DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/4/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISPLAY DEVICE WITH LIGHT SHIELD AND LOW REFLECTIVE LAYER STRUCTURES.
Claims Status
Claims 1-28 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: “second contact hole” in lines 4-5 should read as “second contact holes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claim 14 recites the limitation "a contact hole" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, and consistency with claim 12, "a contact hole" in line 3 will be interpreted to read as "a second contact hole".
B. Claim 16 recites the limitation "a contact hole" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, and consistency with claims 12 and 14, "a contact hole" in line 3 will be interpreted to read as "a third contact hole".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-17, 20-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIU et al (US 2022/0392987 A1, hereafter Liu).
Re claim 1, Liu discloses in FIGS. 1 and 18 a display device (e.g. a TV; [0218]) comprising:
an emitting area (Light Emitting Region as in FIG. 1; [0105]) located in an active area (region of substrate 10 with display units/sub-pixels as in FIG. 1 arranged regularly; [0017] and [0091]);
a non-emitting area (Circuit Region in FIG. 1; [0091]-[0092]) located in the active area (region of substrate 10 with display units/sub-pixels arranged regularly);
a metal layer (13/14/23; [0128]) located in the non-emitting area (Circuit Region);
an active layer (12; [0117]) located in the non-emitting area (Circuit Region);
a light shield located (51; [0112]) in the non-emitting area (Circuit Region); and
a low reflective layer (61; [0109] and [0153]) located in the non-emitting area (Circuit Region) so that at least a portion (left side) of the low reflective layer (61) overlaps (covers from below) the light shield (51).
Re claim 2, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the light shield (51) is located in the non-emitting area (Circuit Region) so that at least a portion (center-left) of the light shield (51) overlaps (covers from below) the active layer (12).
Re claims 3-4, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the low reflective layer (61) includes one of copper, molybdenum, titanium, aluminum, and an oxide (ITO or IZO; [0153]); and wherein the oxide is one of InZnO ([0153]), InGaO, InSnO ([0153]), InGaZnO, InGaZnSnO, InSnZnO, InGaSnO, GaO, GaZnSnO, and GaZnO based materials.
Re claim 6, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the low reflective layer (61) includes a plurality of island-shaped portions (61 and portion of 61 under VDD/52; [0110]) electrically connected through contact holes (K1/K2/K3/K4 and unlabeled openings in 41 at 10; [0121] and [0154]) with at least one of the metal layer (13/14/23) and the light shield (51).
Re claim 10, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the low reflective layer (61) is located so that at least a portion (left side) of the low reflective layer (61) overlaps the metal layer (14 of 13/14/23).
Re claim 11, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the low reflective layer (61) is electrically connected to the metal layer (14 of 13/14/23) through a contact hole (K1; [0123]).
Re claim 12, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the low reflective layer (61) comprises a first portion (region of 61 in Circuit Region) having an island shape (FIG. 3), and the first portion (region of 61 in Circuit Region) is electrically connected to the metal layer (14 of 13/14/23) through a contact hole (K1; [0123]).
Re claim 13, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the low reflective layer (61) is electrically connected to the light shield (51) through a contact hole (unlabeled opening in 41 at 10 and K1; [0123]).
Re claim 14, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 12, wherein the low reflective layer (61) further comprises a second portion (portion of 61 under 52; [0110]) having an island shape (FIG. 3), and the second portion (portion of 61 under 52) is electrically connected to the light shield (51) through a second contact hole (K3/K4; [0123]).
Re claim 15, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a contact hole (unlabeled opening in 41 at 10 and K1; [0123]) electrically connecting the metal layer (14 of 13/14/23), the light shield (51), and the low reflective layer (61) to each other.
Re claim 16, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 14, wherein the low reflective layer (61) further comprises a third portion (portion of 61 under DN; [0110]) having an island shape (FIG. 3), and the third portion (portion of 61 under DN) is electrically connected to both the light shield (51) and the metal layer (23 of 13/14/23) through a third contact hole (K5; [0123]).
Re claim 17, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 16, wherein each of the first portion (region of 61 in Circuit Region), the second portion (portion of 61 under 52) and the third portion (portion of 61 under DN) of the low reflective layer (61) includes at least one contact hole (K1/K2/K3/K4/K5; [0123]).
Re claim 20, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a contact hole (unlabeled opening in 41 at 10) located in the active area (region of substrate 10 with display units/sub-pixels arranged regularly) to electrically connect at least one of the metal layer (14 of 13/14/23) and the light shield (51) to the low reflective layer (61).
Re claim 21, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 20, wherein the display device (TV) includes: first contact holes (K2/K5/K6; [0123]) electrically connecting ([0095]) the low reflective layer (61) and signal lines (VDD/DN/SE; [0110]) located in the active area (region of substrate 10 with display units/sub-pixels arranged regularly), and second contact holes (K1/K3/K4; [0123]) electrically connecting ([0095]) the low reflective layer (61) and circuit elements (T1/T2/T3; [0095]) located in the active area (region of substrate 10 with display units/sub-pixels arranged regularly).
Re claim 22, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 21, wherein the display device (TV) includes a plurality of subpixels (display units/sub-pixels as in FIG. 1 arranged regularly; [0017] and [0091]), a plurality of first contact holes (K2/K5/K6 for each sub-pixel) and a plurality of second contact holes (K1/K3/K4 for each sub-pixel) located in the active area (region of substrate 10 with display units/sub-pixels arranged regularly), and at least one (K2/K5/K6) of the plurality of first contact holes (K2/K5/K6 for each sub-pixel) and at least one (K1/K3/K4) of the plurality of second contact holes (K1/K3/K4 for each sub-pixel) are located in each subpixel (each display unit/sub-pixel).
Re claim 25, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the metal layer (13/14/23) comprises at least one of a driving voltage line, a reference voltage line, a gate line, a data line, a gate electrode, and a source-drain electrode ([0128]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIM et al (US 2016/0049426 A1, hereafter Lim).
Re claim 26, Lim discloses in FIG. 7A (with references to FIGS. 2 and 5B) a display device comprising:
a low reflective layer (310a; [0066]) located on a substrate (200; [0066]);
a first insulating layer (206; [0031]) located on the low reflective layer (310a);
a light shield (202; [0067]) located on (within) the first insulating layer (206) so that at least a portion (lower plane) of the light shield (202) overlaps (covers) the low reflective layer (310a);
a second insulating layer (225; [0031]) located on the light shield (202); and
a transistor (TFT of area 291; [0031]) located on the second insulating layer (225) so that at least a portion (underside) of the transistor (TFT of area 291) overlaps (covers) the light shield (202),
wherein a source-drain electrode (230; [0067]) of the transistor (TFT of area 291), the light shield (202), and the low reflective layer (310a) are electrically connected in one contact hole (501c; [0053]) and unlabeled opening of 206 at 204).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lee et al (US 2007/0035225 A1, hereafter Lee 225).
Re claim 5, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1.
But, fails to disclose wherein the low reflective layer (61) is located in the entire non-emitting area (Circuit Region).
However,
Lee 225 discloses in FIG. 3E a display device comprising wherein a low reflective layer (28; [0027]) is located in the entire non-emitting area (entirely formed on the substrate 26; [0028]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Liu by expanding the low reflective layer (61) to be located in the entire non-emitting area, as disclosed by Lee 225, so as to reduce the reflection of the environmental light, and to increase the contrast ratio efficiently (Lee; [0031]).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Park et al (US 2016/0049454 A1, hereafter Park).
Re claims 7-9, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1.
But, fails to disclose wherein the low reflective layer (61) includes a plurality of layers; wherein the plurality of layers in the low reflective layer include a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, the first layer and the third layer are formed of a same material, and the second layer is formed of a material different from the material of the first layer and the third layer; and wherein the first layer and the third layer each includes at least one of copper, molybdenum, and titanium, and the second layer includes at least one of InZnO, InGaO, InSnO, InGaZnO, InGaZnSnO, InSnZnO, InGaSnO, GaO, GaZnSnO, and GaZnO based materials.
However,
Park discloses in the embodiments of FIGS. 5B and 7A display device components comprising multi-layered low reflective layers (214/215/216; [0122]-[0125]; [0138]), metallic oxides such as ITO or IZO and metal first and second low reflective layer materials ([0111]-[0112]; [0123]-[0124] and [0127]), and low reflective layers formed of identical or different materials ([0125]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Liu, through routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05), using the teachings of Park, to form the low reflective layer (61) to include a plurality of layers (Park); wherein the plurality of layers in the low reflective layer include a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, the first layer and the third layer are formed of a same material, and the second layer is formed of a material different from the material of the first layer and the third layer; and wherein the first layer and the third layer each includes at least one of copper, molybdenum (Park), and titanium (Park), and the second layer includes at least one of InZnO (Park), InGaO, InSnO (Park), InGaZnO, InGaZnSnO, InSnZnO, InGaSnO, GaO, GaZnSnO, and GaZnO based materials, creating a structure that prevents destructive interference which may occur between the light reflected from different interfaces and thus, the light introduced from the outside does not return to the outside of the display device. Accordingly, a decrease in the visibility caused by the light introduced from the outside may be prevented (Park; [0111]; [0124] and [0128]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of and LEE et al (US 2014/0054554 A1, hereafter Lee 554).
Re claim 18, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1.
But, fails to disclose the display device further comprising a first insulating layer located between the low reflective layer (61) and the light shield (51).
However,
Lee 554 discloses in FIG. 2 display device components comprising a first insulating layer (222; [0031] and [0055]) located between a low reflective layer (221; [0031] and [0055]) and the light shield (231 or 235; [0033]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Liu, by adding a first insulating layer located between the low reflective layer (61) and the light shield (51), as disclosed by Lee 554, and using the source-drain electrode configuration of Lee for the same of Liu to maintain the electrical contact between the low reflective layer (61) and the light shield (51), where the first insulating layer located between the low reflective layer (61) and the light shield (51) brings a destructive interference of light reflected on the low reflective and light reflected on the light shield formed on the first insulating layer, resulting in dissipation of the reflected lights (Lee; [0036]).
Re claim 19, Liu and Lee 554 disclose the display device according to claim 18, further comprising a second insulating layer (Liu: 41; [0116]) located between the light shield (51) and the metal layer (13/14/23) as part of the destructive interference structures discussed for claim 18.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of YUAN et al (US 2024/0078978 A1, hereafter Yuan).
Re claims 23-24, Liu discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display device (TV) includes: first contact holes electrically connecting the low reflective layer (61) to a signal line located in the active area, second contact holes electrically connecting the low reflective layer (61) to circuit elements located in the active area (see claim 21).
But, fails to disclose the display device further comprising a contact hole located in a non-active area to electrically connect at least one of the metal layer (13/14/23) and the light shield (51) to the low reflective layer (61); and third contact holes electrically connecting the low reflective layer (61) to signal lines located in a non-active area.
However,
Yuan discloses in FIGS. 2-3 a display device comprising a contact hole located in a non-active area (above G2 in FIG. 2) to electrically connect the light shield (50; [0135]) to the low reflective layer (1ITO at upper Via1/Via2; [0043] and [0112]); and third contact holes (at upper Via1/Via2; [0043] and [0112]) electrically connecting the low reflective layer (1ITO; [0043]) to signal lines (VDD; [0098]) located in a non-active area (above G2 in FIG. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Liu, by portioning the non-active area of Liu to include the extreme portion of signal line VDD, and connected in a laminate manner, as disclosed by Yuan, the display device further comprising a contact hole located in a non-active area to electrically connect at least one of the metal layer (13/14/23) and the light shield (51) to the low reflective layer (61); and third contact holes electrically connecting the low reflective layer (61) to signal lines located in a non-active area, to reduce the resistance of the first power source line VDD, thereby effectively reducing the load of the first power source line VDD, reducing the IR Drop and ensuring the operation stability of the display substrate (Yuan; [0104]).
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of LEE et al (US 2015/0379923 A1, hereafter Lee 923).
Re claim 27, Lim discloses the display device according to claim 26, wherein the contact hole (501c and unlabeled opening of 206 at 204) extends through the first insulating layer (206) and the second insulating layer (225), at least a portion (in 501c at 202) of the source-drain electrode (230) is located inside the contact hole (501c and unlabeled opening of 206 at 204).
But, fails to disclose and the light shield (202) is in contact with the source-drain electrode (230) on a side of the contact hole (501c and unlabeled opening of 206 at 204).
However,
Lee 923 discloses in FIG. 5A a display device comprising the light shield (BSM 12b; [0025] and [0112]) is in contact with the source-drain electrode (33b; [0112]) on a side (left/right inner walls) of the contact hole (unlabeled opening in BSM 12b).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lim, by extending the contact hole through the light shield as disclosed by Lee 923, the light shield (202) being in contact with the source-drain electrode (230) on a side of the contact hole (501c and unlabeled opening of 206 at 204), increasing contact area, reducing contact resistance and maintaining the voltage difference between the two equal to 0V (Lee 923; [0111]).
Re claim 28, Lim discloses the display device according to claim 26.
But, fails to disclose wherein the source-drain electrode (230) is in contact with the low reflective layer (310a) at a center area of the contact hole (501c and unlabeled opening of 206 at 204).
However, Lee 923 would render these limitations obvious by forming the contact hole to extend through the light shield (see claim 27), wherein the source-drain electrode (230) portion at the bottom of light shield (202) is in contact with the low reflective layer (310a) at a center area (middle) of the modified contact hole, as would part of the increased contact area, reduced contact resistance connection discussed for claim 27.
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892