DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes “: a first transfer device and a second transfer device configured to transfer the container.” This language is indefinite as it is not clear whether “configured to transfer the container” applies to both the first and second transfer devices or only the second transfer device. Clarification is necessary.
Claim 4 includes “the plurality of first storage shelves is arranged side by side in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction, and wherein the plurality of second storage shelves is arranged side by side in the vertical direction and the horizontal direction.” This is unclear as it is not apparent how many shelves are required or what configuration of shelves is required. For instance, a plurality only requires two shelves but any two shelves can only be horizontally side by side (next to one another) or vertically side by side (one above the other) but not both. The claim has been interpreted to require at least two shelves side by side in either the horizontal or the vertical direction. If the applicant intends to require both, it should be made clear including how many shelves are necessary (at least 3 shelves would be required to have a pair side by side and another pair one above the other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,305,818 to Kamikawa.
Regarding claim 1 Kamikawa discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a loading/unloading part (20) having a first side surface (left side in figure 3) into or from which a container accommodating a substrate is loaded or unloaded and a second side (right side of 20 in figure 3) surface opposite to the first side surface; a substrate transfer part (45 and figure 2) extending in a first direction orthogonal to the second side surface; and a plurality of batch processors (41, 42 and 43, figure 4 and col. 6 lines 48-60) adjacent to each other in a length direction of the substrate transfer part (figures 2 and 4), wherein the loading/unloading part comprises: a first transfer device (104a) and a second transfer device (23a/23b) configured to transfer the container; a first area accessible to the first transfer device and having a plurality of first storage shelves configured to store the container (see figure 4 with multiples instances of 212 and 221); a second area accessible to the second transfer device and having a plurality of second storage shelves configured to store the container (see figure 8 and 24/241); and a movable shelf (212) configured to be movable between the first area and the second area.
Regarding claim 2 Kamikawa discloses the first area and the second area are adjacent to each other in a horizontal direction, and wherein the movable shelf is movable in the horizontal direction (see figures 7 and 8, movement of 212).
Regarding claims 3, 5, 11 and 12 Kamikawa discloses a second movable shelf (section of 104b that engages pods, see figure 8) movable between the first area or the second area and another substrate processing apparatus provided adjacent to the substrate processing apparatus (transport of pod between adjacent machines, see figure 1, transfer between instances of 103 via 102).
Regarding claim 4 Kamikawa discloses the plurality of first storage shelves is arranged side by side in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction, and wherein the plurality of second storage shelves is arranged side by side in the vertical direction and the horizontal direction (see figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 10 Kamikawa discloses the first transfer device is incapable of accessing the second area, and wherein the second transfer device is incapable of accessing the first area (see figure 8, 104a limited to 21 whereas 23a and b are limited to area inside the housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa in view of US 11,121,014 to de Ridder.
Regarding claim 6, Kamikawa discloses all the limitation of the claim except the loading/unloading part includes a third storage shelve accessible from the substrate transfer part and accommodating a dummy substrate.
De Ridder teaches a substrate processing system including the loading/unloading part includes a third storage shelve accessible from the substrate transfer part and accommodating a dummy substrate (10 and col. 4 lines 25-30) in order to efficiently store dummy wafers which are used as fillers during batch processing (col 1 lines 33-35 and lines 53-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Kamikawa to include the loading/unloading part includes a third storage shelve accessible from the substrate transfer part and accommodating a dummy substrate, as taught by de Ridder, in order to efficiently store dummy wafers which are used as fillers during batch processing.
Regarding claim 7 see discussion above regarding claims 3, 5, 11 and 12.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa in view of US 6,896,513 to Bachrach.
Regarding claim 8, Kamikawa discloses the loading/unloading part includes a driver (215/217) configured to move the movable shelf between the first area and the second area (see figure 7), but does not disclose the driver includes a rodless cylinder.
Bachrach teaches a device including a driver includes a rodless cylinder for linear motion (col. 4 lines 50-25) as one of numerous alternative forms of actuators that can be used to provide linear actuation (col. 4 lines 50-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Kamikawa to include the driver includes a rodless cylinder, as taught by Bachrach, in order to provide linear actuation. Additionally, doing so merely entails replacing one known actuator with another known actuator to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9 see discussion above regarding claims 3, 5, 11 and 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited prior art show other stocker arrangements with multiple transfer devices. Specific attention is drawn to US 7,637,707 to Perlov which shows two storage/stockers with their own transfer devices connected by a separate third device (see figure 9).
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652