DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8, 14-25 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/04/2023, 03/11/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: 1-8, 14-20 in the reply filed on 02/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 14-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. US Pub. No. 2022/0259729 (“Kang”) in view of Kumar et al. US Pub. No. 2022/0293442 (“Kumar”).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a method, comprising:
identifying a target substrate process operation start time, wherein the start time corresponds to a time of initiation of one or more substrate process actions;
[0066] The control device 100 according to the present embodiment includes a recipe storage unit 110, a recipe reading unit 120, an apparatus controller 130, a step determining unit 140, a log information acquiring unit 150, a predicting unit 160, a controller 170, a recipe updating unit 180, and a prediction model updating unit 190.
[0067] A recipe 111 is stored in the recipe storage unit 110. The recipe 111 is information defining the procedure of the substrate processing process. Specifically, the recipe 111 defines the temperature change, the pressure change, the timing of starting and stopping of the supply of various gases, the supply amount of various gases, and the like from when the wafer W is transferred into the deposition apparatus 200 to when the processed wafer W is transferred from the deposition apparatus 200.
providing to a model [M1 + M2] first one or more parameters [log information] of a gas transfer system associated with the substrate process operation;
[0044] The control device 100 predicts, in response to log information about the deposition apparatus 200 being input to the prediction model M1, the change amount from the target value of the control target due to the change of the environmental information included in the log information, and outputs a predicted value. That is, the prediction model M1 of the present embodiment is used to predict the change amount from the target value of the control target due to the influence of the environmental information that cannot be adjusted (controlled) or is not adjusted (controlled) while performing the substrate processing process, and used to output the predicted value.
[0053] The prediction model M1 predicts the change amount from the target value of the control target by using the log information (step S3) and outputs a predicted value (step S4). In other words, the prediction model M1 predicts the change amount from the target value of the control target due to the change in the environmental information included in the log information.
obtaining first output from the model, wherein the first output comprises an indication of a
[0045] The control device 100 uses the control model M2 to derive the optimum deposition condition that causes the control target to approach the target value based on the predicted value output from the prediction model M1. The deposition condition is a condition defined in a recipe that defines a procedure of the substrate processing process, and is adjusted while performing the substrate processing process. That is, the control model M2 is used to adjust the deposition condition that can be adjusted while performing the substrate processing process.
[0111] The control model M2 of the present embodiment identifies a parameter to minimize the change amount by adjusting a value of the parameter, in response to the predicted value of the change amount being output by the prediction model M1. Then, the control model M2 calculates the adjustment amount of the control knob corresponding to the identified parameter.
updating a process recipe, in accordance with the gas supply time, to cause the first one or more gas delivery actions to deliver a first process gas to a process chamber
[0054] When the control device 100 acquires the predicted value, the control device 100 inputs the predicted value to the control model M2, and derives the optimum deposition condition in which the value of the control target approaches the target value most (i.e., the most closely) by using the control model M2 (step S5). Next, the control device 100 acquires the optimum deposition condition derived from the control model M2 (step S6) and updates a deposition condition defined in the recipe to the deposition condition derived in step S5 (step S7).
[0056] As described above, the control device 100 according to the present embodiment predicts the change amount of the control target by using the log information collected from the start of performing the recipe every time the substrate processing process is performed, derives the optimum deposition condition based on the predicted result, and updates the recipe. The control device 100 then deposits the film according to the updated recipe.
[0080] More specifically, the controller 170 acquires a value representing the adjustment content of the control knob output from the control model M2 as a correction amount. For example, when the control knobs are the heaters 60a to 60f, the controller 170 acquires the adjustment amount of the output values of the heaters 60a to 60f as the correction amount.
[0138] In the present embodiment, the case in which, in the recipe 111, the value to be updated by the recipe updating unit 180 is the value of the heater temperature is described, but the value to be updated is not limited thereto. The value to be updated by the recipe updating unit 180 changes depending on the optimum deposition condition derived by the controller 170, and any value defined in the recipe 111 may be updated. Thus, in the present embodiment, for example, the gas flow rate, the gas supply time, the pressure in the processing chamber 4, and the like may be updated.
Kang does not expressly teach obtaining a first output comprises an indication of a first preemptive time period for initiation of first one or more gas delivery actions and to cause the first one or more gas delivery actions to deliver a first process gas to a process chamber within a threshold time window.
Kumar teaches another method for dynamic process control in substrate processing, for example in semiconductor manufacturing applications. Specifically, Kumar teaches obtaining a first output comprises an indication of a first preemptive time period for initiation of first one or more gas delivery actions and to cause the first one or more gas delivery actions to deliver a first process gas to a process chamber within a threshold time window.
[0101] For example, with reference to the arrangement 1700 of valves shown in FIG. 17, in a deposition or etch system, gases are delivered typically from gas boxes and several valves and filters may be provided between one or more gas sources and the deposition/etch chamber. Typically, the valves include an MFC, MFC inlet and outlet valve, a filter, and a chamber inlet valve. The travel time of the gas from a particular valve to the chamber can be defined as the gas line charge time. The gas line charge time depends on MFC response and ramp time. In some examples, valves typically take 1-3 seconds for gas flow to reach within +/−2% of a setpoint value. Valve opening times typically occur in the range of a few milliseconds. Including compressed dry air delays and other delays, valve opening times may be under 100 ms for a pneumatically operated valve. Valve conductance may include a pressure drop at a filter. Fundamentally, gas velocity depends on pressure differentials, which in turn are controlled by the conductance of the gas line, For deposition and etch processes in which enough time can be allowed for gas line charge, such delays in gas line charge may not matter to the deposition/etch process, but in some instances, gas line charge delays are unacceptable. The need for short ALD cycle times for high throughput (and deep substrate formation ability) means that the substrate processing operations cannot wait for an MFC ramp time or delay. Thus, in some examples, gas line charge times are determined to factor out their potential cause of delay or instability. Based upon such determined charge times, MFCs supplying the relevant gases are configured to operate in a continuous or consistent manner.
[0105] Some examples measure or monitor gas line charge times using a chamber manometer, For example, a difference in time between the opening of a manifold outlet valve and the increase in chamber pressure is used in some examples to measure or calculate gas line charge times. Some example methods include establishing a base or constant pressure in a processing chamber supplied by a gas pump. The method includes closing the throttle and/or divert valve of the pump to isolate the chamber from the pump. The gas flow is setup to divert from the applicable manifold or gas line for which a line charge time is sought to be measured. The method further includes opening the gas manifold outlet valve and closing the divert valve and measuring the increase in chamber pressure. Typically, there will be some initial delay before the chamber pressure starts increasing. The pressure ramp curve is used in some examples can be used to calculate a gas line charge time, or delay. In other words, the initial delay in pressure ramp indicates the gas line charge time to the chamber. The calculated delay (charge time) can be factored into control and monitoring systems and methods, including gas admission algorithms, to enhance steady operation of a substrate processing chamber and chamber matching operations.
[SEE further fig. 20-21]
[0112] Example embodiments may include methods. With reference to FIG. 22, a method 2200 for monitoring processing cycles in an ALD semiconductor manufacturing process includes at operation 2202, defining a datum time reference of an ALD cycle based on a repeated action in the manufacturing process; at operation 2204, accessing a golden curve including a series of parameter values for a series of data points in cyclical time increments based on a time reference; at operation 2206, accessing a variability or tolerance margin for each data point in the golden curve; at operation 2208, collecting parameter data based on the cyclical time increments for a cycle in the ALD manufacturing process; at operation 2210, dynamically monitoring whether a parameter value in the parameter data falls within a variability or tolerance margin at a data point; at operation 2212, based on determining that a parameter value falls outside the variability or tolerance margin, adjusting the manufacturing process so that the parameter value in a subsequent cycle matches the associated parameter value in the golden curve.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kang with the steps of obtaining a first output comprises an indication of a first preemptive time period for initiation of first one or more gas delivery actions and to cause the first one or more gas delivery actions to deliver a first process gas to a process chamber within a threshold time window of Kumar, as suggested by Kumar that gas line charge delays are unacceptable. By obtaining a first output comprises an indication of a first preemptive time period for initiation of first one or more gas delivery actions, it would help preventing unwanted effect to the properties of the manufacture substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches the recipe 111 defines the temperature change, the pressure change, the timing of starting and stopping of the supply of various gases. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Kang in view of Kumar further teaches providing, to the model, second one or more parameters of the gas transfer system;
obtaining second output from the model, wherein the second output comprises an indication of a second preemptive time period for initiation of second one or more gas delivery actions; and updating the process recipe, in accordance with the second preemptive time period, to cause the second one or more gas delivery actions to deliver a second process gas to the process chamber within the threshold time window of the substrate process operation start time.
Regarding claim 3, Kang in view of Kumar teaches identifying a target substrate process operation end time; providing, to the model, third one or more parameters of the gas transfer system associated with the substrate process operation; obtaining third output from the model, wherein the third output comprises an indication of a third preemptive time period for initiation of one or more gas removal actions; and
updating the process recipe, in accordance with the third preemptive time period, to cause the one or more gas removal actions to cause a concentration of a third process gas in the process chamber to satisfy a target threshold condition at the target substrate process operation end time. [par. 0067 - the timing of starting and stopping of the supply of various gases; 0138 - the gas supply time…may be updated; and See fig. 2 of Kang] [par. 0108 to 0111 - A closing of a gas outlet valve does not imply immediate stoppage of gas flow to the chamber There can be a delay in instructing a valve to close and a delay in the valve physically reaching full closure and measuring gas line charge time using chamber pressure and methods for measuring gas decay (or dwell) time using chamber pressure. These values may be integrated into dynamic monitoring processes and software for automated parameter measurement, chamber control, and matching techniques of Kumar]
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches the model comprises at least one of: a physics-based model; a heuristic model [par. 0043-0045] or Kumar teaches a trained machine learning model [par. 0094-0095].
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches a substrate process procedure comprises the substrate process operation, and wherein the substrate process procedure further comprises a plurality of operations to deliver the first process gas to the process chamber [See fig. 1; par. 0027, 0033, 0066-0067].
Regarding claim 6, Kang in view of Kumar teaches the substrate process procedure comprises a set of cyclically repeated process operations to deliver the first process gas to the process chamber [par. 0112-0113, 0124-0125 of Kumar].
Regarding claim 7, Kang teaches the first one or more parameters of the gas transfer system comprise one or more of: one or more target delivery zones in the process chamber [fig. 1]; a source location of the first process gas; a carrier gas identity; a process gas identity; a source location of the carrier gas; or a pressure of the carrier gas or the process gas [par. 0050, 0069].
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches performing a corrective action in view of the first preemptive time period [par. 0138].
Regarding claims 14-20, they are directed to a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed, cause a processing device to perform the method of claims 1-8. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 21-25, they are directed to a system to implement the method of steps as set forth in claims 1-8. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 10,741,429 to Zhang et al. teach system for controlling a parameter of a plant associated with a substrate processing chamber comprises a measuring module, a model generating module, and a predicting module. The measuring module is configured to measure a response of the plant associated with the substrate processing chamber when the parameter of the plant is changed. The model generating module is configured to determine a delay and a gain of the plant based on the response. The delay indicates time taken for the parameter to change after the plant receives a command to change the parameter. The gain indicates a relationship between the command and an amount of change in the parameter caused by the command. The model generating module is configured to generate a model of the plant based on the delay, the gain, and a time constant of the plant. The predicting module is configured to receive a set point for the parameter and a measurement of the parameter. The predicting module is configured to generate a prediction of a delay-free value of the parameter based on the set point for the parameter and the measurement of the parameter using the model. The predicting module is configured to compare the prediction with the set point to generate a control signal, and control the parameter of the plant based on the control signal.
VINCENT H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115