DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed January 20, 2026. Currently, claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 6, 8-9, 11-18 have been withdrawn as drawn to non-elected subject matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I, claims 1-10 and SEQ ID NO: 2, miR-16 in the paper filed January 20, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application claims priority to two foreign priority applications Korea 10/222-0126760 and 10-2023-0053685, filed October 5, 2022 and Aril 25, 2023, respectively.
It is noted that a translation of the foreign document has not been received.
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Improper Markush Rejection
Claims 1-5, 10 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if:
(1) the species of the Markush group do not share a “single structural similarity,” or (2) the species do not share a common use. Members of a Markush group share a “single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. Members of a Markush group share a common use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent. See MPEP § 2117.
Here each species is considered to each of the miRNAs of Claim 1, namely miR-9, 16, 21 and 429.
The recited alternative species in the groups set forth here do not share a single structural similarity, as each different miRNA that could be detected is itself located in a separate region of the genome and has its own structure. The different miRNA recited in the instant claims, do not share a single structural similarity since each consists of a different nucleotide sequences with different expression patterns. The only structural similarity present is that all detected positions are part of nucleic acid molecules. The fact that the markers comprise nucleotides per se does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a nucleotide alone is not essential to the common activity of being correlated with breast cancer. Accordingly, while the different markers are asserted to have the property of being expressed in colorectal cancer, they do not share a single structural similarity.
MPEP 2117 (II)(A) provides the following guidance as to what constitutes a physical, chemical, or art recognized class:
A recognized physical class, a recognized chemical class, or an art-recognized class is a class wherein “there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved”
The recited different miRNA do not belong to a recognized chemical class because there is no expectation from the knowledge in the art that the genes will behave in the same manner and can be substituted for one another with the same intended result achieved. In other words, there is no expectation from the knowledge in the art that each of the recited genes would function in the same way in the claimed method; it is only in the context of this specification that it was disclosed that all members of this group may behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. Further there is no evidence of record to establish that it is clear from their very nature that each of the recited genes possess the common property of being associated with breast cancer.
MPEP 2117 (II) further states the following:
Where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the compounds do not appear to be members of a recognized physical or chemical class or members of an art-recognized class, the members are considered to share a "single structural similarity" and common use when the alternatively usable compounds share a substantial structural feature that is essential to a common use. Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
The recited alternative species do not share a substantial common structure just because they all have a sugar phosphate backbone. The sugar phosphate backbone of a nucleic acid chain is not considered to be a substantial common structural feature to the group of genes being claimed because it is shared by ALL nucleic acids. Further, the fact that the genes all have a sugar phosphate backbone does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a sugar phosphate backbone alone is not essential to the asserted common use of being associated with breast cancer.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Following this analysis, the claims are rejected as containing an improper Markush grouping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon an analysis with respect to the claim as a whole, the rejected claim(s) do not recite something significantly different than a judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Briefly, 1-5, 7 are rejected because these claims are drawn to a miRNA nucleic acid molecule comprising 22 nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Claims 1-5, 7 are directed to nucleic acid fragments from the human genome, i.e. known naturally occurring nucleic acids. Such isolated nucleic acid molecules, that are identical to fragments of naturally occurring nucleic acid molecules are not patent eligible subject matter, i.e. they are judicial exceptions to patentable subject matter.
MPEP 2106.04(b)(II) discusses products of nature. The MPEP specifically discusses DNA, primers and probes. The isolated DNA of Myriad and the primers of Ambry Genetics were described as products of nature by the courts. Ass’n for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116-17, 106 USPQ2d 1972, 1979 (2013); University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 758-59, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1243 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The MPEP further states the “product of nature exceptions include both naturally occurring products and non-naturally occurring products that lack markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart. See, e.g., Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d at 760, 113 USPQ2d at 1244 ("Contrary to Myriad's argument, it makes no difference that the identified gene sequences are synthetically replicated. As the Supreme Court made clear, neither naturally occurring compositions of matter, nor synthetically created compositions that are structurally identical to the naturally occurring compositions, are patent eligible.").” The Federal Circuit in Ambry Genetics reviewed “[t]he Supreme Court held ineligible claims directed to segments as short as 15 nucleotides, the same length as the primer claims at issue here, suggesting that even short strands identical to those found in nature are not patent eligible. Compare ’492 patent col. 170 ll. 32–38, with ’282 patent col. 153 ll. 66–67.”
In the instant case, the claims, embrace probes and primers that are identical to naturally occurring gene fragments and clearly read on nature-based products that themselves do not exhibit markedly different characteristics from the naturally occurring gene. See e.g. Myriad in which one claim at issue was drawn to “[a]n isolated DNA having at least 15 nucleotides [an isolated DNA coding for a BRCA1 polypeptide having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2] (Myriad at 2113). The Court recognized that this claim, if valid, would have given Myriad exclusive right to isolate any strand of 15 or more nucleotides of an individual’s BRCA1 gene (paragraph bridging 2113 and 2114). This is directly analogous to the instant situation wherein Applicant’s claims cover probe and primer molecules that are fragments of a naturally occurring human genome sequence. The Court held that “[a] naturally occurring DNA segment is a product of nature and not patent eligible merely because it has been isolated”, and that “Myriad’s claims are not saved by the fact that isolating DNA from the human genome severs the chemical bonds that bind gene molecules together” (page 2118). The Court found that while Myriad had located and sequenced an important gene, Myriad had not created anything, and that “separating that gene from its surrounding genetic material is not an act of invention” (page 2118). Consistent with the findings of the Court in Myriad, the Office finds that the primers and probe molecules embraced by the instant clams are not patent eligible compositions of matter regardless of whether or not they are isolated from the genome. The Guidelines indicate that a change in biological function or activity maybe a characteristic of an isolated product that can provide a marked difference sufficient to distinguish over a naturally occurring product. However, in this case, as in the Ambry case, the function of the nucleic acids is the same function as the relevant portion of the naturally occurring sequence. Just as in nature, primers and probes utilize the innate ability of DNA to bind to itself.
Having established that the claims include a naturally occurring product that is a judicial exception, it must now be determined whether or not the claims recite an element or combination of elements that amount to significantly more than that exception, and whether those additional elements also amount to significantly more for the other claimed exception(s), which ensures that the claim does not have a preemptive effect with respect to any of the recited exceptions. To determine whether a claim that includes a nature-based product limitation recites a “product of nature” exception, an analysis is performed in which it is first determined if a claim includes a nature-based product that has markedly different characteristics from the corresponding naturally occurring product, and if it does not, then it is determined whether or not other elements of the claim are sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself (see the Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility published 12/16/2014 in the Federal Register at pages 74618-74633). In order to be markedly different the claimed product must possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart.
In the instant case, only claim 10 recites any additional element, i.e. a kit comprising reaction tubes, contains, vials. None of these limitations provides any significant addition to the judicial exceptions already claimed that would prevent the claims from having a pre-emptive effect on the use of the judicial exception. The presence of a “tube" in a composition comprising a nucleic acid is entirely conventional and does not represent a modification that amounts to something significantly more than the judicial exception.
The fact that these natural products are organized into a kit with an intended use adds nothing to the judicial exceptions that would distinguish them from the naturally occurring material. That does not occur in this case because the naturally occurring material exists as a distinct entity within the kit, and is not integrated in terms of form or function with any other element of the kit. A claim to a kit in which one of the kit elements is naturally-occurring product that is separate and distinct from the other kit elements would forestall the use of that naturally occurring product.
Therefore the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to patent-ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A) Claim 7 is directed to the miR-16 is “composed” of a nucleic sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2. It is unclear what “composed of” encompasses. “Composed of “is not a recognized term in patent law. It is unclear whether the miR-16 sequences comprise, consists of or just has the same nucleotides as SEQ ID NO: 2. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (Japanese J. or Clinical Oncology, Vol. 46, No. 9, pages 811-818, 2016).
Huang teaches microRNA expression profiles in cancer for miR-16. Table 2 illustrates SEQ ID NO: 2 as the primer used for RT-PCR. Thus, Huang teaches a composition comprising an agent for measuring expression of miR-16.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The instant claims provide the intended use for diagnosing breast cancer where the miRNA is derived from an extracellular vesicle. The composition of SEQ ID NO: 2 does not differ given an intended use.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Cancer Science, Vol. 112, pages 5078-5087, 2021).
Kim teaches miRNA panel of tumor-derived extracellular vesicles for diagnostic biomarkers of early-stage breast cancer. Kim teaches miR-16 is an miRNA from the EV that was highly elevated in early-stage breast cancer patients compared to healthy donors. Kim teaches analysis of extracellular vesicle miRNA expression of tissues in TCGA (section 2.4). Differential expression of mRNA in breast cancer was analyzed (section 2.4). Kim teaches reagents for measuring expression levels of miR-16.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The instant claims provide the intended use for diagnosing breast cancer where the miRNA is derived from an extracellular vesicle. The claims do not require the reagent is a nucleic acid. The claims are directed to any agent, buffer, bead, labels, etc that are an agent for measuring an expression level of miR-16. The dependent claims further define the miRNA or an EV marker but do not further define the reagent.
Conclusion
No claims allowable over the art.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682 March 16, 2026