Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2022-0182551, filed on December 23, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 3, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 6, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara et al (US 2004/0000129 A1) (herein after Ishihara) in view of Suzuki et al (US 2002/0124906 A1) (herein after Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 1, Ishihara discloses, 1. A cassette transport device (Fig. 2, automated carrying vehicle 1A) comprising: a main body (Fig. 2, 14 is a running unit); a travel unit (Fig. 2, 14 is a running unit) to move the main body; — wherein flow-rate maintaining members of the plurality of flow-rate maintaining members are stacked on one another (Fig. 9, ¶ 289 cross flow fans) on the main body, arranged on a rearward side with respect to the traveling direction of the main body (Fig. 9, ¶ 289 automated carrying vehicle 152 runs forward and backward and has the air injecting sections 114F, 114R provided in its front and rear), and comprise a plurality of fans (Fig. 9, ¶ 289 cross flow fans).
Ishihara fails to disclose, — and a plurality of flow-rate maintaining members to generate a flow of air in a direction opposite to a traveling direction of the main body, —.
In analogous art, Suzuki discloses, — and a plurality of flow-rate maintaining members (Fig. 9, motor fan 7) to generate a flow of air (Fig. 9, ¶ 140 air inside the substrate transport pod is circulated) in a direction opposite to a traveling direction (Fig. 7, ¶ 137, 140: unmanned vehicle 10 to travel between the processing apparatuses 11, the air inside the substrate transport pod is circulated; “air is circulated in a direction opposite to an automatic guided vehicle (AGV) travel”) of the main body (Fig. 7, ¶ 137 unmanned vehicle 10), —.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara by combining the cassette transport device disclosed by Ishihara with a cassette transport device comprising: a plurality of flow-rate maintaining members to generate a flow of air in a direction opposite to a traveling direction of the main body; taught by Suzuki for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an exterior environment with lesser cleanliness than a clean room which leads to lower costs [Suzuki: ¶ 115 sealed containers that permit lesser degree of cleanliness in the exterior environment of the pod, that is, the cleanliness of the clean-room can be lesser degree. Accordingly, capital cost and operating cost of the clean-room can be reduced].
Regarding Claim 4, Ishihara in view of Suzuki disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ishihara fails to disclose, 4. The cassette transport device of claim 1, wherein the flow-rate maintaining members are respectively arranged at a side of a plurality of layers of an object to be moved.
Suzuki further discloses, 4. The cassette transport device of claim 1, wherein the flow-rate maintaining members are respectively arranged at a side of a plurality of layers of an object (Fig. 9, ¶ 140 motor fan 7, duct 12; ” motor fan 7 in duct 12 is at the side of wafer carrier 4”) to be moved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara in view of Suzuki by combining the cassette transport device disclosed by Ishihara in view of Suzuki with a cassette transport device, wherein the flow-rate maintaining members are respectively arranged at a side of a plurality of layers of an object to be moved; taught by Suzuki for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an exterior environment with lesser cleanliness than a clean room which leads to lower costs [Suzuki: ¶ 115 sealed containers that permit lesser degree of cleanliness in the exterior environment of the pod, that is, the cleanliness of the clean-room can be lesser degree. Accordingly, capital cost and operating cost of the clean-room can be reduced].
Regarding Claim 5, Ishihara in view of Suzuki disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ishihara fails to disclose, 5. The cassette transport device of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of flow-rate reducing members respectively arranged at a rear side of the flow-rate maintaining members, wherein each of the flow-rate reducing members comprises a front opening and a rear opening, and wherein the front opening is smaller than the rear opening.
Suzuki further discloses, 5. The cassette transport device of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of flow-rate reducing members (Fig. 18, flow control plate 23) respectively arranged at a rear side (Fig. 18, ¶ 143 the air supply opening 21) of the flow-rate maintaining members, wherein each of the flow-rate reducing members comprises a front opening and a rear opening (Fig. 18, ¶ 143 The degree of opening of the flow control plate 23 increases), and wherein the front opening is smaller than the rear opening (Fig. 18, ¶ 143 The degree of opening of the flow control plate 23 increases).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara in view of Suzuki by combining the cassette transport device disclosed by Ishihara in view of Suzuki with a cassette transport device further comprising: a plurality of flow-rate reducing members respectively arranged at a rear side of the flow-rate maintaining members, wherein each of the flow-rate reducing members comprises a front opening and a rear opening, and wherein the front opening is smaller than the rear opening; taught by Suzuki for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an exterior environment with lesser cleanliness than a clean room which leads to lower costs [Suzuki: ¶ 115 sealed containers that permit lesser degree of cleanliness in the exterior environment of the pod, that is, the cleanliness of the clean-room can be lesser degree. Accordingly, capital cost and operating cost of the clean-room can be reduced].
Regarding Claim 6, Ishihara in view of Suzuki disclose the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Ishihara fails to disclose, 6. The cassette transport device of claim 5, wherein the flow-rate reducing members have a shape that gradually widens from a front side to a rear side.
Suzuki further discloses, 6. The cassette transport device of claim 5, wherein the flow-rate reducing members have a shape that gradually widens from a front side to a rear side (Fig. 18, ¶ 143 The degree of opening of the flow control plate 23 increases).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara in view of Suzuki by combining the cassette transport device disclosed by Ishihara in view of Suzuki with a cassette transport device, wherein the flow-rate reducing members have a shape that gradually widens from a front side to a rear side; taught by Suzuki for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an exterior environment with lesser cleanliness than a clean room which leads to lower costs [Suzuki: ¶ 115 sealed containers that permit lesser degree of cleanliness in the exterior environment of the pod, that is, the cleanliness of the clean-room can be lesser degree. Accordingly, capital cost and operating cost of the clean-room can be reduced].
Regarding Claim 10, Ishihara discloses, 10. A cassette transport device (Fig. 2, automated carrying vehicle 1A) comprising: a main body (Fig. 2, 14 is a running unit); a travel unit (Fig. 2, 14 is a running unit) to move the main body; — wherein fans of the plurality of fans (Fig. 9, ¶ 289 cross flow fans) are stacked on one another (Fig. 9, ¶ 289 cross flow fans) on the main body, and arranged on a rearward side with respect to the traveling direction of the main body (Fig. 9, ¶ 289 automated carrying vehicle 152 runs forward and backward and has the air injecting sections 114F, 114R provided in its front and rear).
Ishihara fails to disclose, — and a plurality of fans to generate a flow of air in a direction opposite to a traveling direction of the main body, —
In analogous art, Suzuki discloses, and a plurality of fans (Fig. 9, motor fan 7) to generate a flow of air (Fig. 9, ¶ 140 air inside the substrate transport pod is circulated) in a direction opposite to a traveling direction (Fig. 7, ¶ 137, 140: unmanned vehicle 10 to travel between the processing apparatuses 11, the air inside the substrate transport pod is circulated; “air is circulated in a direction opposite to an automatic guided vehicle (AGV) travel”) of the main body (Fig. 7, ¶ 137 unmanned vehicle 10), —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara by combining the cassette transport device disclosed by Ishihara with a cassette transport device comprising: a plurality of fans to generate a flow of air in a direction opposite to a traveling direction of the main body; taught by Suzuki for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an exterior environment with lesser cleanliness than a clean room which leads to lower costs [Suzuki: ¶ 115 sealed containers that permit lesser degree of cleanliness in the exterior environment of the pod, that is, the cleanliness of the clean-room can be lesser degree. Accordingly, capital cost and operating cost of the clean-room can be reduced].
Claim(s) 16 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara et al (US 2004/0000129 A1) (herein after Ishihara) in view of Suzuki et al (US 2002/0124906 A1) (herein after Suzuki), and further in view of Nishi et al (US 10,170,348 B2) (herein after Nishi).
Regarding Claim 16, Ishihara in view of Suzuki disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ishihara further discloses, 16. A cassette transport system (Fig. 1, automated carrying system) comprising: the cassette transport device (Fig. 2, automated carrying vehicle 1A) according to claim 1;
Ishihara and Suzuki fail to disclose, a cassette transport system — a travel tunnel to move the cassette transport device; and an air filter unit arranged on the travel tunnel, wherein an upper surface of the travel tunnel comprises a plurality of first openings, and wherein the air filter unit is configured to inject clean air into the travel tunnel through the first openings.
In analogous art, Nishi discloses, a cassette transport system (Fig. 2. Col. 5. Ln. 3 – 5 FIG. 2 is a schematic plan view depicting the example of the printing production system for an electronic device; Fig. 5 Col. 9. Ln. 14 – 15 FIG. 5 is a schematic sectional view taken on the line (v)-(v) in FIG. 2) — a travel tunnel (Fig. 5. transport chamber 1) to move the cassette transport device; and an air filter unit (Fig. 5. filter 642) arranged on the travel tunnel, wherein an upper surface of the travel tunnel comprises a plurality of first openings (Fig. 5. Col. 10. Ln. 10 – 11 upper part of 10 the transport chamber 1, a plurality of air supply ports 101), and wherein the air filter unit is configured to inject clean air into the travel tunnel through the first openings (Fig. 5. Col. 12. Ln. 23 – 24 clean air supplied to the inside of the transport chamber 1 through the air supply port 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara in view of Suzuki by combining the cassette transport system disclosed by Ishihara in view of Suzuki with a cassette transport system comprising: a travel tunnel to move the cassette transport device; and an air filter unit arranged on the travel tunnel, wherein an upper surface of the travel tunnel comprises a plurality of first openings, and wherein the air filter unit is configured to inject clean air into the travel tunnel through the first openings; taught by Nishi for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an environment pressurized in order to prevent defective products [Nishi: Col. 12, Ln. 53 – 61: At this time, an adjustment is made such that the air pressure in the transport chamber 1 becomes higher than the air pressure in the base material transfer area … This makes it possible to prevent defective products and the like which are caused by dust].
Regarding Claim 17, Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi disclose the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Ishihara and Suzuki fail to disclose, 17. The cassette transport system of claim 16, wherein a lower surface of the travel tunnel comprises a plurality of second openings, and wherein the air filter unit is configured to generate an airflow from the first openings toward the second openings.
Nishi further discloses, 17. The cassette transport system of claim 16, wherein a lower surface (Fig. 6. Col. 11. Ln. 54 – 55 exhaust slot 108 provided in a lower part of the transport chamber 1) of the travel tunnel comprises a plurality of second openings (Fig. 5. exhaust port 650), and wherein the air filter unit is configured to generate an airflow from the first openings toward the second openings (Fig. 5. exhaust port 650).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi by combining the cassette transport system disclosed by Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi with a cassette transport system, wherein a lower surface of the travel tunnel comprises a plurality of second openings, and wherein the air filter unit is configured to generate an airflow from the first openings toward the second openings; taught by Nishi for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an environment pressurized in order to prevent defective products [Nishi: Col. 12, Ln. 53 – 61: At this time, an adjustment is made such that the air pressure in the transport chamber 1 becomes higher than the air pressure in the base material transfer area … This makes it possible to prevent defective products and the like which are caused by dust].
Regarding Claim 18, Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi disclose the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Ishihara and Suzuki fail to disclose, 18. The cassette transport system of claim 16, further comprising: at least one stocker to store a cassette; and a buffer unit located between the stocker and the cassette transport device to temporarily store and relay the cassette.
Nishi further discloses, 18. The cassette transport system of claim 16, further comprising: at least one stocker (Fig. 2. stock chamber 12) to store a cassette; and a buffer unit (Fig. 2. stock chamber 11) located between the stocker and the cassette transport device to temporarily store (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 14 – 15 a stock chamber for temporarily stocking the base material) and relay the cassette.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi by combining the cassette transport system disclosed by Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi with a cassette transport system, further comprising: at least one stocker to store a cassette; and a buffer unit located between the stocker and the cassette transport device to temporarily store and relay the cassette; taught by Nishi for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an environment pressurized in order to prevent defective products [Nishi: Col. 12, Ln. 53 – 61: At this time, an adjustment is made such that the air pressure in the transport chamber 1 becomes higher than the air pressure in the base material transfer area … This makes it possible to prevent defective products and the like which are caused by dust].
Regarding Claim 19, Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi disclose the limitations of claim 18, which this claim depends on.
Ishihara and Suzuki fail to disclose, 19. The cassette transport system of claim 18, wherein the stocker comprises a lifting device to lift the cassette, and at least one loading chamber to store the cassette.
Nishi further discloses, 19. The cassette transport system of claim 18, wherein the stocker comprises a lifting device (Fig. 5. Col. 10. Ln. 16 transport conveyor 603) to lift the cassette, and at least one loading chamber (Fig. 2. Col. 10. Ln. 16 opening 602) to store the cassette.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi by combining the cassette transport system disclosed by Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi with a cassette transport system, wherein the stocker comprises a lifting device to lift the cassette, and at least one loading chamber to store the cassette; taught by Nishi for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an environment pressurized in order to prevent defective products [Nishi: Col. 12, Ln. 53 – 61: At this time, an adjustment is made such that the air pressure in the transport chamber 1 becomes higher than the air pressure in the base material transfer area … This makes it possible to prevent defective products and the like which are caused by dust].
Regarding Claim 20, Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi disclose the limitations of claim 18, which this claim depends on.
Ishihara and Suzuki fail to disclose, 20. The cassette transport system of claim 18, wherein the travel tunnel is configured to connect an upper portion of the stocker with an upper portion of another stocker.
Nishi further discloses, 20. The cassette transport system of claim 18, wherein the travel tunnel is configured to connect an upper portion (Fig. 2. Col. 6. Ln. 27 – 28 transport line 120 may be disposed hierarchically) of the stocker with an upper portion (Fig. 2. Col. 6. Ln. 27 – 28 transport line 120 may be disposed hierarchically) of another stocker.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi by combining the cassette transport system disclosed by Ishihara in view of Suzuki in view of Nishi with a cassette transport system, wherein the travel tunnel is configured to connect an upper portion of the stocker with an upper portion of another stocker; taught by Nishi for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an environment pressurized in order to prevent defective products [Nishi: Col. 12, Ln. 53 – 61: At this time, an adjustment is made such that the air pressure in the transport chamber 1 becomes higher than the air pressure in the base material transfer area … This makes it possible to prevent defective products and the like which are caused by dust].
Regarding Claim 21, Ishihara in view of Suzuki disclose the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Ishihara further discloses, 21. A cassette transport system (Fig. 1, automated carrying system) comprising: the cassette transport device (Fig. 2, automated carrying vehicle 1A) according to claim 10; —
Ishihara and Suzuki fail to disclose, a cassette transport system — a travel tunnel to move the cassette transport device; and an air filter unit arranged on the travel tunnel, wherein an upper surface of the travel tunnel comprises a plurality of first openings, and wherein the air filter unit is configured to inject clean air into the travel tunnel through the first openings.
In analogous art, Nishi discloses, a cassette transport system (Fig. 2. Col. 5. Ln. 3 – 5 FIG. 2 is a schematic plan view depicting the example of the printing production system for an electronic device; Fig. 5 Col. 9. Ln. 14 – 15 FIG. 5 is a schematic sectional view taken on the line (v)-(v) in FIG. 2) — a travel tunnel (Fig. 5. transport chamber 1) to move the cassette transport device; and an air filter unit (Fig. 5. filter 642) arranged on the travel tunnel, wherein an upper surface of the travel tunnel comprises a plurality of first openings (Fig. 5. Col. 10. Ln. 10 – 11 upper part of 10 the transport chamber 1, a plurality of air supply ports 101), and wherein the air filter unit is configured to inject clean air into the travel tunnel through the first openings (Fig. 5. Col. 12. Ln. 23 – 24 clean air supplied to the inside of the transport chamber 1 through the air supply port 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishihara in view of Suzuki by combining the cassette transport system disclosed by Ishihara in view of Suzuki with a cassette transport system comprising: a travel tunnel to move the cassette transport device; and an air filter unit arranged on the travel tunnel, wherein an upper surface of the travel tunnel comprises a plurality of first openings, and wherein the air filter unit is configured to inject clean air into the travel tunnel through the first openings; taught by Nishi for the benefit of transporting cassettes in an environment pressurized in order to prevent defective products [Nishi: Col. 12, Ln. 53 – 61: At this time, an adjustment is made such that the air pressure in the transport chamber 1 becomes higher than the air pressure in the base material transfer area … This makes it possible to prevent defective products and the like which are caused by dust].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7 – 9, 11 – 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “2. The cassette transport device of claim 1, further comprising: a speed sensing unit to measure a speed of the main body; a plurality of air-pressure sensing units arranged in front of the flow-rate maintaining members, respectively; and a control processing device to control the plurality of flow-rate maintaining members, wherein the control processing device is configured to generate a signal for controlling a strength of the flow-rate maintaining members based on information provided from the speed sensing unit and the air-pressure sensing units, and wherein the air-pressure sensing units are located between the flow-rate maintaining members and an object to be moved, and are configured to measure air pressure and/or air flow rate in front of the plurality of flow-rate maintaining members.”
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “7. The cassette transport device of claim 1, further comprising: a direction changing member arranged at a rear side of the flow-rate maintaining members, wherein the direction changing member comprises an opening facing a lower side, and is arranged to cover a part of a rear surface of the main body.”
Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “8. The cassette transport device of claim 1, wherein the travel unit comprises a main travel unit and an auxiliary travel unit arranged at a side of the main travel unit, wherein the auxiliary travel unit comprises a vertical driver, and wherein a lowest end of the auxiliary travel unit is configured to be selectively located at a lower level than a lowest end of the main travel unit by driving the vertical driver.”
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “8. The cassette transport device of claim 1, wherein the travel unit comprises a main travel unit and an auxiliary travel unit arranged at a side of the main travel unit, wherein the auxiliary travel unit comprises a vertical driver, and wherein a lowest end of the auxiliary travel unit is configured to be selectively located at a lower level than a lowest end of the main travel unit by driving the vertical driver.”
Claim 3 is objected to due to its dependency on claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “11. The cassette transport device of claim 10, further comprising: a speed sensing unit to measure a speed of the main body; a plurality of air-pressure sensing units arranged in front of the plurality of fans, respectively; and a control processing device to control the plurality of fans, wherein the control processing device is configured to generate a signal for controlling wind strengths of the fans based on information provided from the speed sensing unit and the air-pressure sensing units.”
Claims 12 – 14 are objected to due to their dependency on claim 11. Claim 15 is objected to due to its dependency on claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abraham et al (US 2004/0050189 A1) teaches, a cassette transport device (Fig. 1, ¶ 48 a personal-guided vehicle (PGV) for transporting wafer carriers)
Seita (US 2003/0049101 A1) teaches, a cassette transport device (Fig. 5, ¶ 57 a method of automatically transporting the wafer carrier 100 at a production site)
Gravell et al. (US 6,205,881 B1) teaches, a cassette transport device (Fig. 1, Col. 3 Ln 31 – 36 The vehicle is placed before a loading and unloading station 6 as the destination to which an item to be transported, such as a container 7 … Particularly suitable containers serve for receiving substrates (semiconductor wafers, reticles and templates))
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858