DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the amendment filed on 10/29/2025, in which, claim(s) 1-20 are pending. Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are amended. No claim(s) are cancelled or newly added.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objection:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to objection of claim(s) 13 have been considered. The objection of claim(s) 13 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim.
Double Patenting Rejection:
Applicant’s remarks regarding double patenting rejection have been acknowledged. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over:
Claims 1-20 of copending Application 18/482,687.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Copending Application (18/482,687)
Instant Application (18/482,692)
Claim 1. A method for establishing shared trust with an agent user for a current communication, the method comprising:
providing, by communications hardware and via a mobile application, a logon request for a client user account associated with a client user to a system device;
in an instance in which the logon request was successfully authenticated, determining, by authentication circuitry and using the mobile application, an authentication sequence code;
causing, by the communications hardware, the authentication sequence code to be provided to an agent device associated with the agent user; and
receiving, by the communications hardware, a shared trust decision message from the system device, wherein the shared trust decision message is indicative of a verification status for the current communication.
Claim 1. A method for a user to verify authenticity of a first communication, the method comprising:
receiving, by communications hardware of a user device, a voice communication via the first communication channel;
generating, by authentication circuitry, based on the voice communication, and using a mobile application, a candidate authentication sequence code message;
providing, by the communications hardware and via the mobile application, the candidate authentication sequence code message to a system device via an authenticated second communication channel; and
in response to providing the candidate authentication sequence code message to the system device, receiving, by the communications hardware and via the authenticated second communication channel, a shared trust decision message, wherein the shared trust decision message is indicative of a verification status of the first communication channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mistry et al., (US 2016/0219435 A1) in view of Yarabolu et al., (US 2020/0162450 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 19, Mistry discloses A method for a user to verify authenticity of a first communication ([0017], “authenticate a user into a conference call”), the method comprising:
receiving, by communications hardware of a user device, a voice communication via the first communication channel ([0016], “an application that runs on a smart phone”, [0024], “the user calls a defined number for the conference call”);
generating, by authentication circuitry, based on the voice communication, and using a mobile application, a candidate authentication sequence code message ([0016], “an application that runs on a smart phone”, [0024], “the user calls a defined number for the conference call”, [0029], “The process sends the one-time conference passcode to the user”);
providing, by the communications hardware and via the mobile application, the candidate authentication sequence code message to a system device ([0016], “an application that runs on a smart phone”, [0024], “The user, via an IVR system, enters the one-time conference passcode”); and
in response to providing the candidate authentication sequence code message to the system device, receiving, by the communications hardware, a shared trust decision message, wherein the shared trust decision message is indicative of a verification status of the first communication channel ([0024], “The user, via an IVR system, enters the one-time conference passcode and the participant code (via Dual Tone Multi-Frequency DTMF signaling) when prompted by the IVR system. The conference authentication module 122 verifies that the one-time conference passcode for the user is valid. The conference authentication module 122 also verifies that the participant code is valid”, [0005], “The one-time conference passcode and the participant code are verified. In response to verifying the one-time conference passcode and the participant code, the user is allowed to join the conference call”).
Mistry does not explicitly teach but Yarabolu teaches
providing or receiving message via the authenticated second communication channel ([0046], “the user code may be transmitted to the user computing system 101 via e-mail, SMS, authenticator application, voice call, or the like (e.g., the second channel)”),
Mistry and Yarabolu are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yarabolu with the disclosure of Mistry. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide a dual factor authorization system for authentication of a user (Yarabolu, [0005]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, the combined teaching of Mistry and Yarabolu teaches
receiving, by the communications hardware, a prompt to provide the candidate authentication sequence code message from the system device, wherein (i) the received prompt is indicative of a recipient device assignment, (ii) the received prompt is indicative to provide the candidate authentication sequence code to the system device, and (iii) the received prompt further includes device information for the system device (Mistry, [0024], “For example, the user calls a defined number for the conference call. The user, via an IVR system, enters the one-time conference passcode and the participant code (via Dual Tone Multi-Frequency DTMF signaling) when prompted by the IVR system. The conference authentication module 122 verifies that the one-time conference passcode for the user is valid. The conference authentication module 122 also verifies that the participant code is valid”).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, the combined teaching of Mistry and Yarabolu teaches
prompting, by visualization circuitry, a user to input an input comprising the candidate authentication sequence code within the mobile application (Mistry, [0024], “The user, via an IVR system, enters the one-time conference passcode”); and
in response to the user inputting the candidate authentication sequence code into the mobile application, determining, by the authentication circuitry, the candidate authentication sequence code based on the input, wherein the candidate authentication sequence code message comprises the candidate authentication sequence code (Mistry, [0024], “The conference authentication module 122 verifies that the one-time conference passcode for the user is valid”).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, the combined teaching of Mistry and Yarabolu teaches
receiving, by the communications hardware and via the mobile application, an authentication sequence code from an agent device associated with an agent user (Mistry, [0029], “The process sends the one-time conference passcode to the user”), and
determining, by the authentication circuitry, the candidate authentication sequence code based on the received authentication sequence code, wherein the candidate authentication sequence code message comprises the candidate authentication sequence code (Mistry, [0024], “The conference authentication module 122 verifies that the one-time conference passcode for the user is valid”).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, the combined teaching of Mistry and Yarabolu teaches
automatically generating, by the user device, an authentication sequence code from the voice communication (Mistry, [0029], “The process sends the one-time conference passcode to the user”); and
prompting, by visualization circuitry, a client user to verify or reject the candidate authentication sequence code within the mobile application, wherein the candidate authentication sequence code message comprises an indication of whether the client user verified the candidate authentication sequence code (Mistry, [0035], “when the user provides the participant code in step 300, the system could verify that the user is authorized to use a specific participant code and reject the user if an unauthorized participant code is provided”).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, the combined teaching of Mistry and Yarabolu teaches
receiving, by the communications hardware and via the mobile application, client user authorization to provide a candidate authorization sequence code in the candidate authentication sequence code message; and providing, by the communications hardware, the candidate authentication sequence code message to the system device in response to receiving the client user authorization (Mistry, [0005], “To provide more secure access to a conference call, a request is received from a user to retrieve a one-time conference passcode; the request includes a personal verification code (as user authorization). In one embodiment, the personal verification code is a digital certificate. The personal verification code is validated. In response to the personal verification code being validated, the user is sent the one-time conference passcode”).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, the combined teaching of Mistry and Yarabolu teaches
displaying, by visualization circuitry, agent information within the mobile application, wherein the agent information comprises at least one of an agent name, department, phone number, email, branch location, picture, or live video (Mistry, Abstract, “the user is allowed to join the conference call. The user's name is then displayed in a list of conference participants”).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, the combined teaching of Mistry and Yarabolu teaches
wherein the authentication sequence code is a one-time password (Mistry, [0005], “a one-time conference passcode”).
Claims 7, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mistry et al., (US 2016/0219435 A1) in view of Yarabolu et al., (US 2020/0162450 A1) further in view of Dinh Cuong Duong (US 2022/0247836 A1).
Regarding Claims 7, 16 and 20, the combined teaching of Mistry and Yarabolu does not explicitly teach but Duong teaches
displaying, by visualization circuitry, the verification status of the first communication channel within the mobile application ([0074], “At step 470 a confirmation message is sent by the web server 15 to the mobile application 12 and displayed at step 475 for informing the user 11 that he/she is successfully registered”).
Mistry, Yarabolu and Duong are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Duong with the combined teaching of Mistry and Yarabolu. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide a high level of information security and data privacy (Duong, [0001]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG-FENG HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497