DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species C, claims 1-5 and 13-29 in the reply filed on 06 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 6-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (“Click” functionalization of dual stimuli-responsive polymer nanocapsules for drug delivery systems” Polym. Chem (2017) 8 (20): 3056-3065).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, and 26; Yang et al. teaches a hydrogel polymer nanocapsules (nanogel particles) prepared from the monomers below [p3056; 3059]:
wherein the propargyl methacrylate reads on instant Formula (I) and acrylic acid reads on instant Formula (II).
Regarding claim 3; the limitations of the claim merely define optional limitations with respect to Formula (III), wherein Formula (III) is not explicitly required by the claim language.
Regarding claim 27-28; Yang et al. teaches the process of making said polymer hydrogel by using alkyne-azide click chemistry [p3061].
Regarding claim 29; the limitations of the claim are directed to product-by-process limitations. The examiner notes that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) ); see MPEP §2113.
Claim(s) 1-5 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren et al. (US Patent No. 10919033).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, and 5; Ren et al. teaches an acrylamide copolymer, such as poly(N-(5-azidoacetamidylpentyl)acrylamide-co-acrylamide, represented by the following formula (I) [col11, line4-40].
Regarding claim 3; the limitations of the claim merely define optional limitations with respect to Formula (III), wherein Formula (III) is not explicitly required by the claim language.
Regarding claims 27-28; Ren et al. teaches the hydrogel further comprise amplification primers [col13, line20-30]; wherein the primers include azide compounds [col5, lines63-67].
Regarding claim 29; the limitations of the claim are directed to product-by-process limitations. The examiner notes that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) ); see MPEP §2113.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/469440 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to the same art specific subject matter, namely a hydrogel polymer comprising a first recurring unit of Formula (I) and a second recurring unit of Formula (II). All the elements of the instant application are found obvious in view of the copending application, but in varying embodiments. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); see MPEP §2123.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Du et al. (CN 109620965) teaches an amphiphilic temperature-sensitive block polymer is polyoxyethylene-block-poly(N-isopropylacrylamide-random-methylcoumarin hydroxyethyl methacrylate-block-polyacrylic acid [claim 1]. Du et al. does not teach the polymer as required by instant claim 1.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767