Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (2023, SPWLA 64th Annual Logging Symposium).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Zhao discloses a method comprising:
disposing a bottom hole assembly (BHA) into a wellbore at a depth, wherein the BHA comprises [[abstract] Cement bonding logging (CBL) has recently evolved to include logging-while-drilling (LWD) sonic tools due to the multiple benefits of LWD logging.]:
at least one transmitter configured to transmit an acoustic waveform into at least a casing [[fig. 1] shows transmitter with arrow generating casing waves]; and
at least one receiver configured to record one or more casing waveforms that originate from within or behind the casing [[fig. 1] shows receivers detecting casing waves as shown by multiple return arrows];
calculating at least an attenuation and a magnitude with the one or more casing waveforms [[pg. 2, col. 1] instead of using each individual amplitude value, we propose to use the correlation between the amplitude trend and the attenuation trend to iteratively update real attenuation values.];
calculating a correlation coefficient between the attenuation and magnitude [[fig. 3] shows block with calculate the correlation coefficient between RX1 (magnitude at the 1st receiver) and RealAtt]; and
forming a cement bond log based at least in part on the correlation coefficient [[fig. 5] benchmark bond index log is obtained from wireline CBL in the same well. We use wireline CBL results as the benchmark because wireline CBL tools usually do not have strong tool waves due to their ideal tool wave attenuation and isolation. From this benchmark, we see that the top part of the well has almost perfect cement bonds while the bottom part has very poor cement bonds; [pg. 4, col. 1] this is based on the thought that RX1 and RealAtt should be negatively correlated over a large depth range. During each iteration, we move through all depths and change branch indicator values if the correlation coefficient can be reduced. Usually after 10 iterations, the branch indicator stops changing and the correlation coefficient reaches a minimum].
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Zhao teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 11, wherein the two or more downhole parameters are an apparent attenuation and a magnitude of a first receiver from the one or more receivers [[pg. 3, col. 1] the magnitude at the 1st receiver (RX1) in dB, the apparent attenuation at the last receiver (AppAtt) in dB/ft].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Zhao teaches the method of claim 2 and the system of claim 12, further comprising inverting apparent attenuation in a summation model to form a first possible real attenuation and a second possible real attenuation at the depth [[sec. results] after obtaining the summation model, we notice that there are two branches in the model, left and right, as shown in Figure 4. Based on the two branches, we can invert AppAtt into two possible RealAtt values at each depth, based on Strategy 1. To indicate which one of the two possible RealAtt we will choose at each depth, we introduce the branch indicator at each depth, which is the flag of 0 or 1 corresponding to RealAtt inverted from the right or left branches, respectively. For instance, in].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 14-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Izuhara (US 2017/0226844 A1; ids) shows two branches of a signal processing flowchart with the calculations of amplitude on the left and the calculation of attenuation on the right.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the closest prior art of record does not appear to teach the method of claim 3 nor the system of claim 13, wherein a branch indicator selects between the first possible real attenuation and the second possible real attenuation to determine a real attenuation.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the closest prior art of record therefore does not appear to teach the method of claims 4 and 14, wherein the branch indicator selects first possible real attenuation if the branch indicator is a left branch and selects second possible real attenuation if the branch indicator is a right branch.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the closest prior art of record therefore does not appear to teach the method of claims 5 nor the system of claim 15, wherein the branch indicator is initially randomly distributed between left branches and right branches.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the closest prior art of record therefore does not appear to teach the method of claim 4 nor the system of claim 14, wherein the correlation coefficient is calculated by: Cov(RX1,RealAtt)P RX1 RealAttLRX1 6RealAtt wherein, RX1 is the magnitude of the first receiver, RealAtt is the real attenuation, pRX1RealAttthe correlation coefficient, Cov(RX1, RealAtt) is the covariance of variables RX1 and RealAtt, aRX1 is the is the standard deviation of the magnitude of the first receiver, and 6RealAtt is the is the standard deviation of the real attenuation.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the closest prior art of record therefore does not appear to teach the method of claim 4 nor the system of claim 14, further comprising determining if the correlation coefficient is minimized by comparing it to a previous correlation coefficient from a previous iteration.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the closest prior art of record therefore does not appear to teach the method of claim 8 nor the system of claim 18, further comprising updating the branch indicator if the correlation coefficient is not minimized.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the closest prior art of record therefore does not appear to teach the method of claim 9 nor the system of claim 19, wherein updating the branch indicator comprises updating one or more indicators at one or more depths.
Claim 21 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 7-8, filed 7/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhao (2023, SPWLA 64th Annual Logging Symposium).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3645