Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Currently, the title has been changed to:
“SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE INCLUDING A SCHOTTKY BARIER DIODE AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING THE SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE”
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa (Pub. No. US 2019/0109005 A1) in view of Okuno et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0008651 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ichikawa discloses semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor layer 42 (Ichikawa: Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]); and a Schottky electrode 34 that is formed at a first surface of the semiconductor layer and that forms a Schottky junction portion between the semiconductor layer and the Schottky electrode (Ichikawa: Fig. 1 and paragraph [0040]), wherein the Schottky electrode has a first portion that is selectively formed near the first surface of the semiconductor layer in a thickness direction of the Schottky electrode and that is made of Mo containing oxygen (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0034]-[0035]).
Ichikawa introduces Ti for electrode 32 but does not specifically state the metal used for the Schottky electrode is Ti.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Okuno in paragraph [0026] states “a Schottky electrode 4 made from Mo (molybdenum), Ni (nickel), Ti (titanium) or an alloy thereof or the like, is formed in the opening portion 3a so as to be in contact with the drift layer 2. The opening portion 3a is circular as shown in FIG. 2. The Schottky electrode 4 and the drift layer 2 are made to be a Schottky contact in the opening portion 3a” to form a low Schottky barrier with low contact resistance, strong adhesion and improved current spreading.
Therefore, given the teachings of Okuno, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Ichikawa in view of Okuno by employing the titanium as the metal used for the Schottky electrode.
Regarding claim 4, Because diffusion drives species toward energetically favorable regions, a higher concentration at the semiconductor-Schottky electrode interface is an expected and obvious outcome rather than retention within the semiconductor layer. Therefore, Ichikawa in view of Okuno and further in view of Emiko teaches the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein, when an analysis is made in a first direction from the Schottky electrode toward the semiconductor layer according to a predetermined quantitative-analysis method, an oxygen concentration profile corresponding to an inside of the first portion has a peak at a position closer to a boundary portion between the first portion and the semiconductor layer than a center position of the first portion in the first direction.
Regarding claim 6, Ichikawa in view of Okuno teaches the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, further comprising an insulation layer 3 that is formed at the first surface of the semiconductor layer 2 and that has an opening from which the first surface is partially exposed, wherein the Schottky electrode 4 includes a first covering portion that covers the first surface of the semiconductor layer in the opening of the insulation layer and a second covering portion that is formed outside the opening of the insulation layer and that covers the insulation layer (Okuno: Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs [0026], [0038]), and the first portion selectively contains oxygen in the first covering portion of the Schottky electrode, and does not contain oxygen in the second covering portion (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraphs [0034]-[0040] and Okuno: Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs [0026], [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Ichikawa in view of Okuno teaches the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layer does not contain oxygen near the first surface in the Schottky junction portion (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraphs [0034]-[0040] and Okuno: Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs [0026], [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, Ichikawa in view of Okuno teaches the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, further comprising a front surface electrode 30 that is formed on the Schottky electrode and that is made of an Al alloy or Al (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Ichikawa in view of Okuno teaches the semiconductor device according to Claim 8, wherein the Al alloy includes at least one among an AlCu alloy, an AlSi alloy, and an AlSiCu alloy (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraph [0040]). See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) where the court stated that a selection of a material on the basis of suitability for intended use of an apparatus would be entirely obvious.
Regarding claim 10, Ichikawa in view of Okuno teaches the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layer includes a first conductivity type semiconductor layer 42, and the semiconductor device further comprises a second conductivity type impurity region 38 that is selectively formed at the first surface of the semiconductor layer so as to be contiguous to the Schottky electrode and that makes a p-n junction between the semiconductor layer and the second conductivity type impurity region (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 12, Ichikawa in view of Okuno teaches the semiconductor device according to Claim 10, wherein the first conductivity type is an n-type, and the second conductivity type is a p-type (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 13, Ichikawa in view of Okuno teaches the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layer includes a SiC semiconductor layer (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Ichikawa discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: a step of introducing oxygen into a first surface of the semiconductor layer 42 having the first surface; a step of forming a Schottky electrode 34 having a first portion made of a metal that is contiguous to the first surface of the semiconductor layer by depositing the metal on the first surface of the semiconductor layer; and a step of diffusing the oxygen introduced into the semiconductor layer into the first portion of the Schottky electrode by annealing treatment (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0034]-[0035]).
Ichikawa introduces Ti for electrode 32 but does not specifically state the metal used for the Schottky electrode is Ti.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Okuno in paragraph [0026] states “a Schottky electrode 4 made from Mo (molybdenum), Ni (nickel), Ti (titanium) or an alloy thereof or the like, is formed in the opening portion 3a so as to be in contact with the drift layer 2. The opening portion 3a is circular as shown in FIG. 2. The Schottky electrode 4 and the drift layer 2 are made to be a Schottky contact in the opening portion 3a” to form a low Schottky barrier with low contact resistance, strong adhesion and improved current spreading.
Therefore, given the teachings of Okuno, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Ichikawa in view of Okuno by employing the titanium as the metal used for the Schottky electrode.
Regarding claim 15, Ichikawa in view of Okuno teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device according to Claim 14, further comprising a step of washing the first surface of the semiconductor layer by means of a chemical liquid, wherein the step of introducing oxygen includes a step of introducing oxygen into the semiconductor layer by irradiating oxygen plasma toward the first surface of the semiconductor layer washed by the chemical liquid (Okuno: paragraph [0038]). The use of the particular type of cleaning and washing process by Applicant is considered to be nothing more than the use of one of numerous and well-known alternate types of cleaning process that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to provide using routine experimentation; as the grown oxide consumes surface contaminations and defects, which are then removed when the oxide is stripped, whereas the liquid washing is a simple, low cost, scalable and compatible with a wide range of materials and process flows.
Claims 2-3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa in view of Okuno, as applied above, and further in view of Emiko (JP 2002217210 A).
Regarding claim 2, the previous combination is silent about the Schottky electrode having a second portion that is formed on the first portion and that is made of Ti and N.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Emiko states “a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: forming a first layer containing titanium and nitrogen or oxygen or both on the semiconductor region to form the Schottky barrier electrode… A first layer forming a Schottky barrier at an interface with the semiconductor region; and a second layer stacked on an upper surface of the first layer, wherein the first layer is nitrogen or oxygen or nitrogen and oxygen preferably, the second layer is made of a metal material having a characteristic of making low-resistance contact with the semiconductor region...a first layer forming a Schottky barrier at an interface with the semiconductor region; and a second layer stacked on an upper surface of the first layer, wherein the first layer includes titanium and nitrogen or oxygen or containing both of these, and having a titanium content of 50 to 90% by weight”.
Therefore, given the teachings of Emiko, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the previous combination in view of Emiko by employing the Schottky electrode having a second portion that is formed on the first portion and that is made of Ti and N.
Regarding claim 3, Because diffusion drives species toward energetically favorable regions, a higher concentration at the semiconductor-Schottky electrode interface is an expected and obvious outcome rather than retention within the semiconductor layer. Therefore, Ichikawa in view of Okuno and further in view of Emiko teaches the semiconductor device according to Claim 2, wherein an oxygen concentration near the Schottky junction portion is higher than both an oxygen concentration in the vicinity of an interface between the first portion and the second portion and an average oxygen concentration of the semiconductor layer.
Regarding claim 16, Ichikawa in view of Okuno and further in view of Emiko teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device according to Claim 14, wherein the step of forming a Schottky electrode includes a step of forming a second portion made of Ti and N on the first portion by additionally depositing Ti in an N2 atmosphere after the first portion is formed (Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 9 and paragraph [0007]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 5, the prior art of record alone or in combination do not teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other elements of the claims, wherein a concentration at the peak of the oxygen concentration profile is not less than 2.0 atm% and not more than 10.0 atm%.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art of record alone or in combination do not teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other elements of the claims, further comprising a lattice defect region that is selectively formed at the first surface of the semiconductor layer so as to be contiguous to the Schottky electrode and that has lattice defects more than the semiconductor layer, wherein the impurity region includes a first region formed inside the lattice defect region so as to be contiguous to the lattice defect region.
Conclusion
January 7, 2026
/MALIHEH MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813