DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17, 19-21, and 23-27 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the support shiel must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims 4, 13, 24, and 27. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7, 11, 13-14, 17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Drawing as filed do not show the support shield.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10, 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Challa et al., US 2008/0138953 (corresponding to US 8,143,124).
In re Claim 1, Challa discloses a semiconductor device 200 (Figs. 2), comprising: a semiconductor layer structure SL (Fig. A) that includes a drift layer 206 having a first n conductivity type; a gate trench 202 that extends to a first depth 1D into the semiconductor layer structure SL ; a gate electrode 210 in the gate trench 202; a support shield trench SST that extends to a second depth 2D into the semiconductor layer structure SL, where the second depth 2D is less than the first depth 1D; and a source metallization layer SML on the semiconductor layer structure SL and extending into the support shield trench SST. (Figs. 1-2 and A; [0109- 0239]).
Challa does not specifically indicate that the semiconductor layer structure SL is a silicon carbide based semiconductor layer structure.
Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the silicon carbide based semiconductor layer structure, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (See MPEP2144.07).
Fig. A. Challa’s Fig. 2A annotated to show the details cited
In re Claim 2, Challa discloses the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layer structure SL further comprises a well contact region 204 having a second p conductivity type underneath the support shield trench SST. (Fig. A).
In re Claim 10, Challa discloses the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layer structure SL further comprises a source region 112, and the source metallization layer directly contacts both an upper surface and a side surface of the source region SML. (Fig. A)
In re Claim 23, Challa discloses a semiconductor device 200 that includes a plurality of unit cell transistors (T1, T2) (Fig. A), comprising: a semiconductor layer structure SL that comprises; a drift layer 206 having a first n conductivity type; a well region 204 having a second p conductivity type on the drift layer 206; a source region 212 having the first n conductivity type on the well region 204; and a well contact region 218 having the second p conductivity type in the well region 204, the well contact region 218 being a portion of the well region 204 that has a higher dopant concentration p+, where an upper surface of the well contact region 218 is recessed below an upper surface of the source region 212; a gate trench 202 that extends to a first depth 1D into an upper surface of the semiconductor layer structure SL; a source metallization layer SML that extends in between source regions 212 of adjacent ones of the unit cell transistors (T1, T2) to directly contact the well contact region 218 (Figs. 1-2 and A; [0109- 0239]).
Challa does not specifically indicate that the semiconductor layer structure SL is a silicon carbide based semiconductor layer structure.
Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the silicon carbide based semiconductor layer structure, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (See MPEP2144.07).
In re Claim 24, Challa discloses the semiconductor device of Claim 23, wherein the semiconductor layer structure SL further comprises a support shield (a portion of 204 marked as SSh in Fig. A) having the second p conductivity type underneath the well contact region 218.
In re Claim 25, Challa discloses the semiconductor device of Claim 24, wherein the source metallization layer SML directly contacts the well contact region 218 and the well contact region 218 directly contacts the support shield SSh. (Fig. A)
In re Claim 26, Challa discloses the semiconductor device of Claim 24, wherein the source metallization layer SML directly contacts a side surface of the source region 212 (Fig. A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reason for indicating allowable subject matter
In re Claim 27: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 27 as: “the well contact region has a first doping concentration of second conductivity type dopants that exceeds a second doping concentration of second p conductivity type dopants of the well region and that also exceeds a third doping concentration of second conductivity type dopants of the support shield”, in combination with limitations of Claims 23 and 24 and 3 on which it depends.
Conclusion
/NIKOLAY K YUSHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893