DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/03/2023 and 11/06/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 10/03/2023 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the term may be amended as “a[[n]] cumulative area” in line 9 and “[[the]]a number of repetitions” in line 28.
In claim 6, the term may be amended as “a[[n]] cumulative area” in line 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ganapathiappan et al. (US 2017/0203408, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS, hereinafter Ganapathiappan).
Regarding claim 6, Ganapathiappan discloses a method of forming a polishing pad (¶ 0141, a method of forming a layer of a porous advanced polishing pad), comprising:
forming a polishing layer comprising a plurality of first regions having a first pore- feature density and a plurality of second regions having a second pore-feature density (fig. 1F, ¶ 0077, a polishing layer formed by first polishing elements 204 [correspond to the recited first regions] and second polishing elements 206 [correspond to the recited second regions]; ¶ 0140, the different polishing elements 204, 206 have different porosity-forming agents and density of the pore-forming regions), wherein:
the plurality of first regions are distributed in a pattern across an X-Y plane parallel to a polishing surface of the polishing layer (fig. 1F, a pattern of the first polishing elements 204 are distributed on an X-Y plane parallel to a polishing surface) and are disposed in a side-by-side arrangement with the plurality of second regions (shown by the regions in the pixel chart fig. 5A, it appears from fig. 5B that the z-direction does not vary within a single layer), the second regions disposed in a staggered arrangement in a Z-direction orthogonal to the X-Y plane (fig. 5B and ¶ 0136-37, layers 522 may be the layers of the second polishing elements and they are disposed in a staggered arrangement in a Z-direction),
individual portions or ones of the plurality of first regions are interposed between individual portions or ones of the plurality of second regions (fig. 1F and ¶ 0078, the first polishing elements 204 [correspond to the recited first regions] are interposed between the second polishing elements 206 [correspond to the recited second regions]),
the first and second pore-feature densities comprise a cumulative area of a plurality of pore-features as a percentage of total area of the respective first and second regions in the X-Y plane (figs. 5A and 5B, ¶ 0136-37, a layer 522 of a first or a second polishing element comprises pore-forming regions 502. Thus, the pore-forming regions 502 comprises a cumulative area with respect to a total area of the layer. Thus, the pore area can be represented by a percentage),
the plurality of pore-features comprises openings defined in a surface of the polishing layer, voids that are formed in the polishing material below the surface (fig. 5B, pores 503 are the recited openings defined in a surface of the polishing layer and the pore-forming regions 502 under the surface of the polishing layer are the recited voids), pore-forming features comprising a water-soluble-sacrificial material, or combinations thereof (¶ 0142, porosity-forming agent 504 include hydrophilic which degrade in the presence of aqueous solutions),
the X-Y plane is parallel to the polishing surface of the polishing pad (fig. 1F, the X-Y plane can be defined parallel to the polishing surface of the polishing pad), and
the individual portions or ones of the plurality of first regions interposed between the individual portions or ones of the plurality of second regions comprise at least a continuous area defined by a first circle in the X-Y plane having a first radius equal to or greater than about 100 µm (fig. 1F and ¶ 0078, the first polishing elements 204 [correspond to the recited first regions] are interposed between the second polishing elements 206 [correspond to the recited second regions]. The first polishing element can be circular and its dimension can be between 300 µm and 3 mm. Thus, it is greater than 100 µm).
Regarding claim 8, Ganapathiappan discloses the method as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the plurality of second regions form a continuous matrix and individual ones of the plurality of first regions are spaced apart from one another by at least portions of the continuous matrix of second regions disposed therebetween (fig. 1F, the second polishing element 206 [corresponds to the recited second region] is in a form of a continuous matrix and the individual first polishing element 204 [corresponds to the recited first region] is spaced apart from one another by the matrix of the second polishing element 206) .
Regarding claim 12, Ganapathiappan discloses the method as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the plurality of first regions are formed of corresponding first material domains having a first storage modulus and the plurality of second regions are formed of corresponding second material domains having a second storage modulus that is different from the first storage modulus (¶ 0207 and 0210, the first regions 204 are formed of high storage modulus materials 500-3000 MPa and the second regions 206 are formed of low storage modulus 5-100 MPa at 30℃).
Regarding claim 13, Ganapathiappan discloses the method as in the rejection of claim 6, further comprising a foundation layer having the polishing layer disposed thereon, wherein the foundation layer is formed of a different pre-polymer composition or a different ratio of at least two pre-polymer compositions then are used to form the polishing layer, and wherein the foundation layer is integrally formed with the polishing layer to provide a continuous phase of polymer material across interfacial boundary regions therebetween (fig. 11 and ¶ 0263, in another embodiment, a polishing pad 1100 comprises a backing layer 1106 [corresponds to the recited foundation layer] that is continuously coupled to the first polishing elements 1102 and the second polishing elements 1104 along an interfacial boundary. The backing layer can be made of polyurethane or polysiloxane (silicone); a list of materials for the first and second elements 204, 206 are presented in ¶ 0154. The first and second elements may contain elements other than the polyurethane or polysiloxane, thus the material of the foundation layer is formed of a different pre-polymer composition from the material of the polishing layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganapathiappan et al. (US 2017/0203408, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS, hereinafter Ganapathiappan), in view of Kozhukh et al. (US 9539694, hereinafter Kozhukh).
Regarding claim 1, Ganapathiappan discloses a method of forming a polishing pad (¶ 0141, a method of forming a layer of a porous advanced polishing pad), comprising:
forming a polishing layer comprising a plurality of first regions having a first pore- feature density and a plurality of second regions having a second pore-feature density (fig. 1F, ¶ 0077, a polishing layer formed by first polishing elements 204 [correspond to the recited first regions] and second polishing elements 206 [correspond to the recited second regions]; ¶ 0140, the different polishing elements 204, 206 have different porosity-forming agents and density of the pore-forming regions).
wherein the plurality of first regions are distributed in a pattern across an X-Y plane parallel to a polishing surface of the polishing layer (fig. 1F, a pattern of the first polishing elements 204 are distributed on an X-Y plane parallel to a polishing surface) and are disposed in a side-by-side arrangement with the plurality of second regions (shown by the regions in the pixel chart fig. 5A, it appears from fig. 5B that the z-direction does not vary within a single layer), the second regions disposed in a staggered arrangement in a Z-direction orthogonal to the X-Y plane (fig. 5B and ¶ 0136-37, layers 522 may be the layers of the second polishing elements and they are disposed in a staggered arrangement in a Z-direction),
the first and second pore-feature densities comprise a cumulative area of a plurality of pore-features as a percentage of total area of the respective first and second regions in the X-Y plane (figs. 5A and 5B, ¶ 0136-37, a layer 522 of a first or a second polishing element comprises pore-forming regions 502. Thus, the pore-forming regions 502 comprises a cumulative area with respect to a total area of the layer. Thus, the pore area can be represented by a percentage),
the plurality of pore-features comprises openings defined in a surface of the polishing layer, voids that are formed in the polishing material below the surface (fig. 5B, pores 503 are the recited openings defined in a surface of the polishing layer and the pore-forming regions 502 under the surface of the polishing layer are the recited voids), pore-forming features comprising a water-soluble-sacrificial material, or combinations thereof (¶ 0142, porosity-forming agent 504 include hydrophilic which degrade in the presence of aqueous solutions), and
forming the polishing layer comprises sequential repetitions of:
(a) dispensing droplets of one or more pre-polymer compositions and droplets of a sacrificial-material composition onto a surface of a previously formed print layer and exposing the dispensed droplets to electromagnetic radiation to form a first print layer (¶ 0012, 0021, and 0142, forming a polishing article comprises dispensing a first addition polymer precursor formulation on a first region of a surface to form a layer comprising a pattern of porosity-forming agent containing regions wherein porosity-forming agent 504 include hydrophilic which degrade in the presence of aqueous solutions. The dispensed addition polymer precursor formulation is exposed to electromagnetic radiation; ¶ 0109 and fig. 3B, depositing droplets onto a surface 346A of a previously formed layer 346);
(b) optionally repeating (a) to form a plurality of adjoining first print layers, wherein the droplets of sacrificial-material composition are dispensed according to a first pattern to form a plurality of pore-features in the second regions, and wherein the height of individual ones of the plurality of pore-features is determined by a thickness of each of the first print layers and the number of repetitions of (a) (figs. 3B and 5A, and ¶ 0109, continuous dispensing of droplets of the polymer precursor formulation would form a continuous first layer 346 as shown by the repeated pattern in fig. 5A; ¶ 0139 and 0142, the water soluble porosity-forming agent [corresponds to the recited sacrificial material composition] forms pore-forming regions 502 on a layer 522, which can be the second regions; figs. 5B and 5C, height of the pore features 504 is determined by a thickness of a layer 522. When two layers 522A and 522B form the pore features 504 at the same location by utilizing the same print layer, the same print layers are adjoined, and the height of the pore feature is the thickness of two layers 522A and 522B as shown in fig. 5C);
(c) dispensing droplets of the one or more pre-polymer compositions onto a surface of the one or more first print layers formed in (a) and/or (b) and exposing the dispensed droplets to electromagnetic radiation to form a second print layer (fig. 3B, droplets are dispensed the first layer 346 to form a second layer 348; ¶ 0111, electromagnetic radiation is exposed to the dispensed droplets); and
(d) optionally repeating (c) to form a plurality of adjoining second print layers, wherein the droplets of the one or more pre-polymer compositions are dispensed according to a second pattern to form a layer of polymer material, wherein individual ones of the plurality of pore- features are spaced apart in a Z direction by the layer of polymer material, and wherein the spacing of the individual pore-features in the Z direction is determined by a thickness of each of the second print layers and the number of repetitions of (c) (fig. 5B and ¶ 0137-38, a polishing region 530, which is formed by the droplets as discussed above, is formed with a plurality of layers 522 and the layers can have different patterns. Two different patterns of staggered arrangement is shown in fig. 5B. An individual pore forming region 502 is spaced in a Z-direction by the layers 522, and the spacing of the pore forming regions 502 in the Z-direction is determined by the thickness of the layer. For instance, in fig. 5B, one pore forming region 502 is disposed two layers above another pore forming region 502 in the Z-direction), but does not disclose the second pore-feature density is about 2% or more and the first pore-feature density is about 1/2 or less of the second pore-feature density.
Kozhukh teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, the second pore-feature density is about 2% or more and the first pore-feature density is about 1/2 or less of the second pore-feature density (fig. 3 and col. 4:55-62, a second continuous non-fugitive polymeric phase 50 [corresponds to the recited second region] has porosity of ≧10 % and a first continuous non-fugitive polymeric phase 30 [corresponds to the recited first region] has a preferred porosity of ≦ 3%. Therefore, the second phase has more than 2% pore-feature density).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing pad of Ganapathiappan to provide the recited first and second pore-feature densities as taught by Kozhukh for the purpose of decoupling the polishing layer stiffness and slurry distribution performance of polishing layer designs (Kozhukh col. 3:31-33)
Regarding claim 3, Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein at least portions of the plurality of first regions are interposed between the at least portions of the plurality of second regions, and wherein the interposed portions of the plurality of first regions at least comprise a continuous area defined by a first circle in the X-Y plane having a first radius equal to or greater than about 100 µm (Ganapathiappan, fig. 1F and ¶ 0078, the first polishing elements 204 [correspond to the recited first regions] are interposed between the second polishing elements 206 [correspond to the recited second regions]. The first polishing element can be circular and its dimension can be between 300 µm and 3 mm. Thus, it is greater than 100 µm).
Regarding claim 4, Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the droplets of the one or more pre-polymer compositions comprises a plurality of droplets of a first pre-polymer composition and a plurality of droplets of a second pre-polymer composition, and wherein the first regions are formed from the droplets of the first pre-polymer composition and the second regions are formed from the droplets of the second pre-polymer composition (Ganapathiappan, ¶ 0015, a method of forming a polishing article comprises dispensing plurality of droplets of a first precursor formulation in a first pattern across a surface of a polishing body and dispensing a plurality of droplets of a second precursor formulation in a second pattern across the surface of the polishing body; ¶ 0140, the first and second polishing elements 204, 206 may have different precursor formulations. Thus, the first regions and the second regions would be formed of the first precursor formulation and the second precursor formulation respectively).
Regarding claim 7, Ganapathiappan discloses the method as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose the second pore-feature density is about 2% or more and the first pore-feature density is about 1/2 or less of the second pore-feature density.
Kozhukh teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, the second pore-feature density is about 2% or more and the first pore-feature density is about 1/2 or less of the second pore-feature density (fig. 3 and col. 4:55-62, a second continuous non-fugitive polymeric phase 50 [corresponds to the recited second region] has porosity of ≧10 % and a first continuous non-fugitive polymeric phase 30 [corresponds to the recited first region] has a preferred porosity of ≦ 3%. Therefore, the second phase has more than 2% pore-feature density).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing pad of Ganapathiappan to provide the recited first and second pore-feature densities as taught by Kozhukh for the purpose of decoupling the polishing layer stiffness and slurry distribution performance of polishing layer designs (Kozhukh col. 3:31-33)
Regarding claim 11, Ganapathiappan discloses the method as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the plurality of first regions are formed of corresponding first material domains having a first storage modulus, the plurality of second regions are formed of corresponding second material domains having a second storage modulus the second storage modulus is about 1/2 or less than the first storage modulus (¶ 0207 and 0210, the first regions 204 are formed of high storage modulus materials 500-3000 MPa and the second regions 206 are formed of low storage modulus 5-100 MPa at 30℃. The second modulus can be about 1/2 or less of the first modulus), but does not disclose the second pore-feature density is about 2% or more and the first pore-feature density is about 1/2 or less than the second pore-feature density,
Kozhukh teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, the second pore-feature density is about 2% or more and the first pore-feature density is about 1/2 or less of the second pore-feature density (fig. 3 and col. 4:55-62, a second continuous non-fugitive polymeric phase 50 [corresponds to the recited second region] has porosity of ≧10 % and a first continuous non-fugitive polymeric phase 30 [corresponds to the recited first region] has a preferred porosity of ≦ 3%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing pad of Ganapathiappan to provide the recited first and second pore-feature densities as taught by Kozhukh for the purpose of decoupling the polishing layer stiffness and slurry distribution performance of polishing layer designs (Kozhukh col. 3:31-33)
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganapathiappan in view of Kozhukh, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Imagawa et al. (JP 2009291942A, cited on 11/06/2023 IDS, hereinafter Imagawa).
Regarding claim 2, Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose individual ones of the plurality of pore-features in the plurality of second regions have a height in the Z direction that is about 1/2 or less than a diameter of the pore measured in the X-Y plane.
Imagawa teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, individual ones of the plurality of pore-features in the plurality of second regions have a height in the Z direction that is about 1/2 or less than a diameter of the pore measured in the X-Y plane (Imagawa English translation, p. 7:30-38, a pore has dimensions that the major axis is 5 to 30 μm, the minor axis is 1 to 4 μm, and the depth (height) is about 1 to 5 μm. Thus, the height can be about ½ or less than the major axis [corresponds to the recited diameter]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the pores of Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh to have the dimensions as defined by Imagawa because a hole having a thickness much smaller than the hole diameter of the polishing pad allows the time required for dressing to be drastically reduced (Imagawa English translation, p. 7:38-40).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganapathiappan in view of Kozhukh, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Joseph (US 8821214, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the first and second patterns form a plurality of polishing elements that extend upwardly from a foundation layer to form a polishing surface, wherein individual ones of the plurality of polishing elements are spaced apart from one another in the X-Y plane to define a plurality of channels therebetween, and wherein the each of the polishing elements comprises the plurality of first regions and the plurality of second regions.
Joseph teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, the first and second patterns form a plurality of polishing elements that extend upwardly from a foundation layer to form a polishing surface, wherein individual ones of the plurality of polishing elements are spaced apart from one another in the X-Y plane to define a plurality of channels therebetween, and wherein the each of the polishing elements comprises the plurality of first regions and the plurality of second regions (fig. 2 and col. 6:38-59, Joseph discloses the first and second regions of polishing elements 24, 28 extend upwardly from a support layer 30 [corresponds to the recited foundation layer]. The polishing elements 24, 28 are spaced apart from one another and an aperture 26 [corresponds to the recited channel] is formed between them. While Ganapathiappan teaches the polishing pad having the first regions and second regions of the polishing elements, Joseph is combined to teach the channels formed between the polishing elements of Ganapathiappan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing pad of Ganapathiappan to incorporate the channels as taught by Joseph for the purpose of providing a guide for the polishing elements (Joseph, col. 6:54-58).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganapathiappan, as applied to claim 6 above, and in further view of Imagawa.
Regarding claim 9, Ganapathiappan discloses the method as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose individual pore-features in the plurality of second regions having a height in the Z-direction that about 50 µm or less and a diameter in the X-Y plane that is between about 50 µm and about 250 µm, wherein the Z-direction is orthogonal to the X-Y plane.
Imagawa teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, individual pore-features in the plurality of second regions having a height in the Z-direction that about 50 µm or less, wherein the Z-direction is orthogonal to the X-Y plane (Imagawa English translation, p. 7:30-38, a pore has dimensions that the depth (height) is about 1 to 5 μm and that is less than 50 µm. The height is in the Z-direction that is orthogonal to the X-Y plane).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the pores of Ganapathiappan to have the dimensions as defined by Imagawa because a hole having a thickness much smaller than the hole diameter of the polishing pad allows the time required for dressing to be drastically reduced (Imagawa English translation, p. 7:38-40).
Ganapathiappan as modified by Imagawa still does not disclose a diameter in the X-Y plane that is between about 50 µm and about 250 µm. However, Imagawa discloses the pore has dimensions that the major axis is 5 to 30 μm.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the pores of Ganapathiappan as modified by Imagawa to make the diameter of the pore-feature in the X-Y plane to be between about 50 µm and about 250 µm for the same reason above. That is a hole having a thickness much smaller than the hole diameter of the polishing pad allows the time required for dressing to be drastically reduced (Imagawa English translation, p. 7:38-40). The diameter disclosed by Imagawa is up to 30 μm, but by making it to be 50 μm, it would still have the benefit of reducing the dressing time. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.05(II))
Regarding claim 10, Ganapathiappan as modified by Imagawa teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the height of the individual pore-features is about ½ or less than the diameter (Imagawa English translation, p. 7:30-38, a pore has dimensions that the major axis is 5 to 30 μm, the minor axis is 1 to 4 μm, and the depth (height) is about 1 to 5 μm. Thus, the height can be about ½ or less than the major axis [corresponds to the recited diameter]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the pores of Ganapathiappan as modified by Imagawa to make the height of the pore-feature to be about ½ or less than the diameter as defined by Imagawa because a hole having a thickness much smaller than the hole diameter of the polishing pad allows the time required for dressing to be drastically reduced (Imagawa English translation, p. 7:38-40).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganapathiappan, as applied to claim 13 above, and in further view of Joseph.
Regarding claim 14, Ganapathiappan discloses the method as in the rejection of claim 13, but does not disclose the polishing layer comprises a plurality of polishing elements extend upwardly from the foundation layer to form the polishing surface, wherein individual ones of the plurality of polishing elements are spaced apart from one another in the X-Y plane to define a plurality of channels therebetween, and wherein the each of the polishing elements comprises the plurality of first regions having the first pore-feature density and the plurality of second regions having the second pore-feature density.
Joseph teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, the polishing layer comprises a plurality of polishing elements extend upwardly from the foundation layer to form the polishing surface, wherein individual ones of the plurality of polishing elements are spaced apart from one another in the X-Y plane to define a plurality of channels therebetween, and wherein the each of the polishing elements comprises the plurality of first regions having the first pore-feature density and the plurality of second regions having the second pore-feature density (fig. 2 and col. 6:38-59, Joseph discloses the first and second regions of polishing elements 24, 28 extend upwardly from a support layer 30 [corresponds to the recited foundation layer]. The polishing elements 24, 28 are spaced apart from one another and an aperture 26 [corresponds to the recited channel] is formed between them. While Ganapathiappan teaches the polishing pad having the first regions and second regions of the polishing elements, Joseph is combined to teach the channels formed between the polishing elements of Ganapathiappan having different porosity-forming agents and density of the pore-forming regions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing pad of Ganapathiappan to incorporate the channels as taught by Joseph for the purpose of providing a guide for the polishing elements (Joseph, col. 6:54-58).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganapathiappan et al. (US 2017/0203408, cited on 10/03/2023 IDS, hereinafter Ganapathiappan), in view of Kozhukh et al. (US 9539694, hereinafter Kozhukh) and Imagawa et al. (JP 2009291942A, cited on 11/06/2023 IDS, hereinafter Imagawa).
Regarding claim 15, Ganapathiappan discloses a method of forming a polishing pad (¶ 0141, a method of forming a layer of a porous advanced polishing pad), comprising:
forming a polishing layer disposed on a foundation layer and integrally formed therewith to comprise a continuous phase of polymer material across interfacial boundary regions therebetween (fig. 11 and ¶ 0263, a polishing pad 1100 comprises a backing layer 1106 [corresponds to the recited foundation layer] that is continuously coupled to a polishing layer of the first polishing elements 1102 and the second polishing elements 1104 along an interfacial boundary), wherein the polishing layer comprises:
a plurality of first regions having a first pore-feature density; and a plurality of second regions comprising a plurality of pore-features to provide a second pore-feature density (fig. 1F, ¶ 0077, a polishing layer formed by first polishing elements 204 [correspond to the recited first regions] and second polishing elements 206 [correspond to the recited second regions]; ¶ 0140, the different polishing elements 204, 206 have different porosity-forming agents and density of the pore-forming regions), wherein:
at least portions of the first regions are spaced apart from one another in an X-Y plane of the polishing pad by and coplanar with at least portions of the second regions and the plurality of first regions and the plurality of second regions extend in a Z-direction orthogonal to the X-Y plane (fig. 1F, the first polishing element 204 [corresponds to the recited first region] are spaced apart from another first polishing element 204. Portions of the first polishing element 204 are coplanar with portions of the second polishing element 206 [corresponds to the recited second region]. The polishing elements 204, 206 extend along a Z-direction that is vertical direction in fig. 1F),
the second regions are disposed in a staggered arrangement in the Z- direction (fig. 5B and ¶ 0136-37, layers 522 may be the layers of the second polishing elements and they are disposed in a staggered arrangement in a Z-direction),
the first and second pore-feature densities comprise a cumulative area of a plurality of pore-features as a percentage of total area of the respective first and second regions in the X-Y plane (figs. 5A and 5B, ¶ 0136-37, a layer 522 of a first or a second polishing element comprises pore-forming regions 502. Thus, the pore-forming regions 502 comprises a cumulative area with respect to a total area of the layer. Thus, the pore area can be represented by a percentage),
the plurality of pore-features comprises openings defined in a surface of the polishing layer, voids that are formed in the polishing material below the surface (fig. 5B, pores 503 are the recited openings defined in a surface of the polishing layer and the pore-forming regions 502 under the surface of the polishing layer are the recited voids), pore-forming features comprising a water-soluble-sacrificial material, or combinations thereof (¶ 0142, porosity-forming agent 504 include hydrophilic which degrade in the presence of aqueous solutions),
the X-Y plane is parallel to the polishing surface of the polishing pad and the Z direction is orthogonal to the X-Y plane (fig. 1F, the X-Y plane can be defined parallel to the polishing surface of the polishing pad and the Z direction is perpendicular to the X-Y plane), and
the plurality of first and second regions form a continuous phase of polymer material across the interfacial boundary regions therebetween (fig. 11 and ¶ 0263, a polishing pad 1100 comprises a backing layer 1106 that is continuously coupled to a polishing layer of the first polishing elements 1102 and the second polishing elements 1104 along an interfacial boundary), but does not disclose a second pore-feature density of about 2% or more and the first pore-feature density is about 1/2 or less of the second pore-feature density.
Kozhukh teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, the second pore-feature density is about 2% or more and the first pore-feature density is about 1/2 or less of the second pore-feature density (fig. 3 and col. 4:55-62, a second continuous non-fugitive polymeric phase 50 [corresponds to the recited second region] has porosity of ≧10 % and a first continuous non-fugitive polymeric phase 30 [corresponds to the recited first region] has a preferred porosity of ≦ 3%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing pad of Ganapathiappan to provide the recited first and second pore-feature densities as taught by Kozhukh for the purpose of decoupling the polishing layer stiffness and slurry distribution performance of polishing layer designs (Kozhukh col. 3:31-33).
Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh does not disclose individual ones of the plurality of pore-features in the plurality of second regions have a height in the Z direction that is about 1/2 or less than a diameter of the pore measured in the X-Y plane.
Imagawa teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, individual ones of the plurality of pore-features in the plurality of second regions have a height in the Z direction that is about 1/2 or less than a diameter of the pore measured in the X-Y plane (Imagawa English translation, p. 7:30-38, a pore has dimensions that the major axis is 5 to 30 μm, the minor axis is 1 to 4 μm, and the depth (height) is about 1 to 5 μm. Thus, the height can be about ½ or less than the major axis [corresponds to the recited diameter]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the pores of Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh to have the dimensions as defined by Imagawa because a hole having a thickness much smaller than the hole diameter of the polishing pad allows the time required for dressing to be drastically reduced (Imagawa English translation, p. 7:38-40).
Regarding claim 16, Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh and Imagawa teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 15, wherein the plurality of first regions and the plurality of second regions (fig. 1F, ¶ 0077, a polishing layer formed by first polishing elements 204 [correspond to the recited first regions] and second polishing elements 206 [correspond to the recited second regions]) are formed by sequential repetitions of:
(a) dispensing droplets of one or more pre-polymer compositions and droplets of a sacrificial-material composition onto a surface of a previously formed print layer and exposing the dispensed droplets to electromagnetic radiation to form a first print layer (¶ 0012, 0021, and 0142, forming a polishing article comprises dispensing a first addition polymer precursor formulation on a first region of a surface to form a layer comprising a pattern of porosity-forming agent containing regions wherein porosity-forming agent 504 include hydrophilic which degrade in the presence of aqueous solutions. The dispensed addition polymer precursor formulation is exposed to electromagnetic radiation; ¶ 0109 and fig. 3B, depositing droplets onto a surface 346A of a previously formed layer 346);
(b) optionally repeating (a) to form a plurality of adjoining first print layers, wherein the droplets of sacrificial-material composition are dispensed according to a first pattern to form a plurality of pore-features in the second regions, and wherein the height of individual ones of the plurality of pore-features is determined by a thickness of each of the first print layers and the number of repetitions of (a) (figs. 3B and 5A, and ¶ 0109, continuous dispensing of droplets of the polymer precursor formulation would form a continuous first layer 346 as shown by the repeated pattern in fig. 5A; ¶ 0139 and 0142, the water soluble porosity-forming agent [corresponds to the recited sacrificial material composition] forms pore-forming regions 502 on a layer 522, which can be the second regions; figs. 5B and 5C, height of the pore features 504 is determined by a thickness of a layer 522. When two layers 522A and 522B form the pore features 504 at the same location by utilizing the same print layer, the same print layers are adjoined, and the height of the pore feature is the thickness of two layers 522A and 522B as shown in fig. 5C);
(c) dispensing droplets of the one or more pre-polymer compositions onto a surface of the one or more first print layers formed in (a) and/or (b) and exposing the dispensed droplets to electromagnetic radiation to form a second print layer (fig. 3B, droplets are dispensed the first layer 346 to form a second layer 348; ¶ 0111, electromagnetic radiation is exposed to the dispensed droplets); and
(d) optionally repeating (c) to form a plurality of adjoining second print layers, wherein the droplets of the one or more pre-polymer compositions are dispensed according to a second pattern to form a layer of polymer material, wherein individual ones of the plurality of pore- features are spaced apart in a Z direction by the layer of polymer material, and wherein the spacing of the individual pore-features in the Z direction is determined by a thickness of each of the second print layers and the number of repetitions of (c) (fig. 5B and ¶ 0137-38, a polishing region 530, which is formed by the droplets as discussed above, is formed with a plurality of layers 522 and the layers can have different patterns. Two different patterns of staggered arrangement is shown in fig. 5B. An individual pore forming region 502 is spaced in a Z-direction by the layers 522, and the spacing of the pore forming regions 502 in the Z-direction is determined by the thickness of the layer. For instance, in fig. 5B, one pore forming region 502 is disposed two layers above another pore forming region 502 in the Z-direction).
Regarding claim 17, Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh and Imagawa teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the plurality of first regions are formed of corresponding first material domains having a first storage modulus and the plurality of second regions are formed of corresponding second material domains having a second storage modulus that is different from the first storage modulus (Ganapathiappan, ¶ 0207 and 0210, the first regions 204 are formed of high storage modulus materials 500-3000 MPa and the second regions 206 are formed of low storage modulus 5-100 MPa at 30℃).
Regarding claim 18, Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh and Imagawa teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein the droplets of the one or more pre-polymer compositions comprises a plurality of droplets of a first pre-polymer composition and a plurality of droplets of a second pre-polymer composition, and wherein the first material domains are formed from the droplets of the first pre-polymer composition and the second material domains are formed from the droplets of the second pre-polymer composition (Ganapathiappan, ¶ 0015, a method of forming a polishing article comprises dispensing plurality of droplets of a first precursor formulation in a first pattern across a surface of a polishing body and dispensing a plurality of droplets of a second precursor formulation in a second pattern across the surface of the polishing body; ¶ 0140, the first and second polishing elements 204, 206 may have different precursor formulations. Thus, the first regions and the second regions would be formed of the first precursor formulation and the second precursor formulation respectively).
Regarding claim 19, Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh and Imagawa teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 15, wherein the at least portions of the plurality of first regions interposed between the at least portions of the plurality of second regions comprise at least a continuous area defined by a first circle in the X-Y plane having a first radius equal to or greater than about 100 µm (Ganapathiappan, fig. 1F and ¶ 0078, the first polishing elements 204 [correspond to the recited first regions] are interposed between the second polishing elements 206 [correspond to the recited second regions]. The first polishing element can be circular and its dimension can be between 300 µm and 3 mm. Thus, it is greater than 100 µm).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganapathiappan in view of Kozhukh and Imagawa, as applied to claim 19 above, and in further view of Joseph.
Regarding claim 20, Ganapathiappan as modified by Kozhukh and Imagawa teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 19, but does not disclose the polishing layer comprises a plurality of polishing elements that extend upwardly from the foundation layer to form a polishing surface, wherein individual ones of the plurality of polishing elements are spaced apart from one another in the X-Y plane to define a plurality of channels therebetween, and wherein the each of the polishing elements comprises the plurality of first regions and the plurality of second regions.
Joseph teaches, in an analogous polishing pad field of endeavor, the polishing layer comprises a plurality of polishing elements extend upwardly from the foundation layer to form the polishing surface, wherein individual ones of the plurality of polishing elements are spaced apart from one another in the X-Y plane to define a plurality of channels therebetween, and wherein the each of the polishing elements comprises the plurality of first regions and the plurality of second regions (fig. 2 and col. 6:38-59, Joseph discloses the first and second regions of polishing elements 24, 28 extend upwardly from a support layer 30 [corresponds to the recited foundation layer]. The polishing elements 24, 28 are spaced apart from one another and an aperture 26 [corresponds to the recited channel] is formed between them. While Ganapathiappan teaches the polishing pad having the first regions and second regions of the polishing elements, Joseph is combined to teach the channels formed between the polishing elements of Ganapathiappan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing pad of Ganapathiappan to incorporate the channels as taught by Joseph for the purpose of providing a guide for the polishing elements (Joseph, col. 6:54-58).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chockalingam et al. (US 2020/0230781) discloses a method of manufacturing polishing pads by dispensing droplets of polymer and sacrificial materials.
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723