DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0049287 A1~hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses (in at least figs. 3, 7G and 8) a method of manufacturing a display device (300; [0043]), the method comprising: positioning a display panel (330; [0045]) in an accommodating space of a stage; positioning a black matrix unit (316; [0044]) on an upper surface of a wall of the stage surrounding the accommodating space; and coating a window (310; [0044]) to cover the black matrix unit and the display panel (see at least fig. 3), wherein the black matrix unit (316) and the window (310) protrude beyond the display panel (see at least fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses (in at least fig. 3) cutting an edge of the black matrix unit (316) and an edge of the window (310), wherein after the cutting, the black matrix unit (316) and the window (310) protrude beyond the display panel (see fig. 3).
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by JOO et al. (US. Pub: 2019/0181389 A1~hereinafter “JOO”).
Regarding claim 1, JOO discloses (in at least figs. 2-8) a method of manufacturing a display device (1), the method comprising: positioning a display panel (300; [0042]) in an accommodating space of a stage (100; see at least fig. 2); positioning a black matrix unit (INK; [0042]; [0064]-[0065]) on an upper surface of a wall of the stage surrounding the accommodating space (100); and coating a window (600) to cover the black matrix unit (INK) and the display panel (300), wherein the black matrix unit (INK) and the window (600) protrude beyond the display panel (see at least figs. 2-8).
Regarding claim 2, JOO discloses (in at least figs. 2-8) cutting an edge of the black matrix unit (INK) and an edge of the window (600), wherein after the cutting, the black matrix unit (INK) and the window (600) protrude beyond the display panel (see at least fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, JOO discloses (in at least figs. 2-8) performing a surface treatment ([0019]-[0020]) on an inner surface of the wall with an anti-adhesion material ([0020]; i.e. the washing agent), wherein a height of the wall (100) is greater than a height of the display panel (300) in a thickness direction of the display panel (see at least fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, JOO discloses (in at least figs. 2-8) a portion of the black matrix unit (INK) overlaps the upper surface of the wall in a plan view (see at least fig. 2), and another portion of the black matrix unit (INK) overlaps the display panel in a plan view (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, JOO discloses (in at least figs. 2-8) the another portion of the black matrix unit (INK) is spaced apart from the display panel (300) in the thickness direction.
Regarding claim 6, JOO discloses (in at least figs. 2-8) a portion of the window (600) is interposed between the another portion of the black matrix unit (INK) and the display panel (300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JOO et al. (US. Pub: 2019/0181389 A1~hereinafter “JOO”) in view of Chang et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0049287 A1~hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 7, JOO discloses (in at least figs. 2-8) the black matrix unit (INK) but fails to disclose the black matrix includes a substrate and a black matrix pattern printed on the substrate.
Chang in the same field of endeavor discloses (in at least figs. 3, 7G and 8) a black matrix (316) includes a substrate (312-315) and a black matrix pattern (316; [0051]) printed on the substrate.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of JOO with black matrix substrate of Chang in order to provide suitable support to the black matrix.
Regarding claim 8, JOO as modified by Chang does not expressly disclose after the coating of the window, the window contacts an entire upper surface of the substrate, a portion of a lower surface of the black matrix pattern, and an entire upper surface of the display panel.
However, it is well-known in the art to form display device where after the coating of the window, the window contacts an entire upper surface of the substrate, a portion of a lower surface of the black matrix pattern, and an entire upper surface of the display panel as evident by Oh et al. (US. Pat: 10,658,615 B2~hereinafter “Oh”) of record at least fig. 8.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of JOO and Chang with the window arrangement teaching of OH, since it has been held that rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest performing a surface treatment on an upper surface of the wall with an anti-adhesion material, wherein a height of the wall and a height of the display panel are the same in a thickness direction of the display panel. Claims 10-13 are objected due to their dependency upon claim 9.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875