DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, Line 7: “opening” should be amended to recite “openings”.
Claim 19, Line 7: “opening” should be amended to recite “openings”.
Claim 20, Line 1: “clips is clinched” should be amended to recite “clips are clinched”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 15 recite the limitation “when the clip is fully seated into the opening of a panel” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if the “opening” of claims 6 and 15 is the same “opening” already introduced in claims 1 and 10 or another opening.
For the purposes of examination below, Examiner interprets claims 6 and 15 as reciting:
“wherein the at least one projection includes a first member that forms an angle of 45 degrees or less relative to the support when the clip is fully seated into an opening of a panel.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20140285972 A1) in view of Kaneko (US 20180220539 A1).
As to Claim 1, Hong discloses:
An apparatus (power module 100; Fig. 1) comprising:
an electronics unit 10/30 including a plurality of electronics positioned therein that generate thermal energy (Par. 0044 “one surface of the module substrate 10 may have at least one or more electronic devices 11 mounted thereon”; see Par. 0079, devices generate heat), the electronics unit further including:
a housing 30 defining a plurality of openings positioned on a first side thereof (openings disposed on outer side/perimeter of 30; see Fig. below);
and a plurality of clips 40 being attached to the housing 30 (Par. 0068 “The fastening member 40 is inserted into the fastening part 34 to complete the housing 30”), wherein a corresponding clip 40 of the plurality of clips is positioned in a corresponding opening of the plurality of openings (fastening members 40 disposed in each highlighted opening) for attachment to a heat sink 70 (Par. 0077 “The elastic force is continuously generated in the state in which the fastening member 40 is fastened to the heat radiating substrate 70. Therefore, the housing 30 according to the embodiment of the invention may continuously maintain adhesive force with the heat radiating substrate 70 through the elastic force”),
wherein the plurality of clips 40 enables thermal energy to be transmitted from the electronics 11 to a first portion of the heat sink 70 (heat from 11 discharged to 70 via connection between 30 and 70, facilitated by fastening members 40; Par. 0079 “The heat radiating substrate 70 is fastened to the lower portion of the housing 30 to discharge heat generated from the electronic devices 11 to the outside”).
Hong does not disclose:
wherein a corresponding clip of the plurality of clips is positioned in a corresponding opening of the plurality of openings for attachment to a vehicle,
wherein the plurality of clips enables thermal energy to be transmitted from the electronics to a first portion of the vehicle.
However, Kaneko discloses:
wherein the housing (3 of Fig. 1) is attached to a vehicle (Par. 0019 “a fixture for vehicle mounting 9 for fixing the electronic control device to a vehicle”; wherein 9 corresponds to 40 of Hong and wherein the vehicle of Kaneko corresponds to 70 of Hong),
wherein the plurality of fasteners 9 enables thermal energy to be transmitted from the electronics to a first portion of the vehicle (Par. 0020 “With the fixture for vehicle mounting 9 integrally molded with the housing case 3, heat dissipated from the electronic component 1 towards the housing case 3 such as the heat sink 7 can be dissipated to the vehicle body via the fixture for vehicle mounting 9”);
in order to provide a control device disposed in a vehicle capable of transferring heat to the vehicle body (Par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hong as further suggested by Kaneko e.g., providing:
wherein a corresponding clip of the plurality of clips is positioned in a corresponding opening of the plurality of openings for attachment to a vehicle,
wherein the plurality of clips enables thermal energy to be transmitted from the electronics to a first portion of the vehicle;
in order to provide a control device disposed in a vehicle capable of transferring heat to the vehicle body.
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko discloses:
wherein each clip (40 of Hong) includes at least one projection that protrudes from the corresponding opening (see Fig. below; highlighted projections protrude from highlighted opening; Hong).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko discloses:
wherein each clip (40 of Hong) includes a base 42 and a support (highlighted below), and wherein the support extends outwardly from the base 42 (highlighted support extends from 42; Hong).
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko discloses:
wherein a first of the at least one projection (highlighted first projection) extends outwardly from the support and is angled relative to the support (highlighted first projection extends from highlighted support at an angle), and a second of the at least one projection (highlighted second projection) extends outwardly from the support and is angled relative to the support (highlighted second projection extends from highlighted support at an angle).
As to Claim 6 (as best understood), the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko discloses:
wherein the at least one projection (highlighted below) includes a first member (first member is portion of 40 disposed within highlighted opening) that forms an angle of 45 degrees or less relative to the support when the clip (40 of Hong; highlighted portion in second attached Fig. below is at least 45 degrees or less relative to support) is fully seated into an opening (fitting groove 35) of a panel (highlighted face of fastening parts 34 of housing 30 below; Definition of panel “a distinct portion, section, or division of a wall” – Dictionary.com)
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko discloses:
wherein the first projection as positioned on the support is offset from the second projection as positioned on the support (highlighted first and second projections below, both positioned on highlighted support, are offset from each other at least in the horizontal direction; Hong).
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of clips each has a width of about 7.5 mm to about 11.5 mm and a thickness of about 0.1 mm to about 0.4 mm.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the fastening elements 40 of Hong having a width of about 7.5 mm to about 11.5 mm and a thickness of about 0.1 mm to about 0.4 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the relative width and thickness of the clips for effecting the connection between the apparatus and vehicle) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20140285972 A1) in view of Kaneko (US 20180220539 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Erbe (US 10188018 B2).
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of clips, when attached to the first portion of the vehicle, reduce electromagnetic interference generated by the plurality of electronics.
However, Erbe discloses:
wherein the apparatus, when attached to the first portion of the vehicle (col. 2, Line 65 “the apparatus is mounted in the vehicle”; corresponds to vehicle of Kaneko), reduce electromagnetic interference generated by the plurality of electronics (col. 2, Lines 39-31 “the housing of the apparatus is configured in such a way that the housing shields electromagnetic radiation”; col. 2, Lines 60-65 “a circuit board is positioned in a housing of the apparatus in such a way that the circuit board shields the electromagnetic radiation of at least one electrical or electronic component of the apparatus positioned in the housing at least with respect to the interior of the vehicle, when the apparatus is mounted in the vehicle”; wherein the attachment of the apparatus to the vehicle of Erbe corresponds to the attachment of the housing 30 to 70 via fasteners 40 of Hong);
in order to shield the interior of the vehicle from electromagnetic radiation produced by the electrical/electronic components of the apparatus (col. 2, Lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hong in view of Kaneko as further suggested by Erbe e.g., providing:
wherein the plurality of clips, when attached to the first portion of the vehicle, reduce electromagnetic interference generated by the plurality of electronics;
in order to shield the interior of the vehicle from electromagnetic radiation produced by the electrical/electronic components of the apparatus.
Claims 10-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20140285972 A1) in view of Kaneko (US 20180220539 A1) and Erbe (US 10188018 B2).
As to Claim 10, Hong discloses:
An apparatus (power module 100; Fig. 1) comprising:
an electronics unit 10/30 including a plurality of electronics positioned therein that generate electromagnetic interference (EMI) (Par. 0044 “one surface of the module substrate 10 may have at least one or more electronic devices 11 mounted thereon”; electronic devices create EMI), the electronics unit further including:
a housing 30 defining a plurality of openings positioned on a first side thereof (openings disposed on outer side/perimeter of 30; see Fig. below);
and a plurality of clips 40 being attached to the housing 30 (Par. 0068 “The fastening member 40 is inserted into the fastening part 34 to complete the housing 30”), wherein a corresponding clip 40 of the plurality of clips is positioned in a corresponding opening of the plurality of openings (fastening members 40 disposed in each highlighted opening) for attachment to a heat sink 70 (Par. 0077 “The elastic force is continuously generated in the state in which the fastening member 40 is fastened to the heat radiating substrate 70. Therefore, the housing 30 according to the embodiment of the invention may continuously maintain adhesive force with the heat radiating substrate 70 through the elastic force”).
Hong does not disclose:
a plurality of clips being attached to the housing, wherein a corresponding clip of the plurality of clips is positioned in a corresponding opening of the plurality of opening for attachment to a vehicle,
wherein the plurality of clips mitigates the EMI, when the electronics unit is attached to the vehicle.
However, Kaneko discloses:
wherein the housing (3 of Fig. 1) is attached to a vehicle (Par. 0019 “a fixture for vehicle mounting 9 for fixing the electronic control device to a vehicle”; wherein 9 corresponds to 40 of Hong and wherein the vehicle of Kaneko corresponds to 70 of Hong);
in order to provide a control device disposed in a vehicle capable of transferring heat to the vehicle body (Par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hong as further suggested by Kaneko e.g., providing:
a plurality of clips being attached to the housing, wherein a corresponding clip of the plurality of clips is positioned in a corresponding opening of the plurality of opening for attachment to a vehicle;
in order to provide a control device disposed in a vehicle capable of transferring heat to the vehicle body.
Further, Erbe discloses:
wherein the apparatus mitigates the EMI, when the electronics unit is attached to the vehicle (col. 2, Line 65 “the apparatus is mounted in the vehicle”; corresponds to vehicle of Kaneko; col. 2, Lines 39-31 “the housing of the apparatus is configured in such a way that the housing shields electromagnetic radiation”; col. 2, Lines 60-65 “a circuit board is positioned in a housing of the apparatus in such a way that the circuit board shields the electromagnetic radiation of at least one electrical or electronic component of the apparatus positioned in the housing at least with respect to the interior of the vehicle, when the apparatus is mounted in the vehicle”; wherein the attachment of the apparatus to the vehicle of Erbe corresponds to the attachment of the housing 30 to 70 via fasteners 40 of Hong);
in order to shield the interior of the vehicle from electromagnetic radiation produced by the electrical/electronic components of the apparatus (col. 2, Lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hong in view of Kaneko as further suggested by Erbe e.g., providing:
wherein the plurality of clips mitigates the EMI, when the electronics unit is attached to the vehicle;
in order to shield the interior of the vehicle from electromagnetic radiation produced by the electrical/electronic components of the apparatus.
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko and Erbe discloses:
wherein the plurality of electronics generate thermal energy (see Par. 0079 of Hong, devices 11 generate heat), and wherein the plurality of clips 40 enables the thermal energy to be transmitted from the electronics 11 to a first portion of the vehicle (vehicle of Kaneko; heat from 11 discharged to 70 via connection between 30 and 70 of Kaneko, facilitated by fastening members 40; Par. 0079 “The heat radiating substrate 70 is fastened to the lower portion of the housing 30 to discharge heat generated from the electronic devices 11 to the outside”; corresponds to connection with vehicle of Kaneko, Par. 0020 “With the fixture for vehicle mounting 9 integrally molded with the housing case 3, heat dissipated from the electronic component 1 towards the housing case 3 such as the heat sink 7 can be dissipated to the vehicle body via the fixture for vehicle mounting 9”).
As to Claim 12, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko and Erbe discloses:
wherein each clip (40 of Hong) includes at least one projection that protrudes from the corresponding opening (see Fig. below; highlighted projections protrude from highlighted opening; Hong).
As to Claim 13, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko and Erbe discloses:
wherein each clip (40 of Hong) includes a base 42 and a support (highlighted below), and wherein the support extends outwardly from the base 42 (highlighted support extends from 42; Hong).
As to Claim 14, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko and Erbe discloses:
wherein a first of the at least one projection (highlighted first projection) extends outwardly from the support and is angled relative to the support (highlighted first projection extends from highlighted support at an angle), and a second of the at least one projection (highlighted second projection) extends outwardly from the support and is angled relative to the support (highlighted second projection extends from highlighted support at an angle).
As to Claim 15 (as best understood), the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko discloses:
wherein the at least one projection (highlighted below) includes a first member (first member is portion of 40 disposed within highlighted opening) that forms an angle of 45 degrees or less relative to the support when the clip (40 of Hong; highlighted portion in second attached Fig. below is at least 45 degrees or less relative to support) is fully seated into an opening (fitting groove 35) of a panel (highlighted face of fastening parts 34 of housing 30 below; Definition of panel “a distinct portion, section, or division of a wall” – Dictionary.com)
As to Claim 16, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko discloses:
wherein the first projection as positioned on the support is offset from the second projection as positioned on the support (highlighted first and second projections below, both positioned on highlighted support, are offset from each other at least in the horizontal direction; Hong).
As to Claim 18, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of clips each has a width of about 7.5 mm to about 11.5 mm and a thickness of about 0.1 mm to about 0.4 mm.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the fastening elements 40 of Hong having a width of about 7.5 mm to about 11.5 mm and a thickness of about 0.1 mm to about 0.4 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the relative width and thickness of the clips for effecting the connection between the apparatus and vehicle) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to Claim 19, Hong discloses:
An electronics unit (power module 100; Fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality of electronics positioned therein that generate electromagnetic interference (EMI) (Par. 0044 “one surface of the module substrate 10 may have at least one or more electronic devices 11 mounted thereon”; electronic devices create EMI);
a housing 30 defining a plurality of openings positioned on a first side thereof (openings disposed on outer side/perimeter of 30; see Fig. below); and
a plurality of clips 40 being attached to the housing 30 (Par. 0068 “The fastening member 40 is inserted into the fastening part 34 to complete the housing 30”), wherein a corresponding clip 40 of the plurality of clips is positioned in a corresponding opening of the plurality of openings (fastening members 40 disposed in each highlighted opening) for attachment to a heat sink 70 (Par. 0077 “The elastic force is continuously generated in the state in which the fastening member 40 is fastened to the heat radiating substrate 70. Therefore, the housing 30 according to the embodiment of the invention may continuously maintain adhesive force with the heat radiating substrate 70 through the elastic force”), and
wherein the plurality of clips 40 (i) enables thermal energy to be transmitted from the plurality of electronics 11 to a first portion of the heat sink 70 (heat from 11 discharged to 70 via connection between 30 and 70, facilitated by fastening members 40; Par. 0079 “The heat radiating substrate 70 is fastened to the lower portion of the housing 30 to discharge heat generated from the electronic devices 11 to the outside”).
Hong does not disclose:
a plurality of clips being attached to the housing, wherein a corresponding clip of the plurality of clips is positioned in a corresponding opening of the plurality of opening for attachment to a vehicle, and
wherein the plurality of clips (i) enables thermal energy to be transmitted from the plurality of electronics to a first portion of the vehicle, and (ii) mitigates the EMI, when the electronics unit is attached to the vehicle.
However, Kaneko discloses:
wherein the housing (3 of Fig. 1) is attached to a vehicle (Par. 0019 “a fixture for vehicle mounting 9 for fixing the electronic control device to a vehicle”; wherein 9 corresponds to 40 of Hong and wherein the vehicle of Kaneko corresponds to 70 of Hong),
wherein the plurality of fasteners 9 (i) enables thermal energy to be transmitted from the plurality of electronics to a first portion of the vehicle (Par. 0020 “With the fixture for vehicle mounting 9 integrally molded with the housing case 3, heat dissipated from the electronic component 1 towards the housing case 3 such as the heat sink 7 can be dissipated to the vehicle body via the fixture for vehicle mounting 9”);
in order to provide a control device disposed in a vehicle capable of transferring heat to the vehicle body (Par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hong as further suggested by Kaneko e.g., providing:
a plurality of clips being attached to the housing, wherein a corresponding clip of the plurality of clips is positioned in a corresponding opening of the plurality of opening for attachment to a vehicle, and
wherein the plurality of clips (i) enables thermal energy to be transmitted from the plurality of electronics to a first portion of the vehicle;
in order to provide a control device disposed in a vehicle capable of transferring heat to the vehicle body.
Further, Erbe discloses:
wherein the apparatus (ii) mitigates the EMI, when the electronics unit is attached to the vehicle (col. 2, Lines 39-31 “the housing of the apparatus is configured in such a way that the housing shields electromagnetic radiation”; col. 2, Lines 60-65 “a circuit board is positioned in a housing of the apparatus in such a way that the circuit board shields the electromagnetic radiation of at least one electrical or electronic component of the apparatus positioned in the housing at least with respect to the interior of the vehicle, when the apparatus is mounted in the vehicle”; wherein the attachment of the apparatus to the vehicle of Erbe corresponds to the attachment of the housing 30 to 70 via fasteners 40 of Hong);
in order to shield the interior of the vehicle from electromagnetic radiation produced by the electrical/electronic components of the apparatus (col. 2, Lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hong in view of Kaneko as further suggested by Erbe e.g., providing:
wherein the plurality of clips (ii) mitigates the EMI, when the electronics unit is attached to the vehicle;
in order to shield the interior of the vehicle from electromagnetic radiation produced by the electrical/electronic components of the apparatus.
As to Claim 20, the obvious modification of Hong in view of Kaneko and Erbe discloses:
wherein the plurality of clips (40 of Hong) are clinched to the housing 30 to fix the plurality of clips 40 to the housing 30 (end points of the portions projecting into the housing 30 are curved/bent securing 40 to 30; Definition of clinch “to secure (a nail, screw, etc.) in position by beating down the protruding point” – Dictionary.com).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 8 and 17, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the dependent claims 8 and 17, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because claims 8 and 17 recite the following limitations:
“wherein outer ends of the first projection and the second projection compress inward upon insertion into the panel and retract or spring back in response to being fully received into the panel, thereby retaining the plurality of clips and the housing fixed to the panel.” – claim 8;
“wherein outer ends of the projections compress inward upon insertion into a panel and retract or spring back in response to being fully received into the panel, thereby retaining the plurality of clips and the housing fixed to the panel.” – claim 17.
Koike (US 20030147204 A1) discloses a case fastened by clamping.
Garcia Vila (US 20210105917 A1) discloses an enclosure fixed by retainers and flaps.
Yoo (US 20240147641 A1) discloses a fastening structure to fix a chassis to a PCB and heat sink.
Müller (US 11744052 B2) discloses interlocking elements to implement a snap connection.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claims 8 and 17, are believed to render said claims 8 and 17 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835