DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda (US 20170263445 A1) in view of Jin (KR 20100078053 A, Machine Translation).
As to claim 1, Soda discloses a method for manufacturing a photomask [Abstract; para. 0030], the method comprising:
providing a pre-photomask, the pre-photomask including a first area, a second area configured to perform a first duty correction, and a third area configured to perform a second duty correction [para. 0033-36; Fig. 3];
forming a pre-photoresist pattern using the pre-photomask such that the pre-photoresist pattern has a stepped shape having at least three steps in a cross-sectional view of the pre-photoresist pattern [para. 0037; Fig. 3. 4a-4b];
analyzing a profile of the pre-photoresist pattern in the cross-sectional view [para. 0037-38; Fig. 4b].
Soda fails to explicitly disclose:
inserting an auxiliary pattern into at least one of the first to third areas, based on a result of the analyzing of the profile of the pre-photoresist pattern.
However, Jin teaches a method of correcting a photomask step profile using an auxiliary pattern to increase pattern density so that an accurate photoresist profile can be generated [Abstract; Fig. 1a-1b; Fig. 2a-2b], comprising: forming a photoresist using a photomask pattern (S300), detecting a trapezoidal shape in the profile (S302) resulting from a line pattern 202, inserting an auxiliary pattern 204 into the adjacent position of the line pattern 202 (S304), and patterning the photoresist 208 using the pattern (S306) [pg. 4, para. 4-9; Fig. 3].
Jin therefore teaches:
inserting an auxiliary pattern 204 into at least one of the first to third areas [Figs. 1a, 2a], based on a result of the analyzing of the profile of the pre-photoresist pattern [pg. 4, para. 4-9; Fig. 3].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a stepped photoresist pattern, of Soda, to include the process of inserting an auxiliary pattern into a photomask pattern, based on a result of detecting a profile of a patterned photoresist having a trapezoidal shape (e.g., sloped edges), of Jin, in order to correct a patterned photoresist profile to have straight edges, as taught by Jin [Abstract; pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a], and thereby ensure pattern fidelity of the photoresist.
As to claim 2, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the pre-photoresist pattern is formed to include first to third portions sequentially arranged [Fig. 3-Fig. 4a], wherein the first portion is formed using the first area, wherein the second portion is formed using the second area, and wherein the third portion is formed using the third area [Fig. 3-Fig. 4a].
As to claim 3, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second portion includes a first sub-portion and a second sub-portion sequentially arranged in a first direction between the first portion and the third portion [Fig. 3-Fig. 4a]., the first sub-portion having a constant vertical dimension as the first sub-portion extends in the first direction, and the second sub-portion having a varying vertical dimension as the second sub-portion extends in the first direction [Fig. 3-Fig. 4a].
As to claim 4, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the auxiliary pattern is inserted into a portion of the second area corresponding to the second sub-portion.
As to claim 5, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the inserted auxiliary pattern includes one or more auxiliary patterns [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a], the second sub-portion includes an upper portion, and a lower portion under the upper portion such that the lower portion overlaps with the third portion in the first direction [Soda, Fig. 3-Fig. 4a], and wherein the inserting the auxiliary pattern includes determining a number of auxiliary patterns to be inserted based on a width in the first direction of the upper portion, and a height of the upper portion [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
As to claim 6, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a fourth duty correction on at least one of the first to third areas [Soda, Fig. 3-Fig. 4a] based on the result of the analyzing the profile of the pre-photoresist pattern [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
As to claim 7, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the pre-photomask further includes a fourth area performed a third duty correction, and the stepped shape has at least four steps in the cross-sectional view [Soda, Fig. 3-Fig. 4a].
As to claim 8, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the inserted auxiliary pattern includes one or more auxiliary patterns, and the inserting the auxiliary pattern includes determining a number of auxiliary patterns to be inserted based on a sensitivity of the pre-photomask to light [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
As to claim 9, modified Soda discloses a method for manufacturing a photomask, the method comprising:
providing a pre-photoresist [para. 0033-36; Fig. 3];
providing a pre-photomask over the pre-photoresist, the pre-photomask including at least a first area configured to perform a first duty correction and a second area configured to perform a second duty correction [para. 0033-36; Fig. 3];
performing an exposure process on the pre-photoresist using the pre-photomask to form a pre-photoresist pattern [para. 0037; Fig. 3. 4a-4b], wherein the pre-photoresist pattern includes a first portion formed using the first area and a second portion formed using the second area such that, in a cross-sectional view of the pre-photoresist pattern, the first area includes a first sub-portion having a constant vertical dimension, and a second sub-portion having a varying vertical dimension [para. 0037; Fig. 3. 4a-4b];
analyzing a profile of the second sub-portion of the pre-photoresist pattern[para. 0037-38; Fig. 4b]; and
inserting an auxiliary pattern into the first area based on a result of the analyzing the profile of the second sub-portion [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a stepped photoresist pattern, of Soda, to include the process of inserting an auxiliary pattern into a photomask pattern, based on a result of detecting a profile of a patterned photoresist having a trapezoidal shape (e.g., sloped edges), of Jin, in order to correct a patterned photoresist profile to have straight edges, as taught by Jin [Abstract; pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a], and thereby ensure pattern fidelity of the photoresist.
As to claim 10, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the inserted auxiliary pattern includes one or more auxiliary patterns, wherein inserting the auxiliary pattern includes determining a number of the auxiliary patterns to be inserted based on a slope of a top surface of the second sub-portion [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
As to claim 11, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: repeating the exposure process, the analyzing the profile, and inserting the auxiliary pattern until the slope of the top surface of the second sub-portion is smaller than a set value [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a, 3].
As to claim 12, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the auxiliary pattern is inserted into a portion [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a] of the first area corresponding to the second sub-portion [Soda, Fig. 3-Fig. 4a].
As to claim 13, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the inserted auxiliary pattern includes one or more auxiliary patterns, wherein the inserting the auxiliary pattern includes determining a number of the auxiliary patterns to be inserted based on a sensitivity of the pre-photomask to light [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
Here, Jin teaches the auxiliary patterns are chosen based on the profile of the patterned photoresist, which is inherently formed based on a sensitivity of the photoresist to light.
As to claim 14 modified Soda discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: performing a fourth duty correction on the first area based on the result of the analyzing the profile of the second sub-portion [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a, 3].
As to claim 15, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the pre-photoresist pattern is formed to have a stepped shape having at least three steps in the cross-sectional view [Soda, Fig. 3-Fig. 4a].
As to claim 16, modified Soda discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
manufacturing a photomask [para. 0033-36; Fig. 3];
forming a photoresist pattern using the photomask such that the photoresist pattern has a stepped shape having at least three steps in a cross-sectional view of the photoresist pattern [para. 0037; Fig. 3. 4a-4b];
forming a step-shaped mold structure using the photoresist pattern as an etching mask, wherein the mold structure includes a plurality of mold insulating films and a plurality of gate electrodes alternately stacked on top of each other [para. 0024; para. 0051, Fig. 7a]; and
forming a channel structure extending through the mold structure and connected to the gate electrodes [para. 0054, Fig. 8],
wherein the manufacturing of the photomask includes
providing a pre-photomask including a first area, a second area configured to perform first duty correction, and a third area configured to perform a second duty correction [para. 0033-36; Fig. 3],
forming a pre-photoresist pattern using the pre-photomask such that the pre-photoresist pattern has a stepped shape having at least three steps in a cross-sectional view of the pre-photoresist pattern [para. 0037; Fig. 3. 4a-4b],
analyzing a profile of the pre-photoresist pattern in the cross-sectional view [para. 0037-38; Fig. 4b] inserting an auxiliary pattern into at least one of the first to third areas based on a result of the analyzing of the profile of the pre-photoresist pattern [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a], and
performing a fourth duty correction on at least one of the first to third areas using the pre-photoresist pattern with the inserted auxiliary pattern [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
As to claim 17, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the pre-photoresist pattern is formed to include first to third portions sequentially arranged, wherein the first portion is formed using the first area, wherein the second portion is formed using the second area, and wherein the third portion is formed using the third area [Soda, Fig. 3-Fig. 4a].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a stepped photoresist pattern, of Soda, to include the process of inserting an auxiliary pattern into a photomask pattern, based on a result of detecting a profile of a patterned photoresist having a trapezoidal shape (e.g., sloped edges), of Jin, in order to correct a patterned photoresist profile to have straight edges, as taught by Jin [Abstract; pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a], and thereby ensure pattern fidelity of the photoresist.
As to claim 18, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the second portion includes a first sub-portion and a second sub-portion sequentially arranged in a first direction between the first portion and the third portion [Soda, Fig. 3-Fig. 4a], the first sub-portion having a constant vertical dimension as the first sub-portion extends in the first direction, the second sub-portion having a varying vertical dimension as the second sub-portion extends in the first direction [Soda, Fig. 3-Fig. 4a], and the auxiliary pattern is inserted into a portion of the second area corresponding to the second sub-portion [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
As to claim 19, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the inserted auxiliary pattern includes one or more auxiliary patterns [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a], wherein the second sub-portion includes an upper portion, and a lower portion under the upper portion such that the lower portion overlaps with the third portion in the first direction [Soda, Fig. 3-Fig. 4a], and wherein the inserting the auxiliary pattern includes determining a number of auxiliary patterns to be inserted based on a width in the first direction of the upper portion, and a height of the upper portion [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
As to claim 20, modified Soda discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the inserted auxiliary pattern includes one or more auxiliary patterns, and the inserting the auxiliary pattern includes determining a number of auxiliary patterns to be inserted based on a sensitivity of the pre-photomask to light [Jin, pg. 4, para. 4-9; Figs. 1a, 2a].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: The additionally cited references are cited to show methods of forming stepped photoresist profiles and/or method of correcting photoresist profiles [Abstracts].
/CHRISTOPHER REMAVEGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1713