DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horold et al (US 2020/0277491).
Horold teaches a composition comprising 47.6 wt% of nylon 66, 16.4wt% of Depal aluminum diethylphosphinate and 3.6 wt% of Phopal aluminum salt of phosphorous acid, 30wt% of glass fiber HP3610 (i.e. a flame retardant synergist)(example C2). The composition has a V0 rating at 0.8mm, an elongation at break of 3.09%, a tensile strength of 144.11. HP 3610 has a fiber diameter of 10um.
Because Horold teaches the claimed composition, it is therefore inherent that the composition exhibit claimed property since such a property is evidently dependent upon the nature of the composition used, see MPEP 2112.01. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horold et al (US 2020/0277491).
Horold teaches a composition comprising 30% to 71.6% by weight of component A), 5% to 20% by weight of component B), 5% to 20% by weight of component C), 0% to 10% by weight of component D), 3% to 10% by weight of component E), 15% to 35% by weight of component F), 0.3% to 10% by weight of component G), 0% to 2% by weight of component H), and 0.1% to 2% by weight of component I) [0090-0099, 0150]. Component A is nylon 6,6 [0195], component B is Depal aluminum diethylphosphinate [0207], component E is melamine polyphosphate [0210], component G is Lotader AX 8700 a random ethylene-butyl acrylate-glycidyl methacrylate terpolymer, component F is a glass fiber HP 3610 having a fiber diameter of 10um.
Horold is silent with respect to the claimed properties of the composition. However, the teachings from Horold have rendered obvious the instantly claimed ingredients and amounts thereof. Therefore, it is reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed physical properties to naturally arise.
For claim 2, the impact modifier is optional.
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horold et al (US 2020/0277491) in view of Yan et al (US 2023/0312920).
Horold teaches component G can be glycidyl methacrylate-ethylene copolymer, such as those under the trade name Lotader AX [0137].
Horold does not explicitly teaches it is an ethylene, methyl acrylate and glycidyl methacrylate terpolymer.
However, Yan discloses a similar composition and teaches Lotader AX 8900 a terpolymer of ethylene, methyl acrylate and glycidyl methacrylate can be used in the composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to recognize that the claimed terpolymer is suitable for the composition of Horold.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763