DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on June 26, 2026, is acknowledged.
Cancellation of claims 3 and 15-20 has been entered.
Claims 1-2 and 4-14 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 15-20 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwak (US 2022/0173352 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwak discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 3) comprising: a substrate (100); an organic insulating layer (155, ¶0084]) on the substrate and having a hole (155b); a subpixel electrode (160) on the organic insulating layer (155); an auxiliary electrode (162) comprising at least a portion arranged in the hole (155b) of the organic insulating layer (155); a subpixel-defining layer (172) on the organic insulating layer (155) and having a first opening (172b) overlapping the auxiliary electrode (162) and a second opening (Fig. 3) overlapping the subpixel electrode (160); an emission layer (180) on the subpixel electrode; an opposite electrode (190) on the emission layer; a common layer (186) arranged between the subpixel electrode (160) and the opposite electrode (190) and extending onto the subpixel-defining layer to overlap the subpixel-defining layer (Fig. 3); and a spacer (200) below the common layer (186) and overlapping a portion of the auxiliary electrode (162), a portion of the hole (155b) of the organic insulating layer, and a portion of the subpixel-defining layer (172) that is positioned between the first opening and the second opening (see Figs. 2, 3 and 5D, sub-pixel defining layer 172 extends to surround both the first and second openings, (Fig. 3, i.e., positioned between the first and second opening), and the spacer 200 extends on three sides of the first opening 172b (Fig. 5D), accordingly, the spacer 200 overlaps a portion of the sub-pixel-defining layer 172 positioned between the first opening and the second opening), wherein the auxiliary electrode (162) and the subpixel electrode (160) comprise a same material (¶[0093]).
Regarding claim 2, Kwak discloses a display apparatus further comprising an auxiliary wire (146) below the organic insulating layer (155) and electrically coupled with the auxiliary electrode (162).
Regarding claim 4, Kwak discloses a display apparatus wherein the subpixel-defining layer (172) comprises a tip protruding toward the first opening (172b).
Regarding claim 5, Kwak discloses a display apparatus wherein the spacer (200) covers a portion of the tip and comprises a side surface tapered (¶[0137]) with respect to an upper surface of the auxiliary electrode (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Kwak discloses a display apparatus wherein the common layer (186) comprises separate portions around another portion of the tip on an opposite side of the hole (172b) from the spacer (200).
Regarding claim 7, Kwak discloses a display apparatus wherein one of the separate portions of the common layer (186) is in direct contact with a portion of the auxiliary electrode (162).
Regarding claim 8, Kwak discloses a display apparatus wherein the opposite electrode (190) comprises separate portions around another portion of the tip on an opposite side of the hole (172b) from the spacer (200).
Regarding claim 12, Kwak discloses a display apparatus wherein an upper surface of a portion of the subpixel-defining layer (172) comprising the tip has a step difference with respect to an upper surface of another portion of the subpixel-defining layer on an upper surface of the organic insulating layer (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Kwak discloses a display apparatus wherein the subpixel-defining layer (172) comprises an inorganic insulating material (¶[0197]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is allowed over the prior art of record.
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 9, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 9, and specifically comprising the limitation of one of the separate portions of the opposite electrode is in direct contact with a portion of the auxiliary electrode, around the other portion of the tip.
Regarding claim(s) 10, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 10, and specifically comprising the limitation of the side surface of the spacer forms an inclination angle of 30 degrees to 60 degrees with respect to the upper surface of the auxiliary electrode.
Regarding claim(s) 11, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 11, and specifically comprising the limitation of the organic insulating layer further comprises a recess under the tip on an opposite side of the hole from the spacer, and recessed with respect to a side surface of the organic insulating layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the prior art reference to Kwak (US 2022/0173352 A1) fails to teach or suggest the limitation of a spacer below the common layer and overlapping a portion of the auxiliary electrode, a portion of the hole of the organic insulating layer, and a portion of the subpixel-defining layer that is positioned between the first opening and the second opening. The examiner disagrees.
Kwak discloses a display apparatus comprising a subpixel-defining layer (172) surrounds a first opening (172b) exposing an auxiliary electrode (162) and a second opening exposing a sub-pixel electrode (160), and a spacer (200) overlapping a portion of the auxiliary electrode (162), a portion of the hole (155b) of the organic insulating layer, and a portion of the subpixel-defining layer (172) that is positioned between the first opening and the second opening (see Figs. 2, 3 and 5D). The subpixel defining layer (172) surrounds each of the first and second openings and extends between the first and second openings (Fig. 3). As shown in Fig. 5D, the spacer (200) extends on three sides of the first opening (172b), accordingly, the spacer (200) overlaps a portion of the sub-pixel-defining layer (172) positioned between the first opening and the second opening.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879