DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 24 only repeats the limitation already present in Claim 15. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eltorai (2019/0168023).
In regard to Claims 1, 2, 15 and 24, Eltorai discloses a catheter (Abstract),such as used in a ventilator, par. [0085], having a light source (light transmitter 24, Abstract, par. [0071]; Fig. 1A) and a light guide that is hollow to permit air flow (such as common in ventilator catheters (par. [0085]).
Claims 3 and 4 amount to intended use recitations of the device of Claim 1. Eltorai discloses the catheter can be a ventilator tube and therefore is insertable in the mouth and capable of targeting tissue via the mouth (par. [0085]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Eltorai discloses the catheter can facilitate draining of fluids (par. [0005, 0018]) such as through drain 16 (par. [0071]; Fig. 1A).
In regard to Claim 6, Applicant claims the intended use of suctioning by the tube. Eltorai discloses that the tube can be capable of suctioning fluid (par. [0018, 0085]).
With regard to Claims 7 and 17, Eltorai discloses the device is configured to emit light through the hollow core (tube), see Abstract; par. [0070]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Eltorai discloses emitting light through a cross-sectional area of the light guide (see Fig. 3A-3D).
In regard to Claim 9, Eltorai discloses the light is configured to provide antimicrobial effects (alter growth and/or concentration of microbes), see par. [0018]).
With regard to Claims 10-13 and 19-22, Eltorai discloses applying light in the range of 400-500nm to target microbes such as spore forming bacteria (par. [0019]).
Regarding Claims 14 and 23, Eltorai discloses the light may be pulsed (par. [0018, 0075]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Basiony (2017/0281966)
Gaska et al. (2007/0187626)
Vazales et al. (2011/0023885)
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796