DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6 and 15-20 are pending as amended on 28 September 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and the remarks/arguments have been entered and fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 August 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the first Office action on 26 June 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment does not distinguish from US2018/0323421A1 (Shen).
Applicant’s arguments in light of the amendment have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Shen requires a bulk polymeric binder. The examiner acknowledges that Shen discloses adding polyacrylonitrile to the slurry ( [0198], [0207], [0214], [0221], [0230], [0239], [0246], [0252], [0254], [0256], [0258] and Table 1), however, the instant specification defines “bulk binder materials “ as polyvinylidene fluoride or polyvinylidene difluoride that require aggressive solvents such as N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP) (instant disclosure, [0085] and [0193]), and further requires a polymer additive including polyacrylonitrile (instant specification [0156], [0181], [0214] and [0234] and instant claim 6). Shen expressly discloses that the coated film on a current collector is formed by applying a slurry free of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and NMP ([0111], [0132] and Table 1 ), and exemplifies polyacrylonitrile , which is the same as the instantly disclosed polymer additive, thus meets the limitation of “free of bulk binder material”.
Applicant argues that Shen fails to teach the nanocarbon has a surface treatment which enhances adhesion of the nanocarbon to the active material and adhesion of the active layer to the current collector, the examiner disagrees. Shen teaches that the conductive agent is pre-treated to enhance wettability, minimizing particle agglomerating and allow homogenous distribution of the conductive agent within the dried composite electrode ([0134] and [0138]), which naturally results in enhanced adhesion to the active materials and the current collector than that of agglomerates since well-dispersed conductive carbon has increased surface area to interact with active material and current collector than that of agglomerate. Further, Shen teaches surfactant such as cetyl trimethylammonium bromide (CTAB) may be added to the slurry ([0154] and [0158]), which is the same as instantly disclosed surface treatment agent (instant disclosure, [0169]), therefore would achieve the same adhesion enhancement effect.
Additionally, new grounds of rejections have been formulated in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 15-20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shen.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 20, Shen teaches a battery cell comprises an electrode comprising a coated film on a current collector([0177] and [0202]), wherein the coated film is formed by applying a slurry comprising an electrode active material and a conductive agent such as carbon nanotubes ([0127] and [0130]), and free of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and NMP ([0111] and [0132]), which meets the claimed free of any bulk binder material in light of the instant definition of bulk binder materials “ as polyvinylidene fluoride or polyvinylidene difluoride that require aggressive solvents such as N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP) (instant disclosure, [0085] and [0193]) .
Shen further teaches that the conductive agent is pre-treated to enhance wettability, minimizing particle agglomerating and allow homogenous distribution of the conductive agent within the dried composite electrode([0134] and [0138]), which naturally results in enhanced adhesion to the active materials and the current collector since well-dispersed conductive carbon has more available surface area to interact with active material and current collector than that of agglomerate. Further, Shen teaches surfactant such as cetyl trimethylammonium bromide (CTAB) may be added to the slurry ([0154] and [0158]), which is the same as instantly disclosed surface treatment agent (instant disclosure, [0169]), thus the same adhesion enhancement effect.
Regarding claim 6, Shen teaches the slurry may further comprise a surfactant ([0154]-[0155]).
Regarding claims 15-18, Shen teaches that the battery cell comprises an electrolyte solution comprising LiPF6 and a mixture of ethyl methyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate and ethylene carbonate ([0202]), which meets the claimed electrolyte, linear and cyclic carbonate, respectively.
Regarding claim 19, Shen exemplifies that the capacity retention after 3,000 cycles is about 82.6% ([0226]), which meets the claimed cycle life.
Claims 1-4, 6, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2012/0107683A1 (Kim).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 20, Kim teaches a lithium secondary battery includes a current collector and an electrode formed on the current collector by using a composite of electrode active material ([0101]), wherein the composite of the electrode active material forms a film on the current collector and comprises an electrode active material intertwined with carbon nanotube strands ([0010] and [0013]), which obviate the use of organic binders ([0010] and [0079]).
Kim teaches the solvent for the dispersion In the fabrication process may be selected from the group consisting of ethanol, methanol, propanol, butanol, isopropanol (IPA), dimethylformamide (DMF), acetone, tetrahydrofuran, toluene, water, and any mixtures thereof ([0070]), which meets the limitation of “free of NMP”.
Kim further teaches that the carbon nanotubes having surfaces modified with a functional group may be used ([0055]), and functional groups such as carboxylic groups present on the surface of the carbon nanotube enhance adhesion on the surface of a conductive current collector ([0053] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches that the dispersion of electrode active material nanoparticles and the dispersion of carbon nanotubes may further include additives such as dispersing agents ([0077]), which meets the limitation of a surfactant.
Regarding claims 15-18, Kim teaches that the lithium battery comprises an electrolyte such as LiPF6 in a solution of EC (ethylene carbonate)/DEC (diethyl carbonate)([0102] and [0143]), which meets the claimed electrolyte, cyclic and linear carbonate, respectively.
Claims 1-4, 6 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0265634A1 (Brambilla), which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 20, Brambilla teaches Li-ion battery comprises electrodes using polymer binder free electrode layer on an current collector ([0170] and Fig. 7), wherein the electrode layer includes a network of high aspect ratio carbon elements, e.g., carbon nanotubes, carbon nanotube bundles, graphene flakes and an active material, and wherein a surface treatment can be applied to the high aspect ratio carbon elements to promote adhesion to the active material and the current collector layer improving the overall cohesion and mechanical stability of the active layer ([0006]).
Brambilla teaches that the use of PVDF polymer binders and N-Methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP) is eliminated ([0159]).
Regarding claim 6, Brambilla teaches the active layer may comprise a polymer additive and/or a surfactant ([0131], {0154] and [0155]).
Regarding claims 15-18, Brambilla teaches the battery comprises an electrolyte composed of LiPF6 in a solvent mixture of ethylene carbonate and dimethyl carbonate with vinyl carbonate additive ([0174]).
Regarding claim 19, Brambilla teaches the battery exhibits more than 2,000 cycle life ([0175]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766