DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant Election filled on 02/17/2026. Currently, claims 1-18 are pending in the application. Claim 8 has been withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species I (Figures 1-2), claims 1-7 and 9-18, in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 is acknowledged, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsujimura et al (US 20010008285 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 2 of Tsujimura discloses a nitride semiconductor device comprising:
an SiC substrate (21, n-type 6H-SiC , [0081]) of a hexagonal crystal system (6H-SiC is a hexagonal crystal system, [0081]) that has a first main surface (surface of 21 in contact with 22) and a second main surface (surface of 21 in contact with 32) at an opposite side thereof; and
a nitride epitaxial layer (22-25, layers are grown on 21 epitaxially, [0081] and [0089]) that is formed on the first main surface; and
wherein the first main surface has an off angle of greater than 1° with respect to a c-plane of the hexagonal crystal (two degrees, [0027] and [0082], (0001) is the c-plane in the hexagonal crystal system).
Regarding claim 2, Figure 2 of Tsujimura discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first main surface (surface of 21 at 22) has the off angle that is inclined at an angle of not less than 1° and not more than 8° in a [11-20] direction with respect to the c-plane of the hexagonal crystal (two degrees, [0027] and [0082], (0001) is the c-plane in the hexagonal crystal).
Regarding claim 3, Figure 2 of Tsujimura discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first main surface (in contact with 22) has the off angle that is inclined at an angle of not less than 2° and not more than 6° in a [11-20] direction with respect to the c-plane of the hexagonal crystal (two degrees, [0027] and [0082], (0001) is the c-plane in the hexagonal crystal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Saxler et al (US 20060226412 A1) in view of Tsujimura et al (US 20010008285 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses a nitride semiconductor device comprising:
an SiC substrate (1010, [0080] and [0120]) that has a first main surface (at the interface of 1015) and a second main surface (at the interface of 1090) at an opposite side thereof; and
a nitride epitaxial layer (530, [0009] and [0097]) that is formed on the first main surface.
Saxler does not explicitly teach that the SiC substrate of a hexagonal crystal system, wherein the first main surface has an off angle of greater than 1° with respect to a c-plane of the hexagonal crystal.
However, Tsujimura is a pertinent art which teaches a nitride semiconductor formed on a SiC substrate, wherein Tsujimura teaches the substrate 11 may also be made of GaN, SiC, Si, Spinel, ZnO, GaAs or the like, instead of sapphire. Also, the substrate 11 may be of n-type, p-type or insulating. The plane orientation of the substrate 11 is not necessarily defined by a low-index plane. Alternatively, the plane orientation of the substrate 11 may be defined by an inclination in a certain direction. For example, if the substrate 11 is made of SiC, the zone axis thereof may be inclined from the (0001, c-plane) plane of 4H-SiC by two degrees in the [11-20] direction for reducing lattice mismatch with the layers grown on the substrate ([0027] and [0082]), wherein (0001) is the c-plane in the hexagonal crystal.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the SiC substrate of a hexagonal crystal system in the device of Saxler, wherein the first main surface has an off angle of greater than 1° with respect to a c-plane of the hexagonal crystal according to the teaching of Tsujimura in order to reduce lattice mismatch between the substrate (1010, Figure 11 of Saxler) and the layers grown on the substrate ([0081]-[0082] of Tsujimura).
Regarding claim 2, Figure 11 of Saxler in view of Tsujimura teaches that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first main surface has the off angle that is inclined at an angle of not less than 1° and not more than 8° in a [11-20] direction with respect to the c-plane of the hexagonal crystal (two degrees, [0027] and [0082] of Tsujimura, (0001) is the c-plane in the hexagonal crystal).
Regarding claim 3, Figure 11 of Saxler in view of Tsujimura teach that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first main surface has the off angle that is inclined at an angle of not less than 2° and not more than 6° in a [11-20] direction with respect to the c-plane of the hexagonal crystal (two degrees, [0027] and [0082] of Tsujimura, (0001) is the c-plane in the hexagonal crystal).
Regarding claim 4, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the nitride epitaxial layer (530, [0100]) comprises: a first nitride semiconductor layer that constitutes an electron transit layer and a second nitride semiconductor layer that is disposed on the first nitride semiconductor layer, constitutes an electron supply layer, and is higher in bandgap than the first nitride semiconductor layer (GaN/AlGaN HEMT meets the limitation considering GaN as the first nitride semiconductor layer and AlGaN as the second semiconductor layer, wherein AlGaN has higher bandgap than GaN, [0008] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 5, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 4, comprising: a semi-insulating nitride layer (520, [0097]) that is disposed between the SiC substrate (1010) and the first nitride semiconductor layer (GaN of 530) and with which an acceptor concentration is higher than a donor concentration (concentration formed between the layers due to the difference in materials).
Regarding claim 6, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 5, comprising: a buffer layer (not shown, [0114]) that is disposed between the SiC substrate (1010) and the semi-insulating nitride layer (520) and is constituted of a nitride semiconductor ([0114]).
Regarding claim 7, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 4, comprising: a source electrode (540, [0098]); a drain electrode (550); and a gate electrode (560, [0098]) that are disposed on the second nitride semiconductor layer (530); a back electrode (1090, [0120]) that is formed on the second main surface; and a conductive member (1080, [0120]) that penetrates through the nitride epitaxial layer and the SiC substrate (1010) and electrically connects the source electrode to the back electrode (1090).
Regarding claim 9, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 4, wherein the first nitride semiconductor layer (GaN in 530 for HEMT device) is constituted of a GaN layer and the second nitride semiconductor layer is constituted of an AlGaN layer ([0007] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 13, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the nitride epitaxial layer (530, [0122]) comprises: a first nitride semiconductor layer that constitutes an electron transit layer and a second nitride semiconductor layer that is disposed on the first nitride semiconductor layer, constitutes an electron supply layer, and is higher in bandgap than the first nitride semiconductor layer (GaN/AlGaN HEMT meets the limitation considering GaN as the first nitride semiconductor layer and AlGaN as the second semiconductor layer, wherein AlGaN has higher bandgap than GaN, [0008] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 14, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the nitride epitaxial layer (530) comprises: a first nitride semiconductor layer that constitutes an electron transit layer and a second nitride semiconductor layer that is disposed on the first nitride semiconductor layer, constitutes an electron supply layer, and is higher in bandgap than the first nitride semiconductor layer (GaN/AlGaN HEMT meets the limitation considering GaN as the first nitride semiconductor layer and AlGaN as the second semiconductor layer, wherein AlGaN has higher bandgap than GaN, [0008] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 15, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 13, comprising: a semi-insulating nitride layer (520, [0097]) that is disposed between the SiC substrate (1010) and the first nitride semiconductor layer (530, [0098]) and with which an acceptor concentration is higher than a donor concentration (acceptor concentration is higher than a donor concentration since 520 is Fe doped, [0090]).
Regarding claim 16, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 14, comprising: a semi-insulating nitride layer (520, [0090]) that is disposed between the SiC substrate (1010) and the first nitride semiconductor layer (530) and with which an acceptor concentration is higher than a donor concentration (acceptor concentration is higher than a donor concentration since 520 is Fe doped, [0090]).
Regarding claim 17, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 15, comprising: a buffer layer (1015, [0114]) that is disposed between the SiC substrate (1010) and the semi-insulating nitride layer (520) and is constituted of a nitride semiconductor ([0114]).
Regarding claim 18, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 16, comprising: a buffer layer (1015, [0114]) that is disposed between the SiC substrate (1010) and the semi-insulating nitride layer (520) and is constituted of a nitride semiconductor ([0114]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Saxler et al (US 20060226412 A1) in view of Tsujimura et al (US 20010008285 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of HUANG et al (US 20100295100 A1).
Regarding claims 10-12, Figure 11 of Saxler discloses that the nitride semiconductor device according to claim 5, wherein the first nitride semiconductor layer (530) is constituted of a GaN layer ([0122]), the second nitride semiconductor layer is constituted of an AlGaN layer, and the semi-insulating nitride layer (520) is constituted of a GaN layer that contains iron ([0090]), wherein the first nitride semiconductor layer (530) is constituted of a GaN layer, the second nitride semiconductor layer is constituted of an AlGaN layer (considering GaN/AlGaN HEMT, [0122]), the semi-insulating nitride layer is constituted of a GaN layer, and the buffer layer is constituted of a laminated film of an AlN layer formed on the first main surface and an AlGaN layer that is laminated on the AlN layer or wherein the first nitride semiconductor layer is constituted of a GaN layer ([0090]), the second nitride semiconductor layer is constituted of an AlGaN layer, the semi-insulating nitride layer is constituted of a GaN layer that contains iron ([0090]), and the buffer layer is constituted of an AlN layer or an AlGaN layer ([0061]).
Saxler in view of Tsujimura does not teach that the GaN layer contains carbon.
However, HUANG is a pertinent art which teaches a HEMT device, wherein HUANG teaches that to make the GaN layer 14 semi-insulating it may be doped during the growth process with a dopant, such as iron or carbon ([0017] and [0019]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use carbon instead of iron according to the teaching of HUANG in order to reduce cost and availability, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material such as carbon instead of ion on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Moreover, the court has held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007).
Examiner Notes
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KHAJA AHMAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813