DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Restriction/Elected, filed on 07/27/2026, on the application filed on 10/09/2023. Claims 1-14 are presented for examination consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group 2. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group 3
There being no allowable generic or linking claims. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/27/2026.
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
The limitation phrases “switch” and “controlling the control circuitry” in the limitations “and a switch, connected to the cover plate and at least partially controlling the control circuitry” in independent claim 1 needs to be shown TOGETHER in a drawing. The limitation phrases “switch” and “controlling the control circuitry” should be shown together in drawing(s) and NOT to have “one skill in the arts” TRY to piece meal Figs. 1A-1B, Fig. 2A/2B and Figs. 3C-3D to maintain the required RELATIONSHIP and AVOID GAPS so as to enable the required mapping to the limitation structures cited in the limitation.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of following errors:
The specification is objected to because of the claimed structures of “switch” and “controlling the control circuitry” are NOT properly shown TOGETHER in a single drawing to support independent claim 1 as detailed in the drawing objections. Though ¶[0050] indicates “voltage control circuitry 205 of Fig. 2A”, “switch control unit 104 of Figs. 1A-1B”, and “switch plug 209 of Fig. 2A”, and though ¶[0054] indicates “switch plug 312 of Fig. 3C” and “switch plug 209 of Fig. 2A”, structural mapping CANNOT be established between the Figures.
Single-gang box is indicated as item “320”, when the single-gang box should be indicated as item “302” in Figs. 3A-3B.
Appropriate correction is required as well as no new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provenzano et al. (US20110068103A1 and Provenzano hereinafter), in view of NPL “Touch-Smart Retrofit_DaVinci_1-13_Jun 2019” (NPL “Touch-Smart Retrofit” hereinafter), and in further view of NPL “USESI_229391 Passive Infrared Multi-Way Switch_WattStopper_1-12_Sep 2014” (NPL “USESI_229391” hereinafter).
Reproduced Diagram of the Figure on page 10 from NPL “USESI_229391 Passive Infrared Multi-Way Switch_WattStopper_1-12_Sep 2014”
Regarding claim 1, Provenzano discloses a retrofitting kit (item 100 of Fig. 8 and ¶[0030] is interpreted to show and indicate retrofitting kit 100 {retrofitting faceplate system 100}), comprising: an enclosure box, wherein the enclosure box comprise a rear wall and at least one sidewall (item 124 of Fig. 8 and ¶[0030] shows and indicates enclosure box 124 {enclosure formed by the extension portion 124}; where enclosure box 124 comprises a rear wall and sidewalls), and wherein the enclosure box comprises at least one enclosure hole corresponding to at least one threaded hole in a front wall of a single-gang or multi-gang electrical box such that the enclosure box may be secured to the single-gang or multi-gang electrical box with at least one fastener inserted through the at least one enclosure hole and through the at least one threaded hole (items 822, 806, 804, 802, 820 of Fig. 8 and ¶[0030-0031] shows and indicates where enclosure box 124 is comprised of enclosure holes 822 {oblong apertures 822} respectively corresponds to threaded holes 806 (806A & 806B) {apertures 806} in the front wall 804 (804A & 804B) {flange portions 804} of the single-gang electrical box 802 {wall box 802} such that enclosure box 124 may be secured to the single-gang electrical box 802 with fasteners 802 inserted through enclosure holes 822 and through the threaded holes 806 (806A & 806B)); a cover plate (item 128 of Fig. 8 and ¶[0030] shows and indicates cover plate 128 {protruding nose portion 128 formed to cover the front of extension portion 124}).
Provenzano discloses the claimed invention except to explicitly disclose a retrofitting kit; wherein a control circuitry for controlling at least one utility and contained at least partially within the enclosure box; and wherein a switch connected to the cover plate and at least partially controlling the control circuitry.
NPL “Touch-Smart Retrofit” discloses a retrofitting kit; and wherein a switch connected to the cover plate and at least partially controlling the control circuitry (pages 1-13 indicates and shows a retrofitting kit {kit used to retrofit a DaVinci fireplace with existing analog controls using a Touch-Smart Retrofit Kit, indicated on page 1}; page 13 indicates and shows where multiple switches are connected to the cover plate and controlling the control circuitry; therefore, Provenzano will have a retrofitting kit by incorporating the concept of a kit from NPL “Touch-Smart Retrofit”; and where the retrofitting kit of Provenzano will have the switch be connected to the cover plate and controlling the control circuitry by incorporating the concept of a kit from NPL “Touch-Smart Retrofit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a retrofitting kit; and wherein a switch connected to the cover plate and at least partially controlling the control circuitry into the structure of Provenzano. One would have been motivated in the retrofitting kit of Provenzano and have the retrofitting kit; where the switch is connected to the cover plate and at least partially controlling the control circuitry, in order to provide a kit to retrofit an existing system and have the kit have the switch connected to cover plate to facilitate controlling the system, as surreptitiously described and shown by NPL "Touch-Smart", in the retrofitting kit of Provenzano.
However, Provenzano and NPL “Touch-Smart Retrofit” do not disclose wherein a control circuitry for controlling at least one utility and contained at least partially within the enclosure box; and wherein a switch connected to the cover plate and at least partially controlling the control circuitry.
NPL “USESI_22939” discloses wherein a control circuitry for controlling at least one utility and contained at least partially within the enclosure box; and wherein a switch connected to the cover plate and at least partially controlling the control circuitry (items A, B, C, D, E from the Reproduced Drawing & Figure on page 10 and pages 9-10 shows and indicates where control circuitry A {circuity controlling Relay 1 [RLY#1] and Relay 2 [RLY#2]} for controlling utility B {utility of the light fixture segmented through sensor #1 and sensor #2 that is controlled through relay 1 and relay 2} and contained within enclosure box E; and where switch D {switch buttons} is connected to cover plate C and controlling control circuitry A; therefore, modified Provenzano will have the retrofitting kit with the following limitations by incorporating the Light Fixture Occupy Sensor Switch of NPL “USESI_22939”: control circuitry for controlling at least one utility and contained at least partially within the enclosure box; and a switch, connected to the cover plate and at least partially controlling the control circuitry).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein a control circuitry for controlling at least one utility and contained at least partially within the enclosure box; and wherein a switch connected to the cover plate and at least partially controlling the control circuitry into the structure of modified Provenzano. One would have been motivated in the retrofitting kit of modified Provenzano and have the control circuitry for controlling at least one utility and contained at least partially within the enclosure box; and where the switch is connected to the cover plate and controls the control circuitry, in order to provide switch buttons in the front cover plate of the control circuitry enclosure to control the given utility, as extrapolated by NPL "USESI-229391" on pages 9-10, in the retrofitting kit of modified Provenzano.
Regarding claim 2, modified Provenzano, further comprising a set of fasteners for securing the cover plate to the enclosure box (NPL “Touch-Smart Retrofit”: page 13 shows and indicates magnetic fastener for securing the cover plate to the enclosure box; NPL “USESI_22939”: page 13 shows and indicates tabs & button hinge fasteners for securing cover plate C to enclosure box E).
Allowable Subject Matter
Dependent claims 3-14 would be allowed if the independent claim 1 is rewritten or amended to overcome the Drawing Objections and the 35 USC § 103 rejection set forth in this Office Action.
Conclusion
/GUILLERMO J EGOAVIL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847