DETAILED ACTION
Priority
No foreign or domestic priority is claimed. The effective filing date of U.S. Application No. 18/483,067 is 10/09/2023.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Overview of Grounds of Rejection
Ground of Rejection
Claim(s)
Statute(s) (e.g., § 102, § 103)
Reference(s)
1
1, 3, 9, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20
§ 103
Patel et al. in view of Harron et al.
2
2, 4
§ 103
Patel et al. in view of Harron et al., further in view of Oxholm et al., and still further in view of Wei
3
5
§ 103
Patel et al. in view of Harron et al., and further in view of Wang et al.
4
6, 12
§ 103
Patel et al. in view of Harron et al., and further in view of Srinivasan et al.
5
7
§ 103
Patel et al. in view of Harron et al., and further in view of Houlberg
6
8
§ 103
Patel et al. in view of Harron et al., and further in view of Beyabani et al.
7
10, 11
§ 103
Patel et al. in view of Harron et al., further in view of Beyabani et al., and still further in view of Li et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Please see the cited paragraphs, sections, pages, or surrounding text in the references for the paraphrased content.)
Claims 1, 3, 9, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (NPL) in view of Harron et al. (US20200104625A1).
As per Claim 1, Patel teaches the following portion of Claim 1, which recites:
“A computer-implemented method, comprising: identifying, by using a first neural network, one or more regions in a first frame of a video sequence, the one or more regions including one or more overlay elements;”
Patel et al. (NPL) teaches a neural-network branch that produces a mask, i.e., identifies a region corresponding to the overlay/caption:
“We use an encoder-decoder based CNN model to generate the inpainted frames and the caption detection masks. The network has two branches each for the image generation and the mask generation tasks …” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2, p.2.
“The decoder tries to generate … a mask containing ones at the pixels that are captions and zeros everywhere else.” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2.1, p.4.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed “first neural network” and “second neural network” do not require physically separate hardware or wholly unrelated architectures. Patel’s two task-specific CNN branches—one for mask generation and one for image generation—correspond to, or at least render obvious, the claimed first and second neural networks.
Patel alone does not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Harron, they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
Harron et al. supports treating these caption regions as “overlay elements” detected by a neural-network overlay detector:
“creating a probability map assigning a probability … where the assigned probability corresponds to a likelihood that the … feature is an overlay” — Harron et al., ¶[0003].
Patel’s mask-generation branch identifies pixel regions for captions, which are a type of overlay. Harron confirms neural-network identification of overlays as “overlay” features/regions.
Patel further teaches the following portion of Claim 1, which recites:
“generating, by using the first neural network, at least one overlay mask identifying the one or more regions in the first frame;”
Patel et al. teaches that the neural-network architecture generates caption masks:
“The network has two branches each for the image generation and the mask generation tasks …” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2, p.2.
“The decoder tries to generate … a mask containing ones at the pixels that are captions and zeros everywhere else.” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2.1, p.4.
Harron et al. further supports the overlay-mask limitation:
“The masking component 602 filters the probability map 506 to create an overlay mask 702, which can be, for example, a binary mask.” — Harron et al., ¶[0046].
Thus, Patel and Harron collectively teach generating an overlay/caption mask identifying the overlay regions in the first frame.
Patel teaches the following portion of Claim 1, which recites:
“generating a second frame using a second neural network that receives the first frame and the overlay mask as an input, the second frame including generated content in place of the one or more overlay elements within the one or more regions identified by the overlay mask;”
Patel et al. (NPL) teaches a second neural-network branch that takes the frame as input and generates inpainted output content:
“We use an encoder-decoder based CNN model to generate the inpainted frames …” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2, p.2.
“The input to the Generator module is 128 × 128 × 3 sized tensor corresponding to the frame of the input video to be inpainted.” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2.1, p.4.
Patel further teaches that masks are used with the corresponding video frames:
“Inputs to the network are frames from the captioned videos and the caption masks extracted for the corresponding frames.” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2, p.3.
Patel also teaches that the detected mask controls which pixels are taken from the original frame and which pixels are taken from the inpainted frame:
“The detected caption mask allows us to copy the non-masked region pixels from the original frame and masked pixels from the inpainted frame.” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2, p.3.
Patel’s image-generation branch receives the frame and generates an inpainted frame. Patel’s detected caption mask identifies the regions to be replaced, and the masked pixels are taken from the inpainted frame, thereby providing generated content in place of the overlay elements within the regions identified by the mask. To the extent Patel is argued not to directly disclose the mask as an input to the image-generation branch itself, it would have been obvious to provide the generated caption/overlay mask to the image-generation branch to guide inpainting of only the masked overlay region, because Patel already teaches mask-guided compositing of original pixels and inpainted pixels for the same overlay-removal purpose.
Patel teaches the following portion of Claim 1, which recites:
“and providing, for display, the second frame.”
Patel et al. (NPL) is a video decaptioning pipeline that outputs processed frames as the restored video result:
“Inputs to the network are frames from the captioned videos … [and] generate the inpainted frames …” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2, p.2–3.
“The network can simultaneously do frame level caption detection and inpainting.” — Patel et al. (NPL), Conclusion, p.9.
Because Patel’s method outputs restored/inpainted video frames from captioned video, the resulting frames are suitable for viewing and are provided for display as part of the restored video output.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Harron et al.’s neural-network overlay framing and overlay-mask generation to Patel et al.’s joint mask-generation and inpainting pipeline, because doing so predictably broadens Patel’s caption-removal workflow to general overlay removal while preserving the same detect→mask→inpaint workflow. This yields expected improvements in applicability, overlay localization, reduced manual masking, and generation of replacement content in the masked overlay region using known neural-network techniques, with predictable results.
As per Claim 3, Patel teaches Claim 3 which recites:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the second neural network includes a trained inpainting deep neural network.”
Patel et al. discloses an inpainting CNN that is trained and used to generate inpainted frames:
“We use an encoder-decoder based CNN model to generate the inpainted frames …” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2, p.2.
“We train our network …” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2.2 (“Training”), p.4.
“Generator Module … is an encoder-decoder based CNN model … to generate inpainted images …” — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2.1, p.3–4.
Patel’s image-generation branch is a deep CNN that is trained and produces inpainted output frames, matching the “second neural network includes a trained inpainting deep neural network” limitation.
Processor Claim 9 does not include any additional limitations that would significantly distinguish it from claim 1. Therefore, it is likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the same references and for the same reasons set forth above.
Processor Claim 13 does not include any additional limitations that would significantly distinguish it from claim 3. Therefore, it is likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the same references and for the same reasons set forth above.
As per Claim 14, Patel alone does not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Harron, they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
Harron teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 14 that recites:
"The processor of claim 9, wherein the processor is comprised in at least one of: [...] a system for performing deep learning operations; [...]"
Harron et al. explicitly disclose a processor designed for systems employing deep learning operations:
"The feature map network 402 and probability map network 404 in the example of FIG. 4 are neural networks implemented on one or more computing systems that include one or more processors [...] to implement the methods and systems described herein." — Harron et al., ¶ [0040].
Harron et al., ¶ [0019], further specify that their system employs neural networks explicitly, including "recurrent deep neural networks utilizing a Long Short-Term Memory (LSTM) architecture" to detect overlays.
These disclosures clearly satisfy the limitation regarding "a system for performing deep learning operations" explicitly claimed in Claim 14. Harron et al.’s computing system explicitly employs neural network architectures, including CNN and LSTM-based recurrent neural networks, thereby providing a robust and explicit basis for this rejection.
The rationale and motivation to combine the references as set forth for claim 1 are incorporated herein by reference for the present claim.
System Claim 15 does not include any additional limitations that would significantly distinguish it from claim 1. Therefore, it is likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the same references and for the same reasons set forth above.
As per Claim 16, Patel alone do not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Harron, they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
Harron teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 16 that recites, among other alternatives:
"The system of claim 15, wherein a first neural network identifies the overlay elements using one or more feature detection models."
Harron et al. (US20200104625A1) explicitly disclose a neural-network-based system for identifying overlay elements through feature extraction and detection techniques:
"The feature map network 402 can be a convolutional neural network (CNN) that extracts, from an image, a grid of vectors, each representing features of a particular portion of the image." — Harron et al., ¶ [0050].
"The probability map network 404 analyzes the grid of vectors generated by the feature map network 402 and assigns a probability to each feature in the image. The assigned probability can indicate a likelihood that the feature is an overlay." — Harron et al., ¶ [0044].
These disclosures clearly describe a first neural network (feature map CNN) explicitly identifying overlay elements through the use of feature detection models, directly corresponding to the limitation of Claim 16.
Patel et al. (NPL) explicitly disclose using CNN-based feature detection models for detecting overlay elements (captions):
"We use an encoder-decoder based CNN model to generate the inpainted frames and the caption detection masks simultaneously." — Patel et al., Section 2 ("Proposed Method"), Page 2.
Patel et al. reinforce the well-known practice of using CNN-based feature detection models for identifying graphical overlays.
The rationale and motivation to combine the references as set forth for claim 1 are incorporated herein by reference for the present claim.
As per Claim 17, Patel alone does not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Harron, they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
Harron teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 17 that recites:
"The system of claim 16, wherein the one or more processing units are further to generate a mask for the input frame corresponding to the one or more regions."
Harron et al. (US20200104625A1) explicitly disclose generating a mask for an input frame corresponding to regions identified as overlays:
"The masking component 602 filters the probability map 506 to create an overlay mask 702, which can be, for example, a binary mask." — Harron et al., ¶ [0047].
This disclosure clearly aligns with the claim limitation, demonstrating explicitly the step of generating a mask corresponding to regions identified as overlays by the neural network system described in Harron et al.
Claim 17 introduces the generation of a mask based on regions identified by the neural network. Harron et al. explicitly disclose exactly this step—a masking component generating a binary mask corresponding precisely to regions identified by the overlay detection neural networks. Therefore, Harron et al. alone explicitly teach this limitation, rendering the claim obvious. Additionally, because the generation of a binary mask from overlay detection probability maps is an inherent and necessary result of the disclosed overlay-detection pipeline, this represents a predictable and routine practice in the art, further confirming the obviousness of the claimed system.
The rationale and motivation to combine the references as set forth for claim 1 are incorporated herein by reference for the present claim.
System Claim 18 does not include any additional limitations that would significantly distinguish it from method claim 1. Therefore, it is likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the same references and for the same reasons set forth above.
System Claim 19 does not include any additional limitations that would significantly distinguish it from method claim 3. Therefore, it is likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the same references and for the same reasons set forth above.
As per Claim 20, Patel alone does not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Harron, they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
AHarron teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 20 that recites, among other alternatives:
"The system of claim 15, wherein the system is one of:… a system for performing deep learning operations; …"
Harron et al. explicitly disclose a system that employs deep learning operations:
"The feature map network 402 and probability map network 404 in the example of FIG. 4 are neural networks implemented on one or more computing systems..." — Harron et al., ¶ [0040].
Harron et al., ¶ [0019], also specify explicitly that their disclosed system leverages "machine learning principles include one or more aspects relating to neural networks, such as recurrent deep neural networks utilizing a Long Short-Term Memory (LSTM) architecture".
This explicit disclosure robustly aligns with Claim 20’s limitation of "a system for performing deep learning operations," as Harron et al. explicitly describe their system as employing deep neural network architectures for processing images to detect overlays.
The rationale and motivation to combine the references as set forth for claim 1 are incorporated herein by reference for the present claim.
Claims 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (NPL) in view of Harron et al. (US20200104625A1), further in view of Oxholm, and still further in view of Wei (NPL).
As per Claim 2, Patel alone does not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Oxholm and Wei (NPL), they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
As per Claim 2, Wei and Oxholm teach the limitation(s) of Claim 2 that recites: “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a mask for the video sequence, the mask including positions for the one or more overlay elements.”
Wei discloses:
"In the image watermark removal technique, we need to use the binarization mask of the watermark as the ground truth, which is similar to a watermark segmentation problem requiring very fine pixel-level manual extraction" — Wei (NPL), Section 3 ("Data"), Page 2.
This disclosure precisely aligns with the claim limitation, explicitly disclosing the use of a "mask" that directly indicates positions of overlay elements (watermark pixels).
Oxholm et al. further support this limitation, disclosing annotations as positional markers:
"[A] computing system accesses a set of video frames with annotations identifying a target region to be modified" — Oxholm et al., Abstract.
"[A] set of video frames that includes a first frame and a second frame having respective annotations identifying a target region to be modified" — Oxholm et al., ¶ [0004].
The annotated regions in Oxholm et al. inherently imply positional marking of targeted overlay elements, rendering them obvious equivalents to the claimed mask structure.
Combining Wei’s explicit disclosure of masks marking watermark pixels with Oxholm et al.’s annotations for region identification would thus be an obvious improvement, predictable to a person of ordinary skill, resulting in enhanced accuracy and convenience in identifying and processing overlay elements.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Patel’s video decaptioning pipeline with Oxholm’s use of user-provided region indications (“annotations identifying a target region to be modified”) and Wei’s teaching of using a watermark “binarization mask” because supplying an explicit mask/annotation to mark overlay positions is a straightforward, well-known way to guide and improve overlay removal and inpainting, yielding predictable benefits such as more accurate localization of the overlay region and more reliable replacement of those pixels without changing the overall workflow.
As per Claim 4, Patel alone does not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Oxholm and Wei (NPL), they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
As per Claim 4, Wei and Oxholm teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 4 that recites:
"The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:predicting, based on one or more features of the video sequence, a static overlay element position."
Wei describes the general watermark removal scenario broadly:
"Watermarks can be overlaid anywhere on a background image of varying size, shape, color and transparency. Furthermore, watermarks often contain complex patterns... the structure, position and size of these watermarks vary from image to image." — Wei (NPL), Section 1 ("Introduction"), Page 1.
Wei further describes generating synthetic data sets clearly using known positional data (ground truth):
"In the experiment, we synthesize watermark images by embedding visual watermarks into background images, where the visual watermarks are simplified to be random character strings with different opacities." — Wei (NPL), Section 3 ("Data"), Page 2.
The creation of synthetic watermark images involves inherently known or fixed positional information as training ground truth data. Wei’s network, once trained on data with known positions, effectively learns to detect and localize watermarks in subsequent unseen inputs, inherently performing a form of positional prediction. Although Wei addresses general scenarios where watermarks may vary widely, the trained neural network must inherently analyze features from incoming images (or video frames) to localize (predict positions of) watermarks, whether static or dynamic.
Oxholm et al. disclose the broad use of annotations to identify and replace regions in video frames (Oxholm et al., Abstract, ¶ [0004]), but they do not clearly teach the specific limitation of predicting positions based on features of the video sequence.
However, integrating Wei’s robust localization approach into Oxholm et al.’s method to predict the location of static overlays would be a clear and logical step for one skilled in the art, particularly in scenarios where static overlays (like certain watermarks, logos, or timestamps) frequently appear in fixed locations across frames. A skilled artisan, aiming for reliable and consistent watermark detection and removal in video sequences, would readily apply Wei's trained model approach—developed to predict watermark locations based on image features—to improve Oxholm et al.’s video inpainting system. Such a combination would yield predictably enhanced results, improved robustness, and increased reliability in detecting and removing recurring, static overlays.
The rationale and motivation to combine the references as set forth for claim 2 are incorporated herein by reference for the present claim.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Harron, and further in view of Wang et al. (NPL) ("Wang et al.").
As per Claim 5, Patel and Harron alone do not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Wang et al. (NPL), they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
As per Claim 5, Wang teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 5 that recites:
" The computer-implemented method of claim 1, where the video sequence is for a video game, further comprising:
receiving the first frame in-real time during execution of the video game, wherein generating the second frame and providing the second frame are performed within a period of time corresponding to a display setting for the video game."
Wang et al. clearly teach real-time video inpainting explicitly optimized for low-latency applications:
"We propose a real-time Video Inpainting method to solve this problem with minimal hardware needs," specifically noting the algorithm is "capable of running at 23 frames per second (FPS) on a laptop computer", thus clearly suitable for real-time interactive applications such as video gaming — Wang et al. (NPL), Abstract, Page 1.
Wang et al. further disclose, "To support real-time applications, we need a lightweight optical flow estimation network. FastFlowNet balances well between accuracy and efficiency," reinforcing suitability for demanding real-time interactive environments (e.g., video games) — Wang et al. (NPL), Section III-B ("Method"), Page 4.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Patel’s CNN-based caption/overlay detection and inpainting pipeline with Wang et al.’s real-time, low-latency video inpainting implementation because doing so predictably enables the same overlay-removal/inpainting workflow to meet interactive frame-time constraints (e.g., a game display budget), yielding expected improvements in throughput and responsiveness (e.g., real-time operation at practical FPS) without changing the underlying inpainting function.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Paten in view of Harron and further in view of Srinivasan et al. (NPL).
As per Claim 6, Patel and Harron alone do not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Srinivasan et al. (NPL), they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
Srinivasan et al. (NPL) teaches the following portion of Claim 6, which recites:
"The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
decreasing a resolution of the first frame, prior to generating the second frame;"
Srinivasan et al. clearly disclose downsampling input frames before inpainting for computational efficiency:
"The key idea is to first learn and apply a spatial-temporal inpainting network (STA-Net) on the downsampled low resolution videos." — Srinivasan et al. (NPL), Section 1 ("Introduction"), Page 1.
This citation explicitly and accurately describes downsampling input frames prior to inpainting, directly aligning with limitation.
Srinivasan et al. (NPL) teaches the following portion of Claim 6, which recites:
"increasing the resolution of the second frame after generating the second frame, the second frame being initially generated at a lower resolution."
Srinivasan et al. further explicitly disclose upsampling after inpainting frames initially generated at lower resolution:
"Then, we refine the low resolution results by aggregating the learned spatial and temporal image residuals (i.e., high frequency details) to the upsampled inpainted frames." — Srinivasan et al. (NPL), Section 1 ("Introduction"), Page 1.
This quote confirms that inpainted results, initially at a lower resolution, are subsequently increased (upsampled), clearly aligning with the limitation.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Patel’s CNN-based overlay/caption detection and inpainting pipeline with Srinivasan et al.’s downsample→inpaint→upsample framework because it predictably reduces memory/compute while preserving output quality, enabling faster processing of higher-resolution frames using the same inpainting approach, with expected improvements in efficiency and throughput.
Processor Claim 12 does not include any additional limitations that would significantly distinguish it from claim 6. Therefore, it is likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the same references and for the same reasons set forth above.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Harron and further in view of Houlberg (US20040227819A1).
As per Claim 7, Patel and Harron alone do not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Houlberg, they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
Houlberg teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 7 that recites:
"The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:determining an activation status associated with a system to generate the second frame is active."
Houlberg clearly teaches determining system activation status through explicit hardware-based status indicators:
"Solid Green indicates that the Auto Focus and Zoom Controller 20 is functioning normally. The configuration file (config.txt) and the track file have been detected and successfully read, a USB Game Pad or Switch Pad or Remote Switch was detected and all Lens Systems and the Focus Tables are initialized and functioning as specified." — Houlberg, ¶ [0042].
This disclosure directly aligns with the claim’s requirement of "determining an activation status," clearly establishing a reliable, hardware-based indicator confirming that the system components required for generating and providing frames or overlays are active and operational.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Patel’s frame-level overlay detection/inpainting pipeline with Houlberg’s system activation-status indication (e.g., “functioning normally” status) to provide a predictable reliability/user-control enhancement—i.e., checking that the processing system is active/ready before generating and outputting the processed frame—without altering the underlying inpainting functionality.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Harron and further in view of Beyabani et al. (US20090328085A1).
As per Claim 8, Patel and Harron alone do not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Beyabani et al., they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
Beyabani teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 8 that recites:
"The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:determining an application associated with the first frame is on an allow list."
Beyabani et al. clearly teach using a whitelist (allow list) to selectively determine whether specific programming content should be processed or excluded from interruptions:
"Preferred content list 480 may act as a so-called white-list of programming content that should not be interrupted with the overlay." — Beyabani et al., ¶ [0044].
This disclosure clearly aligns with the claimed limitation regarding determining whether content (reasonably interpreted to encompass applications or associated programming content) is on an allow list. Although Beyabani specifically references "programming content," a skilled artisan would readily understand this to extend naturally to software applications delivering video frames or associated content. Hence, determining whether an application or associated programming content is on an allow list is an obvious extension of Beyabani’s clearly disclosed preferred content whitelist.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Patel’s overlay/caption detection and inpainting pipeline with Beyabani et al.’s allow-list (“white-list”) control (“Preferred content list 480 … white-list … should not be interrupted” — Beyabani et al., ¶[0044]) to achieve predictable policy-based gating - i.e., selectively enabling or bypassing overlay removal for frames associated with approved applications/content—yielding expected improvements in user control and system flexibility without changing the underlying inpainting technique.
Claims 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Harron, further in view of Beyabani et al. (US20090328085A1), and still further in view of Li et al. (US20030043172A1).
As per Claim 10, Patel alone do not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Beyabani and Li, they collectively teach all the limitation(s) of Claim 10.
“determine an application associated with the frame”: Beyabani teaches a content-based whitelist policy (“Preferred content list 480 … white-list of programming content …”) — Beyabani et al., ¶[0044].
“receive a mask corresponding to the one or more regions”: Patel teaches use of caption detection masks with frames — Patel et al. (NPL), Section 2, p.2–3.
“wherein the mask is pre-determined for the application”: Li teaches that when an overlay is known beforehand, “a template can be furnished in advance” and may provide location/size — Li et al., ¶[0068] (see also ¶[0069]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Patel’s mask-based overlay detection and inpainting workflow with Li’s use of pre-supplied overlay templates when an overlay is known in advance and Beyabani’s allow-list (“white-list”) content control to achieve predictable efficiency and policy-based control - i.e., selectively applying overlay removal using pre-determined masks for approved applications - without altering the underlying inpainting technique.
As per Claim 11, Patel and Harron alone do not explicitly teach all the limitation(s) of the claim. However, when combined with Li, they collectively teach all the limitation(s).
As per Claim 11, Harron and Li teach the limitation(s) of Claim 11 that recites:"The processor of claim 10, wherein the mask is pre-determined for the application."
Li et al. (US20030043172A1) disclose explicitly using a pre-determined mask ("template") when graphical overlays are known beforehand:
"If the graphical overlay is known, a priori, then a template can be furnished in advance." — Li et al., ¶ [0068].
"This template can also carry size and location information." — Li et al., ¶ [0016].
Li et al. further explicitly disclose that some overlays remain static and fixed in a known position:
"Some graphical overlays may remain in a single location, such as, for example, a broadcaster logo in the bottom right corner of the video frames." — Li et al., ¶ [0039].
These explicit disclosures precisely demonstrate a mask that is pre-determined for a specific, known application, directly aligning with the limitation requiring a "mask pre-determined for the application."
Harron et al. (US20200104625A1) disclose a neural-network-based processor generating masks for overlay detection and removal:
"The masking component 602 filters the probability map to produce an overlay mask 702, which can be, for example, a binary mask." — Harron et al., ¶ [0047].
This supports the underlying claimed processor and neural network-based mask generation system described in claim 10.
The rationale and motivation to combine the references as set forth for claim 10 are incorporated herein by reference for the present claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the RCE have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Patel does not teach “generating, by using the first neural network, at least one overlay mask identifying the one or more regions in the first frame” because Patel describes masks extracted from differences between ground-truth decaptioned videos and input videos. This argument is not persuasive. Patel is not relied upon merely for preexisting ground-truth masks. Patel teaches an encoder-decoder CNN having two branches, including a mask-generation branch, and states that the network generates caption detection masks. Patel further teaches that the decoder generates “a mask containing ones at the pixels that are captions and zeros everywhere else.” Thus, Patel teaches a neural-network branch that generates a mask identifying caption/overlay regions.
Applicant also argues that Patel teaches only a single joint multi-task CNN rather than a first neural network and a second neural network. This argument is not persuasive under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The claim does not require the first and second neural networks to be physically separate hardware structures, completely unrelated architectures, or networks with no shared layers. Patel’s two task-specific neural-network branches—one for mask generation and one for image generation—reasonably correspond to the claimed first and second neural networks. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to implement Patel’s mask-generation branch and image-generation branch as separate neural-network modules to perform the same known tasks with predictable results.
Applicant further argues that Patel’s mask is used only for post-generation compositing and is not provided as an input to the image-generation branch. This argument does not overcome the rejection. Patel teaches that frames and corresponding caption masks are used in the inpainting workflow, and that the detected caption mask controls which pixels are copied from the original frame and which pixels are copied from the inpainted frame. Therefore, Patel teaches using the mask to define the region where generated content replaces the caption/overlay. To the extent Patel does not expressly state that the generated mask is fed directly into the image-generation branch as a separate input, it would have been obvious to provide the generated mask to the image-generation branch to guide generation in the masked overlay region, because Patel already uses the mask for the same region-constrained inpainting and compositing purpose.
Applicant further argues that Harron does not cure the alleged deficiencies. This argument is not persuasive because Harron is relied upon to confirm that detected visual regions such as captions correspond to overlay regions and to teach neural-network-based overlay detection and overlay-mask generation. Harron teaches producing a probability map corresponding to the likelihood that a feature is an overlay and further teaches generating an overlay mask from that probability map. Thus, Harron supports applying Patel’s caption-mask/inpainting workflow to overlay elements generally.
The proposed combination does not require improper hindsight or wholesale reconstruction of Patel. Patel already teaches a neural-network-based caption detection/mask generation and inpainting workflow. Harron teaches neural-network overlay detection and overlay-mask generation. Combining these teachings would have predictably broadened Patel’s caption-removal workflow to general overlay removal while preserving the same basic detect→mask→inpaint process. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the rejection of independent claim 1. Claims 9 and 15 are unpersuasive for the same reasons because they recite corresponding processor/system limitations. Dependent claims are likewise not allowable merely by virtue of their dependency from claims 1, 9, or 15.
Examiner’s Suggested Amendments
Applicant is advised that the present rejections address different limitations in separate grounds of rejection. Applicant may consider amending an independent claim to include a more specific combination of the features currently addressed in Grounds 1–6, such as the neural-network overlay detection/inpainting workflow, application-based allow-list control, pre-determined application-specific mask/template, real-time processing, and/or resolution downsampling/upsampling features. Such an amendment may place the claims in better condition for allowance, provided the amendment is supported by the original disclosure and overcomes any remaining issues under 35 U.S.C. §§ 101, 102, 103, and 112. No indication of allowability is made at this time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and relied upon in this action is as follows:
Patent Literature:
Oxholm et al. (US20200118594A1)
Houlberg (US20040227819A1)
Beyabani et al. (US20090328085A1)
Li et al. (US20030043172A1)
Harron et al. (US20200104625A1)
Non-Patent Literature (NPL):
Wang et al., "Real-Time Video Inpainting for RGB-D Pipeline Reconstruction", (1 Oct 2023). Available at: [https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/abstract/document/10341971]
Wei, "Visual Watermark Removal Based on Deep Learning", (7 Feb 2023). Available at: [https://arxiv.org/pdf/2302.11338]
Srinivasan et al., "Spatial-Temporal Residual Aggregation for High Resolution Video Inpainting", (2021). Available at: [https://arxiv.org/pdf/2111.03574]
Patel & Pandey, "Joint Caption Detection and Inpainting Using Generative Network", (17 Oct 2019, Springer 2019). Available at: [https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Anubha-Pandey/publication/336581194_Joint_Caption_Detection_and_Inpainting_Using_Generative_Network/links/5f8c8def458515b7cf8b35c4/Joint-Caption-Detection-and-Inpainting-Using-Generative-Network.pdf]
Note: A PDF copy of each NPL reference is attached with this Office Action. URLs are included for applicant convenience. If a link becomes unavailable in the future, the citation information may be used to locate the reference or access archived versions via the Wayback Machine.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed as follows:
Patent Literature:
Non-Patent Literature (NPL):
Kim et al., "Deep Blind Video Decaptioning by Temporal Aggregation and Recurrence", (8 May 2019, CVPR 2019). Available at: [https://arxiv.org/pdf/1905.02949]
/ADEEL BASHIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2616
/DANIEL F HAJNIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2616