DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 2022/0109039) in view of Hayashi (US 2023/0307446).
Regarding claim 19, Jeon discloses a mother substrate for a display device
comprising: an insulating substrate (Fig.5, numeral 100) comprising a first main surface
and a second main surface on an opposite side of the first main surface; a conductive
shielding layer (BML) ([0103]); and first and second panel portions (portions in
(CA)) provided on the first main surface side of the insulating substrate (100) and
overlapping the shielding layer (BML), wherein each of the first panel portion and the
second panel portion comprises a display area which displays an image and a
surrounding area outside the display area ([0052]), and the shielding layer comprises: a
first shielding portion (Fig.5, BML) overlapping the first panel portion (CA); a second
shielding portion (BML) spaced apart from the first shielding portion and overlapping
the second panel portion (CA) ([0101]); and a connection portion (Fig. 7, BMLC)
provided for connecting the first shielding portion (BMLO) to the second shielding
portion (BMLO) and formed into a belt-like shape ([0139]).
Jeon does not disclose that the shielding layer is provided in the second main
surface of the insulating substrate.
Hayashi however discloses providing the shielding layer (Fig.6, numeral 6009) is provided in the second main surface of the insulating substrate (6001).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Jeon with Hayashi to have the shielding layer provided in the second main surface of the insulating substrate for the purpose of operating TFT with high stability (Hayashi, [0009]).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong and Hayashi as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Chu (US 2023/0244093).
Regarding claim 20, Jeong in view of Hayashi does not disclose wherein the shielding layer is formed of a transparent conductive oxide.
Chu however discloses the shielding layer formed of a transparent conductive oxide ([0014]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Jeong with Chu to have the shielding layer formed of a transparent conductive oxide for the purpose of fabrication a display device with improved capability of electrostatic dissipation and preventing damage of a circuit element (Chu, [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 13-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the first panel portion and the second panel portion are arranged in a first direction, the plurality of cut lines includes a first cut line, a second cut line, a third cut line, and a fourth cut line, the first cut line, the second cut line, the third cut line, and the fourth cut line extend in a second direction crossing the first direction and are arranged in the first direction, the first panel portion is located between the first cut line and the second cut line, and the second panel portion is located between the third cut line and the fourth cut line as required by amended independent claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to claims 1-7 and 13-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejections of claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891