DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 January 2024 was filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract does not provide a summary indicating the technical field to which the invention pertains. The abstract shall be drafted in a way which allows the clear understanding of the technical problem, the gist of the solution of that problem through the invention, and the principal use or uses of the invention. It is apparent that the present abstract is an abstract of a temperature measurement probe, not a method of forming a temperature measurement probe.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The following title is suggested:
Method of Forming an In-contact Continuous Temperature Measurement Probe for Non-insulated Electric-Current Carrying Conductor
Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 4: “forming a mold” should read: -- providing a mold” because claim does not further recite or limit how a mold is formed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battiste (US 20130313742) in view of Colson (US 20030185280).
[AltContent: textbox (hole)][AltContent: textbox (mold)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (thermally conductive adhesive)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (molding tube)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (thermocouple)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 2, Battiste.
Regarding claim 1, Battiste teaches, a method for forming an in-contact temperature probe (Figs. 1 and 2, monitoring temperature of temporal-spatial properties of a dynamic fluid, Abstract) comprising:
selecting a shape for the in-contact temperature probe (temporal-spatial properties of the dynamic fluid front by monitoring a temperature of each of the plurality of heated temperature sensors while the mold space is being filled with the fluid, Abstract);
forming a mold (mold 1100, see annotated Fig. 2, para. [0028-0029]) that conforms to the selected shape of the in-contact temperature probe (see Fig. 2, providing a mold defining a mold space and having one or more openings into the mold space, para. [0014], the sensors may be arranged throughout the mold space surface in any pattern, para. [0022]);
inserting a molding tube (insulating tubing 1030, Fig. 2) into the mold;
drilling at least one hole (holes 1000, see annotated Fig. 2, sensor has cylindrical shape with four holes extending down its length.. close fitting hole is machined through the mold wall and the sensor is inserted into the hole, para. [0028, 0030]) in a surface of the molding tube;
placing at least one thermocouple (thermocouple 1001, two of the holes house a thermocouple 1001, for example a chromel-alumel type K thermocouple, para. [0028]) inside the molding tube;
injecting thermally conductive adhesive (structural adhesive 1020, Fig. 2, structural adhesive has a higher thermal conductivity than the insulating tubing, para. [0028]) into the molding tube to form an in-contact temperature probe structure.
Battiste does not explicitly teach, the temperature sensor probe that conforms to a shape of a measured surface; or curing the in-contact temperature probe structure. However, Colson teaches a method for forming a contact measurement probe for measuring a temperature of a substrate, including a mold, inserting a thermocouple into the mold, injecting thermally conductive adhesive, and curing the in-contact temperature probe structure (Figs. 1 to 5, mold is selected to conform to the desired shape of the probe head, e.g., disk shaped,…A thermocouple junction is preferably inserted into the ceramic paste filled mold, which is then hardened. For example, the ceramic paste filled mold can be heated at a temperature sufficient to harden the ceramic paste, thereby fixing the thermocouple junction into the hardened ceramic, para. [0038]).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Colson, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of forming an in-contact temperature sensor probe of Battiste and to replace the temperature probe of Battiste with a temperature sensor probe that conforms to a shape of a measured surface and curing the in-contact temperature probe structure as Colson disclosed in para. [0038] so that it enables providing greater temperature measurement accuracy for complex surfaces and process environments as Colson disclosed in para. [0019]. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in conforming the shape of a measured surface; or conforming the shape of the temperature probe. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 2, Battiste in view of Colson teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Battiste further teaches, the of claim 1 further comprising, injecting the thermally conductive adhesive such that no air gaps form in the in-contact temperature probe structure (a close fitting hole is machined through the mold wall and the sensor is inserted into the hole, para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Battiste in view of Colson teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Battiste further teaches, the method of claim 1 further comprising, selecting the at least one thermocouple and the thermally conductive adhesive to withstand temperatures up to 200 degrees Celsius (see, a chromel-alumel type K thermocouple, para. [0028], which operates up to 12600C).
Regarding claim 4, Battiste in view of Colson teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Battiste further teaches, the method of claim 1 further comprising, defining multiple holes in the molding tube (plurality of sensors 13 extends through holes in the mold material into the mold space, Fig. 1, para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, Battiste in view of Tillman teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Battiste further teaches, the method of claim 1 further comprising, forming a shaped thermocouple array in the molding tube (see Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battiste in view of Colson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gutting (WO 9701746).
Regarding claims 5-6, modified Battiste does not teach, shaping the in-contact temperature probe to completely enclose an inner space; or partially enclose an inner space. However, Gutting teaches, a method of forming an in-contact temperature probe (thermocouple 5, Fig. 1) including, inserting a thermocouple inside the molding tube (4, Fig. 1), injecting thermally conductive adhesive (ceramic cement, see Abstract) in which,
[AltContent: textbox (temperature probe)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 1, Gutting.
5. The method of claim 1 further comprising, shaping the in-contact temperature probe to completely enclose an inner space (a body 16 of heat conductive and electrically insulating ceramic cement fills the interior 17 of the tubular member 4 and envelops a stretch of each of the lead assemblies 8, 10, 12, 15 and 9, 11, 13, 15. The RTD 5 is thus totally embedded in the body 16, page 8, lines 24-30).
6. The method of claim 1 further comprising, shaping the in-contact temperature probe to partially enclose an inner space (a resistance temperature detector (RTD) 5 is located in the tubular member 3 in physical contact with a conical depression 6 in a plug element 7 closing one end of the tubular member 4, page 8, lines 10-13).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Gutting, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of forming the in-contact temperature sensor of Battiste and replace the temperature probe of Battiste with the probe as Gutting disclosed in Fig. 1 so that it enables forming the temperature probe as an integral member of the probe structure as Gutting disclosed in page 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 would be allowable for disclosing a method for forming an in-contact temperature probe further comprising, shaping the in-contact temperature probe to measure temperature over a predefined length of the measured surface as opposed to a single point on the measured surface.
Though, prior art of record Gutting teaches, shaping the in-contact temperature probe, Gutting fails to teach, shaping the in-contact temperature probe to measure temperature over a predefined length of the measured surface as opposed to a single point on the measured surface.
Though, prior art of record Colson teaches, the mold is selected to conform to the desired shape of the probe head, e.g., disk shaped, Colson fails to teach, shaping the in-contact temperature probe to measure temperature over a predefined length of the measured surface as opposed to a single point on the measured surface.
Prior art of record Battiste does not teach shaping the temperature sensor probe.
Therefore, claim 7 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prior art Tillman (US 20060165153) teaches, a method for forming an in-contact temperature probe including, selecting a shape for the in-contact temperature probe; forming a mold; inserting a molding tube; drilling at least one hole; placing a thermocouple inside the molding tube; injecting thermally conductive adhesive into the molding tube to form an in-contact temperature probe structure; and curing the in-contact temperature probe structure.
Prior art Wei (US 20170113388) teaches, a method for forming an in-contact temperature probe including, selecting a shape for the in-contact temperature probe; forming a mold; placing a thermocouple inside the molding tube; injecting thermally conductive adhesive into the molding tube to form an in-contact temperature probe structure; and curing the in-contact temperature probe structure.
Prior art Chang (US 6979121) teaches, a method for forming an in-contact temperature probe including, selecting a shape for the in-contact temperature probe; injecting thermally conductive adhesive to form an in-contact temperature probe structure; and curing the in-contact temperature probe structure.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729