DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yamamoto (JP 2016-072258 as cited on IDS dated 5/15/2024 see translation for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a plasma treatment apparatus, comprising: a plasma treatment chamber (100) in which a treated base material (S) at a ground potential is accommodated (120, fIg. 8, [0073]);
a conveyance part (2, 21) which conveys the treated base material (S) in the plasma treatment chamber (100, fig. 1 [0032]);
an inductive coupling antenna unit (41) configured to generate plasma;
and a bias electrode (81, 82) which applies a bias voltage to the plasma, wherein the bias electrode is disposed around a plasma generation region (V, Fig. 1) in which the plasma is generated.
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto teaches the bias electrode (81, 82) has a structure that surrounds the plasma generation region (V fig. 1, 3, [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto teaches the inductive coupling antenna unit (41) has a structure mounted to close an opening portion formed in a wall surface (3, 5,fig. 1) of the plasma treatment chamber (100), and is constituted by a lid body (3, 5) in a rectangular shape [0033] and an inductive coupling antenna conductor (41) attached to an inner side surface of the lid body (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto teaches the lid body is constituted by a rectangular metal flange (3) and a dielectric plate (5).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto teaches the inductive coupling antenna conductor is installed on the inner side surface of the lid body via a feed-through (42, [0041]) fixed to the lid body (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto teaches the inductive coupling antenna unit (41) has a plurality of the inductive coupling antenna conductors installed on the inner side surface of the lid body ([0040-0042]).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto teaches a plurality of opening portions are formed in a wall surface ([0040], 41, fig. 2) of the plasma treatment chamber (100) substantially in parallel (Fig. 1), and the inductive coupling antenna unit (41) is mounted in each of the opening portions.
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto teaches the bias voltage applied to the bias electrode is a positive DC voltage, a positive pulse voltage, or a positive pulsating current voltage obtained through half-wave rectification of an AC voltage [0058].
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto teaches a heating heater configured to heat the treated base material is provided in the bias electrode [0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto as applied to claim 1 above in view of Suzuki (US 2021/0233751).
Regarding claim 10, Yamamoto teaches an in-line type plasma treatment apparatus (Fig. 1) but does not teach a plurality of the plasma treatment chambers are connected, wherein front and rear sides of the plasma treatment chamber are connected via a differential exhaust chamber connected to a differential exhaust system.
Suzuki directed to a plasma treatment apparatus teach an in-line type plasma treatment apparatus in which a plurality of the plasma treatment chambers (S2, S3, S4, S5, S6, Fig. 1 [0039]) are connected, wherein front and rear sides of the plasma treatment chamber are connected via a differential exhaust chamber (S8) connected to a differential exhaust system (P1, [0039]) because it would differentially exhaust air to provide each plasma treatment chamber with a predetermined degree of vacuum without providing a gave valve between the chambers [0039].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the in-line type plasma treatment apparatus of Yamamoto by providing a plurality of the plasma treatment chambers are connected, wherein front and rear sides of the plasma treatment chamber are connected via a differential exhaust chamber connected to a differential exhaust system, as taught by Suzuki, because it would differentially exhaust air to provide each plasma treatment chamber with a predetermined degree of vacuum without providing a gave valve between the chambers [0039].
Conclusion
JOHN J. BRAYTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/JOHN J BRAYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794