Response to Arguments
Certain applicant's arguments filed 10/06/2025 regarding the previous prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that Rinck does not teach "automatically determining, via the processor, a coverage of the scan to include the anatomic landmark of interest and to match the extents of the anatomic landmark of interest based on the scan protocol and the geometry plan including the extents of the anatomic landmark of interest" as recited in the independent claims. Applicant argues that the Examiner in a previous interview cited further paragraphs (e.g., paragraphs 46 and 59) of Rinck disclosing having a field of view match a tooth. Applicant notes for the purposes of MRI, scan coverage and field of view are different. Coverage refers to an area and depth (i.e., overall volume) of the tissue to be imaged, while field of view is the specific area (i.e., specific rectangular area) within the coverage that is captured and processed to generate the image. In other words, the scan coverage determines the total extent of tissue being scanned, and the field of view determines how region is framed and displayed. Applicant notes that the Examiner failed to address this argument. In addition, in the latest interview, the Examiner cited paragraph 159 of Rinck, which discloses tailoring an imaging volume to match the organ structure. First, an imaging volume is not the same as spatial coverage and indeed only one component thereof as noted in paragraph 50 of Rinck. Second, the term "matching" as used in Rinck means corresponding or aligning and has nothing to do with matching (i.e., being equal to) an extent. Thus, Rinck is still completely silent with regard to determining a coverage that matches the extents of the anatomic landmark. Paul fails to obviate these deficiencies.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Applicant states “Rinck discloses determining spatial coverage of an organ in an iterative manner by repeating localizer scans to narrow the spatial coverage” (Page 2 of arguments). Rinck discloses that it is an imaging volume, which would include both the rectangular area and depth and Rinck also discloses 3D measurement data can be obtained [¶0046]. Therefore, scan coverage is disclosed by Rinck.
Rinck also discloses [¶0159]:
In an exemplary embodiment, the magnetic resonance imaging system comprises a dedicated scanner configured to acquire magnetic resonance image data of a specific organ structure of the patient. For example, the magnetic resonance imaging device may be configured to perform a magnetic resonance measurement of an eye region, a teeth region and/or a jaw region of the patient. Thus, an imaging volume of the magnetic resonance imaging device may be tailored to match a diagnostically relevant organ structure, such as an eye, both eyes, a tooth, several teeth, a jaw, a dental arch or both dental arches of the patient.
Rinck then goes on to state matching the extents of the scan coverage to boundary of the organ structure [See Fig. 4]. Rinck also states “If the organ structure 51 is enclosed within the second localizer image data, the boundary box 52b may be further refined to reduce the volume of diagnostically irrelevant tissue surrounding the organ structure 51 to determine the field of view 50c of the magnetic resonance measurement in step Ic.” [¶0200]. Rinck also discloses 3D measurement data can be obtained [¶0046]. Therefore, it is believed by the examiner that Rinck teaches determining a coverage that matches the extents of the anatomic landmark.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-12, 16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinck (US 2021/0158563), in view of Paulini (US 2018/0038929).
Regarding claim 1, Rinck teaches a computer-implemented method for performing a scan of a subject utilizing a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system, comprising:
receiving, at a processor, a selection of a scan protocol from among a plurality of scan protocols for the scan of the subject with the MRI system [Fig. 5, See S4. See also rest of reference.];
obtaining, at the processor, localizer images including an anatomic landmark of interest of the subject acquired with the MRI system [Fig. 5, See S3. See also rest of reference.];
automatically detecting, via the processor, the anatomic landmark of interest in the localizer images and determining a geometry plan of the scan of the anatomic landmark of interest including extents of the anatomic landmark of interest of the subject based on the localizer images [See landmarks. See spatial coverage. See also rest of reference.];
automatically determining, via the processor, a coverage of the scan to include the anatomic landmark of interest and to match the extents of the anatomic landmark of interest based on the scan protocol and the geometry plan including the extents of the anatomic landmark of interest [See landmarks. See spatial coverage. Fig. 5, steps S5-S6. ¶0114, wherein a tooth or eye is used as the landmark. ¶0159, an imaging volume of the magnetic resonance imaging device may be tailored to match a diagnostically relevant organ structure, such as an eye, both eyes, a tooth, several teeth, a jaw, a dental arch or both dental arches of the patient. ¶0046, wherein 3D data is acquired. ¶0200, states “If the organ structure 51 is enclosed within the second localizer image data, the boundary box 52b may be further refined to reduce the volume of diagnostically irrelevant tissue surrounding the organ structure 51 to determine the field of view 50c of the magnetic resonance measurement in step Ic.” See also rest of reference.];
obtaining, at the processor, limits of overall scan time and additional limits on one or more image quality parameters for the scan protocol [¶0154, wherein limits/thresholds of acceptable quality are disclosed. ¶0088, ¶0194 wherein scan time allocations are also limited. See also rest of reference.]; and
generating, via the processor, an updated scan protocol by automatically adjusting one or more parameters of the scan protocol based on the scan protocol, the limit on overall scan time, , the additional limits of one or more image quality parameters, and the coverage of the scan [¶0154, wherein adjustments to parameters are determined if quality is not met. ¶0088, ¶0194 wherein the limits on scan time allocation are in effect. See also rest of reference.].
However, Rinck is silent in teaching a limit on adjustment of overall scan time of the scan and additional limits on adjustments of one or more image quality parameters for the scan protocol (emphasis added).
Paulini, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches a limit on adjustment of overall scan time of the scan and additional limits on adjustments of one or more image quality parameters for the scan protocol [See at least ¶0010, wherein the image criteria are kept constant and the image criteria include image quality and/or scan time and/or image resolution and/or further image-acquisition criteria. If the image criteria are kept constant, there is then a limit on adjustment of said image criteria. See also rest of reference.]. Paulini further teaches generating, via the processor, an updated scan protocol by automatically adjusting one or more parameters of the scan protocol based on the scan protocol, the limit on adjustment of the overall scan time of the scan, the additional limits of adjustments of the one or more image quality parameters, and the coverage of the scan [¶0004-0019. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rinck and Paulini because both references are in the field of adjusting parameters for MRI and because Paulini teaches it is known in the art to adjust scan parameters but make sure certain image criteria are kept constant so that a desirable image is still obtained [Paulini - ¶0004-0019. See also rest of reference.]. Further, it is obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art to limit the amount of adjustment of scan time and image quality because it would be obvious to not allow a user to select values to acquire a undesirably low-quality image because the image would not be clear or a perform an extremely long scan time, which would increase cost of operation and increase patient discomfort.
Regarding claim 2, Rinck and Paulini teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Rinck further teaches further comprising initiating, via the processor, the scan of the subject utilizing the updated scan protocol [¶0154, wherein adjustments to parameters are determined if quality is not met and rescans are performed. ¶0088, ¶0194 wherein the limits on scan time allocation are in effect. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 3, Rinck and Paulini teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Rinck is silent in teaching wherein the updated scan protocol maintains an image quality of an acquired image obtained from the scan relative to the scan protocol, wherein the limit on adjustment of the overall scan time of the scan and the additional limits on adjustments of the one or more image quality parameters comprise ranges that constrain both the scan time and the one or more image parameters, respectively, to maintain the image quality of the acquired image.
Paulini further teaches wherein the updated scan protocol maintains an image quality of an acquired image obtained from the scan relative to the scan protocol [See at least ¶0010, wherein the image criteria are kept constant and the image criteria include image quality and/or scan time and/or image resolution and/or further image-acquisition criteria. If the image criteria are kept constant, there is then a limit on adjustment of said image criteria. See also rest of reference.], wherein the limit on adjustment of the overall scan time of the scan and the additional limits on adjustments of the one or more image quality parameters comprise ranges that constrain both the scan time and the one or more image parameters, respectively, to maintain the image quality of the acquired image [See at least ¶0010, wherein the image criteria are kept constant and the image criteria include image quality and/or scan time and/or image resolution and/or further image-acquisition criteria. If the image criteria are kept constant, there is then a limit on adjustment of said image criteria. See also ¶0004-0019. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rinck and Paulini because both references are in the field of adjusting parameters for MRI and because Paulini teaches it is known in the art to adjust scan parameters but make sure certain image criteria are kept constant so that a desirable image is still obtained [Paulini - ¶0004-0019. See also rest of reference.]. Further, it is obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art to limit the amount of adjustment of scan time and image quality because it would be obvious to not allow a user to select values to acquire a undesirably low-quality image because the image would not be clear or a perform an extremely long scan time, which would increase cost of operation and increase patient discomfort.
Regarding claim 7, Rinck and Paulini teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Rinck further teaches wherein the limits apply to use of all MRI systems at a site having one or more MRI systems including the MRI system [There is at least the one MRI system where the limits apply (i.e. the MRI system in Fig. 1). Therefore, the limits disclosed apply to at least that MRI system. See also rest of reference.] or to use of all MRI systems across a network having multiple MRI systems across multiple sites including the MRI system.
However, Rinck is silent in teaching the limit on adjustment of the overall scan time of the scan and the additional limits on adjustments of the one or more image quality parameters.
Paulini further teaches wherein the limit on adjustment of the overall scan time of the scan and the additional limits on adjustments of the one or more image quality parameters apply to use of all MRI systems at a site having one or more MRI systems including the MRI system [See at least ¶0010, wherein the image criteria are kept constant and the image criteria include image quality and/or scan time and/or image resolution and/or further image-acquisition criteria. If the image criteria are kept constant, there is then a limit on adjustment of said image criteria. There is at least the one MRI system where the limits apply (i.e. the MRI system in Fig. 1). Therefore, the limits disclosed apply to at least that MRI system. See also rest of reference.] or to use of all MRI systems across a network having multiple MRI systems across multiple sites including the MRI system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rinck and Paulini because both references are in the field of adjusting parameters for MRI and because Paulini teaches it is known in the art to adjust scan parameters but make sure certain image criteria are kept constant so that a desirable image is still obtained [Paulini - ¶0004-0019. See also rest of reference.]. Further, it is obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art to limit the amount of adjustment of scan time and image quality because it would be obvious to not allow a user to select values to acquire a undesirably low-quality image because the image would not be clear or a perform an extremely long scan time, which would increase cost of operation and increase patient discomfort.
Regarding claim 9, Rinck and Paulini teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Rinck is silent in teaching wherein the one or more adjusted parameters comprise one or more of matrix size, echo train length, an acceleration factor for parallel imaging, repetition time, readout bandwidth, echo time, number of averages, phase over-sampling factor, flip angles, heart rate, respiratory rate, post-processing filter parameters, slice over-sampling factor number of slices, slice gap, slice thickness, diffusion B-values, number of averages for each B-value, inversion times, and fast imaging acceleration for compressed sensing.
Paulini teaches wherein the one or more adjusted parameters comprise one or more of matrix size, echo train length, an acceleration factor for parallel imaging, repetition time, readout bandwidth, echo time, number of averages, phase over-sampling factor, flip angles, heart rate, respiratory rate, post-processing filter parameters, slice over-sampling factor number of slices, slice gap, slice thickness, diffusion B-values, number of averages for each B-value, inversion times, and fast imaging acceleration for compressed sensing [¶0010. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rinck and Paulini because both references are in the field of adjusting parameters for MRI and because Paulini teaches it is known in the art to adjust scan parameters but make sure certain image criteria are kept constant so that a desirable image is still obtained [Paulini - ¶0004-0019. See also rest of reference.]. Further, it is obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art to limit the amount of adjustment of scan time and image quality because it would be obvious to not allow a user to select values to acquire a undesirably low-quality image because the image would not be clear or a perform an extremely long scan time, which would increase cost of operation and increase patient discomfort.
Regarding claim 10, the same reasons for rejection as claim 1 also apply to this claim. Claim 10 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the same reasons for rejection as claim 2 also apply to this claim. Claim 11 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the same reasons for rejection as claim 3 also apply to this claim. Claim 12 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, the same reasons for rejection as claim 7 also apply to this claim. Claim 16 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the same reasons for rejection as claim 9 also apply to this claim. Claim 18 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, the same reasons for rejection as claim 1 also apply to this claim. Claim 19 is merely the non-transitory computer-readable medium version of method claim 1.
Claims 4-5, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Rinck, in view of previously cited Paulini, and in further view of Grodzki (EP 3828578 A1. English translation provided by Espacenet and attached to previous office action.).
Regarding claim 4, Rinck and Paulini teach the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends from.
Paulini further teaches maintaining the image quality [See at least ¶0010, wherein the image criteria are kept constant and the image criteria include image quality and/or scan time and/or image resolution and/or further image-acquisition criteria. If the image criteria are kept constant, there is then a limit on adjustment of said image criteria. See also rest of reference.].
Rinck and Paulini are silent in teaching wherein maintaining the image quality comprises maintaining a contrast-to-noise ratio in the acquired image.
Grodzki further teaches wherein maintaining the image quality comprises maintaining a contrast-to-noise ratio in the acquired image [¶0032-0033. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rinck and Paulini with the teachings of Grodzki because all references are in the field of adjusting MR pulse sequences and because Grodzki teaches it is known in the art to restrict image quality parameters to desired values [Grodzki - ¶0032-0033], similar to Paulini [Paulini - ¶0010.].
Regarding claim 5, Rinck, Paulini, and Grodzki teach the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends from.
Rinck and Grodzki both further teach wherein the one or more adjusted parameters comprise a signal-to-noise ratio [Rinck – See signal-to-noise ratio. Grodzki - ¶0032-0033. See also rest of references.].
Regarding claim 13, the same reasons for rejection as claim 4 also apply to this claim. Claim 13 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the same reasons for rejection as claim 5 also apply to this claim. Claim 14 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, Rinck and Paulini teach the limitations of claim 19, which this claim depends from.
Rinck further teaches further wherein the processor-executable code, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to initiate the scan of the subject utilizing the updated scan protocol [¶0154, wherein adjustments to parameters are determined if quality is not met and rescans are performed. ¶0088, ¶0194 wherein the limits on scan time allocation are in effect. See also rest of reference.].
Paulini further teaches wherein the updated scan protocol maintains a image quality of an acquired image obtained from the scan relative to the scan protocol [¶0010].
However, Rinck and Paulini are silent in teaching wherein the updated scan protocol maintains a contrast-to-noise ratio of an acquired image obtained from the scan relative to the scan protocol.
Grodzki, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein the updated scan protocol maintains a contrast-to-noise ratio of an acquired image obtained from the scan relative to the scan protocol [¶0032-0033. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rinck and Paulini with the teachings of Grodzki because all references are in the field of adjusting MR pulse sequences and because Grodzki teaches it is known in the art to restrict image quality parameters to desired values [Grodzki - ¶0032-0033], similar to Paulini [Paulini - ¶0010.].
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Rinck, in view of previously cited Paulini, in further view of Li (CN 107638179 A. English translation provided by Espacenet and attached to previous office action.).
Regarding claim 6, Rinck and Paulini teach the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends from.
Grodzki further teaches wherein maintaining the image quality [See at least ¶0010, wherein the image criteria are kept constant and the image criteria include image quality and/or scan time and/or image resolution and/or further image-acquisition criteria. If the image criteria are kept constant, there is then a limit on adjustment of said image criteria. See also rest of reference.].
Rinck and Paulini are both silent in teaching wherein maintaining the image quality comprises maintaining both a signal-to-noise ratio and a contrast in the acquired image.
Li, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein maintaining the image quality comprises maintaining both a signal-to-noise ratio and a contrast-to-noise ratio in the acquired image [¶0004. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rinck, Paulini, and Li because all the references are in the field of parameterizing MR pulse sequences and because Li teaches it is known in the art that an MR parameter (i.e. flip angle) can be adjusted while maintaining contrast and signal-to-noise ratios, while reducing potentially harmful SAR [Li - ¶0004. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 15, the same reasons for rejection as claim 6 also apply to this claim. Claim 15 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 6.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Rinck, in view of previously cited Paulini, in further view of Wen (US 2022/0365159).
Regarding claim 8, Rinck and Paulini teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Paulini further teaches the limit on adjustment of the overall scan time of the scan and the additional limits on adjustments of the one or more image quality parameters [See at least ¶0010, wherein the image criteria are kept constant and the image criteria include image quality and/or scan time and/or image resolution and/or further image-acquisition criteria. If the image criteria are kept constant, there is then a limit on adjustment of said image criteria. See also rest of reference.].
However, Rinck and Paulini are silent in teaching wherein the limits on adjustments are based on a condition of the subject.
Wen, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein the limits on adjustments are based on a condition of the subject [¶0175. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rinck and Paulini with the teachings of Wen because all references are in the field of adjusting MR pulse sequences and Wen teaches it is known in the art that total power is a settable parameter and thresholds of total power are based on attributes of the patient (such as age, gender, weight, height, body thickness, body width, health conditions) [Wen - ¶0175. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 17, the same reasons for rejection as claim 8 also apply to this claim. Claim 17 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. EP 4083650 A1 is considered relevant because the application deals with the same issue of the current application which is reduce or minimize time spent performing high-resolution imaging of a subject, e.g. by restricting high-resolution imaging to only the desired anatomical areas [¶0060].
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858