DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Satou (US 20210225724 A1). Reference cited in IDS.
As to claim 1, Satou discloses: A power card 20 (Fig. 4-9C, 14A-14B), which is to be aligned in a height direction (vertical in Fig. 4) with a cooling unit 90 in which a refrigerant (coolant water; par. 0114) flows in an inner space extending in a lateral direction (left to right in Fig. 4), the height direction being perpendicular to the lateral direction, the power card comprising:
a plurality of switches 28u – 29w aligned in a vertical direction (each 28 is aligned with a respective 29 in the direction of terminal extension in Fig. 6; vertical in Fig. 8) perpendicular to each of the lateral direction and the height direction;
a resin portion 20b (par. 0098) covering each of the plurality of switches; and
a plurality of external connection terminals 20d, 20e, 23a-23b, 23u-23w (see Fig. 6) electrically connected to the plurality of respective switches and each having a portion exposed from the resin portion.
As to claim 2, Satou discloses: wherein the resin portion 20b has an upper surface (from which 20a-20b extend in Fig. 6, 8; corresponding to upper arm in Fig. 8) and a lower surface (from which 20u-20w extend; corresponding to lower arm in Fig. 8) which are spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction,
wherein the plurality of switches include a first switch 28 (see Fig. 8) located adjacent to the upper surface of the resin portion in the vertical direction and a second switch 29 (see Fig. 8) located adjacent to the lower surface of the resin portion in the vertical direction, and
wherein the plurality of external connection terminals 20d, 20e, 23a-23b, 23u-23w each have a leading end protruding from at least one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the resin portion.
As to claim 3, Satou discloses:
wherein the first switch includes a plurality of the first switches and the second switch includes a plurality of the second switches (see Fig. 5),
wherein each of the plurality of first switches has a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first control electrode for controlling an energized state between the first electrode and the second electrode (IGBT’s; see Fig. 5),
wherein each of the plurality of second switches has a third electrode, a fourth electrode, and a second control electrode for controlling an energized state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode (IGBT’s; see Fig. 5),
wherein the respective first electrodes of the plurality of first switches are electrically connected to each other and the respective second electrodes of the plurality of first switches are connected to each other to connect the plurality of first switches in parallel (see Fig. 5),
wherein the respective third electrodes of the plurality of second switches are electrically connected to each other and the respective fourth electrodes of the plurality of second switches are connected to each other to connect the plurality of second switches in parallel (see Fig. 5), and
wherein the respective second electrodes of the plurality of first switches are electrically connected to the respective third electrodes of the plurality of second switches to connect, in series, the plurality of first switches connected in parallel to the plurality of second switches connected in parallel (par. 0112; see Fig. 5).
As to claim 4, Satou discloses:
wherein the first switch has a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first control electrode for controlling an energized state between the first electrode and the second electrode (IGBT’s; see Fig. 5),
wherein the second switch has a third electrode, a fourth electrode, and a second control electrode for controlling an energized state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode (IGBT’s; see Fig. 5), and
wherein the second electrode and the third electrode are electrically connected to each other to connect the first switch in series to the second switch (par. 0112; see Fig. 5).
As to claim 5, Satou discloses:
wherein the plurality of external connection terminals include a positive electrode terminal 23a electrically connected to at least one of the first electrodes, a negative electrode terminal 23b electrically connected to at least one of the fourth electrodes, a midpoint terminal 23u-23w electrically connected to at least one of the second electrodes and at least one of the third electrodes, a first control terminal 20d (par. 0078) electrically connected to at least one of the first control electrodes, and a second control terminal 20d (par. 0078) electrically connected to at least one of the second control electrodes, wherein the positive electrode terminal, the negative electrode terminal, and the first control terminal have respective leading ends protruding from the upper surface of the resin portion (corresponding to upper arm, see Fig. 8), and wherein the midpoint terminal and the second control terminal have respective leading ends protruding from the lower surface of the resin portion (corresponding to lower arm, see Fig. 8).
As to claim 6, Satou discloses:
wherein at least one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal has a plurality of the leading ends branched from each other (see left and right ends of each of 23a and 23b in Fig. 7),
wherein the plurality of leading ends of the at least one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal are distributed to and placed in a first distribution space and a second distribution space which are separated by a reference plane perpendicular to the lateral direction (see Fig. 7), and
wherein, in the lateral direction (left to right in Fig. 7), the first control terminal 20d is located between the leading end of the at least one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal placed in the first distribution space (e.g., a leftward end of 23a or 23b) and the leading end of the at least one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal placed in the second distribution space (e.g., a rightward end of 23a or 23b).
As to claim 7, Satou discloses:
wherein each of the positive electrode terminal 23a and the negative electrode terminal 23b has a plurality of the leading ends branched from each other (left and right ends in Fig. 7),
wherein the plurality of leading ends of the positive electrode terminal are distributed to and placed in the first distribution space and the second distribution space (see Fig. 7), and
wherein the plurality of leading ends of the negative electrode terminal are distributed to and placed in the first distribution space and the second distribution space (see Fig. 7).
As to claim 8, Satou discloses:
wherein the plurality of leading ends (left and right ends in Fig. 7) of at least one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal are evenly distributed to and placed in the first distribution space and the second distribution space.
As to claim 10, Satou discloses:
wherein the midpoint terminal 23u, 23v, 23w has a plurality of the leading ends (left and right ends in Fig. 7) branched from each other (branched at least with respect to common terminal 100u, 100v, 100w), and wherein, in the lateral direction (left to right in Fig. 7), the second control terminal 20d is located between the plurality of leading ends of the midpoint terminal.
As to claim 12, Satou discloses:
a sensor (temperature sensor; par. 0078) that detects a physical quantity of at least one of the switches, wherein the sensor includes a sensor terminal having a leading end 20e, and wherein the leading end of the sensor terminal protrudes from the lower surface of the resin portion and is located between the plurality of leading ends of the midpoint terminal in the lateral direction (see Fig. 7).
As to claim 13, Satou discloses:
a first semiconductor chip (IGBT; par. 0072) including the first switch 28, and having a first main surface which is formed with the first electrode and a second main surface which is opposite to the first main surface and formed with the second electrode (see Fig. 14A, switch 28 must have electrodes on respective surfaces to connect to 231a and 231u);
a second semiconductor chip (IGBT; par. 0072) including the second switch 29, and having a third main surface which is formed with the third electrode and a fourth main surface which is opposite to the third main surface and formed with the fourth electrode (see Fig. 14A, switch 29 must have electrodes on respective surfaces to connect to 232b and 232u);
a first conductive portion 231a connected to the first electrode;
a second conductive portion 231u connected to the second electrode;
a third conductive portion 232u connected to the third electrode;
a fourth conductive portion 232b connected to the fourth electrode; and
a relay conductive portion 233u connecting the second conductive portion and the third conductive portion.
As to claim 14, Satou discloses:
wherein the first conductive portion has a part located in a region where the fourth conductive portion is projected in the height direction (e.g., 23a and 23b overlap in the height direction in Fig. 14A).
As to claim 16, Satou discloses:
a first semiconductor chip (IGBT; par. 0072) including the first switch 28, and having a first main surface which is formed with the first electrode and a second main surface which is opposite to the first main surface and formed with the second electrode (see Fig. 14A, switch 28 must have electrodes on respective surfaces to connect to 231a and 231u);
a second semiconductor chip (IGBT; par. 0072) including the second switch 29, and having a third main surface which is formed with the third electrode and a fourth main surface which is opposite to the third main surface and formed with the fourth electrode (see Fig. 14A, switch 29 must have electrodes on respective surfaces to connect to 232b and 232u);
a first conductive portion 231a connected to the first electrode;
a second conductive portion 23u, (231u-233u) connected to each of the second electrode and the third electrode; and
a third conductive portion 232b connected to the fourth electrode.
As to claim 17, Satou discloses:
wherein the second conductive portion has a part located in a region where the third conductive portion is projected in the height direction (e.g., 23u and 23b overlap in the height direction in Fig. 14A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou (US 20210225724 A1) as applied to claims 7 and 10 above, and further in view of Iwabuchi (US 20170110395 A1). Reference cited in IDS.
As to claim 9, Satou does not disclose:
wherein, in the lateral direction, the plurality of leading ends of one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal are all located between the leading end of the other one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal distributed to and placed in the first distribution space and the leading end of the other one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal distributed to and placed in the second distribution space.
However, Iwabuchi discloses:
wherein, in the lateral direction, the plurality of leading ends 20a, 20b (Fig. 1-4)of one of the positive electrode terminal 20 and the negative electrode terminal are all located between the leading end 21a of the other one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode 21 terminal distributed to and placed in the first distribution space and the leading end 21b of the other one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal 21 distributed to and placed in the second distribution space;
in order to arrange the terminals as desired and interpose the control terminals between the positive and negative terminals at each end (par. 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Satou as suggested by Iwabuchi, e.g., providing:
wherein, in the lateral direction, the plurality of leading ends of one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal are all located between the leading end of the other one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal distributed to and placed in the first distribution space and the leading end of the other one of the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal distributed to and placed in the second distribution space;
in order to arrange the terminals as desired and interpose the control terminals between the positive and negative terminals at each end.
It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention (e.g., rearranging the relative positions of terminals) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 11, Satou does not disclose:
wherein, in the lateral direction, the plurality of leading ends of the midpoint terminal are evenly distributed across the second control terminal.
However, Iwabuchi discloses:
wherein, in the lateral direction (X direction, left to right in Fig. 2-4), the plurality of leading ends of the midpoint terminal (left and right sides of 62 of v-phase terminal 23) are evenly distributed across the second control terminal 32 (Fig. 3);
in order to arrange the terminals as desired and interpose the control terminals between the positive and negative terminals at each end (par. 0049); and
in order to provide the midpoint terminal (v-phase terminal 23) with a heat sink 62 (par. 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Satou as suggested by Iwabuchi, e.g., providing:
wherein, in the lateral direction, the plurality of leading ends of the midpoint terminal are evenly distributed across the second control terminal;
in order to arrange the terminals as desired and interpose the control terminals between the positive and negative terminals at each end; and
in order to provide the midpoint terminal with a heat sink.
It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention (e.g., rearranging the relative positions of terminals and/or heat sinks) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou (US 20210225724 A1) as applied to claims 13 and 16 above, and further in view of Funakoshi (US 20070216013 A1). Reference cited in IDS.
As to claim 15, Satou does not disclose:
a first insulating plate having a first inner surface on which the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion are mounted;
a first heat dissipating portion mounted on a first outer surface of the first insulating plate opposite to the first inner surface, and aligned with the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion in the height direction;
a second insulating plate having a second inner surface on which a part of the second conductive portion and a part of the fourth conductive portion are mounted; and
a second heat dissipating portion mounted on a second outer surface of the second insulating plate opposite to the second inner surface, and aligned with the second conductive portion and the fourth conductive portion in the height direction.
However, Funakoshi discloses:
a first insulating plate 8 (par. 0035; Fig. 8) having a first inner surface on which the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion 7, 53, 56 are mounted (indirectly);
a first heat dissipating portion 13 mounted (indirectly) on a first outer surface of the first insulating plate opposite to the first inner surface, and aligned with the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion in the height direction;
a second insulating plate 66 (par. 0037) having a second inner surface on which a part of the second conductive portion and a part of the fourth conductive portion 52, 55, 58 are mounted (indirectly); and
a second heat dissipating portion 13 mounted (indirectly) on a second outer surface of the second insulating plate opposite to the second inner surface, and aligned with the second conductive portion and the fourth conductive portion in the height direction;
in order to dissipate heat from the power module and insulate the electrical leads/busbars from the heat spreaders (see par. 0035, 0037, 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Satou as suggested by Funakoshi, e.g., providing:
a first insulating plate having a first inner surface on which the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion are mounted;
a first heat dissipating portion mounted on a first outer surface of the first insulating plate opposite to the first inner surface, and aligned with the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion in the height direction;
a second insulating plate having a second inner surface on which a part of the second conductive portion and a part of the fourth conductive portion are mounted; and
a second heat dissipating portion mounted on a second outer surface of the second insulating plate opposite to the second inner surface, and aligned with the second conductive portion and the fourth conductive portion in the height direction;
in order to dissipate heat from the power module and insulate the electrical leads/busbars from the heat spreaders.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 18, Satou does not disclose:
a first insulating plate having a first inner surface on which the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion are mounted;
a first heat dissipating portion mounted on a first outer surface of the first insulating plate opposite to the first inner surface, and aligned with the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion in the height direction;
a second insulating plate having a second inner surface on which the second conductive portion is mounted; and
a second heat dissipating portion mounted on a second outer surface of the second insulating plate opposite to the second inner surface, and aligned with the second conductive portion in the height direction.
However, Funakoshi discloses:
a first insulating plate 8 (par. 0035; Fig. 8) having a first inner surface on which the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion 7, 53, 56 are mounted (indirectly);
a first heat dissipating portion 13 mounted (indirectly) on a first outer surface of the first insulating plate opposite to the first inner surface, and aligned with the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion in the height direction;
a second insulating plate 66 (par. 0037) having a second inner surface on which the second conductive portion 52, 55, 58 is mounted (indirectly); and
a second heat dissipating portion 13 mounted (indirectly) on a second outer surface of the second insulating plate opposite to the second inner surface, and aligned with the second conductive portion and the fourth conductive portion in the height direction;
in order to dissipate heat from the power module and insulate the electrical leads/busbars from the heat spreaders (see par. 0035, 0037, 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Satou as suggested by Funakoshi, e.g., providing:
a first insulating plate having a first inner surface on which the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion are mounted;
a first heat dissipating portion mounted on a first outer surface of the first insulating plate opposite to the first inner surface, and aligned with the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion in the height direction;
a second insulating plate having a second inner surface on which the second conductive portion is mounted; and
a second heat dissipating portion mounted on a second outer surface of the second insulating plate opposite to the second inner surface, and aligned with the second conductive portion in the height direction;
in order to dissipate heat from the power module and insulate the electrical leads/busbars from the heat spreaders.
As to claim 19, Satou in view of Funakoshi discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of external connection terminals (of Satou) has a portion located between the first insulating plate and the second insulating plate (the plates are on the external surfaces corresponding to the height direction of Satou, which all of the terminals are between).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamada (US 9460981 B2), Shimoike (US 8981552 B2), and Kimura (US 6448645 B1) disclose conventional power card assemblies.
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841