DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 8/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16 and 17-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heaslet (US 12006087 B1) in view of Bowers (US 20160052659 A1) and Korthauer (US 20120216956 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive due to applicant arguments with respect to the interpretation of the linear movements. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gim (US 20140096904 A1) which has been applied to show the linear motion claimed is known for moving to deliver fluid flow to adhesive films. Unlike Korthauer, Gim moves in a left to right direction which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand to be linear movements, and does so to make it possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process of attaching.
As noted in the rejections below of claim 1, Gim discloses wherein the second head slides linearly in a traveling direction of the one or more assets from a first position to a second position while delivering fluid flow, and wherein the second head is constrained mounted to only slide in a linear motion from the first position to the second position above the conveyor. Gim does this during attachment of adhesive film to a substrate. See also paragraph 0055-65, disclosing:
[0055] The substrate support moving member 110 and the air injection head moving member 210 may be alternatively disposed or both thereof may be disposed. Hereinafter, the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is described under the precondition that the air injection head moving member 210 may be disposed.
[0056] The air injection head moving member 210 may move the air injection head 200 in one direction while air is injected from the air injection head 200. FIG. 1 illustrates that the air injection head 200 moves from the right to the left in the drawing, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, the air injection head 200 can move from the left to the right or move diagonally.
[0057] The air injection head 200 may include an air inlet 220 into which air may be injected from the air supply pipe 400 and an air outlet 230 from which the injected air may be discharged.
[0058] FIG. 1 illustrates the air outlet 230 having a slit shape, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, a shape of the air outlet 230 may have various shapes, such as a circular shape, a surface shape, and the like.
[0059] The air injection head 200 may serve to inject compressed air supplied from the air pump 300 with a predetermined pressure.
[0060] As the compressed air supplied from the air pump 300, gases such as clean dry air (CDA), nitrogen (N.sub.2), dioxide carbon (CO.sub.2), and the like, may be used.
[0061] The air injection head 200 injects the compressed air to the adhesive film 20 to provide a predetermined pressure, such that the substrate 10 may be bonded to the adhesive film 20.
[0062] The air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be controlled so as to form a uniform adhesive layer on the substrate 10 with flexures or steps without damaging the substrate 10.
[0063] That is, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be changed according to a kind of the substrate, flexion of a surface of the substrate, and the like.
[0064] For example, when the substrate 10 is a thin film encapsulated display, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 needs to have a pressure condition enough to form a uniform adhesive layer on a surface of the display with steps without damaging the flexible display. The air pressure satisfying the condition may have a value ranging from 0.2 Mpa to 0.5 Mpa, based on the injection surface.
[0065] Further, it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process, by using the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200.
See also Figure 1:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the second head is configured to slide in a traveling direction of the one or more assets from a first position to a second position as taught by Gim in order to smooth the label because it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process.
A similar rejection is made for claims 9, 17 and 21.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“label printer applicator system” introduced claim 1, 9. This term uses a generic placeholder, and the corresponding structure can include a first label applicator module and a second label applicator module, which both are generic placeholder in isolation but recite sufficient structure later in the claim as discussed below.
“first label applicator module” introduced in claim 1 and 9. The claim also recites the corresponding structure of a printer and a first head, which is sufficient structure for the function of the first label applicator module.
“second label applicator module” introduced in claim 1 and 9. Claim 1 also recites the corresponding structure of a plurality of heads for delivering fluid flow and Claim 9 recites the similar head to deliver fluid flow, which is sufficient structure for the function of the second label applicator module. For example, the fluid label applicator which can include a head for delivery of the fluid and a housing.
“label printer applicator system” introduced claim 21. This term uses a generic placeholder, and the corresponding structure can include a label printer applicator for printing and affixing, a broad structural term and a label applicator module, which is also a generic placeholder in isolation but recite sufficient structure later in the claim as discussed below.
“label applicator module” in claim 21. Claim 21 recites sufficient structure for the label applicator module because it recites a housing and a head supported relative to said housing, and said head being configured to direct air flow to at least a region of a label position below said label applicator module to correct irregularities formed around the region.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heaslet (US 12006087 B1) in view of Bowers (US 20160052659 A1) and Gim (US 20140096904 A1).
As to claim 1, Heaslet discloses a conveyor system for labeling a plurality of assets (see column 4, lines 40-43, disclosing “The labeling system 100 includes a conveyor 4 having a movable support surface 6 that is configured to convey packages 8 thereon in a conveyance direction D1.”), each label (label 14) having an outer perimeter defined by a leading edge, a trailing edge, and opposed longitudinal edges extending between the leading and trailing edges (see column 3, lines 65-66, disclosing “one or more edges 15 of the label 14 (e.g., the leading edge and/or trailing edge)”), said conveyor system comprising:
a conveyor (conveyor 4) for conveying one or more assets (“to convey packages 8”) in a traveling direction (“conveyance direction D1”; see the Figures showing a traveling direction D1); and
a label applicator system located above the conveyor (See column 4, lines 43-46, teaching that “At least one label applicator 10 is positioned adjacent the conveyor along a label application zone AZ of the conveyor”)comprising:
a first label applicator module (label applicator 10) including a first head (tamp head 12) to affix individual labels to respective individual ones of the one or more assets (See column 4, line 46-49, teaching that “The label applicators 10 of the illustrated embodiment each have a tamp head 12 configured to apply labels 14 to the packages 8 as the packages 8 are conveyed through the label application zone AZ.”); and
a second label applicator module (label reinforcing device 2) spaced apart from the first applicator module, the second label applicator module including a plurality of heads for delivering fluid flow along the leading and trailing edges and/or the opposed longitudinal edges of the affixed label to correct irregularities formed around the outer perimeter of the affixed label, wherein the second head is above the one or more assets (“the at least one outlet 60 includes a plurality of outlets 60 that face the outlet direction D2 and are each configured to expel a cone or fan of pressurized gas toward the support surface 6 in the reinforcement zone RZ”), while delivering fluid flow downwardly onto the affixed labels while the respective assets to which the affixed labels correspond to travel on the conveyor in the traveling direction (see Figure 2 below, showing that the outlets 60 are located downstream of tamp heads 12 which apply labels 14 to packages 8).
See especially Figure 2, below:
Heaslet does not disclose that the label applicator system is a label printer applicator system and does not disclose the first label applicator module including a printer to print a label or that the printed label is affixed, and does not disclose wherein the second head slides linearly in the traveling direction of the one or more assets from a first position to a second position, and wherein the second head is constrained mounted to only slide in a linear motion from the first position to the second position above the conveyor.
However, Bowers discloses and makes obvious that the label applicator system is a label printer applicator system and the first label applicator module including a printer to print a label and that the printed label is affixed. See, for example, paragraph 0006, disclosing:
The system may further include at least one movable label applicator device positioned above a conveyor transporting the at least one item and comprising a printer for printing the one or more label onto a supply of labeling material…
See also paragraph 0025 and 0057, disclosing:
[0025] The SIGNATURE 5000™ and SIGNATURE 3000™, manufactured by Bell and Howell, LLC, are movable printer and label applicator assemblies adapted to apply labels for packing list applications. The designs of the SIGNATURE 5000™ and/or SIGNATURE 3000™ allow for the basic labeling process of top-apply labeling for variable height shipping items that achieve a much higher throughput than traditional top-apply labeling systems. Higher throughput may be achieved, in one aspect, by dynamically locating a printer applicator relative to a labeling source. In this manner, when label application requires multiple labels to be applied to shipping items, efficiency of label application is increased substantially. In addition, the SIGNATURE 5000™ and/or SIGNATURE 3000™ may apply multiple labels on top of one another that can be individually removed and reapplied if required. Notably, if reapplying is desired for any label(s) within a label stack, it may be desirable that the label stack does not include the label in actual contact with the shipping item.
…
[0057] Conventional shipping item labelers move the applicator up to a home position to receive the next label to be applied. The home position, which may be, in some aspects, multiple feet above the shipping item, includes the printer, a label peeler and a liner take up reel. Movement of the applicator to the home position and back to the shipping item, for each sub-label or cover label may take significant time due to a distance traveled and a slow speed of a linear actuator. In contrast, the label printer-applicator 104-1 of the presently disclosed subject matter is moved into position, for example, less than six inches from a shipping item, before the shipping item is detected by the item present sensor. Each label is printed, held to the applicator 250 with vacuum and applied with a high speed pneumatic assembly 255 (see, FIG. 2). Throughput, in this manner, is higher than the above-described conventional approach due to a speed of the pneumatic actuator, six inch stroke versus the 36 inch stroke for the linear actuator used in the conventional approach.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that the label applicator system is a label printer applicator system and the first label applicator module including a printer to print a label and that the printed label is affixed as disclosed in Bowers in order to achieve higher throughput over conventional applicators.
Additionally, Gim discloses wherein the second head slides linearly in a traveling direction of the one or more assets from a first position to a second position while delivering fluid flow, and wherein the second head is constrained mounted to only slide in a linear motion from the first position to the second position above the conveyor. Gim does this during attachment of adhesive film to a substrate. See also paragraph 0055-65, disclosing:
[0055] The substrate support moving member 110 and the air injection head moving member 210 may be alternatively disposed or both thereof may be disposed. Hereinafter, the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is described under the precondition that the air injection head moving member 210 may be disposed.
[0056] The air injection head moving member 210 may move the air injection head 200 in one direction while air is injected from the air injection head 200. FIG. 1 illustrates that the air injection head 200 moves from the right to the left in the drawing, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, the air injection head 200 can move from the left to the right or move diagonally.
[0057] The air injection head 200 may include an air inlet 220 into which air may be injected from the air supply pipe 400 and an air outlet 230 from which the injected air may be discharged.
[0058] FIG. 1 illustrates the air outlet 230 having a slit shape, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, a shape of the air outlet 230 may have various shapes, such as a circular shape, a surface shape, and the like.
[0059] The air injection head 200 may serve to inject compressed air supplied from the air pump 300 with a predetermined pressure.
[0060] As the compressed air supplied from the air pump 300, gases such as clean dry air (CDA), nitrogen (N.sub.2), dioxide carbon (CO.sub.2), and the like, may be used.
[0061] The air injection head 200 injects the compressed air to the adhesive film 20 to provide a predetermined pressure, such that the substrate 10 may be bonded to the adhesive film 20.
[0062] The air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be controlled so as to form a uniform adhesive layer on the substrate 10 with flexures or steps without damaging the substrate 10.
[0063] That is, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be changed according to a kind of the substrate, flexion of a surface of the substrate, and the like.
[0064] For example, when the substrate 10 is a thin film encapsulated display, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 needs to have a pressure condition enough to form a uniform adhesive layer on a surface of the display with steps without damaging the flexible display. The air pressure satisfying the condition may have a value ranging from 0.2 Mpa to 0.5 Mpa, based on the injection surface.
[0065] Further, it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process, by using the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200.
See also Figure 1:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the second head slides linearly in a traveling direction of the one or more assets from a first position to a second position, and wherein the second head is constrained mounted to only slide in a linear motion from the first position to the second position above the conveyor as taught by Gim in order to smooth the label because it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process.
As to claim 2, Heaslet discloses wherein the irregularities comprise at least one of wrinkling (see column 4, lines 6-10, disclosing that “Label dragging is often characterized by a middle wrinkle 17 in the label 14.”), misalignments (see column 4, lines 11-17, disclosing “As shown in FIG. 1D, another mode of label misapplication includes overhanging or “flagged” labels 14, whereby a portion of the label 14 overhangs and edge of the package 8.”), defects (see column 3, line 64 to column 4, line 22, disclosing “wrinkle”, “overhanging”, “flagged” and “pack taping error”; including column 4, lines 18-22, disclosing “As shown in FIG. 1E, another mode of label misapplication is caused by a pack taping error, particularly when the tape on the package 8 was not properly pressed flat, and the label 14 was tamped to a region of protruding tape, thereby preventing the label from adhering fully.”), or curling (see column 3, lines 64-67, disclosing that “one mode of label misapplication includes “label curling,” such that one or more edges 15 of the label 14 (e.g., the leading edge and/or trailing edge) curl away from the underlying package 8.”).
As to claim 4, Heaslet discloses wherein the second head comprises at least one of a head selected from the group consisting of a single head (such as in Figures 4A and 4B), a dual head (such as Figure 4C, which shows a tri-head, and Figure 4F), a swirl air jet head (such as the arrangement in Figure 4E, which uses outlets that fan outwardly), and a sliding head (such as Figures 4D and 5A-B). See especially Figures 4A-4F and 5A-B, described in column 7, line 8 to column 8, line 65, below:
With reference to FIGS. 4A-4C, respective force applicators 50 can have manifolds 52 having multiple rows (R1, R2, etc.) of outlets 60 for further distributing pressurized gas along a second distribution direction D4, which can also be referred to as an “offset direction” D4. As shown in FIG. 4A, the force applicator 50 can have a manifold 52 that includes a first plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a first row R1 and a second plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a second row R1. The first and second rows R1, R2 are spaced from each other at a spacing distance X2 along the offset direction D4, which in the illustrated example is perpendicular to the distribution direction D3. In such multi-row embodiments, the distribution direction D3 can be referred to as the “first distribution direction” D3. In the present example, the second distribution direction D4 is substantially parallel with the conveyance direction D1. As shown in FIG. 4B, the manifold 52 can include first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3 of outlets 60, which rows are spaced from each other along the second distribution direction D4. As shown in FIG. 4C, the outlets 60 can be arranged into multiple rows, such as first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3, such that the outlets 60 of each row define outlet axes 65 that are angularly offset from the outlet axes 65 of the other rows. In this manner, the outlets 60 can provide a force distribution that “fans” forwardly and rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1.
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4E, the manifold 52 can have a plurality of outlets 60 having outlet axes 65 that fan outwardly, such as from a central location or one or more non-central locations of the manifold 52. In this manner, the outlets 60 can collectively provide a fanned or conical force distribution for reinforcing labels. In such embodiments, the manifold 52 can also include one or more outlets 60 directed orthogonally toward the support surface 6. In the illustrated example, the manifold 52 includes a central outlet 60 that faces orthogonally toward the support surface 6, and the remaining outlets 60 fan outwardly from the central outlet 60.
It should be appreciated that the force applicators 50 can employ various additional and/or alternative outlet 60 configurations, including combinations of the illustrated configurations described herein, while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4F, the force applicator 50 can include multiple manifolds 52, each having a plurality of outlets 60. For example, the force applicator 50 can include a first manifold 52a having a first plurality of outlets that are distributed transversely across the conveyor 4. The force applicator 50 can also include a second manifold 52b having a second plurality of outlets 60 and a third manifold 52c having a third plurality of outlets 60. Each manifold 52a-c can have a respective supply tube for delivering pressurized gas to the respective manifold 52a-c. In the illustrated example, the second and third manifolds 52b, 52c are vertically elongate such that their respective outlets 60 are distributed vertically. Additionally, the outlets of the second and third pluralities manifolds 52b, 52c can be angled so as to eject pressurized gas downwardly at an acute angle relative to the support surface 6. In this manner, the second and third pluralities of outlets 60 can be particularly useful for reinforcing overhung or flagged labels 14 that are oriented so that overhung portions are laterally offset from the conveyance direction D1. It should be appreciated that one or more of the first, second, and third manifolds 52a-c can also be configured to pivot forwardly or rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1, such as for rectifying leading or trailing overhung label portions, by way of a non-limiting example.
Referring now to FIGS. 5A-5B, an embodiment of the label reinforcing device 2 is shown where the force applicator 50 is movable along the outlet direction D2 for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. during use between a neutral position (FIG. 5B), in which the force applicator 50 is remote from the support surface 6, and a deployed position (FIG. 5A), in which the force applicator 50 is adjacent the support surface 6 at a proximity allowing the outlets 60 to provide sufficient force to press unadhered portions of labels 14 against the underlying package 8. In such embodiments, the mount 64 is connected to an actuator 70 that is movable with respect to the support surface 6, such as along the outlet direction D2, for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. In such embodiments, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 as needed based on the height of the packages 8 traversing the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 based on the type and orientation of misapplied labels 14 as they traverse the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally or alternatively, the actuator 70 can iterate the force applicator 50 between a first position, such as a deployed position, such as that shown in FIG. 5A, and a second position, such as a neutral position, such as that shown in FIG. 5B. In this manner, the force applicator 50 can be maintained in a neutral, remote position until a misapplied label is identified. The actuator 70 can include a linear actuator, such as a screw drive, a hydraulic actuator, a pneumatic actuator, and/or a set of telescoping tubes, by way of non-limiting examples. It should be appreciated that various other mechanisms for moving the force applicator 50 during use are within the scope of the present disclosure.
As to claim 5, Heaslet discloses further comprising a sensor (“image sensor 26”, “optical scanning unit 16”, and “proximity sensor 80” all can read on this limitation) coupled to one of the first and second label applicator modules for detecting one or more assets to be conveyed. See column 8, line 66 to column 10, line 4, disclosing:
Referring again to FIG. 2, the labelling system 100 can be configured to employ image recognition techniques for identifying misapplied labels 14. In such embodiments, the electronic control unit 22 can optionally be programmed to activate the label reinforcing device 2 when a misapplied label 14 is identified and to deactivate the label reinforcing device 2 when misapplied labels 14 are not detected. As shown, the labelling system 100 can include at least one image sensor 26 for viewing the applied labels 14 and for detecting misapplied labels 14 departing from the label application zone AZ. In the illustrated embodiment, one such image sensor 26 is positioned above the conveyor 4 and is oriented to view the labels 14 on the packages 8 on the support surface 6 of the conveyor 4 as the packages 8 move downstream from the label application zone AZ along the conveyance direction D1 toward the reinforcement zoned RZ. In the illustrated embodiment, the image sensor 26 is located between the label applicator(s) 10 and the force applicator 50. It should be appreciated that the image sensor 26 can be located elsewhere so long as the image sensor 26 can view the labels 14 on the packages 8 as they move toward the force applicator 50. The image sensor 26 can be a video camera, a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor, or a charge-coupled device (CCD), by way of non-limiting examples. The image sensor 26 is in electrical communication with the processor 18 for transmitting image data to the processor 18. The processor 18 executes computer readable instructions, such as image recognition algorithms, which are configured for identifying misapplied labels 14. It should be appreciated that the image recognition algorithms can employ artificial intelligence, such as machine learning, to enhance the speed and accuracy at which misapplied labels 14 are identified and categorized.
It should also be appreciated that the labelling system 100 can additionally or alternatively employ image data obtained by the optical scanning unit 16 for identifying and categorizing misapplied labels 14. In such embodiments, the optical scanning unit 16 can be employed as a primary label image acquisition device and the image sensor 26 can be employed as a secondary or supplemental image acquisition device used for controlling operation of the label reinforcing device 2. Alternatively, the image sensor 26 can be the primary and the optical scanning unit 16 can be the secondary label image acquisition device. In yet other embodiments, either the image sensor 26 or the optical scanning unit 16 can be the sole label image acquisition device used for identifying and categorizing misapplied labels 14. When the optical scanning unit 16 is used for acquiring image data pertaining to label misapplication, the computer memory 24 can store computer readable interface instructions that adapt the image data from the optical scanning unit 16 for controlling operation of the label reinforcing device 2.
The processor 18 is also preferably configured to identify when a mislabeled package 8 enters or approaches the reinforcement zone RZ. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the processor 18 can be in electronic communication with a proximity sensor 80, such as a motion detector, laser sensor, or the like, positioned at or near the upstream end of the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally or alternatively, the processor 18 can be configured to calculate the expected time at which the misapplied labels 14 will traverse the reinforcement zone RZ based in-part on acquired image data (e.g., from the image sensor 26 and/or the optical scanning unit 16) and in-part on other known or sensed parameters, such as the velocity of the support surface in the conveyance direction D1. The processor 18 is preferably further configured to coordinate actuation of the label reinforcing device 2 to coincide with the label traversing the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the force actuator 50 can be “timed” (e.g., synchronized with the conveyor 4) to expel pressurized gas directly against the misapplied labels 14 for providing optimal adhesion of the misapplied portions of the labels 14.
As to claim 6, Heaslet discloses wherein the sensor comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a proximity sensor (proximity sensor 80), a motion sensor (see column 9, line 55, disclosing “a motion detector”, and a label recognition sensor (such as image sensor 26 or optical scanning unit 26; see column 8, line 66, disclosing “the labelling system 100 can be configured to employ image recognition techniques for identifying misapplied labels 14”).
As to claim 8, Heaslet discloses wherein the sensing device is coupled to the second label applicator module for detecting the asset after exiting the first label applicator module (such as “a proximity sensor (proximity sensor 80), a motion sensor (see column 9, line 55, disclosing “a motion detector”, and a label recognition sensor (such as image sensor 26 or optical scanning unit 16; see column 8, line 66, disclosing “the labelling system 100 can be configured to employ image recognition techniques for identifying misapplied labels 14”).”). As seen in Figure 4 (reproduced below), image sensor 26 or optical scanning unit 26 and proximity sensor 80 are both located after the first label applicator module (such as label applicator 10) in the transport direction. See column 5, line 8, “The optical scanning unit 16 is preferably located along the conveyor 4 downstream from, and proximate to, the label applicator(s) 10.” See also column 9, line 9, disclosing “In the illustrated embodiment, one such image sensor 26 is positioned above the conveyor 4 and is oriented to view the labels 14 on the packages 8 on the support surface 6 of the conveyor 4 as the packages 8 move downstream from the label application zone AZ along the conveyance direction D1 toward the reinforcement zoned RZ. In the illustrated embodiment, the image sensor 26 is located between the label applicator(s) 10 and the force applicator 50. It should be appreciated that the image sensor 26 can be located elsewhere so long as the image sensor 26 can view the labels 14 on the packages 8 as they move toward the force applicator 50.”
As to claim 9, Heaslet discloses a conveyor system for labeling a plurality of assets (see column 4, lines 40-43, disclosing “The labeling system 100 includes a conveyor 4 having a movable support surface 6 that is configured to convey packages 8 thereon in a conveyance direction D1.”), said conveyor system comprising:
a conveyor (conveyor 4) for conveying one or more assets (“to convey packages 8”); and
a label applicator system located above the conveyor (See column 4, lines 43-46, teaching that “At least one label applicator 10 is positioned adjacent the conveyor along a label application zone AZ of the conveyor”) comprising:
a first label applicator module (label applicator 10) including a first head (tamp head 12) to apply one of the label to a selected one of the one or more assets (See column 4, line 46-49, teaching that “The label applicators 10 of the illustrated embodiment each have a tamp head 12 configured to apply labels 14 to the packages 8 as the packages 8 are conveyed through the label application zone AZ.”); and
a second label applicator module (label reinforcing device 2) spaced apart from the first label applicator module, the second label applicator module having a second head to deliver for delivering fluid flow toward the upper side of the label (“the at least one outlet 60 includes a plurality of outlets 60 that face the outlet direction D2 and are each configured to expel a cone or fan of pressurized gas toward the support surface 6 in the reinforcement zone RZ”) configured to remove irregularities (see column 3, line 64 to column 4, line 22, disclosing irregularities such as curling, wrinklies, overhangs, and not being pressed flat) formed on or under the label (see column 4, line 30, disclosing “The label reinforcing devices disclosed herein have been observed to rectify misapplied labels even when the underlying package surface is rounded or otherwise convex.”), and the second head being supported for a linear movement between a first operative position to deliver fluid flow to a first region of the label and a second operative position to deliver fluid flow to a second region of the label (see column 7, lines 36-58, disclosing pivoting and/or rotating movements; see column 10, line 25, disclosing “When employed with outlets 60 that are movable (such as in embodiments where the manifold 52 is pivotable about a pivot axis and/or the outlets 60 themselves are rotatable), the processor 18 can additionally or alternatively move the force applicators 50 and/or outlets 60 as needed to adjust the distribution of pressurized gas against the label 14 as the label traverses the reinforcement zone RZ.”).
See column 7, lines 36-58, below:
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
See especially Figure 4, below:
Heaslet does not disclose that the label applicator system is a label printer applicator system and does not disclose the first label applicator module including a printer to print a label or that the printed label is applied, and does not disclose wherein the second head is configured to slide in a traveling direction of the one or more assets from a first position to a second position.
However, Bowers discloses and makes obvious that the label applicator system is a label printer applicator system and the first label applicator module including a printer to print a label and that the printed label is applied. See, for example, paragraph 0006, disclosing:
The system may further include at least one movable label applicator device positioned above a conveyor transporting the at least one item and comprising a printer for printing the one or more label onto a supply of labeling material…
See also paragraph 0025 and 0057, disclosing:
[0025] The SIGNATURE 5000™ and SIGNATURE 3000™, manufactured by Bell and Howell, LLC, are movable printer and label applicator assemblies adapted to apply labels for packing list applications. The designs of the SIGNATURE 5000™ and/or SIGNATURE 3000™ allow for the basic labeling process of top-apply labeling for variable height shipping items that achieve a much higher throughput than traditional top-apply labeling systems. Higher throughput may be achieved, in one aspect, by dynamically locating a printer applicator relative to a labeling source. In this manner, when label application requires multiple labels to be applied to shipping items, efficiency of label application is increased substantially. In addition, the SIGNATURE 5000™ and/or SIGNATURE 3000™ may apply multiple labels on top of one another that can be individually removed and reapplied if required. Notably, if reapplying is desired for any label(s) within a label stack, it may be desirable that the label stack does not include the label in actual contact with the shipping item.
…
[0057] Conventional shipping item labelers move the applicator up to a home position to receive the next label to be applied. The home position, which may be, in some aspects, multiple feet above the shipping item, includes the printer, a label peeler and a liner take up reel. Movement of the applicator to the home position and back to the shipping item, for each sub-label or cover label may take significant time due to a distance traveled and a slow speed of a linear actuator. In contrast, the label printer-applicator 104-1 of the presently disclosed subject matter is moved into position, for example, less than six inches from a shipping item, before the shipping item is detected by the item present sensor. Each label is printed, held to the applicator 250 with vacuum and applied with a high speed pneumatic assembly 255 (see, FIG. 2). Throughput, in this manner, is higher than the above-described conventional approach due to a speed of the pneumatic actuator, six inch stroke versus the 36 inch stroke for the linear actuator used in the conventional approach.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that the label applicator system is a label printer applicator system and the first label applicator module including a printer to print a label and that the printed label is applied as disclosed in Bowers in order to achieve higher throughput over conventional applicators.
Additionally, Gim discloses wherein the second head slides linearly in a traveling direction of the one or more assets from a first position to a second position while delivering fluid flow, and wherein the second head is constrained mounted to only slide in a linear motion from the first position to the second position above the conveyor. Gim does this during attachment of adhesive film to a substrate. See also paragraph 0055-65, disclosing:
[0055] The substrate support moving member 110 and the air injection head moving member 210 may be alternatively disposed or both thereof may be disposed. Hereinafter, the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is described under the precondition that the air injection head moving member 210 may be disposed.
[0056] The air injection head moving member 210 may move the air injection head 200 in one direction while air is injected from the air injection head 200. FIG. 1 illustrates that the air injection head 200 moves from the right to the left in the drawing, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, the air injection head 200 can move from the left to the right or move diagonally.
[0057] The air injection head 200 may include an air inlet 220 into which air may be injected from the air supply pipe 400 and an air outlet 230 from which the injected air may be discharged.
[0058] FIG. 1 illustrates the air outlet 230 having a slit shape, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, a shape of the air outlet 230 may have various shapes, such as a circular shape, a surface shape, and the like.
[0059] The air injection head 200 may serve to inject compressed air supplied from the air pump 300 with a predetermined pressure.
[0060] As the compressed air supplied from the air pump 300, gases such as clean dry air (CDA), nitrogen (N.sub.2), dioxide carbon (CO.sub.2), and the like, may be used.
[0061] The air injection head 200 injects the compressed air to the adhesive film 20 to provide a predetermined pressure, such that the substrate 10 may be bonded to the adhesive film 20.
[0062] The air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be controlled so as to form a uniform adhesive layer on the substrate 10 with flexures or steps without damaging the substrate 10.
[0063] That is, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be changed according to a kind of the substrate, flexion of a surface of the substrate, and the like.
[0064] For example, when the substrate 10 is a thin film encapsulated display, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 needs to have a pressure condition enough to form a uniform adhesive layer on a surface of the display with steps without damaging the flexible display. The air pressure satisfying the condition may have a value ranging from 0.2 Mpa to 0.5 Mpa, based on the injection surface.
[0065] Further, it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process, by using the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200.
See also Figure 1:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the second head is configured to slide in a traveling direction of the one or more assets from a first position to a second position as taught by Gim in order to smooth the label because it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process.
As to claim 10, the apparatus of Heaslet as modified by Bowers and Gim is considered capable of removing irregularities wherein the irregularities are selected from a group consisting of air bubbles, air pockets, and debris.
Heaslet discloses wherein the irregularities comprise at least one of wrinkling (see column 4, lines 6-10, disclosing that “Label dragging is often characterized by a middle wrinkle 17 in the label 14.”), misalignments (see column 4, lines 11-17, disclosing “As shown in FIG. 1D, another mode of label misapplication includes overhanging or “flagged” labels 14, whereby a portion of the label 14 overhangs and edge of the package 8.”), defects (see column 3, line 64 to column 4, line 22, disclosing “wrinkle”, “overhanging”, “flagged” and “pack taping error”; including column 4, lines 18-22, disclosing “As shown in FIG. 1E, another mode of label misapplication is caused by a pack taping error, particularly when the tape on the package 8 was not properly pressed flat, and the label 14 was tamped to a region of protruding tape, thereby preventing the label from adhering fully.”), or curling (see column 3, lines 64-67, disclosing that “one mode of label misapplication includes “label curling,” such that one or more edges 15 of the label 14 (e.g., the leading edge and/or trailing edge) curl away from the underlying package 8.”). Heaslet also teaches rectifying misapplied labels (see column 4, line 30, disclosing “The label reinforcing devices disclosed herein have been observed to rectify misapplied labels even when the underlying package surface is rounded or otherwise convex.”).
Therefore, the apparatus of Heaslet as modified by Bowers and Gim is considered capable of removing irregularities wherein the irregularities are selected from a group consisting of air bubbles, air pockets, and debris.
See also MPEP 2114 (Manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art) and 2115 (Material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims).
As to claim 12, Heaslet discloses wherein the second head comprises at least one of a head selected from the group consisting of a single head (such as in Figures 4A and 4B), a dual head (such as Figure 4C, which shows a tri-head, and Figure 4F), and a swirl air jet head (such as the arrangement in Figure 4E, which uses outlets that fan outwardly; see also Figures 4D and 5A-B). See especially Figures 4A-4F and 5A-B, described in column 7, line 8 to column 8, line 65, below:
With reference to FIGS. 4A-4C, respective force applicators 50 can have manifolds 52 having multiple rows (R1, R2, etc.) of outlets 60 for further distributing pressurized gas along a second distribution direction D4, which can also be referred to as an “offset direction” D4. As shown in FIG. 4A, the force applicator 50 can have a manifold 52 that includes a first plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a first row R1 and a second plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a second row R1. The first and second rows R1, R2 are spaced from each other at a spacing distance X2 along the offset direction D4, which in the illustrated example is perpendicular to the distribution direction D3. In such multi-row embodiments, the distribution direction D3 can be referred to as the “first distribution direction” D3. In the present example, the second distribution direction D4 is substantially parallel with the conveyance direction D1. As shown in FIG. 4B, the manifold 52 can include first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3 of outlets 60, which rows are spaced from each other along the second distribution direction D4. As shown in FIG. 4C, the outlets 60 can be arranged into multiple rows, such as first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3, such that the outlets 60 of each row define outlet axes 65 that are angularly offset from the outlet axes 65 of the other rows. In this manner, the outlets 60 can provide a force distribution that “fans” forwardly and rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1.
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4E, the manifold 52 can have a plurality of outlets 60 having outlet axes 65 that fan outwardly, such as from a central location or one or more non-central locations of the manifold 52. In this manner, the outlets 60 can collectively provide a fanned or conical force distribution for reinforcing labels. In such embodiments, the manifold 52 can also include one or more outlets 60 directed orthogonally toward the support surface 6. In the illustrated example, the manifold 52 includes a central outlet 60 that faces orthogonally toward the support surface 6, and the remaining outlets 60 fan outwardly from the central outlet 60.
It should be appreciated that the force applicators 50 can employ various additional and/or alternative outlet 60 configurations, including combinations of the illustrated configurations described herein, while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4F, the force applicator 50 can include multiple manifolds 52, each having a plurality of outlets 60. For example, the force applicator 50 can include a first manifold 52a having a first plurality of outlets that are distributed transversely across the conveyor 4. The force applicator 50 can also include a second manifold 52b having a second plurality of outlets 60 and a third manifold 52c having a third plurality of outlets 60. Each manifold 52a-c can have a respective supply tube for delivering pressurized gas to the respective manifold 52a-c. In the illustrated example, the second and third manifolds 52b, 52c are vertically elongate such that their respective outlets 60 are distributed vertically. Additionally, the outlets of the second and third pluralities manifolds 52b, 52c can be angled so as to eject pressurized gas downwardly at an acute angle relative to the support surface 6. In this manner, the second and third pluralities of outlets 60 can be particularly useful for reinforcing overhung or flagged labels 14 that are oriented so that overhung portions are laterally offset from the conveyance direction D1. It should be appreciated that one or more of the first, second, and third manifolds 52a-c can also be configured to pivot forwardly or rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1, such as for rectifying leading or trailing overhung label portions, by way of a non-limiting example.
Referring now to FIGS. 5A-5B, an embodiment of the label reinforcing device 2 is shown where the force applicator 50 is movable along the outlet direction D2 for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. during use between a neutral position (FIG. 5B), in which the force applicator 50 is remote from the support surface 6, and a deployed position (FIG. 5A), in which the force applicator 50 is adjacent the support surface 6 at a proximity allowing the outlets 60 to provide sufficient force to press unadhered portions of labels 14 against the underlying package 8. In such embodiments, the mount 64 is connected to an actuator 70 that is movable with respect to the support surface 6, such as along the outlet direction D2, for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. In such embodiments, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 as needed based on the height of the packages 8 traversing the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 based on the type and orientation of misapplied labels 14 as they traverse the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally or alternatively, the actuator 70 can iterate the force applicator 50 between a first position, such as a deployed position, such as that shown in FIG. 5A, and a second position, such as a neutral position, such as that shown in FIG. 5B. In this manner, the force applicator 50 can be maintained in a neutral, remote position until a misapplied label is identified. The actuator 70 can include a linear actuator, such as a screw drive, a hydraulic actuator, a pneumatic actuator, and/or a set of telescoping tubes, by way of non-limiting examples. It should be appreciated that various other mechanisms for moving the force applicator 50 during use are within the scope of the present disclosure.
As to claim 13, Heaslet discloses further comprising a sensing device coupled to one of the first and second label applicator modules for detecting one or more assets to be conveyed. See Figure 2 and column 8, line 66 to column 10, line 4, disclosing:
Referring again to FIG. 2, the labelling system 100 can be configured to employ image recognition techniques for identifying misapplied labels 14. In such embodiments, the electronic control unit 22 can optionally be programmed to activate the label reinforcing device 2 when a misapplied label 14 is identified and to deactivate the label reinforcing device 2 when misapplied labels 14 are not detected. As shown, the labelling system 100 can include at least one image sensor 26 for viewing the applied labels 14 and for detecting misapplied labels 14 departing from the label application zone AZ. In the illustrated embodiment, one such image sensor 26 is positioned above the conveyor 4 and is oriented to view the labels 14 on the packages 8 on the support surface 6 of the conveyor 4 as the packages 8 move downstream from the label application zone AZ along the conveyance direction D1 toward the reinforcement zoned RZ. In the illustrated embodiment, the image sensor 26 is located between the label applicator(s) 10 and the force applicator 50. It should be appreciated that the image sensor 26 can be located elsewhere so long as the image sensor 26 can view the labels 14 on the packages 8 as they move toward the force applicator 50. The image sensor 26 can be a video camera, a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor, or a charge-coupled device (CCD), by way of non-limiting examples. The image sensor 26 is in electrical communication with the processor 18 for transmitting image data to the processor 18. The processor 18 executes computer readable instructions, such as image recognition algorithms, which are configured for identifying misapplied labels 14. It should be appreciated that the image recognition algorithms can employ artificial intelligence, such as machine learning, to enhance the speed and accuracy at which misapplied labels 14 are identified and categorized.
It should also be appreciated that the labelling system 100 can additionally or alternatively employ image data obtained by the optical scanning unit 16 for identifying and categorizing misapplied labels 14. In such embodiments, the optical scanning unit 16 can be employed as a primary label image acquisition device and the image sensor 26 can be employed as a secondary or supplemental image acquisition device used for controlling operation of the label reinforcing device 2. Alternatively, the image sensor 26 can be the primary and the optical scanning unit 16 can be the secondary label image acquisition device. In yet other embodiments, either the image sensor 26 or the optical scanning unit 16 can be the sole label image acquisition device used for identifying and categorizing misapplied labels 14. When the optical scanning unit 16 is used for acquiring image data pertaining to label misapplication, the computer memory 24 can store computer readable interface instructions that adapt the image data from the optical scanning unit 16 for controlling operation of the label reinforcing device 2.
The processor 18 is also preferably configured to identify when a mislabeled package 8 enters or approaches the reinforcement zone RZ. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the processor 18 can be in electronic communication with a proximity sensor 80, such as a motion detector, laser sensor, or the like, positioned at or near the upstream end of the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally or alternatively, the processor 18 can be configured to calculate the expected time at which the misapplied labels 14 will traverse the reinforcement zone RZ based in-part on acquired image data (e.g., from the image sensor 26 and/or the optical scanning unit 16) and in-part on other known or sensed parameters, such as the velocity of the support surface in the conveyance direction D1. The processor 18 is preferably further configured to coordinate actuation of the label reinforcing device 2 to coincide with the label traversing the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the force actuator 50 can be “timed” (e.g., synchronized with the conveyor 4) to expel pressurized gas directly against the misapplied labels 14 for providing optimal adhesion of the misapplied portions of the labels 14.
As to claim 14, Heaslet discloses wherein the sensing device comprises at least one of a sensor selected from the group consisting of a proximity sensor (proximity sensor 80), a motion sensor (see column 9, line 55, disclosing “a motion detector”, and a label recognition sensor (such as image sensor 26 or optical scanning unit 26; see column 8, line 66, disclosing “the labelling system 100 can be configured to employ image recognition techniques for identifying misapplied labels 14”).
As to claim 16, Heaslet discloses wherein the sensor is coupled (through electronic control unit 22) to the second label applicator module for detecting the asset after exiting the first label applicator module (such as “a proximity sensor (proximity sensor 80), a motion sensor (see column 9, line 55, disclosing “a motion detector”, and a label recognition sensor (such as image sensor 26 or optical scanning unit 16; see column 8, line 66, disclosing “the labelling system 100 can be configured to employ image recognition techniques for identifying misapplied labels 14”).”). As seen in Figure 4 (reproduced below), image sensor 26 or optical scanning unit 26 and proximity sensor 80 are both located after the first label applicator module (such as label applicator 10) in the transport direction. See column 5, line 8, “The optical scanning unit 16 is preferably located along the conveyor 4 downstream from, and proximate to, the label applicator(s) 10.” See also column 9, line 9, disclosing “In the illustrated embodiment, one such image sensor 26 is positioned above the conveyor 4 and is oriented to view the labels 14 on the packages 8 on the support surface 6 of the conveyor 4 as the packages 8 move downstream from the label application zone AZ along the conveyance direction D1 toward the reinforcement zoned RZ. In the illustrated embodiment, the image sensor 26 is located between the label applicator(s) 10 and the force applicator 50. It should be appreciated that the image sensor 26 can be located elsewhere so long as the image sensor 26 can view the labels 14 on the packages 8 as they move toward the force applicator 50.”
As to claim 17, Heaslet discloses a method of labeling an asset supported on a conveyor with a label (see column 4, lines 40-43, disclosing “The labeling system 100 includes a conveyor 4 having a movable support surface 6 that is configured to convey packages 8 thereon in a conveyance direction D1.”), each label (label 14) having an outer perimeter defined by a leading edge, a trailing edge, and opposed longitudinal edges extending between the leading and trailing edges (see column 3, lines 65-66, disclosing “one or more edges 15 of the label 14 (e.g., the leading edge and/or trailing edge)”) said method comprising:
affixing the label to the asset at a first location (see Figure 2, location of label applicators 10) along the conveyor (See column 4, line 46-49, teaching that “The label applicators 10 of the illustrated embodiment each have a tamp head 12 configured to apply labels 14 to the packages 8 as the packages 8 are conveyed through the label application zone AZ.”);
transporting the asset to a second location along the conveyor (conveyor 4, see Figure 2, towards location of label reinforcing device 2); and
delivering fluid flow and directing the fluid flow (“the at least one outlet 60 includes a plurality of outlets 60 that face the outlet direction D2 and are each configured to expel a cone or fan of pressurized gas toward the support surface 6 in the reinforcement zone RZ”) to the leading and trailing edges or the opposed longitudinal edges at least a region of the printed and affixed label when the asset is transported to the second location to correct irregularities formed in the label (see column 4, line 30, disclosing “The label reinforcing devices disclosed herein have been observed to rectify misapplied labels even when the underlying package surface is rounded or otherwise convex.”) while transporting the asset in the traveling direction on the conveyor (“conveyance direction D1”).
See especially Figure 3, below:
Heaslet does not disclose printing a label and thus does not disclose that the label that is affixed is a printed label, and does not disclose wherein the fluid flow is delivered with a head which linearly slides in a traveling direction of the asset from a first position to a second position.
However, Bowers discloses and makes obvious printing a label and thus does not disclose that the label that is affixed is a printed label. See, for example, paragraph 0006, disclosing:
The system may further include at least one movable label applicator device positioned above a conveyor transporting the at least one item and comprising a printer for printing the one or more label onto a supply of labeling material…
See also paragraph 0025 and 0057, disclosing:
[0025] The SIGNATURE 5000™ and SIGNATURE 3000™, manufactured by Bell and Howell, LLC, are movable printer and label applicator assemblies adapted to apply labels for packing list applications. The designs of the SIGNATURE 5000™ and/or SIGNATURE 3000™ allow for the basic labeling process of top-apply labeling for variable height shipping items that achieve a much higher throughput than traditional top-apply labeling systems. Higher throughput may be achieved, in one aspect, by dynamically locating a printer applicator relative to a labeling source. In this manner, when label application requires multiple labels to be applied to shipping items, efficiency of label application is increased substantially. In addition, the SIGNATURE 5000™ and/or SIGNATURE 3000™ may apply multiple labels on top of one another that can be individually removed and reapplied if required. Notably, if reapplying is desired for any label(s) within a label stack, it may be desirable that the label stack does not include the label in actual contact with the shipping item.
…
[0057] Conventional shipping item labelers move the applicator up to a home position to receive the next label to be applied. The home position, which may be, in some aspects, multiple feet above the shipping item, includes the printer, a label peeler and a liner take up reel. Movement of the applicator to the home position and back to the shipping item, for each sub-label or cover label may take significant time due to a distance traveled and a slow speed of a linear actuator. In contrast, the label printer-applicator 104-1 of the presently disclosed subject matter is moved into position, for example, less than six inches from a shipping item, before the shipping item is detected by the item present sensor. Each label is printed, held to the applicator 250 with vacuum and applied with a high speed pneumatic assembly 255 (see, FIG. 2). Throughput, in this manner, is higher than the above-described conventional approach due to a speed of the pneumatic actuator, six inch stroke versus the 36 inch stroke for the linear actuator used in the conventional approach.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized printing a label and thus does not disclose that the label that is affixed is a printed label as disclosed in Bowers in order to achieve higher throughput over conventional applicators.
Additionally, Gim discloses wherein the fluid flow is delivered with a head which linearly slides in a traveling direction of the asset from a first position to a second position. Gim does this during attachment of adhesive film to a substrate. See also paragraph 0055-65, disclosing:
[0055] The substrate support moving member 110 and the air injection head moving member 210 may be alternatively disposed or both thereof may be disposed. Hereinafter, the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is described under the precondition that the air injection head moving member 210 may be disposed.
[0056] The air injection head moving member 210 may move the air injection head 200 in one direction while air is injected from the air injection head 200. FIG. 1 illustrates that the air injection head 200 moves from the right to the left in the drawing, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, the air injection head 200 can move from the left to the right or move diagonally.
[0057] The air injection head 200 may include an air inlet 220 into which air may be injected from the air supply pipe 400 and an air outlet 230 from which the injected air may be discharged.
[0058] FIG. 1 illustrates the air outlet 230 having a slit shape, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, a shape of the air outlet 230 may have various shapes, such as a circular shape, a surface shape, and the like.
[0059] The air injection head 200 may serve to inject compressed air supplied from the air pump 300 with a predetermined pressure.
[0060] As the compressed air supplied from the air pump 300, gases such as clean dry air (CDA), nitrogen (N.sub.2), dioxide carbon (CO.sub.2), and the like, may be used.
[0061] The air injection head 200 injects the compressed air to the adhesive film 20 to provide a predetermined pressure, such that the substrate 10 may be bonded to the adhesive film 20.
[0062] The air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be controlled so as to form a uniform adhesive layer on the substrate 10 with flexures or steps without damaging the substrate 10.
[0063] That is, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be changed according to a kind of the substrate, flexion of a surface of the substrate, and the like.
[0064] For example, when the substrate 10 is a thin film encapsulated display, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 needs to have a pressure condition enough to form a uniform adhesive layer on a surface of the display with steps without damaging the flexible display. The air pressure satisfying the condition may have a value ranging from 0.2 Mpa to 0.5 Mpa, based on the injection surface.
[0065] Further, it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process, by using the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200.
See also Figure 1:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the fluid flow is delivered with a head which linearly slides in a traveling direction of the asset from a first position to a second position as taught by Gim in order to smooth the label because it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process.
As to claim 18, Heaslet discloses wherein said delivering fluid flow and directing the fluid flow to the leading and trailing edges or the opposed longitudinal edges includes delivering fluid flow and directing the fluid flow to the leading and trailing edges and the opposed longitudinal edges of the label. See column 7, lines 36-58, below:
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
As to claim 19, Heaslet discloses said delivering fluid flow and directing the fluid flow includes swirling the fluid as it is delivered to the leading and trailing edges or the opposed longitudinal edges at least a region of the printed and affixed label. See column 7, lines 36-58, below:
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
Although Heaslet has been interpreted as disclosing wherein said delivering fluid flow and directing the fluid flow includes swirling the fluid as it is delivered to the leading and trailing edges or the opposed longitudinal edges of the printed and affixed label, Heaslet may be interpreted as not disclosing swirling.
As to claim 20, Heaslet discloses wherein said delivering fluid to the leading and trailing edges or the opposed longitudinal edges at least a region includes delivering fluid downwardly to an upper side of the label. See especially Figures 4A-4F and 5A-B, described in column 7, line 8 to column 8, line 65, below:
With reference to FIGS. 4A-4C, respective force applicators 50 can have manifolds 52 having multiple rows (R1, R2, etc.) of outlets 60 for further distributing pressurized gas along a second distribution direction D4, which can also be referred to as an “offset direction” D4. As shown in FIG. 4A, the force applicator 50 can have a manifold 52 that includes a first plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a first row R1 and a second plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a second row R1. The first and second rows R1, R2 are spaced from each other at a spacing distance X2 along the offset direction D4, which in the illustrated example is perpendicular to the distribution direction D3. In such multi-row embodiments, the distribution direction D3 can be referred to as the “first distribution direction” D3. In the present example, the second distribution direction D4 is substantially parallel with the conveyance direction D1. As shown in FIG. 4B, the manifold 52 can include first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3 of outlets 60, which rows are spaced from each other along the second distribution direction D4. As shown in FIG. 4C, the outlets 60 can be arranged into multiple rows, such as first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3, such that the outlets 60 of each row define outlet axes 65 that are angularly offset from the outlet axes 65 of the other rows. In this manner, the outlets 60 can provide a force distribution that “fans” forwardly and rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1.
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4E, the manifold 52 can have a plurality of outlets 60 having outlet axes 65 that fan outwardly, such as from a central location or one or more non-central locations of the manifold 52. In this manner, the outlets 60 can collectively provide a fanned or conical force distribution for reinforcing labels. In such embodiments, the manifold 52 can also include one or more outlets 60 directed orthogonally toward the support surface 6. In the illustrated example, the manifold 52 includes a central outlet 60 that faces orthogonally toward the support surface 6, and the remaining outlets 60 fan outwardly from the central outlet 60.
It should be appreciated that the force applicators 50 can employ various additional and/or alternative outlet 60 configurations, including combinations of the illustrated configurations described herein, while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4F, the force applicator 50 can include multiple manifolds 52, each having a plurality of outlets 60. For example, the force applicator 50 can include a first manifold 52a having a first plurality of outlets that are distributed transversely across the conveyor 4. The force applicator 50 can also include a second manifold 52b having a second plurality of outlets 60 and a third manifold 52c having a third plurality of outlets 60. Each manifold 52a-c can have a respective supply tube for delivering pressurized gas to the respective manifold 52a-c. In the illustrated example, the second and third manifolds 52b, 52c are vertically elongate such that their respective outlets 60 are distributed vertically. Additionally, the outlets of the second and third pluralities manifolds 52b, 52c can be angled so as to eject pressurized gas downwardly at an acute angle relative to the support surface 6. In this manner, the second and third pluralities of outlets 60 can be particularly useful for reinforcing overhung or flagged labels 14 that are oriented so that overhung portions are laterally offset from the conveyance direction D1. It should be appreciated that one or more of the first, second, and third manifolds 52a-c can also be configured to pivot forwardly or rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1, such as for rectifying leading or trailing overhung label portions, by way of a non-limiting example.
Referring now to FIGS. 5A-5B, an embodiment of the label reinforcing device 2 is shown where the force applicator 50 is movable along the outlet direction D2 for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. during use between a neutral position (FIG. 5B), in which the force applicator 50 is remote from the support surface 6, and a deployed position (FIG. 5A), in which the force applicator 50 is adjacent the support surface 6 at a proximity allowing the outlets 60 to provide sufficient force to press unadhered portions of labels 14 against the underlying package 8. In such embodiments, the mount 64 is connected to an actuator 70 that is movable with respect to the support surface 6, such as along the outlet direction D2, for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. In such embodiments, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 as needed based on the height of the packages 8 traversing the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 based on the type and orientation of misapplied labels 14 as they traverse the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally or alternatively, the actuator 70 can iterate the force applicator 50 between a first position, such as a deployed position, such as that shown in FIG. 5A, and a second position, such as a neutral position, such as that shown in FIG. 5B. In this manner, the force applicator 50 can be maintained in a neutral, remote position until a misapplied label is identified. The actuator 70 can include a linear actuator, such as a screw drive, a hydraulic actuator, a pneumatic actuator, and/or a set of telescoping tubes, by way of non-limiting examples. It should be appreciated that various other mechanisms for moving the force applicator 50 during use are within the scope of the present disclosure.
As to claim 21, Heaslet discloses a label applicator system (see column 4, lines 40-43, disclosing “The labeling system 100 includes a conveyor 4 having a movable support surface 6 that is configured to convey packages 8 thereon in a conveyance direction D1.”) for positioning adjacent a conveyor (conveyor 4) for affixing a label to an asset (such as label applicator 10), said label applicator system comprising:
a label applicator module (given the context, label reinforcing device 2 appears to read on this limitation, although label applicator 10 could read on the term) having a housing (the housing 52 defines a manifold that defines the outlets 60) and a head (“the at least one outlet 60 includes a plurality of outlets 60 that face the outlet direction D2 and are each configured to expel a cone or fan of pressurized gas toward the support surface 6 in the reinforcement zone RZ”); and
wherein said head is constrainedly supported at said housing (see all Figures, and especially Figure 4, below), and said head is configured to direct said housing to direct air flow (“the at least one outlet 60 includes a plurality of outlets 60 that face the outlet direction D2 and are each configured to expel a cone or fan of pressurized gas toward the support surface 6 in the reinforcement zone RZ”) to at least a region of a affixed label positioned below said label applicator module while the asset is conveyed in the traveling direction (“conveyance direction D1”) beneath the label applicator module to correct irregularities formed around the region of the affixed label (see column 4, line 30, disclosing “The label reinforcing devices disclosed herein have been observed to rectify misapplied labels even when the underlying package surface is rounded or otherwise convex.”).
See especially Figure 4, below:
Heaslet does not disclose that the label applicator system is a label printer applicator system and does not disclose said label printer applicator for printing and affixing a printed label to an asset or that the printed label is applied, or wherein said head is configured to move at said hosing longitudinally back and forth relative to a traveling direction of the conveyor while directing air flow.
However, Bowers discloses and makes obvious that the label applicator system is a label printer applicator system and that said label printer applicator for printing and affixing a printed label to an asset or that the printed label is applied. See, for example, paragraph 0006, disclosing:
The system may further include at least one movable label applicator device positioned above a conveyor transporting the at least one item and comprising a printer for printing the one or more label onto a supply of labeling material…
See also paragraph 0025 and 0057, disclosing:
[0025] The SIGNATURE 5000™ and SIGNATURE 3000™, manufactured by Bell and Howell, LLC, are movable printer and label applicator assemblies adapted to apply labels for packing list applications. The designs of the SIGNATURE 5000™ and/or SIGNATURE 3000™ allow for the basic labeling process of top-apply labeling for variable height shipping items that achieve a much higher throughput than traditional top-apply labeling systems. Higher throughput may be achieved, in one aspect, by dynamically locating a printer applicator relative to a labeling source. In this manner, when label application requires multiple labels to be applied to shipping items, efficiency of label application is increased substantially. In addition, the SIGNATURE 5000™ and/or SIGNATURE 3000™ may apply multiple labels on top of one another that can be individually removed and reapplied if required. Notably, if reapplying is desired for any label(s) within a label stack, it may be desirable that the label stack does not include the label in actual contact with the shipping item.
…
[0057] Conventional shipping item labelers move the applicator up to a home position to receive the next label to be applied. The home position, which may be, in some aspects, multiple feet above the shipping item, includes the printer, a label peeler and a liner take up reel. Movement of the applicator to the home position and back to the shipping item, for each sub-label or cover label may take significant time due to a distance traveled and a slow speed of a linear actuator. In contrast, the label printer-applicator 104-1 of the presently disclosed subject matter is moved into position, for example, less than six inches from a shipping item, before the shipping item is detected by the item present sensor. Each label is printed, held to the applicator 250 with vacuum and applied with a high speed pneumatic assembly 255 (see, FIG. 2). Throughput, in this manner, is higher than the above-described conventional approach due to a speed of the pneumatic actuator, six inch stroke versus the 36 inch stroke for the linear actuator used in the conventional approach.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that the label applicator system is a label printer applicator system and that said label printer applicator for printing and affixing a printed label to an asset or that the printed label is applied as disclosed in Bowers in order to achieve higher throughput over conventional applicators.
Additionally, Gim discloses wherein said head is constrainedly configured to move at said hosing longitudinally back and forth relative to a traveling direction of the conveyor while directing air flow and would constrained supported for linear sliding motion. Gim does this during attachment of adhesive film to a substrate. See also paragraph 0055-65, disclosing:
[0055] The substrate support moving member 110 and the air injection head moving member 210 may be alternatively disposed or both thereof may be disposed. Hereinafter, the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is described under the precondition that the air injection head moving member 210 may be disposed.
[0056] The air injection head moving member 210 may move the air injection head 200 in one direction while air is injected from the air injection head 200. FIG. 1 illustrates that the air injection head 200 moves from the right to the left in the drawing, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, the air injection head 200 can move from the left to the right or move diagonally.
[0057] The air injection head 200 may include an air inlet 220 into which air may be injected from the air supply pipe 400 and an air outlet 230 from which the injected air may be discharged.
[0058] FIG. 1 illustrates the air outlet 230 having a slit shape, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, a shape of the air outlet 230 may have various shapes, such as a circular shape, a surface shape, and the like.
[0059] The air injection head 200 may serve to inject compressed air supplied from the air pump 300 with a predetermined pressure.
[0060] As the compressed air supplied from the air pump 300, gases such as clean dry air (CDA), nitrogen (N.sub.2), dioxide carbon (CO.sub.2), and the like, may be used.
[0061] The air injection head 200 injects the compressed air to the adhesive film 20 to provide a predetermined pressure, such that the substrate 10 may be bonded to the adhesive film 20.
[0062] The air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be controlled so as to form a uniform adhesive layer on the substrate 10 with flexures or steps without damaging the substrate 10.
[0063] That is, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 may be changed according to a kind of the substrate, flexion of a surface of the substrate, and the like.
[0064] For example, when the substrate 10 is a thin film encapsulated display, the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200 needs to have a pressure condition enough to form a uniform adhesive layer on a surface of the display with steps without damaging the flexible display. The air pressure satisfying the condition may have a value ranging from 0.2 Mpa to 0.5 Mpa, based on the injection surface.
[0065] Further, it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process, by using the air pressure injected from the air injection head 200.
See also Figure 1:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said head is constrainedly configured to move at said hosing longitudinally back and forth relative to a traveling direction of the conveyor while directing air flow and would constrained supported for linear sliding motion as taught by Gim in order to smooth the label because it is possible to remove bubbles or foreign materials that may be generated during the process.
As to claim 22, Heaslet discloses wherein said head is configured to direct air to an outer region of the label, and wherein the head is selected from the group consisting of a nozzle (such as a nozzle orifice 61), an air knife blower, and a fan.
See column 6, line 52 to column 7, line 2, disclosing:
Preferably each of the outlets 60 comprises a nozzle orifice 61 at a distal end thereof, which is configured for expelling the pressurized gas therefrom in a directed cone centered along an outlet axis 65. The nozzle orifice 61 geometry and dimensions can be selected based on various factors, such as the desired cone/fan angle of the cone, cone spray pattern (i.e., the cone cross-sectional shape as viewed in a reference plane orthogonal to the outlet axis 65), and fluid expulsion velocities based on chamber pressures, by way of non-limiting examples. The outlets 60 and their nozzle orifices 61 are preferably defined by respective nozzle bodies 63, which can be removably attached to the manifold 52 at respective outlet mounts 67. In this manner, the nozzle bodies 63 can be interchangeable with different nozzle bodies 63 providing different fluid expulsion characteristics. Thus, the force applicator 50 can be retrofitted with different nozzle bodies 63 to adjust the fluid distribution characteristics of the device 2.
See also column 7, lines 36-58, below:
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 19 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heaslet (US 12006087 B1) in view of Bowers (US 20160052659 A1) and Gim (US 20140096904 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16 and 17-22 above, and further in view of Korthauer (US 20120216956 A1).
As to claim 4, Heaslet discloses wherein the second head comprises at least one of a head selected from the group consisting of a single head (such as in Figures 4A and 4B), a dual head (such as Figure 4C, which shows a tri-head, and Figure 4F), a swirl air jet head (such as the arrangement in Figure 4E, which uses outlets that fan outwardly), and a sliding head (such as Figures 4D and 5A-B). See especially Figures 4A-4F and 5A-B, described in column 7, line 8 to column 8, line 65, below:
With reference to FIGS. 4A-4C, respective force applicators 50 can have manifolds 52 having multiple rows (R1, R2, etc.) of outlets 60 for further distributing pressurized gas along a second distribution direction D4, which can also be referred to as an “offset direction” D4. As shown in FIG. 4A, the force applicator 50 can have a manifold 52 that includes a first plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a first row R1 and a second plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a second row R1. The first and second rows R1, R2 are spaced from each other at a spacing distance X2 along the offset direction D4, which in the illustrated example is perpendicular to the distribution direction D3. In such multi-row embodiments, the distribution direction D3 can be referred to as the “first distribution direction” D3. In the present example, the second distribution direction D4 is substantially parallel with the conveyance direction D1. As shown in FIG. 4B, the manifold 52 can include first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3 of outlets 60, which rows are spaced from each other along the second distribution direction D4. As shown in FIG. 4C, the outlets 60 can be arranged into multiple rows, such as first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3, such that the outlets 60 of each row define outlet axes 65 that are angularly offset from the outlet axes 65 of the other rows. In this manner, the outlets 60 can provide a force distribution that “fans” forwardly and rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1.
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4E, the manifold 52 can have a plurality of outlets 60 having outlet axes 65 that fan outwardly, such as from a central location or one or more non-central locations of the manifold 52. In this manner, the outlets 60 can collectively provide a fanned or conical force distribution for reinforcing labels. In such embodiments, the manifold 52 can also include one or more outlets 60 directed orthogonally toward the support surface 6. In the illustrated example, the manifold 52 includes a central outlet 60 that faces orthogonally toward the support surface 6, and the remaining outlets 60 fan outwardly from the central outlet 60.
It should be appreciated that the force applicators 50 can employ various additional and/or alternative outlet 60 configurations, including combinations of the illustrated configurations described herein, while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4F, the force applicator 50 can include multiple manifolds 52, each having a plurality of outlets 60. For example, the force applicator 50 can include a first manifold 52a having a first plurality of outlets that are distributed transversely across the conveyor 4. The force applicator 50 can also include a second manifold 52b having a second plurality of outlets 60 and a third manifold 52c having a third plurality of outlets 60. Each manifold 52a-c can have a respective supply tube for delivering pressurized gas to the respective manifold 52a-c. In the illustrated example, the second and third manifolds 52b, 52c are vertically elongate such that their respective outlets 60 are distributed vertically. Additionally, the outlets of the second and third pluralities manifolds 52b, 52c can be angled so as to eject pressurized gas downwardly at an acute angle relative to the support surface 6. In this manner, the second and third pluralities of outlets 60 can be particularly useful for reinforcing overhung or flagged labels 14 that are oriented so that overhung portions are laterally offset from the conveyance direction D1. It should be appreciated that one or more of the first, second, and third manifolds 52a-c can also be configured to pivot forwardly or rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1, such as for rectifying leading or trailing overhung label portions, by way of a non-limiting example.
Referring now to FIGS. 5A-5B, an embodiment of the label reinforcing device 2 is shown where the force applicator 50 is movable along the outlet direction D2 for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. during use between a neutral position (FIG. 5B), in which the force applicator 50 is remote from the support surface 6, and a deployed position (FIG. 5A), in which the force applicator 50 is adjacent the support surface 6 at a proximity allowing the outlets 60 to provide sufficient force to press unadhered portions of labels 14 against the underlying package 8. In such embodiments, the mount 64 is connected to an actuator 70 that is movable with respect to the support surface 6, such as along the outlet direction D2, for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. In such embodiments, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 as needed based on the height of the packages 8 traversing the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 based on the type and orientation of misapplied labels 14 as they traverse the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally or alternatively, the actuator 70 can iterate the force applicator 50 between a first position, such as a deployed position, such as that shown in FIG. 5A, and a second position, such as a neutral position, such as that shown in FIG. 5B. In this manner, the force applicator 50 can be maintained in a neutral, remote position until a misapplied label is identified. The actuator 70 can include a linear actuator, such as a screw drive, a hydraulic actuator, a pneumatic actuator, and/or a set of telescoping tubes, by way of non-limiting examples. It should be appreciated that various other mechanisms for moving the force applicator 50 during use are within the scope of the present disclosure.
Although Heaslet discloses wherein the head comprises at least one of a head selected from the group consisting of a single head, a dual head, and a swirl air jet head, Heaslet can be interpreted as not disclosing a swirl air jet head.
In any event, Korthauer discloses using a compressed air nozzle which is coupled to a drive and can be displaced back and forth from an initial position, and therefore, discloses a swirl air jet head. See the abstract, teaching “at least one applicator body or compressed air nozzle, by which the label can be applied to the protrusion of the object, and at least one pressing body or compressed air nozzle, by which the label can be smoothed onto the fillet of the object. The pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is mounted on a transmission, which is coupled to a drive and can be displaced back and forth from an initial position” See also paragraph 0008 and 0050, disclosing:
[0008] The device according to the invention is characterised in that the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is mounted on a transmission, which is coupled to a drive and by means of which the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle can be displaced back and forth from an initial position, at a vertical distance from the transport or support surface, to an operating position, in which the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is arranged in the operating position, at least in part below the protrusion defining the fillet.
…
[0050] FIG. 6 shows schematically an embodiment in which the pressing means 14 applies the label 1 to the fillet 2.7 of the packaging 2 in a contact-free manner. For this purpose, the transmission 14.1 of the pressing means 14 is provided with at least one compressed air line 24 comprising one or more nozzles 24.1. In this case, the label 1 is smoothed onto the fillet 2.7 by compressed air jets.
See also Figure 6:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the head comprises at least one of a head selected from the group consisting of a single head, a dual head, and a swirl air jet head as taught by Korthauer in order to smooth the label.
As to claim 12, Heaslet discloses wherein the second head comprises at least one of a head selected from the group consisting of a single head (such as in Figures 4A and 4B), a dual head (such as Figure 4C, which shows a tri-head, and Figure 4F), and a swirl air jet head (such as the arrangement in Figure 4E, which uses outlets that fan outwardly; see also Figures 4D and 5A-B). See especially Figures 4A-4F and 5A-B, described in column 7, line 8 to column 8, line 65, below:
With reference to FIGS. 4A-4C, respective force applicators 50 can have manifolds 52 having multiple rows (R1, R2, etc.) of outlets 60 for further distributing pressurized gas along a second distribution direction D4, which can also be referred to as an “offset direction” D4. As shown in FIG. 4A, the force applicator 50 can have a manifold 52 that includes a first plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a first row R1 and a second plurality of outlets 60 arranged along a second row R1. The first and second rows R1, R2 are spaced from each other at a spacing distance X2 along the offset direction D4, which in the illustrated example is perpendicular to the distribution direction D3. In such multi-row embodiments, the distribution direction D3 can be referred to as the “first distribution direction” D3. In the present example, the second distribution direction D4 is substantially parallel with the conveyance direction D1. As shown in FIG. 4B, the manifold 52 can include first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3 of outlets 60, which rows are spaced from each other along the second distribution direction D4. As shown in FIG. 4C, the outlets 60 can be arranged into multiple rows, such as first, second, and third rows R1, R2, R3, such that the outlets 60 of each row define outlet axes 65 that are angularly offset from the outlet axes 65 of the other rows. In this manner, the outlets 60 can provide a force distribution that “fans” forwardly and rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1.
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4E, the manifold 52 can have a plurality of outlets 60 having outlet axes 65 that fan outwardly, such as from a central location or one or more non-central locations of the manifold 52. In this manner, the outlets 60 can collectively provide a fanned or conical force distribution for reinforcing labels. In such embodiments, the manifold 52 can also include one or more outlets 60 directed orthogonally toward the support surface 6. In the illustrated example, the manifold 52 includes a central outlet 60 that faces orthogonally toward the support surface 6, and the remaining outlets 60 fan outwardly from the central outlet 60.
It should be appreciated that the force applicators 50 can employ various additional and/or alternative outlet 60 configurations, including combinations of the illustrated configurations described herein, while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure.
In further embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4F, the force applicator 50 can include multiple manifolds 52, each having a plurality of outlets 60. For example, the force applicator 50 can include a first manifold 52a having a first plurality of outlets that are distributed transversely across the conveyor 4. The force applicator 50 can also include a second manifold 52b having a second plurality of outlets 60 and a third manifold 52c having a third plurality of outlets 60. Each manifold 52a-c can have a respective supply tube for delivering pressurized gas to the respective manifold 52a-c. In the illustrated example, the second and third manifolds 52b, 52c are vertically elongate such that their respective outlets 60 are distributed vertically. Additionally, the outlets of the second and third pluralities manifolds 52b, 52c can be angled so as to eject pressurized gas downwardly at an acute angle relative to the support surface 6. In this manner, the second and third pluralities of outlets 60 can be particularly useful for reinforcing overhung or flagged labels 14 that are oriented so that overhung portions are laterally offset from the conveyance direction D1. It should be appreciated that one or more of the first, second, and third manifolds 52a-c can also be configured to pivot forwardly or rearwardly with respect to the conveyance direction D1, such as for rectifying leading or trailing overhung label portions, by way of a non-limiting example.
Referring now to FIGS. 5A-5B, an embodiment of the label reinforcing device 2 is shown where the force applicator 50 is movable along the outlet direction D2 for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. during use between a neutral position (FIG. 5B), in which the force applicator 50 is remote from the support surface 6, and a deployed position (FIG. 5A), in which the force applicator 50 is adjacent the support surface 6 at a proximity allowing the outlets 60 to provide sufficient force to press unadhered portions of labels 14 against the underlying package 8. In such embodiments, the mount 64 is connected to an actuator 70 that is movable with respect to the support surface 6, such as along the outlet direction D2, for adjusting the distance X1 between the outlets 60 and the support surface 6. In such embodiments, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 as needed based on the height of the packages 8 traversing the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally, the actuator 70 can adjust the distance X1 based on the type and orientation of misapplied labels 14 as they traverse the reinforcement zone RZ. Additionally or alternatively, the actuator 70 can iterate the force applicator 50 between a first position, such as a deployed position, such as that shown in FIG. 5A, and a second position, such as a neutral position, such as that shown in FIG. 5B. In this manner, the force applicator 50 can be maintained in a neutral, remote position until a misapplied label is identified. The actuator 70 can include a linear actuator, such as a screw drive, a hydraulic actuator, a pneumatic actuator, and/or a set of telescoping tubes, by way of non-limiting examples. It should be appreciated that various other mechanisms for moving the force applicator 50 during use are within the scope of the present disclosure.
Although Heaslet discloses wherein the head comprises at least one of a head selected from the group consisting of a single head, a dual head, a swirl air jet head, and a sliding head , Heaslet can be interpreted as not disclosing a swirl air jet head.
In any event, Korthauer discloses using a compressed air nozzle which is coupled to a drive and can be displaced back and forth from an initial position, and therefore, discloses a swirl air jet head. See the abstract, teaching “at least one applicator body or compressed air nozzle, by which the label can be applied to the protrusion of the object, and at least one pressing body or compressed air nozzle, by which the label can be smoothed onto the fillet of the object. The pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is mounted on a transmission, which is coupled to a drive and can be displaced back and forth from an initial position” See also paragraph 0008 and 0050, disclosing:
[0008] The device according to the invention is characterised in that the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is mounted on a transmission, which is coupled to a drive and by means of which the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle can be displaced back and forth from an initial position, at a vertical distance from the transport or support surface, to an operating position, in which the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is arranged in the operating position, at least in part below the protrusion defining the fillet.
…
[0050] FIG. 6 shows schematically an embodiment in which the pressing means 14 applies the label 1 to the fillet 2.7 of the packaging 2 in a contact-free manner. For this purpose, the transmission 14.1 of the pressing means 14 is provided with at least one compressed air line 24 comprising one or more nozzles 24.1. In this case, the label 1 is smoothed onto the fillet 2.7 by compressed air jets.
See also Figure 6:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the head comprises at least one of a head selected from the group consisting of a single head, a dual head, and a swirl air jet head as taught by Korthauer in order to smooth the label.
As to claim 19, Heaslet discloses said delivering fluid flow and directing the fluid flow includes swirling the fluid as it is delivered to the leading and trailing edges or the opposed longitudinal edges at least a region of the printed and affixed label. See column 7, lines 36-58, below:
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
Although Heaslet has been interpreted as disclosing wherein said delivering fluid flow and directing the fluid flow includes swirling the fluid as it is delivered to the leading and trailing edges or the opposed longitudinal edges of the printed and affixed label, Heaslet may be interpreted as not disclosing swirling.
In any event, Korthauer discloses using a compressed air nozzle which is coupled to a drive and can be displaced back and forth from an initial position, and therefore, it capable of operation wherein said delivering fluid flow and directing the fluid flow includes swirling the fluid as it is delivered to the leading and trailing edges or the opposed longitudinal edges of the printed and affixed label. See the abstract, teaching “at least one applicator body or compressed air nozzle, by which the label can be applied to the protrusion of the object, and at least one pressing body or compressed air nozzle, by which the label can be smoothed onto the fillet of the object. The pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is mounted on a transmission, which is coupled to a drive and can be displaced back and forth from an initial position” See also paragraph 0008 and 0050, disclosing:
[0008] The device according to the invention is characterised in that the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is mounted on a transmission, which is coupled to a drive and by means of which the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle can be displaced back and forth from an initial position, at a vertical distance from the transport or support surface, to an operating position, in which the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is arranged in the operating position, at least in part below the protrusion defining the fillet.
…
[0050] FIG. 6 shows schematically an embodiment in which the pressing means 14 applies the label 1 to the fillet 2.7 of the packaging 2 in a contact-free manner. For this purpose, the transmission 14.1 of the pressing means 14 is provided with at least one compressed air line 24 comprising one or more nozzles 24.1. In this case, the label 1 is smoothed onto the fillet 2.7 by compressed air jets.
See also Figure 6:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said delivering fluid flow and directing the fluid flow includes swirling the fluid as it is delivered to the leading and trailing edges or the opposed longitudinal edges of the printed and affixed label as taught by Korthauer in order to smooth the label.
Claim(s) 11, 15 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heaslet (US 12006087 B1) in view of Bowers (US 20160052659 A1) and Gim (US 20140096904 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16 and 17-22 above, and further in view of French (US 3888725 A).
As to claim 11, Heaslet discloses that the head is supported for movement between said first and second operative positions. See especially Figure 4D, showing pivoting motion. See also column 7, lines 36-58, below:
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
However, Heaslet does not discloses the full limitation of wherein the second label applicator module further comprises a housing having a slot opening and wherein the second head is supported in the slot opening of the housing for the linear sliding movement between said first and second operative positions.
However, French teaches that it is known to use slot structures in order to move air manifolds. See column 4, lines 10-30, disclosing:
In the embodiment illustrated, the manifold 51 is adjustably mounted by a bracket 53 (FIGS. 2 and 3) which is affixed at one end to the manifold 51. The other end of the bracket 53 is sandwiched between a wall 55 of the housing 29 and a nut plate 57. The wall 55 has slots 59, the longitudinal axes of which are aligned. The bracket 53 has slots 61, the longitudinal axes of which are parallel and extend transversely to the longitudinal axes of the slots 59. Screws 63 extend through the slots 59 and 61 and are received in the nut plate 57 to thereby fixedly mount the air manifold 51. By loosening of the screws 63, the screws, the bracket 53, the nut plate 57, and the manifold 51 can be moved right or left (as viewed in FIGS. 2 and 3) as permitted by the slots 59. In addition, with the screws 63 loosened, the bracket 53 and the air manifold 51 can be moved up or down as viewed in FIG. 3 as permitted by the slots 61. This permits the air manifold 51 to be located in any position (within the limits of the slots 59 and 61) in a plane parallel to the grid 31.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the second label applicator module further comprises a housing having a slot opening and wherein the second head is supported in the slot opening of the housing for the linear sliding movement between said first and second operative positions by using the slot as taught by French in order to permit movement of the housing or manifolds in any position within the limits of the slots.
As to claim 15, as noted above, Heaslet discloses that the head is supported for movement between said first and second operative positions. See especially Figure 4D, showing pivoting motion. See also column 7, lines 36-58, below:
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
However, Heaslet does not discloses the full limitation of wherein the second head is configured to slide within the slot opening from said first operative position to said second operative position while the asset is moving in the traveling direction.
However, French teaches that it is known to use slot structures in order to move air manifolds. See column 4, lines 10-30, disclosing:
In the embodiment illustrated, the manifold 51 is adjustably mounted by a bracket 53 (FIGS. 2 and 3) which is affixed at one end to the manifold 51. The other end of the bracket 53 is sandwiched between a wall 55 of the housing 29 and a nut plate 57. The wall 55 has slots 59, the longitudinal axes of which are aligned. The bracket 53 has slots 61, the longitudinal axes of which are parallel and extend transversely to the longitudinal axes of the slots 59. Screws 63 extend through the slots 59 and 61 and are received in the nut plate 57 to thereby fixedly mount the air manifold 51. By loosening of the screws 63, the screws, the bracket 53, the nut plate 57, and the manifold 51 can be moved right or left (as viewed in FIGS. 2 and 3) as permitted by the slots 59. In addition, with the screws 63 loosened, the bracket 53 and the air manifold 51 can be moved up or down as viewed in FIG. 3 as permitted by the slots 61. This permits the air manifold 51 to be located in any position (within the limits of the slots 59 and 61) in a plane parallel to the grid 31.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the second head is configured to slide within the slot opening from said first operative position to said second operative position while the asset is moving in the traveling direction by using the slot as taught by French in order to permit movement of the housing or manifolds in any position within the limits of the slots.
As to claim 23, Heaslet discloses that the head is supported for movement relative to said housing. See especially Figure 4D, showing pivoting motion. See also column 7, lines 36-58, below:
In additional embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate for further tailoring the force distribution. For example, as shown in FIG. 4D, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis Z oriented along the distribution direction D3, thereby allowing the outlets 60 to rotate, so as to follow a package through the reinforcement zone RZ. In this manner, the outlets 60 can pivot as needed, such as for rectifying a leading edge label error, a trailing edge label error, and/or a label having leading and trailing edge errors. In other embodiments, the manifold 52 can be configured to pivot about a pivot axis that is offset from the distribution direction, such as a pivot axis that is orthogonal to the support surface 6 or a pivot axis that is oriented along the conveyance direction D1. In yet other embodiments, one or more of the outlets 60 can be configured to rotate, such as about their respective outlet axes 65. This mode of outlet rotation can be particularly useful when the respective outlets 60 expels a pressurized gas cone having an elongated (non-circular) spray pattern. The foregoing modes of outlet 60 pivoting/rotation can allow the outlets 60 to adjust the force distribution as needed to reinforce various types of misapplied labels.
However, Heaslet does not discloses wherein said housing comprises a slot opening and wherein said head is supported in said slot opening for movement relative to said housing.
However, French teaches that it is known to use slot structures in order to move air manifolds. See column 4, lines 10-30, disclosing:
In the embodiment illustrated, the manifold 51 is adjustably mounted by a bracket 53 (FIGS. 2 and 3) which is affixed at one end to the manifold 51. The other end of the bracket 53 is sandwiched between a wall 55 of the housing 29 and a nut plate 57. The wall 55 has slots 59, the longitudinal axes of which are aligned. The bracket 53 has slots 61, the longitudinal axes of which are parallel and extend transversely to the longitudinal axes of the slots 59. Screws 63 extend through the slots 59 and 61 and are received in the nut plate 57 to thereby fixedly mount the air manifold 51. By loosening of the screws 63, the screws, the bracket 53, the nut plate 57, and the manifold 51 can be moved right or left (as viewed in FIGS. 2 and 3) as permitted by the slots 59. In addition, with the screws 63 loosened, the bracket 53 and the air manifold 51 can be moved up or down as viewed in FIG. 3 as permitted by the slots 61. This permits the air manifold 51 to be located in any position (within the limits of the slots 59 and 61) in a plane parallel to the grid 31.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said housing comprises a slot opening and wherein said head is supported in said slot opening for movement relative to said housing.as taught by French in order to permit movement of the housing or manifolds in any position within the limits of the slots.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 7, the prior art of record does not disclose the additional limitation of “further comprising a slot opening for receiving the second head, wherein the second head is configured to slide within the slot opening from the first position, to the second position, and return to the first position while the asset is moving in the traveling direction, wherein the second head slides to a third position while the asset continues to move in the traveling direction” in combination with the limitations of parent claim 1.
The closest prior art is Gim (US 20140096904 A1) and Korthauer (US 20120216956 A1) which has been applied above to other claims.
Gim discloses that the air injection head 200 may be provided with a moving member 210 that may move the air injection head 200 in one direction (paragraph 0054). FIG. 1 illustrates that the air injection head 200 moves from the right to the left in the drawing, but the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is not necessarily limited thereto and therefore, the air injection head 200 can move from the left to the right or move diagonally. (paragraph 0056). The full features of claim 7 are not disclosed.
As noted in the prior action, Korthauer discloses using a compressed air nozzle which is coupled to a drive and can be displaced back and forth from an initial position, and therefore, discloses a swirl air jet head, and a sliding head. See the abstract, teaching “at least one applicator body or compressed air nozzle, by which the label can be applied to the protrusion of the object, and at least one pressing body or compressed air nozzle, by which the label can be smoothed onto the fillet of the object. The pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is mounted on a transmission, which is coupled to a drive and can be displaced back and forth from an initial position” See also paragraph 0008 and 0050, disclosing:
[0008] The device according to the invention is characterised in that the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is mounted on a transmission, which is coupled to a drive and by means of which the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle can be displaced back and forth from an initial position, at a vertical distance from the transport or support surface, to an operating position, in which the pressing body or the compressed air nozzle is arranged in the operating position, at least in part below the protrusion defining the fillet.
…
[0050] FIG. 6 shows schematically an embodiment in which the pressing means 14 applies the label 1 to the fillet 2.7 of the packaging 2 in a contact-free manner. For this purpose, the transmission 14.1 of the pressing means 14 is provided with at least one compressed air line 24 comprising one or more nozzles 24.1. In this case, the label 1 is smoothed onto the fillet 2.7 by compressed air jets.
However, Korthauer would not make obvious the full limitation of further comprising a slot opening for receiving the head, wherein the head is configured to slide from a first position, a second position, and return to the first position while the asset is moving in a traveling direction, wherein the head slides to a third position while the asset continues to move in the traveling direction.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK