DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 01/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)/(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon (US 2022/0109039).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon discloses a mother substrate for a display device comprising: an insulating substrate (Fig.5, numeral 100) comprising a first main surface and a second main surface on an opposite side of the first main surface; a conductive shielding layer (BML) ([0103]) provided in the first main surface or the second main surface of the insulating substrate (100); and first and second panel portions (portions in (CA)) provided on the first main surface side of the insulating substrate (100) and overlapping the shielding layer (BML), wherein each of the first panel portion and the second panel portion comprises a display area which displays an image and a surrounding area outside the display area ( [0052]), and the shielding layer comprises: a first shielding portion (Fig.5, BML)overlapping the first panel portion (CA); a second shielding portion (BML) spaced apart from the first shielding portion and overlapping the second panel portion (CA) ([0101]); and a connection portion (Fig. 7, BMLC) provided for connecting the first shielding portion (BMLO) to the second shielding portion (BMLO) and formed into a belt-like shape ([0139]).
Regarding claim 2, Jeon discloses wherein an area of the first shielding portion (BML) is greater than an area of the first panel portion (right part of (CA)), and an area of the second shielding portion (BML) is greater than an area of the second panel portion (left part of (CA)) (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Jeon discloses wherein the shielding layer is formed of one of metal ([0133]).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon discloses wherein a width of the connection portion (BMLC) is less than a width of each of the first shielding portion and the second shielding portion (BMLO) (Fig.7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of So (US 2021/0389861).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon does not disclose wherein the first shielding portion and the second shielding portion overlap a plurality of cut lines intersecting with each other, and each of the connection portions is located between the cut lines adjacent to each other.
So however discloses wherein the first shielding portion (Fig. 13, numeral 600Pa2) and the second shielding portion (600pa3) overlap a plurality of cut lines (CL1-CL 4) intersecting with each other ([0192]), and each of the connection portions (451cp) is located between the cut lines adjacent to each other ([0198]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Jeon with So to have the first shielding portion and the second shielding portion overlap a plurality of cut lines intersecting with each other, and each of the connection portions is located between the cut lines adjacent to each other for the purpose of prevention short-circuit failure (So, [0197]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choung (US 2022/0344417).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon discloses wherein the display area comprises: a lower electrode (221a) provided above the insulating substrate (100); a rib (119) and overlapping a peripheral portion of the lower electrode (221a); an organic layer provided on the lower electrode and including a light emitting layer (222ab) ([0124]); and an upper electrode (223) which covers the organic layer.
Jeon does not disclose that rib is formed of an inorganic insulating material a partition which comprises a lower portion provided on the rib and formed of a conductive material and an upper portion provided on the lower portion and protruding from a side surface of the lower portion and that the upper electrode is in contact with the lower portion of the partition.
Jeon however discloses that rib is a pixel defining layer ([0120]). And Choung discloses that pixel defining layer rib is formed of an inorganic insulating material (Fig.1A, numeral 126; [0024]) a partition (110a) ; (110b) which comprises a lower portion (110A) provided on the rib (126) and formed of a conductive material ([0028]) and an upper portion (110b) provided on the lower portion (110A) and protruding from a side surface of the lower portion (110A) and that the upper electrode (114) is in contact with the lower portion of the partition (110A) (Fig.1A).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Jeon with Choung to have the rib formed of an inorganic insulating material a partition which comprises a lower portion provided on the rib and formed of a conductive material and an upper portion provided on the lower portion and protruding from a side surface of the lower portion and that the upper electrode is in contact with the lower portion of the partition for the purpose of fabrication OLED structures with improved performance (Choung, [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon discloses wherein the display area further comprises: a cap layer (Fig.5, numeral 310) provided on the upper electrode (223); and a sealing layer (330) which is formed of an inorganic insulating material ([0127]) is provided on the cap layer (310).
Jeon does not disclose that the sealing layer is in contact with the lower portion of the partition.
Choung however discloses that the sealing layer (116) is in contact with the lower portion of the partition (110A).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Jeon with Choung to have the sealing layer is in contact with the lower portion of the partition for the purpose of fabrication OLED structures with improved performance (Choung, [0004]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891