DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-25) and Species A1 (pebble-bed reactor), B1 (control rods provided in the cylindrical graphite reflective layer), C1 (serial gas-cooled reactor connected to a steam generator), and F1 (reactors operated simultaneously) in the reply filed on 03/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the search for the different inventions and species “overlap[]” and there is no undue burden (Remarks, p. 12). This is not found persuasive because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification (e.g., Group I is classified in G21C1/07 whereas Group II is classified in G21C19/20) (see Requirement for Restriction/Election, p. 2); and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention (e.g., prior art disclosing a serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system would not necessarily also disclose a method of operating a serial-high temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system). Additionally, the species require a different field of search, e.g., employing different search queries (e.g., directed towards the different reactors in Species A1 vs. A2; directed towards the different control rod arrangements in Species B1 vs. B2; directed towards the different heat-exchange mechanisms in Species C1 vs. C2; directed towards the different reactor operations in Species F1 vs. F2); and the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species (e.g., art teaching a pebble-bed reactor would not necessarily also teach a prismatic reactor; art teaching providing control rods would not necessarily also teach not providing control rods; art teaching a reactor connected to a steam generator would not necessarily also teach a reactor connected to an intermediate heat exchanger; art teaching operating reactors simultaneously would not necessarily also teach operating reactors at preset intervals). The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species D2 (second inlet/outlet are positioned lower than first inlet/outlet) and E2 (spent inlet positioned lower than second inlet/outlet) in the reply filed on 03/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the difference between the species “only lies in the positioning, but the technical effects achieved are identical” (Remarks, p. 12). Applicant’s arguments are persuasive and the requirement for election of a species from each of Species D and Species E is therefore withdrawn.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-28 are pending in the application with claims 6-7, 14-15, and 26-28 withdrawn. Claims 1-5, 8-13, and 16-25 are examined herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “spent fuel circulation pipe, wherein one end of the spent fuel circulation pipe passes through the second unloading device and connects to the second fuel outlet, and wherein the other end of the spent fuel circulation pipe is connected to the second fuel inlet” feature in claim 13 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5, 8-13, and 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following phrases in claims 1, 4, 8, 10-11, 17-18, 22, and 25:
“the first fuel element” (claim 1)
“the first spent fuel in the first reaction chambers” (claim 1)
“the first spent fuel unloaded from the first reaction chamber” (claim 4)
“the second spent fuel” (claim 8)
“the second fuel outlet” (claim 10)
“the second reaction” (claim 11)
“the core outlet temperature” (both instances) (claim 17)
“the cooling gas pressure” (both instances) (claim 18)
“the middle” (claim 22)
“the containment” (claim 22)
“the fuel core” (claim 25)
Claim 1 recites “a plurality of high-temperature gas-cooled reactors, wherein the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor includes a first reactor pressure vessel having a first reaction chamber for receiving the first fuel element; and a serial gas-cooled reactor, wherein the serial gas-cooled reactor includes a second reactor pressure vessel, the second reactor pressure vessel having a second reaction chambers wherein the first reaction chambers of the plurality of high-temperature gas-cooled reactor are all connected to the second reaction chambers, allowing the first spent fuel in the first reaction chambers to enter the second reaction chambers”. The inconsistency between the use of plural vs singular language renders the scope of the claim unclear. For example, the claim introduces “a plurality of high-temperature gas-cooled reactors” (plural), then later recites “the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor” (singular). Similarly, the claim recites “a first reaction chamber” (singular), then later recites “the first reaction chambers” (plural). The claim also recites “a second reaction chambers”, with the term “a” suggesting a singular “second reaction chamber”, but the “s” at the end of the term “chambers” suggesting plural “second reaction chambers”. It is therefore also unclear if the “plurality of high-temperature gas-cooled reactors” is intended to include the “serial gas-cooled reactor”. The inconsistency is also present in claims 2-4, 8-11, 13, 16-18, 21, and 23:
Claim 1: “a plurality of high-temperature gas-cooled reactors” (plural), “the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor” (singular), “a first reaction chamber” (singular), “the first fuel element” (singular), “a second reaction chambers” (singular or plural – unclear), “the first reaction chambers” (plural), “the second reaction chambers” (plural)
Claim 2: “the first reaction chamber” (singular), “the second reaction chamber” (singular)
Claim 3: “the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor” (singular), “the first fuel elements” (plural), “the first reaction chamber” (singular), “the second reaction chamber” (singular)
Claim 4: “the first reaction chamber” (singular), “the second reaction chamber” (singular)
Claim 8: “the second reaction chamber” (singular)
Claim 9: “the second reaction chamber” (singular)
Claim 10: “the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor” (singular), “the first fuel element” (singular), “the first reaction chamber” (singular), “the second reaction chamber” (singular)
Claim 11: “the second reaction chamber” (singular)
Claim 13: “the second reaction chamber” (singular)
Claim 16: “the number of high-temperature gas-cooled reactors is 2 to 3” (plural)
Claim 17: “the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor” (singular)
Claim 18: “the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor” (singular)
Claim 21: “the second reaction chamber” (singular)
Claim 23: “each of the high-temperature gas-cooled reactors” (plural), “the corresponding high-temperature gas-cooled reactor” (plural)
Claim 1 recites “a first reaction chamber for receiving the first fuel element” and “the first spent fuel in the first reaction chambers”. It is unclear the relationship between the “first fuel element” and “the first spent fuel”. Additionally, the claim does not positively recite the “first fuel element”. However, claims 3, 10, and 25 would appear to recite further features of the “first fuel element” (“the first fuel elements are spherical fuel elements” (claim 3), “the first fuel element is a spherical fuel element” (claim 10), “the fuel core of the first fuel element is selected from at least one of UO2, UC2, ThO2, ThC2, (U, Th) O2 and (U, Th) C2” (claim 25)). It is therefore unclear if the claims are intending to positively recite the “first fuel element”, and associated features, or if the claims merely require that the system be capable of being used with such “first fuel element”.
Claim 9 recites “a second fuel loading/unloading system”. The term “second” suggests a “first fuel loading/unloading system”. However, neither parent claim 1 nor parent claim 8 previously recite a “first fuel loading/unloading system”. It is therefore unclear if claim 9 is intending to depend upon claim 2, which introduces a “first fuel loading/unloading system”. Similarly, claim 11 recites “a second unloading pipe” and “a second unloading device”, suggesting a “first unloading pipe” and “first unloading device”, without any prior recitations of such features. Similarly, claim 24 recites “a second steam generator”, suggesting a “first steam generator”, without any prior recitation of such feature.
Claims 17 and 18 specify a temperature and a pressure of the reactors. The claims would therefore appear to be directed towards a specific operation or use of the reactors. It is therefore unclear how the claims are intending to further limit the structure of the claimed system.
Claim 20 recites “further comprising a metal lining inside the concrete pressure vessel”. However, parent claim 19 previously recites “wherein the second reactor pressure vessel is a metal pressure vessel or a concrete pressure vessel”. Therefore, there is no prior recitation that the “second reactor pressure vessel” is a “concrete pressure vessel”.
Claim 23 recites “wherein each of the first steam generators correspond to each of the high-temperature gas-cooled reactors individually, and each first steam generator is connected to the corresponding high-temperature gas-cooled reactor”. It is unclear what is meant by each of the steam generators “corresponding to” each of the reactors “individually”.
Any claim not explicitly addressed above is rejected because it is dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-13, and 16, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN Publication No. 103474113 (“Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang (newly cited) (see FIGS. 1-4) discloses a serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system ([0118]), comprising:
a high-temperature gas-cooled reactor (10), wherein the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor includes a first reactor pressure vessel (11) having a first reaction chamber for receiving a first fuel element (16) ([0120]); and
a serial gas-cooled reactor (10), wherein the serial gas-cooled reactor includes a second reactor pressure vessel (11) ([0119]-[0120]), the second reactor pressure vessel having a second reaction chamber wherein the first reaction chamber of the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor is connected to the second reaction chamber, allowing spent fuel in the first reaction chamber to enter the second reaction chamber ([0132]-[0133], [0136]-[0138], [0147]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 1, further comprising a first fuel loading/unloading system (20, 100, 200, 300), wherein the first fuel loading/unloading system is capable of transferring spent fuel in the first reaction chamber to the second reaction chamber (FIGS. 1, 4, [0132]-[0133], [0136]-[0138], [0147]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 2, wherein (see FIGS. 1, 4):
the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor is a pebble-bed high-temperature gas-cooled reactor, and the first fuel element is a spherical fuel element ([0120]-[0121]);
the first reactor pressure vessel further includes a first fuel inlet (e.g., between elements 213, 217) and a first fuel outlet (14) connected with the first reaction chamber ([0119]-[0120], [0131]);
the second reactor pressure vessel further includes a second fuel inlet (e.g., between elements 213, 217) and a second fuel outlet (14) connected with the second reaction chamber ([0119]-[0120], [0131]); and
the first fuel outlet and the second fuel inlet are connected through the first fuel loading/unloading system to transfer spent fuel in the first reaction chamber to the second reaction chamber ([0132]-[0133], [0136]-[0138], [0147]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 3, wherein the first fuel loading/unloading system includes a first unloading pipe (101) and a first unloading device (110), wherein one end of the first unloading pipe is connected to the first fuel outlet through the first unloading device, and wherein the other end of the first unloading pipe is connected to the second fuel inlet (e.g., via at least elements 103, 201, 302, 303, 304, 401, 402, 403) to transfer spent fuel in the first reaction chamber to the second reaction chamber (FIGS. 1-4, [0119]-[0120], [0122]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 1, further including a spent fuel storage tank (419), wherein the spent fuel storage tank comprises a storage chamber connected with the second reaction chamber (e.g., via at least elements 101, 103, 401, 402) to allow transfer of spent fuel from the second reaction chamber to the storage chamber (FIGS. 1, 3, [0139]-[0143]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 8, further comprising a fuel loading/unloading system (20, 400) for the transfer of spent fuel from the second reaction chamber to the storage chamber (FIGS. 1, 3, [0139]-[0143]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 9, wherein (see FIGS. 1-4):
the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor is a pebble-bed high-temperature gas-cooled reactor, and the first fuel element is a spherical fuel element ([0118], [0120]-[0121]);
the first reactor pressure vessel further including a first fuel inlet (e.g., between elements 213, 217) and a first fuel outlet (e.g., at element 14) connected with the first reaction chamber ([0120], [0131]);
the second reactor pressure vessel further including a second fuel inlet (e.g., between elements 213, 217) and a second fuel outlet (e.g., at element 14) connected to the second reaction chamber ([0120], [0131]); and
the spent fuel storage tank includes a spent fuel inlet (e.g., at element 402) connected to the storage chamber;
wherein the second fuel inlet is connected to the first fuel outlet (e.g., via at least elements 101, 103, 201, 302, 303, 304, 401, 402, 403), and the second fuel inlet is connected to the spent fuel inlet through the fuel loading/unloading system ([0132]-[0133], [0136]-[0143], [0147]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 10, wherein the fuel loading/unloading system includes (see FIGS. 1-4):
an unloading pipe (101) ([0119]-[0120]); and
an unloading device (110) ([0119]-[0120]);
wherein one end of the unloading pipe is connected to the second fuel outlet through the unloading device to connect the unloading pipe to the second fuel outlet for unloading spent fuel from the second reaction chamber ([0119]-[0120], [0122]); and
wherein the other end of the unloading pipe is connected to the spent fuel inlet (e.g., via at least elements 103, 401, 402) to load spent fuel from the second reaction chamber into the storage chamber ([0139]-[0143]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 11, wherein the spent fuel inlet is positioned lower than the second fuel outlet (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 11, wherein the fuel loading/unloading system further includes a spent fuel circulation pipe (201), wherein one end of the spent fuel circulation pipe passes through the second unloading device and connects to the second fuel outlet, and wherein the other end of the spent fuel circulation pipe is connected to the second fuel inlet to allow circulation of the first spent fuel in the second reaction chamber (FIGS. 1-4, [0132]-[0133], [0136]-[0138], [0147]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 1, wherein the number of high-temperature gas-cooled reactors is 2 (FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 17-18, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 4. Zhang appears to disclose the second fuel inlet is positioned above the first fuel outlet. However, it would have been obvious to a POSA to have Zhang’s second fuel inlet positioned lower than the first fuel outlet since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 1. Zhang appears to be silent as to the core outlet temperatures of the reactors. However, as best understood by Examiner, the core outlet temperatures appear to be directed towards a specific operation or use of the reactors. As discussed above, Zhang appears to disclose all of the features of claim 1. Thus, if the claimed system is capable of operating with a core outlet temperature of the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor of 759°C to 1000°C and a core outlet temperature of the serial gas-cooled reactor of 350°C to 450°C, it follows that Zhang’s system would also be capable of operating in such a manner. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a POSA to have core outlet temperatures in the claimed range since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 1. Zhang appears to be silent as to the cooling gas pressures of the reactors. However, as best understood by Examiner, the cooling gas pressures appear to be directed towards a specific operation or use of the reactors. As discussed above, Zhang appears to disclose all of the features of claim 1. Thus, if the claimed system is capable of operating with a cooling gas pressure of the high-temperature gas-cooled reactor of 3.0 MPa to 7.0 MPa and a cooling gas pressure of the serial gas-cooled reactor of 2.0 MPa to 4.5 MPa, it follows that Zhang’s system would also be capable of operating in such a manner. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a POSA to have cooling gas pressures in the claimed range since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 19-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of US Patent No. 3,175,958 (“Bourgade”).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 18, but appears to be silent as to the material of the second reactor pressure vessel. However, it was well-known in the art to have a concrete pressure vessel for a nuclear reactor. For example, Bourgade (newly cited) (see FIG. 1) is similarly directed towards a gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system comprising a reactor pressure vessel (1) (1:11-14, 3:17-21). Bourgade teaches the pressure vessel is a concrete pressure vessel (1:15-16, 3:17-21). Bourgade further teaches the concrete pressure vessel provides the advantages of withstanding pressures within the reactor vessel (1:15-16, 3:17-21). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to have Zhang’s second reactor pressure vessel be a concrete pressure vessel, as taught by Bourgade, for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Zhang in order to enhance pressure resistance, as suggested by Bourgade, would have been obvious to a POSA. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a POSA to use metal or concrete for the material of the pressure vessel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Bourgade teaches the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 19. Bourgade teaches a metal lining (2) inside the pressure vessel (FIG. 1, 1:17-18, 3:17-21). Bourgade further teaches the metal lining provides the advantages of ensuring leak-tightness (1:17-18, 3:17-21). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include the metal lining as taught by Bourgade in the modified Zhang’s pressure vessel for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Zhang in order to ensure leak-tightness, as suggested by Bourgade, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Claims 21-22, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Bourgade, further in view of US Patent No. 4,795,607 (“Reutler”).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang in view of Bourgade teaches the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 19. Zhang discloses the second reactor pressure vessel further includes: a cylindrical graphite reflective layer (12) located in the second reaction chamber (FIG. 2, [0120]). Zhang does not appear to disclose a control rod or a thermal insulation layer as recited in claim 21. Reutler (newly cited) (see Figure) is similarly directed towards a high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system comprising a reactor comprising a pressure vessel comprising a cylindrical graphite reflective layer (4) (6:56-63). Reutler teaches the pressure vessel further comprises a reactor control rod (“control rod”) provided in the cylindrical graphite reflective layer and a thermal insulation layer (5) between the cylindrical graphite reflective layer and the pressure vessel (6:56-63, 7:7-13, 7:48-54). Reutler further teaches the reactor control rod provides the advantages of allowing for control of the fission reaction and shutting down of the reactor (3:38-42, 7:48-54) and the thermal insulation layer provides the advantages of protecting the pressure vessel from heated coolant gas (1:59-2:7). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include the reactor control rod and thermal insulation layer as taught by Reutler in the modified Zhang’s reactor for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Zhang in order to enhance reactivity control and heat protection, as suggested by Reutler, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Regarding claim 22, Zhang in view of Bourgade and Reutler teaches the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 21. Reutler teaches a columnar graphite reflector layer (11, 12, 13, 17) for inserting the reactor control rod in the middle of the cylindrical graphite reflective layer; wherein an annular space (1) is confined between the columnar graphite reflective layer and the cylindrical graphite reflective layer for the containment of the fuel (Figure, 6:51-63, 7:18-30). Reutler further teaches the columnar graphite reflector layer provides the advantages of closing a top of the reactor with a thermally insulating and neutron reflecting material while also guiding materials and structures into the reactor (1:59-2:7, 7:14-30). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include a columnar graphite reflector layer as taught by Reutler in the modified Zhang’s system for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Zhang in order to provide a top of the reactor with insulating, reflecting, and guiding material, as suggested by Reutler, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Claims 23-24, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of US Publication No. 2012/0269314 (“ZhangUS”).
Regarding claims 23-24, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 1, but does not appear to disclose steam generators. However, Zhang discloses the system is a power plant ([0004]-[0005]). It was well-known in the art to employ steam generators with nuclear reactors in a nuclear power plant. For example, ZhangUS (newly cited) (see FIGS. 1, 3) is similarly directed towards a nuclear energy power plant system comprising a plurality of gas-cooled reactors (1) ([0001]). ZhangUS teaches each of the plurality of gas-cooled reactors is connected to a steam generator (9) ([0043], [0045]-[0046]). ZhangUS further teaches the steam generators provide the advantages of using heat generated from the reactors to generate electricity ([0042]-[0043], [0045]-[0046]. It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include steam generators in Zhang’s systems, as taught by ZhangUS, for the benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Zhang in order to generate electricity, as suggested by ZhangUS, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Claim 25, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of US Publication No. 2016/0247583 (“Pappano”).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang discloses the serial high-temperature gas-cooled reactor nuclear energy system of claim 1, but appears to be silent as to the specific material of the fuel. However, Zhang discloses the reactors are pebble-bed reactors utilizing spherical fuel elements ([0004], [0118], [0120]-[0121]). It was well-known in the art to have such fuel elements include at least one of UO2, UC2, ThO2, ThC2, (U, Th) O2 and (U, Th) C2. For example, Pappano (newly cited) (see FIG. 1) is similarly directed towards a gas-cooled, pebble-bed reactor utilizing spherical fuel elements ([0002]-[0003], [0026]). Pappano teaches the fuel elements comprise UO2 or ThO2 ([0030]). It would have been obvious to a POSA to have Zhang’s fuel elements include UO2 or ThO2 because Pappano teaches these materials as suitable fuel materials for gas-cooled, pebble-bed reactors ([0030]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to a POSA to use UO2, UC2, ThO2, ThC2, (U, Th) O2 and (U, Th) C2 for the material of the fuel element since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additional References
The following references, cited in the attached PTO-892, would also appear to be relevant to Applicant’s invention:
US Patent No. 4,093,514: discloses a nuclear energy system comprising a first high-temperature, gas-cooled reactor (5) and a lower temperature reactor (8) (FIG. 1, 3:22-25, 3:50-55, 6:56-7:3)
US Patent No. 5,106,574: discloses a gas-cooled nuclear energy system comprising a plurality of pebble-bed reactor cores (12, 14, 16) which can be operated and cooled in cooperation with each other (FIGS. 1-3, 1:46-61, 2:55-3:2)
US Patent No. 5,225,153: discloses a gas-cooled nuclear energy system comprising a plurality of pebble-bed reactor cores (2), each including reflector layers (2a, 2b), a reactor control rod (5), and a fuel loading/unloading system (2c) (FIGS. 1-2, 1:7-15, 2:28-32, 3:4-26)
GB Publication No. 1,045,003: discloses a nuclear energy systemin which spent fuel of one reactor is used in another reactor (1:10-14, 1:43-76, 2:27-42)
WO Publication No. 99/45545: discloses a nuclear energy system in which spent fuel of a first, pressurized water or graphite moderated reactor (14, 70) is used in another graphite moderated reactor (39, 74) (FIGS. 12-13, pp. 2, 7-8, 16, 17, 19-20)
The Applied References
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the applied reference(s) have been cited (as examples) to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety by Applicant, including any disclosures that may teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02(VI).
Application Status Information
Interview Information
Contact Information
Examiner Jinney Kil can be reached at (571) 272-3191, on Monday-Thursday from 8:30AM-6:30PM ET. Supervisor Jack Keith (SPE) can be reached at (571) 272-6878.
/JINNEY KIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3646