DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 line(s) 6-7 sets forth the limitation “the filter element have a diameter sized to define an annular volume between the exterior for the filter element and the interior of the casing” should be corrected to - - the filter element [[have]] has a diameter sized to define an annular volume between [[the]] an exterior [[for]] of the filter element and [[the]] an interior of the casing - -
Claim 2 line(s) 1 sets forth the limitation “the filter element comprising” should be corrected to - - the filter element comprises - -
Claim 3 line(s) 1 sets forth the limitation “the filter element comprising” should be corrected to - - the filter element comprises - -
Claim 4 sets forth the limitation “the filter element comprising a comprising a cylindrical media” should be corrected to - - the filter element comprises
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the length”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the exiting”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 6-7 sets forth the limitation “the exterior”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 7 sets forth the limitation “the interior”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the inner surface”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 line(s) 1-2 sets forth the limitation “the inlets of the plurality of casings”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 line(s) 1-2 sets forth the limitation “the outlets of the plurality of casings”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8,11,13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ANDERSON (US 20020008068).
Regarding claim 1, ANDERSON teaches an apparatus and method for backwashing fluid filter systems (title, Figs.) comprising:
a cylindrical casing (Fig. 1 #16) defining an inlet (Fig. 1 #11) and an outlet (Fig. 1 #15) spaced apart from the inlet along a length of the casing;
a cylindrical filter element (Fig. 1 #18) disposed within the casing between the inlet and the outlet;
the filter element has a diameter sized to define an annular volume between an exterior of the filter element and an interior of the casing (Fig. 1), the annular volume in fluid flow communication with the inlet, the filter element having porous end adjacent the outlet (see Fig. 2 near #37); and
a plurality of nozzles (Figs. 1-2 #50) disposed within the filter element, the nozzles positioned to direct a cleaning fluid at the interior surface of the filter element (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, ANDERSON teaches the filter element comprises a closed end cap (Figs. 1-2 #24) forming the closed end of the filter element.
Regarding claim 3, ANDERSON teaches the filter element comprises a porous end cap (Fig. 2 #27) forming the porous end of the filter element.
Regarding claim 4, ANDERSON teaches the filter element comprises a cylindrical media (Figs. 1-2 #18).
Regarding claim 5, ANDERSON teaches the filter media have a pore size capable of preventing selected particulates from passing through the filter element (that’s what the filter is for; see also par. [0030,0032]).
Regarding claim 6, ANDERSON teaches the nozzles are positioned and sized to be capable of removing particulates that have accumulated on the exterior of the filter media (Figs. 1-2 #50; par. [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, ANDERSON teaches the nozzles are mounted on a tube (Figs. 1-2 #49) extending through the cylindrical filter element, the nozzles in fluid flow communication with the tube.
Regarding claim 8, ANDERSON teaches the nozzles are positioned to direct the cleaning fluid radially outwardly from the tube (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, ANDERSON teaches the tube is capable of rotating about an axis extending along the length of the tube to in tum rotate the nozzles about the axis (par. [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, ANDERSON teaches the tube engages the filter element capable of positioning the filter element concentrically within the casing (see Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDERSON (US 20020008068) in view of MAUDA (US 9314718).
Regarding claim 12, ANDERSON does not teach the tube is capable of translating in a direction along the length of the tube. However, MAUDA teaches backwash arrangement for cleaning a cylindrical filter screen (title, Figs.) comprising:
a cylindrical casing (see overall Fig. 2) defining an inlet (Fig. 2 #12) and an outlet (Fig. 2 #14) spaced apart from the inlet along a length of the casing;
a cylindrical filter element (Fig. 2 #18) disposed within the casing between the inlet and the outlet;
the filter element has a diameter sized to define an inner volume between an exterior of the filter element and an interior of the casing (Fig. 1), the inner volume in fluid flow communication with the inlet, the filter element having porous end adjacent the outlet (see e.g. Figs. 1-2 near #46); and
a plurality of nozzles (Figs. 2-4 #24) disposed within the filter element, the nozzles positioned to direct a cleaning fluid at the interior surface of the filter element (C3/L19-27);
wherein the nozzles are mounted on a tube (Fig. 4 #20) extending through the cylindrical filter element, the nozzles in fluid flow communication with the tube (C5/L52-59); and,
wherein the tube is configured to translate (albeit in a helical motion) in a direction along the length of the tube (C5/L17-51).
MAUDA teaches that continuous coverage of the filter screen surface is provided during backwashing and thus improving backwash efficiency (C3/L43-44; C5/L29-30).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of ANDERSON with a backwash tube having translation motion in order to provide continuous coverage of the filter screen surface during backwashing and thus improving backwash efficiency. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDERSON (US 20020008068) in view of DESAI (US 20120000835).
Regarding claims 16-19, ANDERSON is silent as to an inflow valve, a plurality of casings and each having a filter element, and common inlet and outlet lines. However, DESAI teaches a duplex strainer apparatus (title, Figs.) including an inflow valve (Fig. 2 #110; par. [0018]) on a common inlet line (fig. 1 #114) feeding to a plurality of casings/strainer baskets (Figs. 1-2 #210,220) which filtered flow leads to a common outlet (Fig. 1 #118), which allows the filter to be isolated for cleaning during continuous straining (par. [0003]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of ANDERSON with an inflow valve, a plurality of casings/filters and common inlet/outlet lines in order to allow a filter to be isolated for cleaning and permitting continuous straining as is known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10,14-15 have allowable subject matter over the prior art of record. The prior art neither teaches, suggests, nor makes obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a filter apparatus comprising the combination of claimed elements including nozzles comprising a torus-shaped chamber or a chamber extending around the tube having openings or slits.
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
SHIEKELMACHER (US 20080047885) discloses filter cleaning head having both translation and rotary movements.
BOWEN (US 5316218) discloses a rotating slot-shaped nozzle.
POHL (US 20250010224) discloses a duplex filter.
Telephonic Inquiries
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777