DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kodera et al. (US PG Pub No. 20130115855).
In regards to claim 19, Kodera discloses
a method for controlling a chemical mechanical polishing process, comprising:
polishing a substrate on a surface of a polishing pad in a polishing process comprising at least a bulk removal step (s104) and a clearing step (Step S107);
determining a desired temperature for the bulk removal step;
[0031] (Step S103)
[0032] The surface temperature of the polishing pad 13 is measured using the temperature sensor 16. The surface temperature is gradually increased by frictional heat and an intentionally added heat source. When the surface temperature is not less than a predetermined temperature, the process proceeds to step S104 (bulk removal step).
during the bulk removal step, spraying the polishing pad with a cooling liquid to bring the polishing pad to the desired temperature;
[0035] The jet stream control unit 21 jets the supercooled droplets from the Laval nozzle 15 to the polishing pad 13.
[0036] (Step S105)
[0037] When the surface temperature of the polishing pad 13 is lowered to less than a predetermined temperature, the process proceeds to step S106. When the surface temperature is not lowered, the process proceeds to step S107.
detecting a transition from the bulk removal step to the clearing step ([0037]); and
in response to detecting the transition from the bulk removal step to the clearing step dispensing, flowing the cooling liquid onto the surface to reduce a temperature of the polishing pad.
[0040] (Step S107)
[0041] The jet stream control unit 21 increases the flow rate of the high-pressure air supplied to the Laval nozzle 15 so that the surface temperature of the polishing pad 13 is less than a predetermined temperature. The flow rate of the high-pressure air is increased, whereby the temperature of the supercooled droplets jetted from the Laval nozzle 15 is lowered.
[0042] As described above, according to the present embodiment, when the surface temperature of the polishing pad 13 is not less than a predetermined temperature, the supercooled droplets are jetted to the polishing pad 13, whereby the surface of the polishing pad 13 and the slurry can be quickly cooled by the fusion heat and vaporization heat according to the high-pressure air. In the cooling using the supercooled droplets, the cooling rate is about six times (time required for cooling is about 1/6) in comparison with a conventional air blow method (cooling only according to slurry vaporization heat).
[0043] Accordingly, the polishing pad and the slurry can be efficiently cooled by the polishing method and the polishing apparatus according to the present embodiment.
[0044] In the above embodiment, when the surface temperature of the polishing pad 13 is not less than a predetermined temperature, the supercooled droplets are jetted. However, a relationship between the rotation speed of the top ring 11 and the polishing table 12 and a variation with time of the surface temperature of the polishing pad 13 is previously investigated, and the supercooled droplets may be jetted according to whether or not the time when the surface temperature increases to a predetermined temperature has elapsed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soundararajan (US PG Pub NO. 20200001427) in view of Wu et al. (US PG Pub No. 20200331117).
In regards to claim 1, Soundararajan discloses
a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus comprising:
a platen (rotatable disk-shaped platen 24, fig. 1-2) to hold a polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2);
a carrier (carrier head 70, fig. 1-2) to hold a substrate (substrate 10, fig. 1) against a polishing surface of the polishing pad (see fig. 1 - ann. 1; [0029]) during a polishing process;
[0029] A carrier head 70 is operable to hold a substrate 10 against the polishing pad 30.
a polishing liquid dispenser (slurry dispensing arm 39, fig. 1-2) having a polishing liquid port (supply port of supply rinse arm 39; [0028]) positioned over the platen (rotatable disk-shaped platen 24, fig. 1-2) to deliver polishing liquid onto the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2);
a temperature control system (at least temperature control system 100a and 100b, fig. 2; [0037], [0059]),
a thermal controller (at least temperature sensor 64 and control mechanism; [0033-0036], [0050]; fig. 1) configured to control the temperature of the one or more coolant fluid within the one or more coolant fluid reservoirs; and
a first dispenser (100a; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]) having a plurality of openings (discharge hole in nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) in fluid connection with the one or more coolant fluid reservoirs, the plurality of openings positioned over the platen (rotatable disk-shaped platen 24, fig. 1-2) and configured to spray an aerosolized coolant liquid directly onto the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2),
[0048] For a cooling element…The cooling element can also include a dispenser configured to deliver low-temperature gases or liquids or solids onto the surface of the polishing pad 30. For example, the cooling element can be a nozzle configured to produce a jets of low-temperature gas or liquid. The low-temperature gas, liquid or solid can also undergo endothermic phase changes on the polishing pad surface.
a second dispenser (100b; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]) having a coolant port (nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]),
the coolant port (nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) positioned over the platen (rotatable disk-shaped platen 24, fig. 1-2) and configured to flow a stream of coolant liquid directly onto the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2).
[0048] For a cooling element…The cooling element can also include a dispenser configured to deliver low-temperature gases or liquids or solids onto the surface of the polishing pad 30. For example, the cooling element can be a nozzle configured to produce a jets of low-temperature gas or liquid. The low-temperature gas, liquid or solid can also undergo endothermic phase changes on the polishing pad surface.
Soundararajan fails to explicitly disclose that the temperature control system includes “one or more coolant liquid fluid reservoirs for containing one or more coolant fluids... in fluid connection with the one or more coolant fluid reservoirs”
Wu discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus including a rotatable platen to hold a polishing pad, a rotatable carrier to hold a substrate against a polishing surface of the polishing pad during a polishing process, a polishing liquid supply port to supply a polishing liquid to the polishing surface, a thermal control system including a movable nozzle to spray a medium onto the polishing surface to adjust a temperature of a zone on the polishing surface.
Wu teaches having at least one or more liquid fluid reservoirs that serves one or more cooling nozzles:
[0044] The temperature of the medium flowing through each nozzle 128, 148 can be independently controlled. For example, there can be separate sources 122, 124 and 142, 144 of coolant medium and heating medium, respectively, and the ratio of fluid flow to a nozzle can control the temperature of the medium, e.g., by use of valves. Alternatively, temperature of the medium could be controlled by a heat exchanger before the nozzle.
[0045] In addition, the temperature control system 120 can include gas medium source 122, 142 and liquid medium source 124, 1 (see FIG. 2A). Gas from the source 122, 142 and liquid from the source 124, 144 can be mixed in a mixing chamber 126 (see FIG. 1), e.g., in or on the arm 110, before being directed through the nozzle 128 to form the spray 114.
[0046] Gas medium 122 and liquid medium 124 can be used for cooling. For cooling, the medium can be a gas, e.g., air, or a liquid, e.g., water. In some implementations, the nozzle ejects an aerosolized spray of water that is chilled below room temperature.…
Soundararajan and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of chemical mechanical polishing apparatuses that include a thermal control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Soundarajan in view of the teachings of Wu in order to functionally provide reservoirs to Soundarajan as taught by Wu to functionally supply coolants for the respective temperature control element, as one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, ie the fluid supply arms still spray fluid, and the medium sources store and supply the fluid to the supply arms.
In regards to claim 2, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a temperature control arm (first elongated body 110 of 100a; see fig. 2) extending over the platen (rotatable disk-shaped platen 24, fig. 1-2), and wherein the one or more openings (discharge hole in nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) are formed in nozzles secured to the temperature control arm ([0048]).
In regards to claim 3, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the coolant port (nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) is secured to the temperature control arm (first elongated body 110 of 100a; see fig. 2).
In regards to claim 4, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the coolant port (nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) is secured to a separate temperature control arm (located on second elongated body 110 of 100b; see fig. 2).
In regards to claim 7, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein one or more coolant fluid reservoirs (as taught by Wu, sources 122, 124 and 142, 144 of coolant medium; [0044]) include a first coolant fluid reservoir (first source 122 for coolant medium 142; [0044]) connected to the plurality of openings (discharge hole in nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) of the first dispenser (100a; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]) and
a second coolant fluid reservoir (second source 124 for coolant medium 144; [0044]) connected to the port of the second dispenser (100b; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]).
In regards to claim 8, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the second coolant fluid reservoir is configured to hold less coolant fluid than the first coolant fluid reservoir.
Examiner’s Note:
As skilled artisan would recognize that as the fluids are used, the supply depletes. As such, if the first coolant fluid reservoir contains more fluid than the second due to being more depleted, then the second reservoir is holding less coolant fluid than the first.
In regards to claim 9, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first coolant fluid reservoir and the second coolant fluid reservoir are capable of holding a same composition of coolant liquid ([0037-0041], [0046-0048]).
In regards to claim 10, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the coolant liquid is deionized water ([0070]).
[0070] (III) With certain choices of the elements in the thermal control modules, for example, when using the stack of a theremoelectric element and a heat exchanger as described above, the temperature control apparatus has less disturbance to the polishing pad surface, e.g., as compared to vortexes of air or jets of deionized water for cooling purposes.
In regards to claim 11, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the temperature control system (at least temperature control system 100a and 100b, fig. 2; [0037], [0059]) is configured to control both the first coolant fluid reservoir and the second coolant fluid reservoir to different temperature values ([0050], [0059]), the temperature value of the second coolant fluid reservoir being lower than the temperature value of the first coolant fluid reservoir ([0050], [0059]).
[0050] The polishing system 20 can also include a controller 90 to control operation of various components, e.g., the temperature control system 100. The controller 90 is configured to receive the temperature measurements from the temperature sensor 64 for each radial zone of the polishing pad. The controller 90 can compare the measured temperature profile to a desired temperature profile, and generate a feedback signal to a control mechanism (e.g., actuator, power source, pump, valve, etc.) for each temperature control module. The feedback signal is calculated by the controller 90, e.g., based on an internal feedback algorithm, to cause the control mechanism to adjust the amount of cooling or heating by the cooling or heating element of the temperature control module such that the polishing pad and/or slurry reaches (or at least moves closer to) the desired temperature profile.
[0059] Returning to FIG. 2, in some implementations, the polishing system 20 includes multiple temperature control systems 100a, 100b, each having its own body 110 with an array 122 of thermal control modules 120. The slurry dispensing arm 39 can be positioned between the two arrays 122 of thermal control modules.
Examiner’s Note:As the controller is able to dictate the temperature from both 100a and 100b, a skilled artisan would recognize the system as capable of controlling one temperature to be higher or lower relative to the other.
In regards to claim 12, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein one or more coolant fluid reservoirs include a common coolant fluid reservoir connected (sources taught by Wu [0044]; as the sources are part of the same apparatus, they are connected to the other elements, including the openings and ports) and to the plurality of openings (discharge hole in nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) of the first dispenser (100a; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]) and
to the port of the second dispenser (100b; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]).
In regards to claim 14, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a controller (controller 90, fig. 1; [0009], [0033-0036], [0050], [0074]) configured to cause the first dispenser (100a; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]) to spray the aerosolized coolant liquid onto the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2) during a polishing step in which the substrate (substrate 10, fig. 1) is polished on the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2), and
to cause the second dispenser (100b; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]) to flow the stream of coolant fluid onto the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2) at a transition from a first polishing step to a second polishing step.
Examiner’s Note:
The claim recites the limitation "during a polishing step….at a transition from a first polishing step to a second polishing step." "Polishing step…transition from a first polishing step to a second polishing" could be considered active method steps. If the claim were treated as reciting both apparatus and method steps, then where infringement occurs would become unclear. See MPEP 2173.05(p)(ll). For purposes Of examination, this limitation will be read to mean the apparatus is capable of controlling the dispensing of spray and/or fluid during the polishing of the substrate.
In regards to claim 15, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the controller (controller 90, fig. 1; [0009], [0033-0036], [0050], [0074]) is configured to receive a temperature measurement from a sensor (temperature sensor 64; [0050]) during the polishing step and to control the first dispenser (100a; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]) to spray the aerosolized coolant liquid so as to bring the measured temperature to a desired temperature.
In regards to claim 16, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the controller (controller 90, fig. 1; [0009], [0033-0036], [0050], [0074]) is configured to receive a signal indicating that less than a threshold amount of material remains to be polished ([0050]), and to control the second dispenser (100b; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]) to flow the stream of coolant fluid onto the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2) in response to the signal.
[0050] The polishing system 20 can also include a controller 90 to control operation of various components, e.g., the temperature control system 100. The controller 90 is configured to receive the temperature measurements from the temperature sensor 64 for each radial zone of the polishing pad. The controller 90 can compare the measured temperature profile to a desired temperature profile, and generate a feedback signal to a control mechanism (e.g., actuator, power source, pump, valve, etc.) for each temperature control module. The feedback signal is calculated by the controller 90, e.g., based on an internal feedback algorithm, to cause the control mechanism to adjust the amount of cooling or heating by the cooling or heating element of the temperature control module such that the polishing pad and/or slurry reaches (or at least moves closer to) the desired temperature profile.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soundararajan (US PG Pub NO. 20200001427) in view of Wu et al. (US PG Pub No. 20200331117) as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Xu (US PG Pub No. 2014004626).
In regards to claim 5, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 4, comprising a polishing liquid arm extending over the platen (rotatable disk-shaped platen 24, fig. 1-2), but fails to explicitly disclose the coolant port (nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) and the polishing liquid port (supply port of supply rinse arm 39; [0028]) are “on the polishing liquid arm.”
Soundararajan discloses the elements on two separate arms that are a part of the polishing apparatus.
Xu discloses an apparatus and method for polishing the substrate to remove a portion of the conductive material, repeatedly monitoring a temperature of the polishing surface during the polishing process, and exposing the polishing surface to a rate quench process in response to the monitored temperature so as to achieve a target value for the monitored temperature during the polishing process.
Xu teaches having the polishing liquid and coolant exiting from the same tube, therein being on the same arm:
[0042] The polishing system can also include a pad rinse system, such as a water delivery tube 300 that delivers deionized water 302 to the surface 234 of polishing pad 214. A pipe 304 connects delivery tube 300 to deionized water tank 306. A heating/cooling element 308 encircles tank 306 and provides a way of heating and/or cooling the water before it is delivered to polishing pad 214. … Although the water delivery tube 300 and the slurry delivery tube 126 are depicted as separate elements, it should be understood that a single delivery tube may perform both functions of water delivery and slurry delivery.
Pursuant MPEP 2144.04.VI.C, it has been held obvious over the prior art to rearrange parts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, where in the instant case, to have the coolant and polishing liquid ports on the same arm would have been a matter of choice, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to make, as the dispensing of liquid or slurry would still operate as intended, providing appropriate cooling and polishing liquid to the platen in order to better facilitate the polishing process.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soundararajan (US PG Pub NO. 20200001427) in view of Wu et al. (US PG Pub No. 20200331117) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US PG Pub No. 20210046602).
In regards to claim 6, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the thermal controller (at least temperature sensor 64 and control mechanism; [0033-0036], [0050]; fig. 1) comprises a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 64, fig. 1; [0033-0036]) and a temperature control element (control mechanism [0050]) and is configured to receive temperature value from the temperature sensor indicative of a temperature of the coolant fluid.
However, Soundararajan as modified fails to explicitly disclose that “based on the received temperature value, control the temperature control element (control mechanism [0050]) to cool the coolant fluid to below 5 °C.”
Wu discloses a chemical mechanical polishing system that includes a platen to support a polishing pad having a polishing surface, a source of coolant, a dispenser having one or more apertures suspended over the platen to direct coolant from the source of coolant onto the polishing surface of the polishing pad; and a controller coupled to the source of coolant and configured to cause the source of coolant to deliver the coolant through the nozzles onto the polishing surface during a selected step of a polishing operation. Wu also teaches dispensing coolant fluid below 5 degrees Celsius:
[0083] The cooling system 102 can include a source 130 of liquid coolant medium and a source 132 of gas coolant medium (see FIG. 3B). Liquid from the source 130 and gas from the source 132 can be mixed in a mixing chamber 134 (see FIG. 3A), e.g., in or on the arm 110, before being directed through the nozzle 120 to form the spray 122. When dispensed, this coolant can be below room temperature, e.g., from −100 to 20° C., e.g., below 0° C.
Soundararajan and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of chemical mechanical polishing apparatuses that include a thermal control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Soundararajan and controlled the temperature of the coolant in a range, including below 5° C, as “[0092]…Lower temperatures during one or more of metal clearing over-polishing, or conditioning steps can reduce dishing and erosion of the soft metals during CMP by reducing the selectivity of the polishing liquid 38.”
Examiner’s Note:
The claim recites the limitation "control the temperature control element to cool the coolant fluid to below 5 °C." "Control…to cool" could be considered an active method step. If the claim were treated as reciting both apparatus and method steps, then where infringement occurs would become unclear. See MPEP 2173.05(p)(ll). For purposes Of examination, this limitation will be read to mean the apparatus is capable of controlling the temperature of the fluid dispensed.
In regards to claim 13, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose that the temperature control system (at least temperature control system 100a and 100b, fig. 2; [0037], [0059]) “is configured to dispense less than 1 L of fluid” through the second dispenser (100b; see fig. 2;[0037-0041], [0046-0048]) to reduce “a temperature of the polishing pad by at least 10 °C.”
Wu also teaches dispensing coolant fluid to reduce the pad temperature:
[0083] The cooling system 102 can include a source 130 of liquid coolant medium and a source 132 of gas coolant medium (see FIG. 3B). Liquid from the source 130 and gas from the source 132 can be mixed in a mixing chamber 134 (see FIG. 3A), e.g., in or on the arm 110, before being directed through the nozzle 120 to form the spray 122. When dispensed, this coolant can be below room temperature, e.g., from −100 to 20° C., e.g., below 0° C.
[0092] The cooling system 102 can be used to lower the temperature of the polishing surface 36. For example, the temperature of the polishing surface 36 can be lowered using liquid from the liquid coolant 130 via the spray 122, gas from the gas coolant 132 via the spray 122, the cold stream 52 from the vortex tube 50, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the temperature of the polishing surface 36 can be lowered to at or below 20° C.
While the art of record fails to disclose explicitly dispensing “less than 1 L of fluid”, the range (between 0 and 1 L) is considered a result effective variable. The amount of fluid required would depend upon the fluid temperature, the pad temperature, pad size, and heat transfer of the coolant applied.
Pursuant of MPEP 2144.05.II.A-B (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)), it has been found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed int he prior art, the discovery of optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation is not inventive, given a lack of evidence indicating the claimed range is critical ([0038])
As such, it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention, as the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" is a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. In the case of the instant application.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soundararajan (US PG Pub NO. 20200001427) in view of Wu et al. (US PG Pub No. 20200331117) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US PG Pub No. 20200262024).
In regards to claim 17, Soundararajan as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose comprising “a pad rinse system including a nozzle to direct a rinsing medium onto” the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2).
Chang discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus including a platen to hold a polishing pad, a carrier to hold a substrate against a polishing surface of the polishing pad during a polishing process, and a temperature control system including a source of a fluid medium and one or more openings positioned over the platen and separated from the polishing pad and configured for the fluid medium to flow onto the polishing pad to heat or cool the polishing pad.
Chang further teaches the inclusion of a pad rinse system:
[0012] The plurality of openings may deliver the coolant fluid to a first region of the polishing pad. A polishing liquid dispensing system may have a port to deliver polishing liquid to a different second region of the polishing pad, a rinse system may have a port to deliver a rinsing liquid to a different third region of the polishing pad.
[0060] The polishing system 20 can also include a high pressure rinse system 106. The high pressure rinse system 106 includes a plurality of nozzles 154, e.g., three to twenty nozzles, that direct a cleaning fluid, e.g., water, at high intensity onto the polishing pad 30 to wash the pad 30 and remove used slurry, polishing debris, etc.
Soundararajan and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of chemical mechanical polishing apparatuses that include a thermal control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Soundararajan and provide it with a pad rinse system as taught by Chang, improving polishing pad life and quality by removing debris and used slurry, given that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soundararajan (US PG Pub NO. 20200001427) in view of Wu et al. (US PG Pub No. 20200331117) and above, and further in view of Wu (US PG Pub No. 20200376626).
In regards to claim 18, Soundararajan as modified discloses
a chemical mechanical polishing system comprising:
each station comprising
a platen (rotatable disk-shaped platen 24, fig. 1-2) to hold a polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2),
a carrier (carrier head 70, fig. 1-2) to hold a substrate (substrate 10, fig. 1) against a polishing surface of the polishing pad (see fig. 1 - ann. 1; [0029]) during a polishing process,
a polishing liquid dispenser (slurry dispensing arm 39, fig. 1-2) having a polishing liquid port (supply port of supply rinse arm 39; [0028]) positioned over the platen (rotatable disk-shaped platen 24, fig. 1-2) to deliver polishing liquid onto the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2), and
a coolant dispenser having a coolant port (nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) positioned over the platen (rotatable disk-shaped platen 24, fig. 1-2) to deliver coolant liquid onto the polishing pad (polishing pad 30, fig. 1-2); and
a temperature control system (at least temperature control system 100a and 100b, fig. 2; [0037], [0059]) configured to deliver the coolant fluid to the respective coolant ports (nozzle of temperature control module 120, fig. 1-2; [0048]) of the respective polishing stations, and
a thermal controller (at least temperature sensor 64 and control mechanism; [0033-0036], [0050]; fig. 1) configured to control the temperature of the coolant fluid.
Soundararajan fails to explicitly disclose that the temperature control system includes “comprising a coolant fluid reservoir for containing coolant fluid.”
Wu discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus including a rotatable platen to hold a polishing pad, a rotatable carrier to hold a substrate against a polishing surface of the polishing pad during a polishing process, a polishing liquid supply port to supply a polishing liquid to the polishing surface, a thermal control system including a movable nozzle to spray a medium onto the polishing surface to adjust a temperature of a zone on the polishing surface.
Wu teaches having at least one or more liquid fluid reservoirs that serves one or more cooling nozzles:
[0044] The temperature of the medium flowing through each nozzle 128, 148 can be independently controlled. For example, there can be separate sources 122, 124 and 142, 144 of coolant medium and heating medium, respectively, and the ratio of fluid flow to a nozzle can control the temperature of the medium, e.g., by use of valves. Alternatively, temperature of the medium could be controlled by a heat exchanger before the nozzle.
[0045] In addition, the temperature control system 120 can include gas medium source 122, 142 and liquid medium source 124, 1 (see FIG. 2A). Gas from the source 122, 142 and liquid from the source 124, 144 can be mixed in a mixing chamber 126 (see FIG. 1), e.g., in or on the arm 110, before being directed through the nozzle 128 to form the spray 114.
[0046] Gas medium 122 and liquid medium 124 can be used for cooling. For cooling, the medium can be a gas, e.g., air, or a liquid, e.g., water. In some implementations, the nozzle ejects an aerosolized spray of water that is chilled below room temperature.…
Soundararajan and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of chemical mechanical polishing apparatuses that include a thermal control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Soundarajan in view of the teachings of Wu in order to functionally provide reservoirs to Soundarajan as taught by Wu to functionally supply coolants for the respective temperature control element, as one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, ie the fluid supply arms still spray fluid, and the medium sources store and supply the fluid to the supply arms.
Soundararajan also fails to explicitly disclose “two polishing stations”.
Wu discloses a method and apparatus for temperature control for a chemical mechanical polishing system that includes directing a gas that includes steam from an orifice onto the component in the polishing system while the component is spaced away from a polishing pad of the polishing system to raise a temperature of the component to an elevated temperature, while also having a cooling system ([0020]) as a possible configuration. Further, Wu teaches a plurality of stations:
[0032] FIG. 1 is a plan view of a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus 2 for processing one or more substrates. The polishing apparatus 2 includes a polishing platform 4 that at least partially supports and houses a plurality of polishing stations 20. For example, the polishing apparatus can include four polishing stations 20a, 20b, 20c and 20d. Each polishing station 20 is adapted to polish a substrate that is retained in a carrier head 70. Not all components of each station are illustrated in FIG. 1.
Soundararajan and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of chemical mechanical polishing apparatuses that include a thermal control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Soundararajan in view of Wu, and provide at least two identical polishing stations, as it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a plurality of stations, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodera in view of Wu et al. (US PG Pub No. 20210046602).
In regards to claim 20, Kodera discloses
the method of claim 19, but fails to disclose “comprising controlling the temperature of the cooling liquid during the polishing process to be less than 5 °C.”
Wu discloses a chemical mechanical polishing system that includes a platen to support a polishing pad having a polishing surface, a source of coolant, a dispenser having one or more apertures suspended over the platen to direct coolant from the source of coolant onto the polishing surface of the polishing pad; and a controller coupled to the source of coolant and configured to cause the source of coolant to deliver the coolant through the nozzles onto the polishing surface during a selected step of a polishing operation. Wu also teaches dispensing coolant fluid below 5 degrees Celsius:
[0083] The cooling system 102 can include a source 130 of liquid coolant medium and a source 132 of gas coolant medium (see FIG. 3B). Liquid from the source 130 and gas from the source 132 can be mixed in a mixing chamber 134 (see FIG. 3A), e.g., in or on the arm 110, before being directed through the nozzle 120 to form the spray 122. When dispensed, this coolant can be below room temperature, e.g., from −100 to 20° C., e.g., below 0° C.
Kodera and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of chemical mechanical polishing apparatuses that include a thermal control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kodera and controlled the temperature of the coolant in a range, including below 5° C, as “[0092]…Lower temperatures during one or more of metal clearing over-polishing, or conditioning steps can reduce dishing and erosion of the soft metals during CMP by reducing the selectivity of the polishing liquid 38.”
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723