DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Amendment” filed on 06/17/2026 has been considered.
Claims 1, 4,-6, 8, 11-13, 15, and 18-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application and an action on the merits follow.
Applicant’s response by virtue of amendment to claims 36 has not overcome the Examiner’s rejection under 35 USC § 101.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,861,566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention is being anticipated by Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,861,566.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because claims 1, 8, and 15 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 fail to remedy these deficiencies.
The claims 1, 8, and 15 recite providing an interactive dashboard, displaying a dashboard including a plurality of vehicle components, receiving a plurality of selections which includes a plurality of vehicle components and one of the displayed maintenances account, electronical linking a selectable vehicle component to one of the plurality of partitions of a selected maintenance account, receiving telematics data, determining, based upon the plurality of sections, a rate of wear of each selected vehicle component, electronically querying an industry data, determining a trip cost based on the rate of wear and the retrieved industry data, and transmitting the message to transfer a maintenance contribution.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 recite providing an interactive dashboard, displaying the dashboard including a plurality of vehicle components, receiving a plurality of selections, linking, determining, based upon the selections, a rate of wear, determining a trip cost, and transmitting the message to transfer a maintenance contribution steps as drafted, are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of managing commercial interactions and fundamental economic practices, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a server computing device comprising a processor, the server computing device in communication with a vehicle computing device of the vehicle, a maintenance account computing device, and a maintenance data source”, “a non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations”, “a client device”, and “one or more sensors”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by organizing human activity for commercial interactions and fundamental economic practices. For example, but for “a server computing device, a processor, a vehicle computing device of the vehicle, a non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium, a client device, and one or more sensors” in the context of these claims encompasses a person manually provides an interactive dashboard, displays/presents a plurality of vehicle components and each of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts on a dashboard/paper/screen, selects a plurality of selections to link the selected vehicle components with the selected partitions of the one or more maintenance accounts, determines, based upon the selections, a rate of wear, determines/calculates a trip cost based on data collected, and instructs to deposit/transfer/allocate a maintenance contribution. Claims 1, 8, and 15 disclose insignificant helpful content to further describe content, such as interactive, which is merely descriptive content to further limit the abstract idea but not make it less abstract. The ability of a graphical user interface to receive selections and output data is generic. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by managing commercial interactions and fundamental economic practices but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because receiving step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of receiving telematics data) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The courts have recognized a receiving or transmitting data over a network (i.e., electronically querying) step as a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. The claimed server computing device, the processor, the vehicle computing device of the vehicle, the storage medium, the client device, and the one or more sensors are not specially programmed and cannot be specially identified. Therefore, the server computing device, the processor, the vehicle computing device of the vehicle, the storage medium, the client device, and the one or more sensors are not considered as “particular machine” (See MPEP § 2106.05(b)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of providing, displaying, receiving, linking, determining, querying, determining, and transmitting in a computer environment. The claimed computer components such as the server computing device, the processor, the vehicle computing device of the vehicle, the storage medium, the client device, and the one or more sensors are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform providing, displaying, receiving, linking, determining, querying, determining, and transmitting steps. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims 1, 8 and 15 are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims 1, 8, and 15 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using the server computing device, the processor, the vehicle computing device of the vehicle, the storage medium, the client device, and the one or more sensors to perform providing, displaying, receiving, linking, determining, querying, determining, and transmitting steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims 1, 8, and 15 are not patent eligible.
Claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 20 disclose insignificant helpful content to further describe content, such as the telematics condition data, selection is made to monitor, and the detecting function of the one or more sensors, which are merely descriptive content to further limit the abstract idea but not make it less abstract. Thus, the claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 20 are directed to an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because descriptive content in claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 20 further limit the abstract idea but not make it less abstract. Thus, the claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 20 are directed to an abstract idea.
There are no additional claim element limitations recited in the claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 20. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 20 are not patent eligible.
The claims 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, 16, 18, and 19 recite determining the trip cost, retrieving lifecycle data, determining a replacement cycle, aggregating the trip cost, determining a total cost exceed a maintenances contribution threshold, and transmitting a message to transfer a maintenances contribution step.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, 16, 18, and 19 recite determining the trip cost, determining a replacement cycle, aggregating the trip cost, determining a total cost exceed a maintenances contribution threshold, and transmitting a message to transfer a maintenances contribution steps as drafted, are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of managing commercial interactions and fundamental economic practices, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a server computing device comprising a processor, the server computing device in communication with a vehicle computing device of the vehicle, a maintenance account computing device, and a maintenance data source”, “a non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations”, “a client device”, and “one or more sensors”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by organizing human activity for commercial interactions and fundamental economic practices. For example, but for “a server computing device, a processor, a vehicle computing device of the vehicle, a non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium, a client device, and one or more sensors”, in the context of these claims encompasses a person manually determines a trip cost, determines a replacement cycle, aggregates the trip cost, determines a total cost exceed a maintenances contribution threshold, and instructs to deposit/transfer/allocate a maintenance contribution. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by managing commercial interactions and fundamental economic practices but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because retrieving step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of retrieving lifecycle data) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of determining, retrieving, aggregating, and transmitting in a computer environment. The claimed computer components such as the server computing device, the processor, the vehicle computing device of the vehicle, the storage medium, the client device, and the one or more sensors are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform determining, retrieving, aggregating, and transmitting steps. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, 16, 18, and 19 are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, 16, 18, and 19 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using the server computing device, the processor, the vehicle computing device of the vehicle, the storage medium, the client device, and the one or more sensors to perform determining, retrieving, aggregating, and transmitting steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, 16, 18, and 19 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,692,056 to Garner et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0215491 to Liu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0286187 to Munir et al., and in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0253109 to Fontaine et al., and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0005323 to Grassadonia.
With regard to claims 1, 8, and 15, Garner discloses a computer system comprising:
a server computing device comprising at least one processor in communication with a vehicle computing device of a vehicle and a maintenance account computing device associated with a primary account of a user of the vehicle (Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 22-28 and col. 5, line 54); and
a non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (col. 1, lines 55-col. 2, lines 6):
displaying, on a client device of the user, the interactive dashboard including a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle and one or more maintenance accounts associated with the user (col. 1, lines 38-58, col. 7, lines 51-53, col. 13, lines 9-29, The account 122 in a financial institution computing system 108 is created and linked or associated with one or more vehicles at 504. Each of the one or more accounts 122 of the respective users may be linked to one or more accounts 122 linked to one or more network enabled properties 102 respectively);
receiving in real-time, via wireless communication from the vehicle computing device, telematics data collected during a vehicle trip by one or more sensors associated with the vehicle (col. 3, lines 59-col. 4, lines 18, the sensors include environment sensors);
determining, based upon the telematics data, a usage of each selected vehicle component to determine a trip cost for the vehicle trip (col. 5, lines 60-66, Col. 6, lines 46-63, Col. 7, lines 19-53, monitored for usage information, wherein the usage of the product affects one of a service life. Usage information from multiple users 106 can be used to dynamically rebalance the withdrawn amount from each of their respective accounts 122 for the amounts to correspond to a percentage of usage of the network enabled property 102. The information may be provided periodically, e.g., daily, weekly, monthly basis, etc., or provided when requested by the financial institution computing system 108 over the network 104. Examiner notes that in one scenario, usage information is provided by when requested (i.e., daily trip/each trip). Examiner notes that withdrawn amounts associated with usage detected is considered as “a trip cost for the vehicle trip”. ); and
transmitting a message to the maintenance account computing device, the message including the trip cost and causing the maintenance account computing device to automatically transfer a maintenance contribution payment representing the trip cost from the primary account to the selected maintenance account associated with a corresponding selected vehicle component (Col. 6, lines 46-63, Col. 7, lines 19-53, Usage information from multiple users 106 can be used to dynamically rebalance the withdrawn amount from each of their respective accounts 122 for the amounts to correspond to a percentage of usage of the network enabled property 102. Adjustment of the amount of time before an estimated time for maintenance, repair, or replacement requires a positive or negative adjustment of the withdrawal amount to account for the cost of maintenance repair, or replacement within the newly adjusted time period.).
However, Garner does not disclose providing an interactive dashboard configured to display a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle and one or more maintenance accounts associated with the user and selectable by the user using the interactive dashboard, each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components and each of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts selectable by the user using the interactive dashboard, each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components electronically linkable to one of a plurality of partitions of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts; determining, based upon the telematics data and the plurality of inputs, a rate of wear of each selected vehicle component; electronically querying an industry data source to retrieve industry data associated with each selected vehicle component; determining a trip cost for the vehicle trip based on the rate of wear of each selected vehicle component and the retrieved industry data; receiving, via a selector displayed on the interactive dashboard, a plurality of inputs, each input selecting one of the displayed plurality of vehicle components and one of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts, each input electronically linking a selected vehicle component to one of the plurality of partitions of a selected maintenance account, each partition designated to track one or more maintenance contributions for replacing each selected vehicle component; and the selected maintenance account allocating each portion of the trip cost to each partition associated with the corresponding selected vehicle component.
However, Liu teaches determining, based upon the telematics data, a rate of wear of each selected vehicle component (The vehicle embedded modem 932 may act as a hub to transfer sensor data 940 to a linked or connected mobile device 928. The vehicle embedded modem 932 may also transfer data directly or indirectly (through mobile device 928) to the CDN for analysis and processing to detect and price wear and tear for the vehicle sharing trip or rental period as previously described. Abstract, paragraphs 82-83); electronically querying an industry data source to retrieve industry data associated with each selected vehicle component (One or more wireless connections may be used to transmit and receive data from the cloud as represented at 412. Storage and large scale processing of damage models may be performed in the cloud by the CDN on clusters of commodity computing hardware using sensor data in addition to cost information for replacement parts, repairs, and labor, for example, as represented at 416. A cloud-based distributed database management system aggregates large amounts of data across many commodity servers of the CDN as represented at 418. abstract and paragraph 45); determining a trip cost for the vehicle trip based on the rate of wear of each selected vehicle component and the retrieved industry data (a vehicle computing system (VCS) including a processor and a memory communicating with the sensor and programmed to store sensor data associated with a vehicle sharing trip, and a human-machine interface (HMI) communicating with the VCS and displaying a vehicle sharing trip cost using the sensor data associated with vehicle and/or vehicle component wear and tear incurred during the trip. , abstract, paragraph 45);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system for dynamic savings based on actual use for network enabled properties of Garner to include, determining, based upon the telematics data, a rate of wear of each selected vehicle component; electronically querying an industry data source to retrieve industry data associated with each selected vehicle component; determining a trip cost for the vehicle trip based on the rate of wear of each selected vehicle component and the retrieved industry data, as taught in Liu, in order to provide dynamic payment calculation or pricing for vehicle sharing operators (Liu, paragraph 1).
However, Munir teaches providing an interactive dashboard configured to display a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle and one or more maintenance accounts associated with the user, each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components and each of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts selectable by the user using the interactive dashboard, each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components electronically linkable to one of a plurality of partitions of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts (In still another example, a user of a connected device may manually input information that identifies the connected device and account association unit 38 may generate one of financial accounts 40. For instance, the user may provide a make and model, serial number, or other identifying information of the connected to account association unit 38 via an electronic device (e.g., such as a smartphone or other computing device of the user). Account association unit 38 may then generate and associate one of financial accounts 40 for the connected device. In one example, device discovery unit 66 may comprise a web-based interface associated with device financing unit 14. In this example, a user may log on to the web-based interface of a financial services provider using computing device 64. For example, account association unit 38 may generate a text message, email message, or an electronic message of a mobile banking application with an offer to generate one of financial accounts upon identification of a connected device. Examiner notes that a user may manual input information to identify a connected device and the user can click the electronic message to link a offered sub-account with the identified connected device, which is considered as “providing an interactive dashboard configured to display a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle and one or more maintenance accounts associated with the user, each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components and each of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts linked by the user using the interactive dashboard, each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components electronically linkable to one of a plurality of partitions of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts”, Fig. 3, paragraphs 44-45, 65, and 69-70); receiving, via a selector displayed on the interactive dashboard, a plurality of inputs, each input selecting one of the displayed plurality of vehicle components, each input electronically linking a selected vehicle component to one of the plurality of partitions of a selected maintenance account, each partition designated to track one or more maintenance contributions for replacing each selected vehicle component; and the selected maintenance account allocating each portion of the trip cost to each partition associated with the corresponding selected vehicle component (a financial account may be associated with one or more connected devices to offset or pay for maintenance, repairs and/or replacement of the connected devices. For example, when a consumer (or “user”) purchases a new connected device, the connected device is linked to a device maintenance, repair, and/or replacement account for the consumer at a financial services provider. In some examples, the financial account may include a plurality of sub-accounts, with each respective sub-account assigned to each linked connected device. The user interface devices may be configured to receive tactile, audio, or visual input and may be configured to output content such as graphical user interfaces (GUIs) for display to the users, e.g., at display devices associated with connected device 18 or connected device 20. Device financing unit 14 may associate the connected device with a financial account designated for the connected device, where the financial account is being provided by a financial services provider (82). In some examples, device financing unit 14 may establish the financial account upon identifying the connected device. The financial account may be a sub-account of a pre-existing financial account provided by the financial services provider (e.g., a pre-existing checking or savings account). According to aspects of this disclosure, device financing unit 14 may generate a sub-account by transmitting an electronic offer to generate the sub-account to an electronic device associated with the user. Device financing unit 14 may automatically transfer funds to the financial account associated with the connect device 18 at the rate of contribution from another account of the user and maintained by computing device 12. Examiner notes that a plurality of sub-accounts of the financial account can be considered as “the maintenance account including a plurality of partitions, each partition designated to track one or more maintenance contributions for replacing each selected vehicle component”., Fig. 2, paragraphs 13-14, 23, 44-45, and 70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system for dynamic savings based on actual use for network enabled properties of Garner to include, providing an interactive dashboard configured to display a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle and one or more maintenance accounts associated with the user, each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components and each of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts selectable by the user using the interactive dashboard, each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components electronically linkable to one of a plurality of partitions of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts; receiving, via a selector displayed on the interactive dashboard, a plurality of inputs, each input selecting one of the displayed plurality of vehicle components, each input electronically linking a selected vehicle component to one of the plurality of partitions of a selected maintenance account, each partition designated to track one or more maintenance contributions for replacing each selected vehicle component; and the selected maintenance account allocating each portion of the trip cost to each partition associated with the corresponding selected vehicle component, as taught in Munir, in order to provide efficient savings techniques for repairing or replacing a connected device (Munir, paragraph 3).
However, Fontaine teaches providing an interactive dashboard configured to display a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle and selectable by the user using the interactive dashboard; determining, based upon the telematics data and the plurality of inputs, a rate of wear of each selected vehicle component (For example, a decision maker logs into the App through a login screen as shown in FIG. 3a. FIG. 3b is an App dashboard that displays selected fleet historical data and selected real-time parameters from the sensors 22 for respective autonomous vehicles 24. FIG. 3e shows a breakout of real-time tire pressure data from tire sensors 22 for a selected vehicle 24, and FIG. 3f illustrates entry of a decision 42 into the system 50 for the selected vehicle. FIG. 3g shows the status and routing information for a selected vehicle 24, while FIG. 3h shows a real-time breakout of tire wear data for the vehicle. FIG. 3i illustrates tracking of the autonomous vehicles 24 in the fleet to enable convenient monitoring and management of the fleet. Paragraph 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of references to include, providing an interactive dashboard configured to display a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle and selectable by the user using the interactive dashboard; determining, based upon the telematics data and the plurality of inputs, a rate of wear of each selected vehicle component, as taught in Fontaine, in order to measure tire parameter data during vehicle operation (Fontaine, paragraph 1).
However, Grassadonia teaches one or more maintenance accounts associated with the user are selectable by the user using the interactive dashboard; and receiving, via a selector displayed on the interactive dashboard, a plurality of inputs, each input selecting one of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts (Each credit to the account can be allocated across one or more sub-accounts. The server 104 can present a selection of sub-accounts in a GUI (step 309) to the user to select, via an interactive element (e.g., button, dropdown menu, radio button, or hyperlink) which account should receive the funds. Therefore, the server 104 can receive a sub-account identifier from a user, who selected a sub-account identifier., paragraphs 54 and 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of references to include, one or more maintenance accounts associated with the user are selectable by the user using the interactive dashboard; and receiving, via a selector displayed on the interactive dashboard, a plurality of inputs, each input selecting one of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts, as taught in Grassadonia, in order to receive funds in the sub-accounts for purchases, such as a vacation or car, or accounts for budgeting, such as groceries, entertainment, and bills. (Grassadonia, paragraph 54).
With regard to claims 2, 9, and 16, the combination of references discloses the computer-executable instructions stored further cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: determining, based upon the rate of wear of each selected vehicle component, the trip cost for the vehicle trip, the trip cost representative of a cost aggregation of the rate of wear of each selected vehicle component as a result of the vehicle trip (Garner, col. 5, lines 60-66, Col. 6, lines 46-63, Col. 7, lines 19-53, Liu, abstract and paragraph 23, 45, and 64, Munir, claim 1, determining a rate of contribution for the financial account based on the usage data and the one or more cost factors associated with the network-connected device;).
With regard to claims 3, 10, and 17, Garner discloses the telematics data includes a condition of each selected vehicle component and environmental data including environmental factors impacting the vehicle (col. 3, lines 59-col. 4, lines 18).
With regard to claims 6, 13, and 20, the combination of references disclose each of the plurality of inputs is made to monitor the rate of wear of the associated vehicle component, each selection inputted by the user (Fontaine, paragraph 40).
With regard to claims 7 and 14, Garner discloses the one or more sensors are configured to detect a condition of the plurality of vehicle components including each selected vehicle component (col. 3, lines 59-col. 4, lines 18).
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,692,056 to Garner et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0215491 to Liu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0286187 to Munir et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0253109 to Fontaine et al., and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0005323 to Grassadonia, and further in view of Japan Patent Application Publication No. JP 2018/010379 to Tanaka.
With regard to claims 4, 11, and 18, the combination of references substantially discloses the claimed invention, however, the combination of references does not disclose retrieving… lifecycle data indicative of an amount of usage, and determining a replacement cycle associated with each selected vehicle component.
However, Tanaka teaches the at least one processor is in further communication with a maintenance data source that includes cost data for the plurality of vehicle components, and wherein the computer-executable instructions stored further cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: retrieving, from the maintenance data source, lifecycle data of each selected vehicle component, the lifecycle data indicative of an amount of usage each selected vehicle component is designated to receive prior to replacement (page 5, lines 9-17, and page 10, lines 12-16); and determining, based upon an analysis of the rate of wear and the lifecycle data of each selected vehicle component, a replacement cycle associated with each selected vehicle component (Fig. 1, 4, 6, page 5, line 51-page 6, lines 13, page 8, lines 29-page 9, lines 9, and page 11, lines 20-page 12, line 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of references to include, retrieving… lifecycle data indicative of an amount of usage, and determining a replacement cycle associated with each selected vehicle component, as taught in Tanaka, in order to effective for preparation of funds for replacement of an object (Tanaka, technical-field).
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,692,056 to Garner et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0215491 to Liu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0286187 to Munir et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0253109 to Fontaine et al., and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0005323 to Grassadonia, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0379310 to Madigan et al.
With regard to claims 5, 12, and 19, the combination of references discloses the selected maintenance account allocating each portion of the total cost of trips to each partition associated with a corresponding selected vehicle component (Munir, Fig. 2, paragraphs 13-14, 23, and 70), however, the combination of references does not disclose aggregating the trip cost to a plurality of trip costs associated with each selected vehicle component; determining, based upon the aggregated trip cost to the plurality of trip costs, whether a total cost of trips associated with each selected vehicle component exceeds a maintenance contribution threshold; and transmitting an additional message to the maintenance account computing device, the additional message including the total cost of trips and instructing the maintenance account computing device to automatically transfer a maintenance contribution payment representing the total cost of trips from the primary account to the selected maintenance account.
However, Madigan teaches aggregating the trip cost to a plurality of trip costs associated with each selected vehicle component; determining, based upon the aggregated trip cost to the plurality of trip costs, whether a total cost of trips associated with each selected vehicle component exceeds a maintenance contribution threshold; and transmitting an additional message to the maintenance account computing device, the additional message including the total cost of trips and instructing the maintenance account computing device to automatically transfer a maintenance contribution payment representing the total cost of trips from the primary account to the selected maintenance account (Fig. 6 and Fig.7D, paragraphs 26, 40-42, 65, 96-97, 99, 104, and 152. examiner notes that multiple trips cost in a day can be considered as “aggregating the trip cost”. Once the balance of risk units reaches a predetermined threshold, the number of risk units may be replenished. Examiner notes that total consumed risk unit cost can be considered as “a total cost of trips”. Examiner notes that the remaining risk units cost is below a predetermined threshold, which is considered as “a total cost of trips …exceeds a maintenance contribution threshold”. Examiner notes that risk units consumed during trips can be considered as the total cost of trips. Therefore, the message instructs to purchase and deposit risk units (i.e., the total cost of trips) into an account, which can be considered as “the message including the total cost of trips, the message instructing … transfer a maintenance contribution payment representing the total cost of trips”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system for dynamic savings based on actual use for network enabled properties of Garner and Tanaka to include, aggregating the trip cost to a plurality of trip costs associated with each selected vehicle component; determining, based upon the aggregated trip cost to the plurality of trip costs, whether a total cost of trips associated with each selected vehicle component exceeds a maintenance contribution threshold; and transmitting an additional message to the maintenance account computing device, the additional message including the total cost of trips and instructing the maintenance account computing device to automatically transfer a maintenance contribution payment representing the total cost of trips from the primary account to the selected maintenance account, as taught in Madigan, in order to provide one or more recommendations for improving (e.g., reducing) consumption rate (Madigan, paragraph 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed on 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive especially in light of the new prior art applied in the rejections.
Applicants remark that “the combination of references does not disclose each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components and each of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts selectable by the user using the interactive dashboard, each of the displayed plurality of vehicle components electronically linkable to one of a plurality of partitions of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts; receiving, via a selector displayed on the interactive dashboard, a plurality of inputs, each input selecting one of the displayed plurality of vehicle components and one of the displayed one or more maintenance accounts, each input electronically linking a selected vehicle component to one of the plurality of partitions of a selected maintenance account”.
Examiner directs Applicants' attention to the office action above.
Applicants remark that “the claims are directed to a technological improvement in vehicle component maintenance achieved through specialized computer operations and automated processing of vehicle telematics data. The claimed system provides the technical improvement to the legacy vehicle maintenance computer systems by generating a specialized graphical user interface that establishes electronic links between vehicle components and maintenance-account data partitions. Clearly, the claims are directed to specific computer-implemented functionality involving graphical user interfaces, electronic data structures, telematics-data processing, and automated inter-device communications. Such functionality cannot reasonably be characterized as a method of organizing human activity and instead represents a practical technological application implemented through specialized computer operations. In summary, the claims at issue here are not "directed to" a judicial exception. Accordingly, the Section 101 rejection should be withdrawn because the pending claims are not directed to an abstract idea.”.
Examiner does not agree. The claim limitation does not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor does it effects an improvement in any other technology or technical field. A graphical user interface is utilized as a tool to perform inputting to link a vehicle component with a partition/child of an account. The ability of the graphical user interface to receive selections/inputs and output data is generic. They do not describe any particular improvement in the manner a computer functions. Instead, the claim amounts to nothing significantly more than using collected vehicle components data on a computer to determine maintenance contributions and apply those determinations to efficiently transfer/save/deposit the maintenance contributions. Under our precedents, that is not enough to transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.
An improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited commercial interaction) is not an improvement in technology. For example, in Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019), the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology. To show that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology, the claims must recite the details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology. See MPEP § 2106.05(f) for more information about mere instructions to apply an exception.
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL J YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627