[0045] As shown in FIG. 1A, secure connectivity to the service center 50 is provided, in one embodiment, via a wide area networks (WAN) interface such as Ethernet WAN 53 over a broadband connection via the public Internet 99 …. the service center 50 generally provides a secure IP-based communications and processing infrastructure for supporting the variety of services and applications and communications residing at multiple gateway devices 10.sub.1, . . . 10n…..
[0047] That is, the gateway appliance interfaces with digital endpoint devices including, but not limited to: a home automation networking device 20 (e.g., X10, Z-Wave or ZigBee) for wired or wireless home network automation and control of networked home devices …… the gateway appliance includes both a hardware and software infrastructure….
Fig. 2B, [0050] The composition of the premises gateway appliance 10 according to the present invention is now described in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 2A-2C….
[0051] as shown in FIG. 2B, a base support layer 102 comprises essential hardware components including a processor device 152, e.g., a system on chip central processing unit (“CPU”) that includes processing elements, digital signal processor resources, and memory. ……the above-identified computer readable media provide non-volatile storage of computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules, objects, and other data for use by the gateway device.
[0080] …..For each service, if it is determined that the firmware configuration data 235a and user data 235b are not updated, the gateway appliance may receive such data from the support network, for example, over the HTTPS connection. Continuing to step 237, the appliance may apply the configuration/firmware updates immediately or schedule them for another time. A user may utilize a GUI to schedule the updates.
[0170] the gateway appliance the user is attempting to access via, the remote web.
See also Fig. 9, [0302] FIG. 9 provides an expanded view of drawing 21 depicting the PCCE 2201 module within the software architecture of the application gateway 10.
(It is obvious that User using a Web Browser based GUI schedules a software update for the gateway device and the gateway device gets installed with the software update supported by its program code)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of gateway appliance for providing managed services of ANSARI to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS and MIEDEMA in order to take the advantage of a method for solutions for providing managed services for supporting and managing the emerging digital home including providing a gateway appliance that can offer managed services to its users to include incorporation of a causation and correlation engine abilities that enable broader services for users (ANSARI: [0005]).
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papadopoulos et al. (US 6061603 A, hereinafter 'PAPADOPOULOS') in view of Miedema; D. (US 20230319150 A1, hereinafter ‘MIEDEMA’) and with further in view of Black et al. (US 7266595 B1, hereinafter ‘BLACK’).
Regarding claim 6, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of MIEDEMA, teaches the gateway device of claim 5.
PAPADOPOULOS and MIEDEMA do not explicitly disclose wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive a second instruction from the web browser for reassigning a backup input/output card of the input/output system that is associated with the input/output card of the input/output system to a fourth location in the input/output system from a third location in the input/output system; and
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to reassign the backup input/output card in accordance with the second instruction received from the web browser.
In an analogous art. BLACK teaches wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive a second instruction from the web browser for reassigning a backup input/output card of the input/output system that is associated with the input/output card of the input/output system to a fourth location in the input/output system from a third location in the input/output system, and the memory includes program code for causing the processor to reassign the backup input/output card in accordance with the second instruction received from the web browser (
Col 50 Lines 34-36:
.. …. If the user logs into an NMS client through a web browser, then the NMS client may save the NMS server….
Fig. 14b, Col 72, Lines 38-41:
If the NMS assigns an LID of 31 to line card 16b, then in logical to physical card table 100 (see row 109, FIG. 14b), the NMS associates LID 31 with primary PID 501 (line card 16b) and backup PID 513 (line card 16n). As a result, backup PID 513 (line card 16n) is associated with both LID 30 and 31.
(It is obvious that since BLACK does not restrict a particular slot as fixed dedicated slot for backup line card, a user using web browser and NMS can assign one of the recognized line card e.g. 16n in any of the slot as backup line card, reassigning the backup line card in fourth slot changing from the lined card in third slot is a user chooses to do so as permitted for the system)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of provisioning/assigning/reassigning for reassigning a backup input/output card of the input/output system of BLACK to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS and MIEDEMA in order to take the advantage of a method for web based client user interfaces that can be used to provision to allow for hardware redundancy for redundant system for recovery after a failure (BLACK: Col 7 Lines 4-5, Col 72 Lines 9, 26-41).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papadopoulos et al. (US 6061603 A, of record, hereinafter 'PAPADOPOULOS') in view of Miedema; D. (US 20230319150 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘MIEDEMA’) and with further in view of Ward et al. (US 20080304426 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘WARD’).
Regarding claim 8, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of MIEDEMA, teaches the gateway device of claim 1.
PAPADOPOULOS and MIEDEMA do not explicitly disclose wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive an instruction from the web browser for disabling an input/output card of the input/output system; and
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to cease the communications to and from the disabled input/output card based on the instruction.
In an analogous art, WARD teaches wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive an instruction from the web browser for disabling an input/output card of the input/output system, and the memory includes program code for causing the processor to cease the communications to and from the disabled input/output card based on the instruction (
[0027] OIR--Online Insertion and Removal
Fig. 2, [0092] FIG. 2 is a diagram of a router software environment 200 according to an embodiment of the invention. In some embodiments, router software environment 200 includes a Network and Service Management (NSM) component 202, an Element Management System 204, a web interface 206 and software components executed within an LR 142.
[0093] An Element Management System 204 in some embodiments may be provided through a separate workstation/server. …….. In some embodiments, EMS 204 communicates with the physical router 100 using CORBA.
[0095] In some embodiments, EMS 204 provides web based GUI and FCAPS applications to aid in the provisioning, event correlation and performance monitoring of a LR. In some embodiments, an instance of EMS 204 is configured such that it may only manage one LR through communications with a RP 110 associated with the LR. Alternatively, EMS 204 may be configured to communicate with an Primary-Admin.
[0097] software running within a LR includes various software components (referred to collectively as control agents 218) configured to communicate with software modules such as EMS 204 and/or NSM 202 in order to support configuration, FCAPS, software downloads, and test/diagnoses of router 100 and LRs within router 100.
[0101] The configuration of a router may be referred to as "super configuration", while configuring each individual LR may be referred to as LR configuration.
[0102] the card slots also can be unassigned from any LR and reassigned to other LRs.
[0112] card slots may be added/removed to/from the LR and also the cards within the assigned slots are OIR-able.
[0114] when card slots themselves are added/removed from the LR by root-system through the Admin Plane configuration, Admin Plane configuration software will provide for notification to the appropriate LRd, which then will take appropriate action. Also, the root-system may request complete shutdown of a LR when the entire LR is being dismantled.
(It is obvious card slots hosts line cards or I/O cards, and can be added removed using EMS with Web based GUI as part of LR provisioning, removing card slots obviously disable the hosted line cards stopping communication via the line cards)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of provisioning/removing/ disabling cards slots with/without line cards or input/output card using web based GUI of EMS of WARD to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS and MIEDEMA in order to take the advantage of a method for accommodating growth for POP providers requiring flexibility in configuring their network infrastructure (WARD: [0005, 0095, 0102, 0112]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papadopoulos et al. (US 6061603 A, of record, hereinafter 'PAPADOPOULOS') in view of Miedema; D. (US 20230319150 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘MIEDEMA’) and with further in view of Delveaux et al. (US 20140219132 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘DELVEAUX’).
Regarding claim 9, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of MIEDEMA, teaches the gateway device of claim 1.
PAPADOPOULOS and MIEDEMA do not explicitly disclose wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive an instruction from the web browser for disabling a communication channel associated with an input/output card of the input/output system; and
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to cease the communications to and from the disabled communication channel based on the instruction.
In an analogous art, DELVEAUX teaches wherein:
the memory includes program code for causing the processor to receive an instruction from the web browser for disabling a communication channel associated with an input/output card of the input/output system, and the memory includes program code for causing the processor to cease the communications to and from the disabled communication channel based on the instruction (
[0013] management applications (such as the SNMP protocol) enable the system to be remotely monitored and configured via a web browser-type access.
Fig. 2, [0088] Communications system 50 provides an integrated system for controlling and managing communications such as in an office. Communications system 50 communicates over ports 26 to file server 20, printer 22 and one or more computers 24.
[0091] Communications system 50 is coupled to WAN voice/data services network(s) 58 through trunks 54……. What is important is the communications system 50 is coupled to WAN services, trunks and the like in a manner that the user, service provider, administrator and/or algorithm has determined will provide adequate or required resources, on a cost-effective basis, for the particular office/work environment and operating conditions.
[0106] the system may be remotely configured such as by selectively enabling or disabling, such as by tri-state isolation from TDM bus 78, some or all of the features/functions of the first or second line cards, etc.
Fig. 4 [0112] FIG. 4 provides a software/hardware overview of an office communications system ….
[0220] … communication system 50 includes …… integrated suite of applications, digital trunks 54, and a unified management console.
[0226] Communication system 50 is easy to install, manage, and use. Some of the features making communication system 50 easy to install, manage, and use are it is web-based management for remote configuration, diagnostics, and health monitoring, remote software upgrades, rapid installation, customizable management levels, and full SNMP instrumentation for voice and data.
Fig. 16B Channels associated with Line Cards, [0287] Referring to FIG. 16B, window 380 is provided for configuration of T-1 channels of a particular communications system 50. ……. As illustrated, with a point and click operation on window 380, the remote person may enable/disable T-1 channels
(It is obvious that disabling channel of a line card also cause ceasing of communications via the disabled communication channel for the Communication system 50 operation as determined by the administrator)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using web based unified management consol for managing a communication system for enabling or disabling communication channels of a line card of DELVEAUX to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS and MIEDEMA in order to take the advantage of a method for remote management of communication system to provide more optimal IP telephony communications (DELVEAUX: [0220, 0226, 0394]).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papadopoulos et al. (US 6061603 A, of record, hereinafter 'PAPADOPOULOS') in view of Dziadosz; J. A. (US 20090080443 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘DZIADOSZ’) and with further in view of Miedema; D. (US 20230319150 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘MIEDEMA’).
Regarding claim 10, PAPADOPOULOS teaches a gateway system (
Fig. 1 system with Internet web site 4,
Col 3 Lines 34-36:
FIG. 1 shows an overview block diagram of typical system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6), comprising:
a primary gateway device comprising a first communications interface (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-59:
…… system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6.
The web site 4 includes a network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18, a server 20, and an application program 22. The server 20 acts as the HTTP interpreter which uses TCP in conjunction with IP, through TCP/IP stack 24 to interact with the network interface 16 and the application program 22. This enables the data transfer between the application program 22 and the user 2 through the Internet 14.
See also Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Network Interface 16 for communication over Internet 14,
Col 4 Lines 11-50, :
The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30…… the user can disable the web server 30. A password and user list is provided in initial configuration files stored in the web server 30 that are downloaded from a remote server….. The web server 30 provides both a client and server interface…. The client interface allows a user to send commands to a remote node over the Internet
Using a web browser at a remote location through the Internet 14, a user can control and view configuration information of the PLC 32.);
a redundant secondary gateway device comprising a second communications interface;
processing circuitry, and memory comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Server 20,
Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Web Server 30
Fig. 3 Web Server 30 with CPU 46, Operating System 44, Ethernet Driver 48 with Memory 52,
Col 4 Lines 51-62:
A real time operating system 44 controls the interaction between the components. The operating system 44 allocates central processor (CPU) 46 to various tasks, provides memory management, and provides a set of message services and signal services. The message and signal services allow for communication between tasks, and between drivers and a task. Connection to the TCP/IP network 42 is through an Ethernet driver 48 which transmits and receives messages over Ethernet via an Ethernet communication chip such as an AM79C961.):
establish a first connection to a primary communication bus of an input/output system of a first distributed control system via the first communications interface of the primary gateway device (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-59:
…… system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6.
Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Web Server 30, and Network Interface 16 and Internet 14.
Fig. 3 Web Server Module 30 with Ethernet Driver 48 with Network 42,
Col 5, lines 24-43:
The TCP/IP network 42 allows special MSTR (master) functions that allow nodes on the network to initiate message transactions. These MSTR functions include reading and writing data and are used for commands and responses. They allow programs running in the PLC 32 to send commands to a remote node on the TCP/IP network 42 and receive the responses A back plane driver 56 sends commands and receives the response to the PLC 32 over the back plane 34.);
establish a second connection to a redundant secondary communication bus of the input/output system of the first distributed control system via the second communications interface;
host a web application that permits configuration of the gateway system via a web browser (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-47:
FIG. 1 shows an overview block diagram of typical system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6. The user 2 will have a personal computer (PC) 8 having a commercially available browser 10, such as Netscape Communication's Navigator or Microsoft's Internet Explorer, installed for viewing the contents at the web site 4 by a monitor 12.
Col 3 Line 67 - Col 4 Lines 13-25:
The Web site 4 will display a home page which may contain text, some type of multimedia offerings such as graphic images, video, or audio, and possible hypertext links to other documents. The browser 10 will allow the user 2 to read the page and interact with the choices associated with it. ….The browser 10 functions as a remote human-machine interface or HMI control of the process control system as will be detailed below.
The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30. The web server 30 provides the home page for the website. ….. In addition to providing security for various pages at the site, the user can disable the web server 30. A password and user list is provided in initial configuration files stored in the web server 30 that are downloaded from a remote server ….
(Construed that Web Site 4, or the Gateway device, hosting Web Server 30 permits initial configuration through home page by User 2 using Browser 10));
receive, from the web browser, a configuration file for the gateway system (
Col 3 Line 67 - Col 4 Lines 13-25:
The Web site 4 will display a home page which may contain text, some type of multimedia offerings such as graphic images, video, or audio, and possible hypertext links to other documents. The browser 10 will allow the user 2 to read the page and interact with the choices associated with it. ….The browser 10 functions as a remote human-machine interface or HMI control of the process control system as will be detailed below.
The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30. The web server 30 provides the home page for the website. ….. In addition to providing security for various pages at the site, the user can disable the web server 30. A password and user list is provided in initial configuration files stored in the web server 30 that are downloaded from a remote server …. );
receive communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system via the first communications interface and a second communications interface in accordance with the configuration file (
Fig. 1 Web Site 4 with Connection to Internet 14 for communication with user 2 using PC 8 with Web Browser 10,
Col 3 Lines 33-59:
…… system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6.
Fig. 2 Web Site 4 with Web Server 30, and Network Interface 16 and Internet 14.
Fig. 3 Web Server Module 30 with Ethernet Driver 48 with Network 42,
Col 5, lines 24-43:
The TCP/IP network 42 allows special MSTR (master) functions that allow nodes on the network to initiate message transactions. These MSTR functions include reading and writing data and are used for commands and responses. They allow programs running in the PLC 32 to send commands to a remote node on the TCP/IP network 42 and receive the responses A back plane driver 56 sends commands and receives the response to the PLC 32 over the back plane 34.
(Construed that Web Server 30 with Ethernet Driver 48 provides communication with user at a remote node via Network 42 using TCP/IP));
send the communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system to a controller system of a second distributed control system such that the controller system can use the communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system to control equipment in the second distributed control system based on the communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system (
Col 3 Lines 33-64:
FIG. 1 shows an overview block diagram of typical system illustrating the relationship between an user 2 at a remote location and an Internet web site 4 used for monitoring a process control system 6. The user 2 will have a personal computer (PC) 8 having a commercially available browser 10, such as Netscape Communication's Navigator or Microsoft's Internet Explorer, installed for viewing the contents at the web site 4 by a monitor 12. The PC provides a remote human-machine interface (HMI) to the process control system 6. Various interconnection services are readily available to provide the physical and electrical interconnection from the PC to the Internet 14 itself. …..
The web site 4 includes a network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18, a server 20, and an application program 22. The server 20 acts as the HTTP interpreter which uses TCP in conjunction with IP, through TCP/IP stack 24 to interact with the network interface 16 and the application program 22. This enables the data transfer between the application program 22 and the user 2 through the Internet 14. The application program provides data from the process control system 6. This data can be used to monitor the control process by the user 2 at the remote location.
Fig. 2, Col 4 Line 11-39:
The web site 4 includes the network interface 16 having an unique Internet address 18 and a web server 30. The web server 30 provides the home page for the website. A firewall or security for the overall system can be included in the Web server 30, but is generally maintained as part of the network interface 16. In addition to providing security for various pages at the site, the user can disable the web server 30. …….. The web server 30 provides a direct connection for a programmable logic controller (PLC) 32 to the Internet 14 by plugging the web server 30 into its back plane 34. The web server 30 provides both a client and server interface. All signals between the PLC 32 and the web server 30 are through the back plane 34. ……. The client interface allows a user to send commands to a remote node over the Internet and the server interface allows for processing commands that originated from a remote node. Controlling the PLC 32 from a remote HMI, essentially on a real time basis is possible by controlling the data flow through the web server 30.
Fig. 3 Web Server Module 30 with Backplane Driver 56 and Ethernet Driver 48,
Col 5, lines 24-43:
The TCP/IP network 42 allows special MSTR (master) functions that allow nodes on the network to initiate message transactions. These MSTR functions include reading and writing data and are used for commands and responses. They allow programs running in the PLC 32 to send commands to a remote node on the TCP/IP network 42 and receive the responses A back plane driver 56 sends commands and receives the response to the PLC 32 over the back plane 34.
The back plane driver 56 receives request from the PLC's ladder logic MSTR blocks stored in its memory 38. When a response is available, the back plane driver 56 passes it back to the MSTR block….. The client task 58 allows an application to receive a new MSTR request, and pass back the response to the ladder logic program. ).
PAPADOPOULOS does not explicitly disclose establish a second connection to a redundant secondary communication bus of the input/output system of the first distributed control system via the second communications interface;
receive, from the web browser, an instruction for reassigning an input/output card of the input/output system to a second location in the input/output system from a first location in the input/output system;
reassign the input/output card in accordance with the instruction received from the web browser;
receive communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system via the first communications interface and the second communications interface in accordance with the configuration file.
In analogous art, DZIADOSZ teaches establish a second connection to a redundant secondary communication bus of the input/output system of the first distributed control system via the second communications interface (
Fig. 1 with Gateway Access Control Panel 14 connected at one end to Computer Device 12 with Browser and connected to another end with Access Control Nodes 16,
[0014] FIG. 1 shows an Access Control Cluster 10 according to the present invention. In this embodiment, a device 12, e.g. a network enabled browser device, provides the human interface to the Cluster 10. It is also possible for the device 12 to be a dedicated host. The network enabled browser device 12 is any device that provides a network browser with standard internet communication protocols, typically a personal computer with an industry standard internet browser, such as Internet Explorer or Firefox, capable of accessing a Gateway Access Control Point 14. Other devices containing necessary standard internet protocols, including but not limited to cellular telephones, PDAs, laptop computers, and computer workstations, may also be used as network enabled browser devices 12.
[0015] An Access Control Cluster 10 is comprised of a Gateway Access Control Point 14 and one or more downstream or remote Access Control Nodes 16.
[0020] The Gateway 14 provides access to the configuration database on each Access Control Node 16. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the Gateway 14 contains an optional configuration database 28 with the data common to all nodes 16 in the cluster 10.
Fig. 2, [0022] The architecture of the Access Control Cluster 10 is not limited to any particular network or media type. Network and/or media may include, but are not limited to, serial communications (RS-232, RS485), LAN connections such as Ethernet, general internet connections, intranet connections, and wireless communications, e.g., cellular, Zigbee. As shown in FIG. 2, the architecture allows multiple Gateway Access Control Nodes or gateway controllers 16, 30 to access the Cluster 10. A backup/secondary gateway controller 30 can provide access in the event that the primary gateway controller 16 is off line.
[0023] Configurations with multiple peer gateway controllers are also possible, whereby simultaneous access to the cluster data in the Configuration Databases 18 for each Node 16 is coordinated by these peer gateway controllers.);
receive communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system via the first communications interface and the second communications interface in accordance with the configuration file (
Fig. 1, [0016] The Gateway Access Control Node 14 provides the interface between the user and the Access Control Cluster 10. The user operates the network enabled browser device 12 and accesses the Gateway Access Control Node 14 which provides the ability to update, install, modify and/or retrieve the database and control logic of any Access Control Node 16 within the Access Control Cluster 10.
Fig. 2, [0022] As shown in FIG. 2, the architecture allows multiple Gateway Access Control Nodes or gateway controllers 16, 30 to access the Cluster 10. A backup/secondary gateway controller 30 can provide access in the event that the primary gateway controller 16 is off line.
[0023] Configurations with multiple peer gateway controllers are also possible, whereby simultaneous access to the cluster data in the Configuration Databases 18 for each Node 16 is coordinated by these peer gateway controllers.
[0025] Binary Access Protocol provides the web server 26 of the Gateway Access Control Panel 14 with the ability to manage and control the panels or Access Control Nodes 16.
See also Fig. 4, [0026] [0026] FIG. 4 illustrates the steps in an exemplary embodiment of the inventive system shown in FIG. 1.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using access control system with redundant gateway of DZIADOSZ to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS in order to take the advantage of a method for providing access in the event that the primary gateway controller failure, and/or possible simultaneous access to the cluster data in the Configuration Databases 18 for each Node 16 is coordinated by peer gateway controllers (DZIADOSZ: [0022, 0023]).
PAPADOPOULOS and DZIADOSZ do not explicitly disclose receive, from the web browser, an instruction for reassigning an input/output card of the input/output system to a second location in the input/output system from a first location in the input/output system;
reassign the input/output card in accordance with the instruction received from the web browser.
In an analogous art, MIEDEMA teaches receive, from the web browser, an instruction for reassigning an input/output card of the input/output system to a second location in the input/output system from a first location in the input/output system, reassign the input/output card in accordance with the instruction received from the web browser (
Fig. 1, System 100, [0016] System 100 can include one or more platforms 180 for providing communication to end user device(s) 105 by way of communication network 125.
Fig. 2A communication equipment 200c,
Fig. 2B with Line Modules 205 or I/O cards in communication equipment 200c,
Fig. 2G, [0029] Referring to FIG. 2G, in one or more embodiments, system 218 can comprise administration personnel 200h interacting with a client user interface 218a running on personal computing device 200g. The client user interface 218a can comprise a web browser and can be used to provision communication equipment 200c as shown in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B. The web browser can comprise a first drop down menu to configure a card/module for slot 1. The administration personnel 200h can click the arrow such that the web browser can request sample data for the parameter (i.e., the different cards/modules available to be provisioned in slot 1 …… Further, the administration personnel can click the part number of a card/ module (e.g., XX-01) that can be provisioned in slot 1. In addition, the web browser can comprise a second drop down menu to configure a card/module for slot 2 ….. the available part numbers of the cards/module available to be provisioned in slot 2 given that the card/module associated with part number XX-01 has been provisioned in slot 2. Further, the administration personnel can click the part number of a card/ module (e.g., XX-03) that can be provisioned in slot 2.
(From [0029] and Fig. 2G it is obvious that a card/ module can be assigned and reassigned to any of the different identified slots using a web browser)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of card provisioning/assigning/reassigning Line Modules or I/O cards of MIEDEMA to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS and DZIADOSZ in order to take the advantage of a method for web based client user interfaces that can be used to provision microservices on communication equipment utilized in a communication network providing possible and valid configuration options such as through use of generic interfaces in a distributed microservice, presenting sample data on a display (MIEDEMA: [0003, 0011]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papadopoulos et al. (US 6061603 A, of record, hereinafter 'PAPADOPOULOS') in view of Dziadosz; J. A. (US 20090080443 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘DZIADOSZ’) in view of Miedema; D. (US 20230319150 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘MIEDEMA’) and with further in view of Thakkar et al. (US 20150063364 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘THAKKAR’).
Regarding claim 12, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of DZIADOSZ and MIEDEMA, teaches the gateway device of claim 10, wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to:
send the communications from the input/output system of the first distributed control system to a controller system of a second distributed control system based on the first network configuration data and the second network configuration data (
Fig. 1, [0021] The Gateway 14 also includes a web server 26 and a Communications Interface 24 that allows the web server 26 to disseminate information to each individual Access Control Node 16.
Fig. 2, [0022] A backup/secondary gateway controller 30 can provide access in the event that the primary gateway controller 16 is off line.
[0023] Configurations with multiple peer gateway controllers are also possible, whereby simultaneous access to the cluster data in the Configuration Databases 18 for each Node 16 is coordinated by these peer gateway controllers.).
PAPADOPOULOS and DZIADOSZ do not explicitly disclose receive first network configuration data comprising a first Internet Protocol (IP) address and a first subnet mask for the primary gateway device from the web browser;
receive second network configuration data comprising a second IP address and a second subnet mask for the redundant secondary gateway device gateway device from the web browser.
In an analogous art, THAKKAR teaches receive first network configuration data comprising a first Internet Protocol (IP) address and a first subnet mask for the primary gateway device from the web browser, receive second network configuration data comprising a second IP address and a second subnet mask for the redundant secondary gateway device (
Fig. 2 showing Gateway Host with Active logical router (LR) 225 and Gateway Host with Standby LR 230,
[0038] FIG. 2 illustrates a centralized logical router implementation in a managed network 200 of some embodiments. In this case, two or more gateway host machines (referred to herein as gateways, gateway hosts, or logical router hosts) each implements the entire routing table of the logical router 115.
[0041] As shown, the first gateway host 225 implements an active logical router 255 and the second gateway host 230 implements a standby logical router 260.
Fig. 5 showing User with Computer and Display providing configuration information,
[0053] a network control system sets up and configures the logical routers in one or more gateways for a logical network. One or more network controllers in the network control system receive the network configuration input by an administrator and convert this information into data tuples that can be read by the gateway host machines, in addition to selecting the one or more gateway host machines to use for the logical routers. The network control system also distributes the data tuples to these host machines.
[0056] receiving the information directly from the user in FIG. 5, in some embodiments a user interacts with a data center management application, which in turn passes the network configuration information to the input translation controller.
[0141] When the gateway host machine that hosts the master L3 gateway implementation (also referred to as the master gateway host for the L3 gateway) is active, the process sends (at 1420) the packet to the master L3 gateway….
[0142] When the backup gateway host for the L3 gateway is active (and the master is inactive), the process sends (at 1430) the packet to the backup L3 gateway.
Fig. 21, Host 2100, [0207] …. for the host 2100, the container table would include a row for each of the two namespaces 2110 and 2115…… If the router performs NAT, then the database also stores the NAT rules (source NAT and/or destination NAT) for the logical router). Furthermore, for each namespace, the database stores a list of the logical router ports, with IP address, MAC address, netmask, etc. for each port.
(Active and Standby Gateway Hosts with corresponding Logical Routers is configured with IP address, MAC address, netmask, etc. for each port, indicating receiving configuration data including a first Internet Protocol (IP) address and a first subnet mask for LR at Active or Primary Gateway and a second IP address and a second subnet mask for the standby or redundant secondary gateway device for communication host machines hosting VMs and connected External Network 120 as shown in Fig. 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of configuring active and standby gateway hosts with respective network addresses of THAKKAR to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS, DZIADOSZ and MIEDEMA in order to take the advantage of a method for adequately serving virtualized networks having logical routers implementing high-availability gateways processing traffic (THAKKAR: [0003, 0004]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papadopoulos et al. (US 6061603 A, of record, hereinafter 'PAPADOPOULOS') in view of Dziadosz; J. A. (US 20090080443 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘DZIADOSZ’) in view of Miedema; D. (US 20230319150 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘MIEDEMA’) in view of Thakkar et al. (US 20150063364 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘THAKKAR’) and with further in view of Cooper et al. (US 20160359741 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘COOPER’).
Regarding claim 13, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of DZIADOSZ, MIEDEMA and THAKKAR, teaches the gateway device of claim 12.
PAPADOPOULOS, DZIADOSZ and THAKKAR do not explicitly disclose wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to require that a third octet of the second IP address is incremented by one relative to a third octet of the first IP address.
COOPER Teaches wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to require that a third octet of the second IP address is incremented by one relative to a third octet of the first IP address (
Fig. 13, 0164] FIG. 13 shows a first configuration of the system 130. Here, the first router transceiver pair 132 and the second, redundant router transceiver pair 134 are configured in different network groups, i.e., they are part of different networks or sub-networks.
(It is obvious that since the first router and redundant router are in 2 different network group, the first 3 octets in for respective routers are different, and it a user choice to make the third octet of the redundant router incremented by one compared to the third octet of the first router)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of configuring active and redundant routers of COOPER to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS, DZIADOSZ, MIEDEMA and THAKKAR in order to take the advantage of a method for providing redundant communications functionality that may be used for train control equipment in failure state (COOPER: [0101]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papadopoulos et al. (US 6061603 A, of record, hereinafter 'PAPADOPOULOS') in view of Dziadosz; J. A. (US 20090080443 A1, of record, he ‘DZIADOSZ’) in view of Miedema; D. (US 20230319150 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘MIEDEMA’) and with further in view of Katahira et al. (JP 2001016326 A, of record, hereinafter ‘KATAHIRA’).
Regarding claim 15, PAPADOPOULOS, in view of DZIADOSZ and MIEDEMA, teaches the gateway device of claim 10.
PAPADOPOULOS and DZIADOSZ do not explicitly disclose wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to:
receive an instruction from the web browser for changing a channel type associated with a communication channel of an input/output card of the input/output system; and
change the channel type associated with the communication channel of the input/output card based on the instruction.
KATAHIRA teaches wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to:
receive an instruction from the web browser for changing a channel type associated with a communication channel of an input/output card of the input/output system, and change the channel type associated with the communication channel of the input/output card based on the instruction (
[0057]
S6.
Exchange C checks whether there is an available line between exchange C and exchange B.
[0058]
S7.
The exchange A sends a setup message to the communication path (B channel) of the B
channel line to change the D channel to a new one.
[0059]
S8.
Switch B receives the D channel bypass connection setup message.
(Channel type on an ISDN line is changed from D channel a different Channel type based on an instruction)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of changing channel type of KATAHIRA to the system for coupling a network of programmable controllers through an internetwork to a monitoring and control device with web browser interface of PAPADOPOULOS, DZIADOSZ and MIEDEMA in order to take the advantage of a method for providing improved operability with failure handing (KATAHIRA: [0113, 0114]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Strinden et al. (US 20200073682 A1), describing SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR EMBEDDING A WEB FRAME IN PROCESS GRAPHICS
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413