DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of piezoelectric layers and bulk piezoelectric layer as disclosed in claims 4, 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 11, the statement “target frequency as if the metal top…were symmetrically configured, but provide a higher…coefficient as compared to a symmetrical configuration” is indefinite and idiomatic. It is not clear “as if the metal” could be configured, at some point, in a certain configuration to provide a coupling coefficient in a symmetrical configuration and then as some point, be able to provide a higher coupling coefficient. It is not clear what would make the configuration be able to provide a higher coupling coefficient.
In claims 14, 16, the two claims are identical.
In claims 14, 15, 16, all three claims compare the top electrode to the same top electrode. It is not clear to what element the top electrode is being compared.
The rest of the dependent claims are rejected due to their dependency on claims 1 and 11.
In order to advance prosecution in the merits, the Prior Art will be applied
as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Milson et al (US 7,522,018).
Milson et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 18, An acoustic wave resonator, comprising: a metal bottom electrode 13 having a first thickness; a piezoelectric layer 14 positioned adjacent to the metal bottom electrode 13; and a metal top electrode 15 having a second thickness and being positioned adjacent to the piezoelectric layer 14 such that the piezoelectric layer resides between the metal bottom electrode and the metal top electrode (see Fig. 1), wherein the second thickness is different from the first thickness (Fig. 1; column 3, lines 35 – 41).
Claim 20, the metal bottom electrode is thicker than the metal top electrode (column 3, lines 35 – 41; see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6 – 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milsom et al (US 7,522,018) in view of Burak et al (US 2015/0349743).
Milsom et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 1, An asymmetric resonator stack, comprising: a metal bottom electrode 4; a metal top electrode 6; and a piezoelectric layer 5 positioned between the metal bottom electrode and the metal top electrode (see Fig. 1), wherein at least one property of the metal bottom electrode differs from at least one property of the metal top electrode (since the electrode have different thickness; see Fig. 1), and wherein the metal bottom electrode, the metal top electrode, and the piezoelectric layer provide a resonator target frequency (column 2, line 58 – column 3, line 9) as if the metal top electrode and metal bottom electrode were symmetrically configured, but provide a higher electromechanical coupling coefficient (kt2) (column 1, line 63 – column 2; column 4, lines 41 – 43) as compared to a symmetrical configuration of the metal bottom electrode and the metal top electrode (since the arrangement provides for an optimum coupling coefficient due to the asymmetrical arrangement; see abstract).
Burak et al is being cited for explicitly showing that having electrodes with different thickness is used for providing a higher electromechanical coupling coefficient (see Fig. 11; bottom electrode 1110, top electrode 1140, piezo 1130; paragraphs 0007, 0053, 0061, 0069).
The Prior Art further discloses, regarding,
Claim 2, a seed layer 3, wherein the metal bottom electrode 4 is positioned between the piezoelectric layer 5 and the seed layer 3 (Milson et al, Fig. 1).
Claim 3, a passivation layer 7, wherein the metal top electrode 6 is positioned between the piezoelectric layer 5 and the passivation layer 7 (Milson et al, Fig. 1).
Claim 6, the metal bottom electrode and the metal top electrode comprise molybdenum (Milson et al, column 1, lines 52, 53) and wherein a thickness property of the metal bottom electrode is different from a thickness property of the metal top electrode (Milson et al, Fig. 1).
Claim 7, the piezoelectric layer comprises at least one of Aluminum Nitride (AIN) (Burak et al, 0007) and Aluminum Scandium Nitride (ScAIN).
Claims 8, 19, a material property of the metal bottom electrode is different from a material property of the metal top electrode (Burak et al, 0048, 0073).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use different materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 9, at least one of the metal bottom electrode and the metal top electrode comprise multiple materials formed in a grid (Burak et al, 0048, 0073; see Figs. 3, B, 5, 7, 11).
Claim 10, both the metal bottom electrode and the metal top electrode comprise the grid (Burak et al, Figs. 15 – 17).
Claim 11, A device, comprising: a seed layer 3; a metal bottom electrode 4 positioned adjacent to the seed layer 3; a piezoelectric layer 5 positioned adjacent to the metal bottom electrode 4 (Milson et al, Fig. 1); and a metal top electrode 6 positioned adjacent to the piezoelectric layer 5 (Milson et al, Fig. 1), wherein at least one property of the metal bottom electrode differs from at least one property of the metal top electrode (Milson et al, abstract), and wherein the metal bottom electrode, the metal top electrode, and the piezoelectric layer provides a resonator target frequency as if the metal top electrode and metal bottom electrode were symmetrically configured, but provide a higher electromechanical coupling coefficient (kt2) as compared to a symmetrical configuration of the metal bottom electrode and the metal top electrode (column 1, line 63 – column 2; column 4, lines 41 – 43; since the arrangement provides for an optimum coupling coefficient due to the asymmetrical arrangement; see abstract).
Burak et al is being cited for explicitly showing that having electrodes with different thickness is used for providing a higher electromechanical coupling coefficient (see Fig. 11; bottom electrode 1110, top electrode 1140, piezo 1130; paragraphs 0007, 0053, 0061, 0069).
The Prior Art further discloses, regarding,
Claim 12, a passivation layer 7, wherein the metal top electrode 6 is positioned between the piezoelectric layer 5 and the passivation layer 7 (Milson et al, Fig. 1).
Claim 13, a thickness property of the metal bottom electrode is different from a thickness property of the metal top electrode (Milson et al, abstract; Fig. 1).
Claims 14, 16, the metal top electrode comprises a thickness that is less than a thickness of the metal top electrode (Milson et al, Fig. 1).
Claim 15, the metal top electrode comprises a thickness that is greater than a thickness of the metal top electrode (Burak et al, Figs. 11, 12).
Claim 17, the piezoelectric layer directly contacts the metal bottom electrode and the metal top electrode (Milson et al, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the stack/device as disclose by Milson et al and to modify the invention per the limitations disclosed by Burak et al for the purpose of improving the quality factor of resonators.
Claim(s) 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milson et al and Burak et al as applied to claims 1 – 3 above, and further in view of Sadhu et al (US 2019/0305752).
The combined stack discloses all of the elements above. However, the combined stack does not disclose the elements below.On the other hand, Sadhu et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 4, the piezoelectric layer comprises a plurality of piezoelectric layers (see Fig. 3).
Claim 5, the piezoelectric layer comprises a bulk piezoelectric layer (see abstract and title).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the combined stack/device as disclose above and to modify the invention per the limitations disclosed by Sadhu et al for the purpose of enhancing the piezoelectric coupling of a resonator.
Conclusion
/Julio C. Gonzalez/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2831
July 15, 2026