DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election, without traverse, of claims 1-14 in the “Response to Restriction Requirement” filed on 03/04/2026 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner.
This office action consider claims 1-20 pending for prosecution, wherein claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (114; Fig 6; [0092]) = (element 114; Figure No. 6; Paragraph No. [0092]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1-6, 9-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20230282682 A1; hereinafter Kim, using foreign priority date 03/03/2022, a machine translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a light emitting device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0004+], and as cited below), comprising:
a light-emitting unit (LD; Fig. 13; see [0218]); and
a light conversion structure ({CCL, INS4}; Fig. 13; [0217-0221, 0154]) disposed on the light-emitting unit (LD; Fig. 13; see [0218]), and comprising:
a quantum doty layer ({CCL}; Fig. 13; [0217-0221]) having a first surface
(bottom surface of CCL), a second surface (top surface of CCL), and a first edge (side surface of CCL); and
an etching blocking layer ({INS4}; Fig. 13; [0154]; silicon oxide; see [0018]
of the “Specification” of the instant invention where it states that “the etching blocking layer 18 includes an inorganic transparent insulating material, such as silicon oxide”) having a second edge (side surface of INS4), and disposed on the first surface (bottom surface of CCL)
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the etching blocking layer ({INS4}; Fig. 13; [0154]; silicon oxide; see [0018] of the “Specification” of the instant invention where it states that “the etching blocking layer 18 includes an inorganic transparent insulating material, such as silicon oxide”) includes an inorganic transparent insulating material.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 2.
Kim further teaches wherein the etching blocking layer ({INS4}; Fig. 13; [0154]; silicon oxide; see [0018] of the “Specification” of the instant invention where it states that “the etching blocking layer 18 includes an inorganic transparent insulating material, such as silicon oxide”) includes silicon dioxide.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the etching blocking layer ({INS4}; Fig. 13; [0154]; silicon oxide; see [0018] of the “Specification” of the instant invention where it states that “the etching blocking layer 18 includes an inorganic transparent insulating material, such as silicon oxide”) includes a transparent insulating layer.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the first edge (side surface of CCL; Fig. 13) is aligned with the second edge (side surface of INS4; Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further comprising a transparent protective layer (CPL1; Fig. 13; [0224]; silicon oxide; see [0028] of the “Specification” of the instant invention where it states that “the transparent protective layer 34 may include an inorganic transparent insulating material, such as silicon oxide material”) disposed on the second surface (top surface of CCL).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further comprising a covering layer ({CPL2, BM, CFL}; Fig. 13; [0226, 0236]) surrounding the light-emitting unit (LD; Fig. 13; see [0218]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 9.
Kim further teaches wherein the covering layer ({CPL2, BM, CFL}; Fig. 13; [0226, 0236]) further includes a black matrix material (see [0226]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein a side wall of the quantum dot layer ({CCL}; Fig. 13; [0217-0221]) adjacent the first edge is inclined (see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the light-emitting unit (LD; Fig. 13; see [0218]) emits ultraviolet light or blue light.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
3. Claims 7-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230282682 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further comprising an (see below for “adhesive”) layer (INS3; Fig. 13; see [0154]) having a third edge (side surface of INS3), and disposed between the light-emitting unit (LD; Fig. 13; see [0218]) and the light-conversion structure ({CCL, INS4}; Fig. 13; [0217-0221, 0154]).
As noted above, Kim does not expressly teach “an adhesive layer having a third edge, and disposed between the light-emitting unit and the light- conversion structure”, though Kim teaches that an insulating film (INS3; Fig. 13; see [0154]; silicon oxide, silicon nitride) having a third edge, and disposed between the light-emitting unit and the light-conversion structure.
However, Kim further teaches insulating pattern (INP; [0129]) comprising of inorganic materials such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride or organic materials comprising of acrylates resin, an epoxy resin, a phenolic resin, a polyamides resin, a polyimide resin, a polyesters resin, a polyphenylenesulfides resin ([0129])
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Kim’s insulating material of the insulating film with Kim’s insulating material of the insulating pattern, because they have equivalent properties, as recognized by Kim’s insulating pattern (INP; [0129]) comprising of inorganic materials such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride or organic materials comprising of acrylates resin, an epoxy resin, a phenolic resin, a polyamides resin, a polyimide resin, a polyesters resin, a polyphenylenesulfides resin, whereas Kim’s insulating film comprising of silicon oxide, silicon nitride. It has been held that the substitution of one prior teaching by another art supports an obviousness rejection, as in the instant case, the equivalency is being recognized in the prior art, and the substitution is then within the level of ordinary skill in the art. [MPEP 2144.06.II],
and thereby, modified Kim’s device will have an adhesive layer (INS3; Fig. 13; see [0154] in view material in [0129]; epoxy resin) having a third edge (side surface of INS3), and disposed between the light-emitting unit (LD; Fig. 13; see [0218]) and the light-conversion structure ({CCL, INS4}; Fig. 13; [0217-0221, 0154]),
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 7.
Kim further teaches wherein the third edge (side surface of INS3) is aligned with the first edge (side surface of CCL).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 7.
Kim further teaches the adhesive layer (INS3; Fig. 13; see [0154] in view material in [0129]; epoxy resin) includes polyimide (PI), epoxy, or silicone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
4. Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoyama et al. (US 20210296543 A1; hereinafter Aoyama).
Regarding claim 1, Aoyama teaches a light emitting device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1A+; [0004+], and as cited below), comprising:
a light-emitting unit (160U; Fig. 8B; see [0174]); and
a light conversion structure ({122B, 121}; Fig. 13; [0176, 0082, 0127, 0142]) disposed on the light-emitting unit (160U; Fig. 8B; see [0174]), and comprising:
a quantum doty layer ({122B}; Fig. 13; [0176, 0082, 0127, 0142]) having a
first surface (bottom surface of 122B), a second surface (top surface of 122B), and a first edge (side surface of 122B); and
an etching blocking layer ({121}; Fig. 13; [0082, 0127, 0142]); silicon
oxide; see [0018]of the “Specification” of the instant invention where it states that “the etching blocking layer 18 includes an inorganic transparent insulating material, such as silicon oxide”) having a second edge (side surface of 121), and disposed on the first surface (bottom surface of 121).
Regarding claim 7, Aoyama teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Aoyama further comprising an adhesive layer (137; see [0172]) having a third edge (side surface of 137), and disposed between the light-emitting unit (160U; Fig. 8B; see [0174]) and the light-conversion structure ({122B, 121}; Fig. 13; [0176, 0082, 0127, 0142]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
5. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al. (US 20210296543 A1; hereinafter Aoyama).
Regarding claim 12, Aoyama teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Aoyama further teaches wherein the light-emitting unit (160U; Fig. 8B; see [0103, 0174, 0185]) includes a (see below for “micro” light-emitting diode (uLED).
As noted above, Aoyama does not expressly teach “wherein the light-emitting unit includes a micro light-emitting diode (uLED).
However, Aoyama further teaches the light-emitting element (160B; Fig. 8A; see [0167]) that is a micro LED, where the micro LED (160B; Fig. 8A; see [0167]) is of a smaller the chip size and the narrower the light-emitting elements 160B are arranged, a high-resolution display device can be achieved.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Aoyama’s light-emitting element structure (160U; Fig. 8B; [0174]) with Aoyama’s micro LED structure (160B; Fig. 8B; [0167]), and thereby, modified Aoyama’s will have wherein the light-emitting unit (Aoyama 160U; Fig. 8B; see [0103, 0174, 0185] in view of Aoyama 160B; Fig. 8A; see [0167]) includes a micro light-emitting diode (uLED) (in view of Aoyama 160B; Fig. 8A; see [0167]).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Aoyama in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a micro LED that is of a smaller chip size and when the narrower the light-emitting elements 160B are arranged, a high-resolution display device can be achieved (Aoyama [0167]).
Conclusion
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898