DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 17, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Price et al (US Pub 2023/0276144).
In re claim 1, Price et al discloses an image sensor (i.e. see at least Figures 3 and 4) configured to capture imagery with mitigated noise, the image sensor (i.e. 400) comprising: a plurality of image sensing pixels (i.e. 402A, 402B) arranged to form a sensor array (i.e. see at least Figure 3), wherein: each image sensing pixel of the plurality of image sensing pixels (i.e. 402A, 402B) comprises a semiconductor photodetector (i.e. see at least Figure 4) connected to a photosensitive region (i.e. 406A, 406B) that comprises a photon reception area (i.e. 408) configured to receive photons to facilitate image capture, each photon reception area (i.e. 408) comprises a length and a width, for at least a particular image sensing pixel (i.e. see at least Figure 4) of the plurality of image sensing pixels, the length or the width of the photon reception area is smaller than about 80% of a pixel pitch measurement (i.e. see at least paragraph 0060) between the particular image sensing pixel (i.e. see at least Figure 3) and an adjacent image sensing pixel of the plurality of image sensing pixels (i.e. 402A, 402B), wherein the length or the width of the photon reception area contributes to reduced volume of the photosensitive region to mitigate sensor noise for the image sensor (i.e. see at least paragraph 0059), and a space (i.e. 440) between the photosensitive region (i.e. see at least Figure 4) of the particular image sensing pixel and the photosensitive region of the adjacent image sensing pixel (i.e. 402B) comprises at least one dielectric layer (i.e. 404B) and/or at least one metal layer (i.e. see at least paragraph 0054). It is well known in the art that an oxide would be used as a dielectric material in semiconductor devices.
In re claim 2, Price et al discloses wherein the image sensor comprises a single photon avalanche diode (SPAD) image sensor (i.e. see at least paragraph 0061).
In re claim 3, Price et al discloses wherein the image sensor comprises a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor (i.e. see at least paragraph 0039).
In re claim 4, Price et al discloses wherein the at least one oxide layer and/or the at least one metal layer are arranged transverse to the photon reception area (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
In re claim 15, Price et al discloses an image sensor (i.e. see at least Figures 3 and 4) configured to capture imagery with mitigated noise, the image sensor (i.e. 400) comprising: a plurality of image sensing pixels (i.e. 402A, 402B) arranged to form a sensor array (i.e. see at least Figure 3), wherein: each image sensing pixel of the plurality of image sensing pixels (i.e. 402A, 402B) comprises a semiconductor photodetector (i.e. see at least Figure 4) connected to a photosensitive region (i.e. 406A, 406B) that comprises a photon reception area (i.e. 408) configured to receive photons to facilitate image capture, each photon reception area (i.e. 408) comprises a length and a width, for at least a particular image sensing pixel (i.e. see at least Figure 4) of the plurality of image sensing pixels, the length or the width of the photon reception area is smaller than about 80% of a pixel pitch measurement (i.e. see at least paragraph 0060) between the particular image sensing pixel (i.e. see at least Figure 3) and an adjacent image sensing pixel of the plurality of image sensing pixels (i.e. 402A, 402B), wherein the length or the width of the photon reception area contributes to reduced volume of the photosensitive region to mitigate sensor noise for the image sensor (i.e. see at least paragraph 0059), and a space (i.e. 440 and to include a small portion outside of both sides of 440) between the photosensitive region of the particular image sensing pixel and the photosensitive region of the adjacent image sensing pixel comprises an intermediate silicon region (i.e. 420A, 420B). It is well known in the art that silicon is used for active regions in semiconductor devices.
In re claim 16, Price et al discloses wherein one or more dielectric layers (i.e. 404A, 404B) or one or more metal layers intervene between the photosensitive region of the particular image sensing pixel and the intermediate silicon region (i.e. see at least Figure 4). It is well known in the art that an oxide would be used as a dielectric material in semiconductor devices.
In re claim 17, Price et al discloses wherein the intermediate silicon region (i.e. 420A, 420B) is connected to an electron-hole pair drain (i.e. it is inherent and well known in the art that an active region comprises an electron-hole pair).
In re claim 18, Price et al discloses further comprising a covering material (i.e. 430A, 430B) arranged over an environment-facing portion of the intermediate silicon region (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior arts of record do not disclose or suggest at least the limitation of “an image sensor configured to capture imagery with mitigated noise, the image sensor comprising a space between the photosensitive region of the particular image sensing pixel and the photosensitive region of the adjacent image sensing pixel comprises an intermediate silicon region that is connected to an intermediate semiconductor photodetector, wherein the intermediate semiconductor photodetector comprises a smaller size than the semiconductor photodetector of the particular image sensing pixel” as recited in claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Ma et al (US Pub 2020/0388643)
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817