DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 7, “U-shaped connecting plate” should read --the U-shaped connecting plate-- to avoid improper antecedent basis.
In claim 10, lines 5-6, “the first nut through a first nut” should likely read --a first nut-- to avoid improper antecedent basis.
In claim 11, lines 3-4, “a shape of an outer side wall of the connecting column” should likely read -- a shape of [[an]] the outer side wall of the connecting column-- considering “an outer sidewall of the connecting column” was previously introduced in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 claims “the second clamping members are provided with two or more second clamping protrusions towards the third connecting plate” and “the second clamping members are provided with two or more second clamping slots towards the third connecting plate.” However, the relationship between the claiming protrusions/slots and the third connecting plate is unclear. The cited limitations will be interpreted as --the second clamping members are provided with two or more second clamping protrusions facing towards the third connecting plate-- and --the second clamping members are provided with two or more second clamping slots facing towards the third connecting plate--.
Claims 15-18 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim 19 claims “when the expanded screen is fixed on the display.” However, the display is claimed as being part of the expanded screen. Therefore, it is unclear how the display is configured to be fixed to itself. The limitation should likely read --when the fixed device is fixed on the display-- and will be interpreted as such for the purposes of examination.
Claim 20 is rejected due to its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (US Publication No. 2005/0221874).
Regarding claim 19, Cho discloses an expanded screen, wherein the expanded screen comprises: a display device (second housing 202, including display 221); a fixed device (first housing 201); wherein the fixed device (201) is configured to be fixed on a display (213; where housing of 201 is fixed with display 213); and a rotating assembly (hinge device 100), wherein the fixed device (201) is rotatably connected to the display device (202) through the rotating assembly (100); and when the fixed device (201) is fixed on the display (213), the display device (202) rotates around a direction perpendicular (around axis A) to a display surface (surface of 213) of the display (213; see Figures 3-5), so that the display device (202) is switched between a usage state (see Figure 5) of being located at a side edge of the display (213) and a stored state (see Figure 3) of being superposed on the display (213).
Regarding claim 20, Cho discloses the expanded screen according to claim 19, and further discloses wherein in a rotating process of the display device (202), a display surface of the display device (surface of 221) is kept being parallel to the display surface of the display (surface of 213; see Figures 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Publication No. 2024/0055200) in view of Wang (US Publication No. 2022/0035420).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an expanded screen, wherein the expanded screen comprises: a display device (comprised of tablet device 72 and support frame 90); a fixed device (keyboard body 71); a first rotating assembly (comprised of first rotating member 20 and second rotating member 80), wherein the first rotating assembly (20, 80) is rotatably connected to the display device (72, 90); and a second rotating assembly (mount 10; see Paragraphs [0037]-[0038]), wherein one end of the second rotating assembly (10) is rotatably connected to the first rotating assembly (20, 80), and the other end of the second rotating assembly (10) is connected to the fixed device (71); the fixed device (71) rotates through the first rotating assembly (20, 80) around a first axial direction (L2); the fixed device (71) rotates through the second rotating assembly (10) around a second axial direction (L1); the first axial direction (L2) is a width extending direction of the display device (72, 90); and the second axial direction (L1) is a direction perpendicular to a top surface (top surface of 71).
Liu does not disclose wherein the fixed device is configured to be fixed on a display, wherein the display includes a display surface.
However, Wang teaches a fixed device (base 102), wherein the fixed device (102) is configured to be fixed on a display (second display 106), wherein the display (106) includes a top, display surface (top surface of 106).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the fixed device of Liu for the fixed device of Wang. Doing so would have increased the modularity of the system by allowing a user to choose whether to attach a second display or a physical keyboard to the assembly (see Figures 1A-1C and Paragraphs [0055]-[0075] in Wang)
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Wang teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the fixed device (102) is configured to be fixed on the display (106) in a magnetic suction manner (see Paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Wang teaches the expanded screen according to claim 2, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the fixed device (102) comprises magnetic suction members (Paragraph [0068], magnets within 102) and a fixed device main body (body of 102); the magnetic suction members (magnets of 102) are arranged in the fixed device main body (body of 102); the magnetic suction members (102) are configured to be sucked (via magnetic attraction; see Paragraph [0068]) to the display (106); the fixed device main body (102, corresponding to 71 in Liu) is connected to the second rotating assembly (10 in Liu); and when the second rotating assembly rotates (10 in Liu), the second rotating assembly (10) drives the fixed device main body (body of 102 in Wang, corresponding to 71 in Liu) to rotate.
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Wang teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Liu) wherein the first rotating assembly (20, 80) comprises a first connector (80) and a second connector (25); the first connector (80) is fixedly connected to the display device (72, 90); the second connector (25) is rotatably connected to the first connector (80); the second connector (25) rotates around the first axial direction (L2); and the second rotating assembly (10) is rotatably connected with the second connector (25).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Publication No. 2024/0055200), Wang (US Publication No. 2022/0035420), and in further view of Weng (US Publication No. 2004/0190239).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Wang teaches the expanded screen according to claim 3, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the fixed device main body (102) comprises a base (comprised of 108 and bottom surface 102) and a cover plate (top surface of 102); the base (108, top surface of 102) is connected to the second rotating assembly (mount of 10 in Liu); when the second rotating assembly (10 in Liu) rotates, the second rotating assembly (10 in Liu) drives the base (108, bottom surface of 102) to rotate.
While Wang teaches magnetic suction members within the fixed device main body (see Paragraph [0066]), Liu in view of Wang does not explicitly teach the base is provided with one or more mounting slots; the magnetic suction members are mounted in the mounting slots; and the cover plate is mounted on the base and covers the magnetic suction members.
However, Weng teaches a fixed device main body (10) comprising a base (bottom portion of 10) and a cover plate (top plate 12), wherein the base (bottom portion of 10) is provided with one or more mounting slots (Figure 5A, fixed area 108); magnetic suction members (magnetic components 344) are mounted in the mounting slots (108); and the cover plate (12) is mounted on the base (bottom portion of 10) and covers the magnetic suction members (344).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the magnetic suction members of Liu as modified by Wang for the slots and magnetic suction members of Weng, such that the magnetic suction members were covered by the cover plate and mounted within a slot of the base. Doing so would have resulted in an inconspicuous magnetic assembly mounted within the main body/base to provide for an easier attachment or detachment of the keyboard to or from the main body (see Figures 1, 5 and Paragraphs [0009]-[0011], [0030]-[0031] in Weng).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Publication No. 2024/0055200), Wang (US Publication No. 2022/0035420), and in further view of Chen (US Publication No. 2012/0146915).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Wang teaches the expanded screen according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the expanded screen further comprises a supporting member; and the supporting member is rotatably arranged on the fixed device.
However, Chen teaches wherein the expanded screen (comprised of base 10 and keyboard 20, corresponding to 102 and 106/108 in Wang) further comprises a supporting member (supporting elements 40); and the supporting member (40) is rotatably arranged (see Paragraph [0011]) on the fixed device (10, corresponding to 102 in Wang).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the supporting members of Chen to the fixed device of Liu as modified by Wang. Doing so would have allowed a user to adjust the angle of the keyboard/display of the fixed device during use (see Paragraph [0011] in Chen).
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Publication No. 2024/0055200), Wang (US Publication No. 2022/0035420), and in further view of Saito (US Publication No. 2014/0047672).
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Wang teaches the expanded screen according to claim 6, and further teaches (in Liu) wherein the second connector (25) is a U-shaped connecting plate (see Figure 6); the U-shaped connecting plate (see Figure 6) comprises a first connecting plate (first ear of 25), a second connecting plate (second ear of 25), and a third connecting plate (base of 25); the first connecting plate (first ear of 25) and the second connecting plate (second ear of 25) are arranged on both sides of the third connecting plate (base of 25); the first connecting plate (first ear of 25) and the second connecting plate (second ear of 25) are rotatably connected to the first connector (80).
Liu in view of Wang does not explicitly teach first clamping members are arranged on an inner side of the first connecting plate and an inner side of the second connecting plate; the first clamping members sleeve the first connector; two or more first clamping slots are arranged on an inner side wall of the first connecting plate and an inner side wall of the second connecting plate; the first clamping members are provided with first clamping protrusions corresponding to the first clamping slots; the first clamping protrusions are arranged in the first clamping slots; the first clamping protrusions slide from one first clamping slot to the other adjacent first clamping slot; or, two or more first clamping protrusions are arranged on an inner side wall of the first connecting plate and an inner side wall of the second connecting plate; the first clamping members are provided with first clamping slots corresponding to the first clamping protrusions; the first clamping protrusions are arranged in the first clamping slots; and the first clamping protrusions slide from one first clamping slot to the other adjacent first clamping slot.
However, Saito teaches a connector (see Figure 1) comprising a first connector (shaft member 2); a first connecting plate (bearing 32); a first clamping member (cam member 5) arranged on an inner side of the first connecting plate (inner side of 32); the first clamping member (5) sleeves the first connector (2); two or more first clamping slots (concave portions 12; see Figure 2) are arranged on an inner side wall of the first connecting plate (sidewall of 32; see Figure 2); the first clamping members (5) are provided with first clamping protrusions (convex portions 11) corresponding to the first clamping slots (12; see Paragraphs [0062]-[0063] and Figure 2); the first clamping protrusions (11) are arranged in the first clamping slots (12); the first clamping protrusions (11) slide from one first clamping slot (first 12a) to the other adjacent first clamping slot (second 12a; see Paragraphs [0062]-[0063] and Figure 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the clamping member, elastic members, and clamping slots of Saito to the first connector and inner sidewalls of the first and second connecting plates of Liu as modified by Wang. Doing so would have helped maintain the fixed device at a desired, pre-determined angle relative to the display device (see Paragraphs [0025]-[0027], [0059]-[0064] in Saito).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Wang and Saito teaches the expanded screen according to claim 7, and further teaches (in Liu) wherein the first rotating assembly (20, 80) further comprises an outer shell (26); and the first connector (80) and the second connector (25) are arranged in the outer shell (26; see Paragraph [0045] and Figures 3-6).
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Wang and Saito teaches the expanded screen according to claim 8, and further teaches (in Liu) wherein a gap (gap in 91 accommodating 26) is arranged on one side surface of the display device (bottom side of 72, 90); there are two first connectors (81, 82); the two first connectors (81, 82) are respectively arranged on two sides of the gap (sides of gap in 91 accommodating 26; see Figures 3-6) and are fixedly connected to the display device (72, 90); the first connecting plate (first ear of 25) and the second connecting plate (second ear of 25) are respectively connected to the two first connectors (81, 82); a space is reserved between the two first connectors (space between 81, 82); a box body (inner frame of 26; see Figure 3) is fixedly arranged on an inner side of the outer shell (inner side of 26); the box body is located in the space (space between 81, 82); the box body (inner frame of 26) is fixedly connected to the U-shaped connecting plate (25; see Paragraph [0045]); one end, located on an inner side of the U-shaped connecting plate (portion of 25 between first and second ears), of the second rotating assembly (10) is arranged in the box body (inner frame of 26; see Figure 3); and the second rotating assembly (10) rotates relative to the box body (inner frame of 26).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Wang and Saito teaches the expanded screen according to claim 8, and further teaches (in Liu) wherein the first connector (80) comprises a fixed end (end of 80 connected to 72, 90) and a connecting end (end of 80 connected to/within 25); a stop portion (Figure 6, collar of 81, 82 connected to outside of ears of 25) is arranged between the fixed end (end of 80 connected to 72, 90) and the connecting end (end of 80 connected to/within 25); the fixed end (end of 80 connected to 72, 90) is fixedly connected to the display device (72, 90; see Paragraphs [0033]-[0034]); the first connecting plate (first ear of 25) and the second connecting plate (second ear of 25) are rotatably connected to the connecting end (end of 80 connected to/within 25); and the first connecting plate (first ear of 25) and the second connecting plate (second ear of 25) are fixed between the stop portion (collar of 81, 82 connected to outside of ears of 25) and a first nut (nut at end of 81, 82 within 25)
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of Wang and Saito teaches the expanded screen according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Liu) wherein the connecting end (end of 80 connected to/within 25) is a connecting column (see Figures 3-6); at least one first section (section of 80 connected to nut) is arranged on an outer side wall of the connecting column (end of 80 connected to/within 25); a through hole (axial hole 53 in Saito) is formed in each first clamping member (5 in Saito); the through hole (53 in Saito) is matched with a shape of the outer side wall of the connecting column (shape of 22 in Saito, corresponding to ends of 81, 82 connected to assembly shown in Figures 3-6 in Liu); the through hole (53 in Saito) sleeves the outer side wall of the connecting column (22 in Saito), so that the connecting column (22 in Saito) drives the first clamping member (5 in Saito) to rotate.
Regarding claim 12, Liu in view of Wang and Saito teaches the expanded screen according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Saito, as combined above) wherein one or more first elastic members (biasing means 4) are arranged between the first clamping member (5) and the first nut (stopper plate 10, corresponding to nut shown in Liu).
Regarding claim 13, Liu in view of Wang and Saito teaches the expanded screen according to claim 12, and further teaches (in Liu) wherein a connecting portion (base 91) extending outwards is arranged on one side surface of the display device (bottom side of 72, 90); the gap (gap in 91) is arranged on the connecting portion (91; see Figure 10); and the fixed end (end of 80 connected to 72, 90) is fixedly connected to the connecting portion (91).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 claims the expanded screen according to claim 7, wherein the second rotating assembly comprises a rotating shaft and second clamping members; one end of the rotating shaft is connected to the fixed device, and the other end of the rotating shaft is rotatably connected through the third connecting plate; the rotating shaft is perpendicular to the third connecting plate; the second clamping members sleeve the rotating shaft, and the second clamping members are arranged on an outer side surface and an inner side surface of the third connecting plate; the second clamping members are provided with two or more second clamping protrusions towards the third connecting plate; the third connecting plate is provided with second clamping slots corresponding to the second clamping protrusions; the second clamping protrusions are arranged in the second clamping slots; the second clamping protrusions slide from one second clamping slot to the other adjacent second clamping slot; or, the second clamping members are provided with two or more second clamping slots towards the third connecting plate; the third connecting plate is provided with second clamping protrusions corresponding to the second clamping slots; the second clamping protrusions are arranged in the second clamping slots; and the second clamping protrusions slide from one second clamping slot to the other adjacent second clamping slot.
Liu (US Publication No. 2024/0055200) discloses wherein the second rotating assembly (10) comprises a rotating shaft (shaft of 10) and second clamping members (rings of 10); one end of the rotating shaft is connected to the fixed device (72), and the other end of the rotating shaft (shaft of 10) is rotatably connected through the third connecting plate (base plate of 25); the rotating shaft (shaft of 10) is perpendicular to the third connecting plate base of 25); the second clamping members (rings of 10) sleeve the rotating shaft (shaft of 10), and the second clamping members (rings of 10) are arranged on an outer side surface and an inner side surface of the third connecting plate (top and bottom surface of 25); but does not disclose wherein second clamping members are provided with two or more second clamping protrusions towards the third connecting plate; the third connecting plate is provided with second clamping slots corresponding to the second clamping protrusions; the second clamping protrusions are arranged in the second clamping slots; the second clamping protrusions slide from one second clamping slot to the other adjacent second clamping slot; or, the second clamping members are provided with two or more second clamping slots towards the third connecting plate; the third connecting plate is provided with second clamping protrusions corresponding to the second clamping slots; the second clamping protrusions are arranged in the second clamping slots; and the second clamping protrusions slide from one second clamping slot to the other adjacent second clamping slot.
Chen (US Patent No. 7752711) discloses a single clamping member (washer 32) provided with two or more second clamping slots (recesses 33) towards the third connecting plate (21), and the third connecting plate (21) is provided with second clamping protrusions (214) corresponding to the second clamping slots (33). However, Chen only discloses a single clamping member with clamping protrusions, and a single side of the third connecting plate having clamping protrusions that engage with the clamping recesses of the clamping members. Thus, Chen does not disclose “the second clamping members are arranged on an outer side surface and an inner side surface of the third connecting plate; the second clamping members are provided with two or more second clamping protrusions towards the third connecting plate; the third connecting plate is provided with second clamping slots corresponding to the second clamping protrusions; the second clamping protrusions are arranged in the second clamping slots.”
Claims 15-18 would be allowed due to their dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takahashi (US Patent No. 8861187) in view of Wang (US Publication No. 2022/0035420) would also teach the device of claims 19-20.
Nishijima (US Publication No. 2004/0219957), Wanatabe (US Patent No. 7096540), Su (US Publication No. 2008/0120805), Sue (US Patent No. 8006347), Lu (US Publication No. 2005/0155183), Tanimoto (US Publication No. 2004/0012920), Chien (US Patent No. 6694569), Tseng (US Publication No. 20040075971), Lu (US Publication No. 2004/0083577), Hsu (US Patent No. 6804861), Choi (US Patent No. 6867961), Love (US Publication No. 2005/0207104), Chang (US Publication No. 2006/0034450), Lee (US Patent No. 7251129), Chen (US Publication No. 2008/0078060), Lee (US Patent No. 7419099), Iijima (US Publication No. 2009/0002927), and Hattori (US Patent No. 7663874) also teach elements of the claimed device.
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc