Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 11-13, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rusu (20160372449), in view of Yang (20230063096).
Regarding claim 1, Rusu teaches an semiconductor package comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (fig. 8: 806) that includes a first semiconductor substrate and a through- via (fig. 8: 820) in the first semiconductor substrate;
a second semiconductor chip (fig. 8: 808) on the first semiconductor chip;
a filter structure (fig. 8: 812) extending from a top surface of the first semiconductor chip into the first semiconductor chip (please see fig. 7 which shows a zoomed in picture of 812 which shows a 3D MIM capacitors extending from a top surface of the die to within the die).
Rusu teaches any of the other embodiments may be finished by adding a cover, a heat spreader, or some other or additional components (par. 24) but fails to teach:
a heat spreader including:
a column portion on the filler structure, wherein the column portion is spaced apart from the second semiconductor chip
a roof portion on the second semiconductor chip, wherein the roof portion is connected to the column portion
Yang teaches stacked die, with the bottom die (fig. 13: 21) having TSV (fig. 13: 51) and filler on the top and side of the die (fig. 13: 24 + 27+ 50), and a top die (fig. 13: 56) being stacked atop the bottom die (please see fig. 13) wherein a heat spreader structure is placed atop the stacked die, the heat spreader including:
a column portion (fig. 13: 60) on the filler structure, wherein the column portion is spaced apart from the second semiconductor chip (60 is spaced apart from all chips and provides heat dissipation function in conjunction with portion 62, as taught in par. 80), a roof portion (fig. 13: 62) on the second semiconductor chip, wherein the roof portion is connected to the column portion (62 is spaced apart from 56 by 58).
Please note that such a heat spreading structure, if added to the surface of the top chip of Rusu and would thus be on the Rusu’s capacitor, would take intense heat from the chip stack and would spread the heat over a larger area, acting as a bridge to transfer heat efficiently, as taught Yang, par. 79 and 80. This would save the chip stack in Rusu from future thermal deuteriation and the TSM in Yang would have led a PHOSITA to modify Rusu with Yang’s teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Further, Rusu and Yang are related to similar fields of endeavor.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, at the time of filing, to utilize aforementioned teachings of the prior art(s) in the primary prior art(s) due to aforementioned reason(s).
Regarding claim 5, Rusu, in view of Yang, teaches an semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein in a plan view of the semiconductor package, the filler structure and the through-via do not overlap each other (please see fig. 8 above which teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 6, Rusu, in view of Yang, teaches an semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the heat spreader further includes a protrusion, wherein the roof portion includes a bottom surface facing the second semiconductor chip, and a top surface opposite to the bottom surface, and wherein the protrusion protrudes from the top surface of the roof portion (please see element 62 in Yang, fig. 13).
Regarding claim 7, Rusu, in view of Yang, teaches an semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor chip further includes a second connection bump (Rusu, fig. 8: 830) on a bottom surface of the first semiconductor chip,wherein the second connection bump is electrically connected to the through-via, and wherein the second connection bump does not overlap with the filler structure (please see Rusu, fig. 8, which shows 830 being connected to 820 via the redistribution layers 816).
Regarding claim 8, Rusu, in view of Yang, teaches an semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a bottom surface of the roof portion contacts a top surface of the second semiconductor chip (please see Rusu, fig. 8 which shows this limitation).
Regarding claim 9, Rusu, in view of Yang, teaches an semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the filler structure includes copper (Cu) (Yang, par. 14 teaches 24 being comprised of 24).
Regarding claim 11, Rusu teaches an semiconductor package comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (fig. 8: 806) that includes a first semiconductor substrate and a through- via (fig. 8: 820) in the first semiconductor substrate;
a second semiconductor chip (fig. 8: 808) on the first semiconductor chip;
a filter structure (fig. 8: 812) extending from a top surface of the first semiconductor chip into the first semiconductor chip (please see fig. 7 which shows a zoomed in picture of 812 which shows a 3D MIM capacitors extending from a top surface of the die to within the die).
Rusu teaches any of the other embodiments may be finished by adding a cover, a heat spreader, or some other or additional components (par. 24) but fails to teach:
a heat spreader including:
a column portion on the filler structure, wherein the column portion is spaced apart from the second semiconductor chip
a roof portion on the second semiconductor chip, wherein the roof portion is connected to the column portion and a protrusion protruding upwardly from a top surface of the roof portion
Yang teaches stacked die, with the bottom die (fig. 13: 21) having TSV (fig. 13: 51) and filler on the top and side of the die (fig. 13: 24 + 27+ 50), and a top die (fig. 13: 56) being stacked atop the bottom die (please see fig. 13) wherein a heat spreader structure is placed atop the stacked die, the heat spreader including:
a column portion (fig. 13: 60) on the filler structure, wherein the column portion is spaced apart from the second semiconductor chip (60 is spaced apart from all chips and provides heat dissipation function in conjunction with portion 62, as taught in par. 80), a roof portion (fig. 13: 62) on the second semiconductor chip, wherein the roof portion is connected to the column portion (62 is spaced apart from 56 by 58) and a protrusion protruding upwardly from a top surface of the roof portion (please see protrusions of 62).
Please note that such a heat spreading structure, if added to the surface of the top chip of Rusu and would thus be on the Rusu’s capacitor, would take intense heat from the chip stack and would spread the heat over a larger area, acting as a bridge to transfer heat efficiently, as taught Yang, par. 79 and 80. This would save the chip stack in Rusu from future thermal deuteriation and the TSM in Yang would have led a PHOSITA to modify Rusu with Yang’s teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Further, Rusu and Yang are related to similar fields of endeavor.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, at the time of filing, to utilize aforementioned teachings of the prior art(s) in the primary prior art(s) due to aforementioned reason(s).
Regarding claim 12, Rusu, in view of Yang, teaches an semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein in a plan view of the semiconductor package, the roof portion extends across the second semiconductor chip (please see Rusu, fig. 13 which shows this limitation).
Regarding claim 13, Rusu, in view of Yang, teaches an semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein in a plan view of the semiconductor package, the roof portion overlaps an entirety of a top surface of the second semiconductor chip (please see Rusu, fig. 13, which shows this limitation).
Regarding claim 18, Rusu, in view of Yang, teaches an semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein an inner side surface of the column portion is spaced apart from the second semiconductor chip (please see Rusu, fig. 8 which shows this limitation).
Regarding claim 19, Rusu, in view of Yang, teaches an semiconductor package of claim 11, further comprising a second underfill between the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (Rusu, par. 32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to based on their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 objected to based on their dependency on claim 14.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 objected to based on their dependency on claim 16.
Claim 20 is allowed.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818