DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 10/04/2023 claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, and 16 are independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 44 in Fig. 1 for example. Revise all of the reference characters to ensure they are mentioned in the description. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 11 and 17 add --of the linking module-- after “the housing” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “the housing of the linking module”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1 add --the-- before “housing” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes this limitation will be interpreted as “the housing”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3 add --of the first and second power stations-- after the first instance of “the housing” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “the housing of the first and second power stations”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 add --of the first power station-- after “housing” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis; in line 19 add --of the linking module-- after “housing” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis; in line 22 add --of the second power station-- after “housing” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis; and in line 25 add --of the second power station-- after “housing” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. Furthermore, add “first” and “second” to differentiate between the components of the first power station and the second power station to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes these limitations will be interpreted as such, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-11, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Workman et al. (USPGPN 20130183562), in view of Nguyen (USPGPN 20190319231), and further in view of Silva et al. (USPGPN 20220149641).
With respect to independent claim 1, Workman teaches a power station assembly (Fig. 4; battery pack power system 10) comprising first and second power stations (Fig. 4; a first and second battery module 20), each of the first and second power stations comprising
a housing comprising opposing first and second sidewalls (Fig. 4; ¶[61]; each battery module 20 comprises a housing 40 with opposing sidewalls).
Workman teaches an onboard battery positioned within the housing (Fig. 4; ¶[58]; each battery module 20 comprises an onboard battery within the housing 40); and a power output receptacle positioned on the first sidewall and powered by the onboard battery system (Fig. 4; ¶[65]; a socket 68 on the first sidewall and powered by the onboard battery).
Workman teaches a linking module configured to receive first and second power outputs from the first and second power stations, respectively, and combine the first and second power outputs into an increased power output (Fig. 4; an inverter module 80 configured to receive first and second power outputs from the first and second battery modules 20. These are electrically chained via flexible connections 64, thus, combining the respective power outputs of each battery module 20 into an increased power output).
Workman teaches a housing comprising opposing first and second ends, the housing configured to fit together with the housings of the first and second power stations in a stacked configuration, and with the first end and the first sidewalls of the housings of the first and second power stations facing the same direction (Fig. 4; the inverter module 80 comprises a housing with opposing first and second ends, the housing configured to fit together with the housings of the battery modules 20 in a stacked configuration, and with the first end of the inverter module 80 facing the same direction as the first sidewalls of the housing 40 of the battery modules 20).
Workman teaches at least one power output receptacle located at the end of the housing and configured to provide the increased power output (Figs. 2 and 4; a multi-standard socket 84 located on an end of the housing of the inverter module 80 to provide the increased power output of the electrically chained battery modules 20).
However, Workman fails to explicitly teach a plurality of power output receptacles; the housing of the linking module between the housings of the first and second power stations; and the at least one power output receptacle located at the first end of the housing.
Nguyen teaches the housing of the linking module between the housings of the first and second power stations (Fig. 3D; the housing of the power generation system 300 is stacked between the housing of the first and second power storage systems 200).
Workman teaches stacking the linking module and the power stations vertically in Fig. 4 while Nguyen teaches the linking module stacked between the power stations in Fig. 3D. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Nguyen’s vertical stacking of the linking module between the power stations to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being a different design configuration allowing for options to save costs on manufacturing and provide customers with the option for different design styles.
However, Workman fails to explicitly teach a plurality of power output receptacles; and the at least one power output receptacle located at the first end of the housing.
Silva teaches a plurality of power output receptacles (Fig. 1; a plurality of power output receptacles).
Silva teaches the at least one power output receptacle located at the first end of the housing (Fig. 1; the power output receptacles are located on the front end of the housing).
A power station with multiple power output receptacles allows for more than one device to be connected at once without needing extra adapters. Placing the power receptacles in the front allows ease of access for a user and allows a user to easily view the status of the battery power system. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied Silva’s location of the plurality of power output receptacles to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being it provides immediate physical access, allows flexible cable management making it much easier to plug and unplug devices frequently, and simplifies checking the status of the display.
With respect to claim 2, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Workman teaches wherein the housing of the linking module comprises a bottom surface configured to securely stack on top of the housing of one of the first and second power stations at a time (Fig. 4; the inverter module 80 has a bottom surface configured to securely stack on top of the housing of one of the battery modules 20 at a time).
However, Workman fails to explicitly teach a top surface configured to securely receive stacked thereon the housing of one of the first and second power stations at a time.
Nguyen teaches a top surface configured to securely receive stacked thereon the housing of one of the first and second power stations at a time (Fig. 3D; a top cap 302 (i.e., top surface) configured to securely receive stacked thereon the housing of one of the power storage systems 200).
Workman teaches stacking the linking module and the power stations vertically in Fig. 4 while Nguyen teaches the linking module stacked between the power stations in Fig. 3D. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Nguyen’s vertical stacking of the linking module between the power stations to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being a different design configuration allowing for options to save costs on manufacturing and provide customers with the option for different design styles.
With respect to claim 3, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. However, Workman fails to teach the limitations of claim 3.
Nguyen teaches each housing of the first and second power stations comprises: a plurality of supports extending from the housing to support the housing of the linking module (Annotated Fig. 3B below); and
a plurality of feet on a bottom surface thereof (Fig. 3B; connectors 203).
Nguyen teaches the bottom surface of the housing of the linking module comprises a plurality of feet and a plurality of cutouts, each cutout of the plurality of cutouts extending through at least one foot of the plurality of feet and configured to securely sit on the plurality of supports of the housing of one of the first and second power stations at a time (Annotated Fig. 3B below).
Nguyen teaches the top surface of the housing of the linking module comprises a plurality of power station mounts configured to receive and secure the plurality of feet of one of the first and second power stations at a time (Figs. 3B and 3D).
Workman teaches stacking the linking module and the power stations vertically in Fig. 4 while Nguyen teaches the linking module stacked between the power stations in Fig. 3D. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Nguyen’s vertical stacking of the linking module between the power stations to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being a different design configuration allowing for options to save costs on manufacturing and provide customers with the option for different design styles.
With respect to claim 4, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Workman teaches wherein the linking module further comprises first and second pairs of connection cables configured to electrically connect to one of the first and second power stations at a time (Fig. 4; a flexible connection device 64 per battery module 20 configured to electrically connect with the inverter 80 at a time).
With respect to claim 5, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Workman teaches wherein each of the first and second power stations comprises a linking module connection port configured to electrically connect to one of the first and second pairs of connection cables of the linking module at a time (Fig. 4; socket 66).
The application does not disclose a criticality for having a pair of linking module connection ports, as such it would have been obvious to have a pair of linking module connection ports in order allow for multiple conductors to be connected at the same time. The advantage is that current is distributed across multiple conductors instead of a single conductor, reducing the current in each conductor, which can reduce heating and improve safety.
With respect to independent claim 9, Workman teaches a power station assembly (Fig. 4; battery pack power system 10) comprising first and second power stations (Fig. 4; a first and second battery module 20), each of the first and second power stations comprising a housing comprising opposing first and second sidewalls (Fig. 4; ¶[61]; each battery module 20 comprises a housing 40 with opposing sidewalls).
Workman teaches an onboard battery system positioned within the housing (Fig. 4; ¶[58]; each battery module 20 comprises an onboard battery within the housing 40); and a power output receptacle positioned on the first sidewall and powered by the onboard battery system (Fig. 4; ¶[65]; a socket 68 on the first sidewall and powered by the onboard battery).
Workman teaches a linking module configured to receive first and second power outputs from the first and second power stations and combine the first and second power outputs into an increased power output (Fig. 4; an inverter module 80 configured to receive first and second power outputs from the first and second battery modules 20. These are electrically chained via flexible connections 64, thus, combining the respective power outputs of each battery module 20 into an increased power output).
Workman teaches the linking module comprising a housing comprising opposing first and second ends (Fig. 4; the inverter module 80 comprises a housing with opposing first and second ends).
Workman teaches a bottom surface configured to securely stack on top of the housing of one of the first and second power stations at a time such that the first end and the first sidewall of the housing of the first and second power stations on which the bottom surface of the housing of the linking module is stacked are facing the same direction (Fig. 4; the inverter module 80 has a bottom surface configured to securely stack on top of the housing of one of the battery modules 20 at a time such that the first end of the inverter module 80 facing the same direction as the first sidewalls of the housing 40 of the battery modules 20).
Workman teaches at least one power output receptacle located at the end of the housing of the linking module and configured to provide the increased power output (Figs. 2 and 4; a multi-standard socket 84 located on an end of the housing of the inverter module 80 to provide the increased power output of the electrically chained battery modules 20).
However, Workman fails to explicitly teach a plurality of power output receptacles; a top surface configured to securely receive stacked thereon the housing of one of the first and second power stations at a time such that the first end and the first sidewall of the housing of the first power station stacked on the top surface of the housing of the linking module are facing the same direction; and the at least one power output receptacle located at the first end of the housing.
Nguyen teaches a top surface configured to securely receive stacked thereon the housing of one of the first and second power stations at a time such that the first end and the first sidewall of the housing of the first power station stacked on the top surface of the housing of the linking module are facing the same direction (Fig. 3D; a top cap 302 (i.e., top surface) configured to securely receive stacked thereon the housing of one of the power storage systems 200 at a time such that the first end and the first sidewall are facing the same direction).
Workman teaches stacking the linking module and the power stations vertically in Fig. 4 while Nguyen teaches the linking module stacked between the power stations in Fig. 3D. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Nguyen’s vertical stacking of the linking module between the power stations to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being a different design configuration allowing for options to save costs on manufacturing and provide customers with the option for different design styles.
However, Workman fails to explicitly teach a plurality of power output receptacles; and the at least one power output receptacle located at the first end of the housing.
Silva teaches a plurality of power output receptacles (Fig. 1; a plurality of power output receptacles).
Silva teaches the at least one power output receptacle located at the first end of the housing (Fig. 1; the power output receptacles are located on the front end of the housing).
A power station with multiple power output receptacles allows for more than one device to be connected at once without needing extra adapters. Placing the power receptacles in the front allows ease of access for a user and allows a user to easily view the status of the battery power system. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied Silva’s location of the plurality of power output receptacles to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being it provides immediate physical access, allows flexible cable management making it much easier to plug and unplug devices frequently, and simplifies checking the status of the display.
With respect to claim 10, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Workman teaches wherein the linking module further comprises first and second pairs of connection cables configured to electrically connect to one of the first and second power stations at a time (Fig. 4; a flexible connection device 64 per battery module 20 configured to electrically connect with the inverter 80 at a time).
With respect to claim 11, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 10. Further, Workman teaches wherein each of the first and second power stations comprises a linking module connection port configured to electrically connect to one of the first and second pairs of connection cables of the linking module at a time (Fig. 4; socket 66).
The application does not show a criticality for having a pair of linking module connection ports, as such it would have been obvious to have a pair of linking module connection ports in order allow for multiple conductors to be connected at the same time. The advantage is that current is distributed across multiple conductors instead of a single conductor, reducing the current in each conductor, which can reduce heating and improve safety.
With respect to claim 15, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 9. However, Workman fails to teach the limitations of claim 15.
Nguyen teaches each housing of the first and second power stations comprises: a plurality of supports extending from the housing to support the housing of the linking module (Annotated Fig. 3B below); and
a plurality of feet on a bottom surface thereof (Fig. 3B; connectors 203).
Nguyen teaches the bottom surface of the housing of the linking module comprises a plurality of feet and a plurality of cutouts, each cutout of the plurality of cutouts extending through at least one foot of the plurality of feet and configured to securely sit on the plurality of supports of the housing of one of the first and second power stations at a time (Annotated Fig. 3B below).
Nguyen teaches the top surface of the housing of the linking module comprises a plurality of power station mounts configured to receive and secure the plurality of feet of one of the first and second power stations at a time (Figs. 3B and 3D).
Workman teaches stacking the linking module and the power stations vertically in Fig. 4 while Nguyen teaches the linking module stacked between the power stations in Fig. 3D. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Nguyen’s vertical stacking of the linking module between the power stations to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being a different design configuration allowing for options to save costs on manufacturing and provide customers with the option for different design styles.
With respect to independent claim 16, Workman teaches a method of stacking a power station assembly (Fig. 4; battery pack power system 10), the method comprising positioning a first power station on a surface (Fig. 4; battery module 20 positioned on a surface), the first power station comprising a housing comprising opposing first and second sidewalls (Fig. 4; ¶[61]; each battery module 20 comprises a housing 40 with opposing sidewalls).
Workman teaches an onboard battery system positioned within the housing (Fig. 4; ¶[58]; each battery module 20 comprises an onboard battery within the housing 40); and a power output receptacle positioned on the first sidewall and powered by the onboard battery system (Fig. 4; ¶[65]; a socket 68 on the first sidewall and powered by the onboard battery).
Workman teaches a linking module, the linking module configured to receive first and second power outputs from the first power station and a second power station, respectively, and combine the first and second power outputs into an increased power output (Fig. 4; an inverter module 80 configured to receive first and second power outputs from the first and second battery modules 20. These are electrically chained via flexible connections 64, thus, combining the respective power outputs of each battery module 20 into an increased power output).
Workman teaches the linking module comprising a housing comprising opposing first and second ends (Fig. 4; the inverter module 80 comprises a housing with opposing first and second ends).
Workman teaches such that the first end and the first sidewall of the housing of the first power station are facing the same direction (Fig. 4; the first end of the inverter module 80 and the first sidewall of the battery module 20 are stacked such that they are facing the same direction).
Workman teaches at least one power output receptacle located at the end of the housing and configured to provide the increased power output (Figs. 2 and 4; a multi-standard socket 84 located on an end of the housing of the inverter module 80 to provide the increased power output of the electrically chained battery modules 20).
Workman teaches the second power station comprising a housing comprising opposing first and second sidewalls (Fig. 4; ¶[61]; each battery module 20 comprises a housing 40 with opposing sidewalls).
Workman such that the first sidewall and the first end of the housing of the linking module are facing the same direction (Fig. 4; the first end of the inverter module 80 and the first sidewall of the battery module 20 are stacked such that they are facing the same direction).
Workman teaches an onboard battery system positioned within the housing (Fig. 4; ¶[58]; each battery module 20 comprises an onboard battery within the housing 40); and a power output receptacle positioned on the first sidewall and powered by the onboard battery system (Figs. 2 and 4; a multi-standard socket 84 located on an end of the housing of the inverter module 80 to provide the increased power output of the electrically chained battery modules 20).
However, Workman fails to explicitly teach a plurality of power output receptacles; stacking a linking module on top of the housing of the first power station; a bottom surface of the linking module securely stacked on top of the housing of the first power station; a top surface of the linking module configured to securely receive stacked thereon the second power station; the at least one power output receptacle located at the first end of the housing of the linking module; stacking the second power station on the top surface of the linking module; and the housing of the second power station stacked on the top surface of the housing of the linking module.
Nguyen teaches stacking a linking module on top of the housing of the first power station; a bottom surface of the linking module securely stacked on top of the housing of the first power station; a top surface of the linking module configured to securely receive stacked thereon the second power station; stacking the second power station on the top surface of the linking module; the housing of the second power station stacked on the top surface of the housing of the linking module (Fig. 3D; power generation system 300 in between storage system 200).
Workman teaches stacking the linking module and the power stations vertically in Fig. 4 while Nguyen teaches the linking module stacked between the power stations in Fig. 3D. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Nguyen’s vertical stacking of the linking module between the power stations to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being a different design configuration allowing for options to save costs on manufacturing and provide customers with the option for different design styles.
However, Workman fails to explicitly teach a plurality of power output receptacles; and the at least one power output receptacle located at the first end of the housing.
Silva teaches a plurality of power output receptacles (Fig. 1; a plurality of power output receptacles).
Silva teaches the at least one power output receptacle located at the first end of the housing (Fig. 1; the power output receptacles are located on the front end of the housing).
A power station with multiple power output receptacles allows for more than one device to be connected at once without needing extra adapters. Placing the power receptacles in the front allows ease of access for a user and allows a user to easily view the status of the battery power system. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied Silva’s location of the plurality of power output receptacles to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being it provides immediate physical access, allows flexible cable management making it much easier to plug and unplug devices frequently, and simplifies checking the status of the display.
With respect to claim 17, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Further, Workman teaches electrically connecting a first pair of connection cables of the linking module to a pair of linking module connection ports on the first sidewall of the housing of the first power station (Fig. 4; a flexible connection device 64 of the first battery module 20 connected to socket 68 on the first sidewall of the housing).
Workman teaches electrically connecting a second pair of connection cables of the linking module to a pair of linking module connection ports on the first sidewall of the housing of the second power station (Fig. 4; a flexible connection device 64 of the second battery module 20 connected to socket 68 on the first sidewall of the housing these electrically chainable to the inverter 80).
With respect to claim 20, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. However, Workman fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 20.
Silva teaches stacking an expansion battery comprising a battery system on the housing of the second power station (Fig. 8; the battery expansion module 120 connected on the housing of the portable power charger 110).
Silva teaches electrically connecting the battery system of the expansion battery to the onboard battery of the second power station to provide an increased battery level available to the second power station (abstract).
However, Workman fails to explicitly teach placing the expansion battery on top of the housing of the second power station.
The application does not disclose a criticality for placing the expansion battery on top of the housing of the second power station, as such it would have been obvious to have place the expansion battery on top of the housing of the second power station as a matter of design choice, because the alternatives are considered equivalent and the choice would not have affected the invention’s function or operation.
Claims 6-7, 12-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Workman in view of Nguyen and Silva, and further in view of Krantz et al. (USPGPN 20200335741).
With respect to claim 6, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Workman teaches in Fig. 4 the battery modules 20 each have a storage receptacle 74 that may be opened to store the flexible connection device 64, however, Workman fails to teach this for the inverter 80.
Krantz teaches wherein the housing of the linking module comprises an interior compartment configured to store the first and second pairs of connection cables therein (Fig. 5; within the housing of power supply device 10 comprises an interior compartment configured to store the first and second pairs of I/O ports 86).
Including a cable storage compartment for the linking module provides an additional location to house the cables when not in use. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Krantz interior compartment for storing cables to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being having additional storage for keeping the cords safe, neat, and ready to use.
With respect to claim 7, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. However, Workman fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 7.
Krantz teaches wherein the housing of the linking module comprises a door positioned on a side thereof between the front and rear ends and allowing access to the interior compartment (Fig. 5; lid 90 between the front and rear ends allowing access to the interior compartment).
Including a cable storage compartment for the linking module provides an additional location to house the cables when not in use. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Krantz interior compartment for storing cables to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being having additional storage for keeping the cords safe, neat, and ready to use.
With respect to claim 12, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 10. Workman teaches in Fig. 4 the battery modules 20 each have a storage receptacle 74 that may be opened to store the flexible connection device 64, however, Workman fails to teach this for the inverter 80.
Krantz teaches wherein the housing of the linking module comprises an interior compartment configured to store the first and second pairs of connection cables therein (Fig. 5; within the housing of power supply device 10 comprises an interior compartment configured to store the first and second pairs of I/O ports 86).
Including a cable storage compartment for the linking module provides an additional location to house the cables when not in use. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Krantz interior compartment for storing cables to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being having additional storage for keeping the cords safe, neat, and ready to use.
With respect to claim 13, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 12. However, Workman fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 13.
Krantz teaches wherein the housing of the linking module comprises a door positioned on a side thereof between the front and rear ends and allowing access to the interior compartment (Fig. 5; lid 90 between the front and rear ends allowing access to the interior compartment).
Including a cable storage compartment for the linking module provides an additional location to house the cables when not in use. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Krantz interior compartment for storing cables to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being having additional storage for keeping the cords safe, neat, and ready to use.
With respect to claim 18, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Workman teaches in Fig. 4 the battery modules 20 each have a storage receptacle 74 that may be opened to store the flexible connection device 64, however, Workman fails to teach this for the inverter 80.
Krantz teaches opening a door in a side of the housing of the linking module to retrieve the first and second pairs of connection cables from an interior compartment of the housing of the linking module (Fig. 5; within the housing of power supply device 10 comprises an interior compartment configured to store the first and second pairs of I/O ports 86).
Including a cable storage compartment for the linking module provides an additional location to house the cables when not in use. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Krantz interior compartment for storing cables to Workman’s battery pack power system. The advantage of this being having additional storage for keeping the cords safe, neat, and ready to use.
Claims 8, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Workman in view of Nguyen, Silva, and Krantz, and further in view of Kim et al. (USPGPN 20230216138).
With respect to claim 8, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 7. However, Workman fails to teach the limitations of claim 8.
Kim teaches wherein the door comprises first and second slots configured to allow the first and second connection cables to extend out of the interior compartment and electrically connect to the first and second power stations (Fig. 2; cable hole H2).
Slots on the door for access to the inner compartment would allow for the cables to extend outward of the compartment. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s cable-through slots on the door of the inner compartment to Workman’s battery pack power system. The benefit of this being preventing tangling of the cables and improving electrical safety by keeping the doors to electrical contacts shut.
With respect to claim 14, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 13. However, Workman fails to teach the limitations of claim 14.
Kim teaches wherein the door comprises first and second slots configured to allow the first and second connection cables to extend out of the interior compartment and electrically connect to the first and second power stations (Fig. 2; cable hole H2).
Slots on the door for access to the inner compartment would allow for the cables to extend outward of the compartment. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s cable-through slots on the door of the inner compartment to Workman’s battery pack power system. The benefit of this being preventing tangling of the cables and improving electrical safety by keeping the doors to electrical contacts shut.
With respect to claim 19, Workman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 18. However, Workman fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 19.
Kim teaches closing the door in the side of the housing of the linking module such that the first pair of connection cables extends out of the interior compartment through a first slot in the door and the second pair of connection cables extends out of the interior compartment through a second slot in the door (Fig. 2; cable hole H2 with the door in the closed position. A plurality of slots on the door allows the extension of a plurality of connection cables).
Slots on the door for access to the inner compartment would allow for the cables to extend outward of the compartment. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s cable-through slots on the door of the inner compartment to Workman’s battery pack power system. The benefit of this being preventing tangling of the cables and improving electrical safety by keeping the doors to electrical contacts shut.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Vasefi et al. (USPGPN 20210273464) teaches an energy storage system that can be connected to another battery or energy source even when the two use different battery chemistries. The system includes a main battery inside a housing and a separate link device that sits between the main battery and the external battery. The link device detects what kind of chemistry the external battery uses and then adjusts the incoming power so the main battery can safely accept it.
Stacey et al. (USPGPN 20180006470) teaches a modular battery power system made of a control module and one or more stackable battery modules. The control module has power outlets, internal electronics, and a power inlet so it can either accept power from a wall outlet, solar panel, or other source, or supply power to devices. Each battery module contains batteries and its own internal circuitry. The modules are shaped to stack on top of or below one another and to connect automatically through matching electrical connectors. The battery module can connect directly to the control module, and additional battery modules can be added to increase storage capacity. The design supports interchangeable modules that may be structurally identical.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859