DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-9, Applicant argues that nothing in Kwong suggest that the SET-RESET latch 330 is capable of measuring a clock frequency of a phase-locked loop with the counted number of clock cycles received from test mode logic 320, as a set-reset latch is simply a switch that may either set a specific value or let an input value pass. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In order for SET-RESET latch 330 to operate, it has to measure/monitor what’s being inputted to either the SET and/or RESET. Kwong teaches in fig. 2 test circuitry 300 that checks for frequency drift at the outputs of the PPL (col. 6, lines 57-65). Counter A is configured for counting a number of high voltage pulses supplied to the reference clock pin (col. 7, lines 20-28). The “high voltage pulses” are pulses which have a significantly higher voltage level than the normal operating level of the PLL (col. 7, lines 28-30). In other words, Counter A will count the “clock frequency” by monitoring how frequent a high voltage pulse is supplied to the reference clock pin of the PPL. Counter B counts total number of pulses supplied (includes both high and normal voltage pulses), which represents the “counted number of clocks cycles”. Once a terminal count value is reached, counter A and B will issue an output signal to SET-RESET latch 330 (e.g., to logic “1”) (col. 8, lines 13-20). This is when SET-RESET 330 measures a clock frequency of a phase-locked loop. Based on it, the SET-RESET 330 may take action by suppling to switch 350 a disabling signal for disconnecting the charge pump. Also, applicant argues that the test mode logic 320 does not provide a counted number of clock cycles to the SET-RESET latch 330. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the test mode logic 320 does not provide a counted number of clock cycles to the SET-RESET latch 330) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, Kwong teaches the recited features in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwong et al. (US Pat. 7,327,199).
Regarding claim 1, Kwong et al. teaches a system for testing a circuit, the system comprising: a phase-locked loop (200); a test logic circuit (320), the test logic circuit (320) being coupled to the phase-locked loop (200) (as shown in fig. 2), the test logic circuit (320) being configured to count a number of clock cycles (using counter B) of the phase-locked loop using a reference clock (FREF) as a reference, the reference clock being coupled to the test logic circuit (320) (as shown in fig. 2); and a test controller (330), the test controller (330) being coupled to the phase-locked loop (200) and to the test logic circuit (320) (as shown in fig. 2), the test controller (330) being configured to measure a clock frequency (counted by counter A) of the phase-locked loop (measure the frequency of high voltage pulses supplied to the reference clock pin, as disclosed in col. 7, lines 20-31) with the counted number of clock cycles (counted by counter B) received from the test logic circuit (320) (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Kwong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Kwong et al. teaches wherein the test logic circuit (320) is further configured to count a number of cycles of the reference clock between an activation time of the phase-locked loop (200) and a locked state time of the phase-locked loop (200) (as disclosed in col. 7, line 9 through col. 9, line 42).
Regarding claim 3, Kwong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 2, in addition, Kwong et al. teaches wherein the test logic circuit (320) is further configured to provide a lock status signal to the test controller (330) based on the counted number of cycles of the reference clock (FREF) between the activation time of the phase-locked loop (200) and the locked state time of the phase-locked loop (200) (as disclosed in col. 7, line 9 through col. 9, line 42).
Regarding claim 4, Kwong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 2, in addition, Kwong et al. teaches wherein the test logic circuit (320) comprises a reference cycles counter (340), the reference cycles counter being configured to set a window over which the number of clock cycles of the phase-locked loop are counted (as disclosed in col. 8, lines 45-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et al. (US Pat. 7,327,199) in view of Kao (US Pat. 4,245,211).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et al. (US Pat. 7,327,199) in view of Kao (US Pat. 4,245,211).
Regarding claim 5, Kwong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Kwong et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the test logic circuit further comprises a delay reference counter, the delay reference counter being configured to enable the reference cycles counter after a delay time. However, Kao teaches wherein the test logic circuit further comprises a delay reference counter, the delay reference counter being configured to enable the reference cycles counter after a delay time (as disclosed in col. 4, lines 53-61).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the test logic circuit further comprise a delay reference counter, the delay reference counter being configured to enable the reference cycles counter after a delay time as taught by Kao with the invention of Kwong et al. in order to allow the PLL to lock up on desired instances and provide a look-ahead capability (Kao col. 4, lines 53-61).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et al. (US Pat. 7,327,199) in view of Li et al. (US Pat. 11,533,045).
Regarding claim 6, Kwong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Kwong et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the test logic circuit comprises a clock gating cell, the clock gating cell being configured to gate a clock signal from the phase-locked loop. However, Li et al. teaches wherein the test logic circuit comprises a clock gating cell (140), the clock gating cell being configured to gate a clock signal from the phase-locked loop (115) (as disclosed in col. 2, lines 49-64).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the test logic circuit comprise a clock gating cell, the clock gating cell being configured to gate a clock signal from the phase-locked loop as taught by Li et al. with the invention of Kwong et al. in order to gate the clock signal to save power (Liet al. col. 4, lines 49-64).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et al. (US Pat. 7,327,199) in view of Ramsdale (US PGPUB 2006/0182149).
Regarding claim 7, Kwong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Kwong et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the test controller is controlled using an advanced peripheral bus interface, the advanced peripheral bus interface being coupled to the test controller through a bridge. However, Ramsdale teaches wherein the test controller is controlled using an advanced peripheral bus interface (196b), the advanced peripheral bus interface being coupled to the test controller through a bridge (as shown in fig. 1C and disclosed in para. 0046).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the test controller controlled using an advanced peripheral bus interface, the advanced peripheral bus interface being coupled to the test controller through a bridge as taught by Ramsdale with the invention of Kwong et al. in order to reduce complexity.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et al. (US Pat. 7,327,199) in view of YAMAGIWA (US PGPUB 2022/0246228).
Regarding claim 8, Kwong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Kwong et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the test controller is further configured to use an IEEE 1149.1, IEEE 1149.x, IEEE 1500, or IEEE 1687 interface. However, YAMAGIWA teaches wherein the test controller is further configured to use an IEEE 1149.1, IEEE 1149.x, IEEE 1500, or IEEE 1687 interface (as shown in fig. 10 and disclosed in para. 0040-0044).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the test controller further configured to use an IEEE 1149.1, IEEE 1149.x, IEEE 1500, or IEEE 1687 interface as taught by YAMAGIWA with the invention of Kwong et al. in order to have a mechanism to test the internal circuitry of the system and the interconnections without requiring direct physical access.
Regarding claim 9, Kwong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Kwong et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the test controller is further configured to run a built-in self test. However, YAMAGIWA teaches wherein the test controller is further configured to run a built-in self test (as shown in fig. 10 and disclosed in para. 0040-0044).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have wherein the test controller is configured to run a built-in self test as taught by YAMAGIWA with the invention of Kwong et al. in order to have the ability to inspect the operation of the system without external interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-17 and 21-23 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 10-17, the prior art fails to specifically teach a system for testing a circuit, the system comprising: a test logic circuit, the test logic circuit being coupled to the phase- locked loop, the test logic circuit comprising: a lock cycles counter, the lock cycles counter being configured to count a number of cycles of a reference clock between an activation time of the phase-locked loop and a locked state time of the phase-locked loop, the reference clock being coupled to the test logic circuit; and a fast cycles counter, the fast cycles counter being configured to count a number of fast clock cycles of the phase-locked loop using the reference clock as a reference; and a test controller, the test controller being coupled to the phase-locked loop and to the test logic circuit, the test controller being configured to receive a lock cycles count signal from the lock cycles counter and a fast cycles count signal from the fast cycles counter, in combination with all the limitations of the claims.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to specifically teach system for testing a circuit, the system comprising: a test logic circuit, the test logic circuit being coupled to the phase- locked loop, the test logic circuit comprising: a lock cycles counter, the lock cycles counter being configured to count a number of cycles of a reference clock between an activation time of the phase-locked loop and a locked state time of the phase-locked loop, the reference clock being coupled to the test logic circuit; and a fast cycles counter, the fast cycles counter being configured to count a number of fast clock cycles of the phase-locked loop using the reference clock as a reference; and a test controller, the test controller being coupled to the phase-locked loop and to the test logic circuit, the test controller being configured to receive the counted number of clock cycles and a lock cycles count signal from the lock cycles counter, to receive a fast cycles count signal from the fast cycles counter, and to measure a clock frequency of the phase-locked loop with the counted number of clock cycles received from the test logic circuit, in combination with all the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gupta et al. (US 2024/0295602) teaches a system and method for controlling at-speed testing of integrated circuits.
Li et al. (US Pat. 11,533,045) teaches dynamic aging monitor and correction for critical path duty cycle and delay degradation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858