DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communications filed on 01/14/2026.
Claims 1-11, 13 are pending and rejected. Claim 12 is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20220346025 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Park et al (US 20190190747 A1) (hereinafter “Park”) and further in view of Yang et al (US 20210160784 A) (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a client device, comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig. 4A, para [0077]; [0088]-0089] discloses wireless device with one or more processors, with machine readable instructions, storage media that may include non-transitory storage media, configured to execute modules by hardware or software); and
at least one memory including computer program code (see Fig. 4A, para [0077];[0088]-0089] discloses wireless device with one or more processors, with machine readable instructions, storage media that may include non-transitory storage media, configured to execute modules by hardware or software);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor (see Fig. 4A, para [0077]; [0088]-0089] discloses wireless device with one or more processors, with machine readable instructions, storage media that may include non-transitory storage media, configured to execute modules by hardware or software).
Zhang fails to disclose but Park teaches cause the client device to:
obtain a signal sequence configuration indicating a plurality of signal sequences (see Fig. 13 (S1301), para. [0469] discloses UE receives SRS configuration control information (DCI) that may include a parameter set of power control of SRS of each SRS resource set, the SRS resource set may include one or more SRS resources),
wherein each signal sequence in the plurality of signal sequences corresponds to an uplink transmission power level of a plurality of uplink transmission power levels (see Fig. 13 (S1302), para. [0471]-[0474] discloses UE determines transmission power of the SRS based on the parameter set of the power control of the SRS);
transmit each of the plurality of signal sequences to a network node device at the corresponding uplink transmission power level (see Fig. 13 (S1303) para. [0476] discloses the UE transmits SRS to the eNB with the determined transmission power).
Zhang and Park are both are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication systems and power control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the signal sequences as described by Park.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve link performance.
Park does not clearly disclose but Yang teaches receive, from the network node device, an indication about an uplink transmission power level out of the plurality of uplink transmission power levels to be used for uplink transmission (see Figure 6 (DCI message), para. [0081]-[0084] discloses the base station determines a number of open-loop power levels to be used for uplink transmission, may indicate the open-loop power levels to the UE, and may select one of the open loop power levels to be used for UL Tx by the UE ); and
perform an uplink transmission using the indicated uplink transmission power level to the network node device (see Figure 6 (UL TX), para. [0084] discloses the base station may select one of the open loop power levels to be used for UL Tx by the UE).
Park and Yang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication systems and power control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to include the uplink transmission indication as described by Yang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve link performance.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses a client device wherein the plurality of signal sequences are interleaved (This part is optional) and/or concatenated with each other (see para. [0072] discloses the UL RLC may provide concatenation to the upper layer data packets).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses a client device wherein the uplink transmission corresponds to a channel (see para. [0029]; [0102] discloses the initial access signal may include signal that is part of an initial access process such as Random Access Channel (RACH); base station may send the success initial access response signal in response to successfully decoding a RACH preamble and PUSCH signal from the wireless device), a channel associated with data (see para. [0102] discloses the base station may send the success initial access response signal in response to successfully decoding a RACH preamble and PUSCH signal from the wireless device), a channel associated with control (This part is optional), a signal, a reference signals (This part is optional), a data transmission (This part is optional) and/or any combination thereof (see para. [0029];[0102] discloses the initial access signal may include signal that is part of an initial access process such as Random Access Channel (RACH); base station may send the success initial access response signal in response to successfully decoding a RACH preamble and PUSCH signal from the wireless device).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses a client device wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor (see Fig. 4A, para [0077];[0088]-0089] discloses wireless device with one or more processors, with machine readable instructions, storage media that may include non-transitory storage media, configured to execute modules by hardware or software), cause the client device to transmit the plurality of signal sequences in a physical random access channel preamble (see para. [0029] discloses the initial access signal may include a signal that is part of an initial access process or procedure, such as RACH (Random Access Channel), the initial access signal may include a RACH preamble).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses a client device wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor (see Fig. 4A, para [0077];[0088]-0089] discloses wireless device with one or more processors, with machine readable instructions, storage media that may include non-transitory storage media, configured to execute modules by hardware or software), cause the client device to transmit the plurality of signal sequences according to the signal sequence configuration to the network node device at predefined transmission time occasions (see para. [0029] discloses the initial access signal may include a signal that is part of an initial access process or procedure, such as RACH (Random Access Channel), the initial access signal may include a RACH preamble).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses client device wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor (see Fig. 4A, para [0077];[0088]-0089] discloses wireless device with one or more processors, with machine readable instructions, storage media that may include non-transitory storage media, configured to execute modules by hardware or software), cause the client device to obtain the signal sequence configuration by receiving the signal sequence configuration from the network node device (see para. [0102] discloses the base station may send the TPC commands and uplink transmit power adjustment to the wireless device in a signal that may include a MsgB signal), and wherein the signal sequence configuration comprises an uplink transmission power range defining a minimum power (see Fig. 5C, para. [0104]-[0106] discloses a first configuration of transmit power values in a table, that my include sufficient range of UL transmit power) and a maximum power for the plurality of signal sequences and a power ramping step for the plurality of signal sequences (see Fig. 5C, para. [0104]-[0106] discloses a first configuration of transmit power values in a table, that my include sufficient range of UL transmit power).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a network node device comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig.8, para. [0118];[0121] discloses a network computing device, may work as a network element, include a processing system coupled to a memory and peripherals; processor configured by processor executable instructions. Software application may be stored in the memory before they are loaded into the processing system); and
at least one memory including computer program code (see Fig. 8, para. [0118];[0121] discloses a network computing device, may work as a network element, include a processing system coupled to a memory and peripherals; processor configured by processor executable instructions. Software application may be stored in the memory before they are loaded into the processing system);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor (see Fig. 8, para. [0118];[0121] discloses a network computing device, may work as a network element, include a processing system coupled to a memory and peripherals; processor configured by processor executable instructions. Software application may be stored in the memory before they are loaded into the processing system.
Zhang fails to disclose but Park teaches cause the network node device to:
transmit a signal sequence configuration indicating a plurality of signal sequences to a client device sequences (see Fig. 13 (S1301), para. [0469] discloses UE receives SRS configuration control information (DCI) that may include a parameter set of power control of SRS of each SRS resource set, the SRS resource set may include one or more SRS resources),
wherein each signal sequence in the plurality of signal sequences corresponds to an uplink transmission power level of a plurality of uplink transmission power levels (see Fig. 13 (S1302), para. [0471]-[0474] discloses UE determines transmission power of the SRS based on the parameter set of the power control of the SRS);
receive the plurality of signal sequences from the client device, wherein each signal sequence of the plurality of signal sequences is transmitted at the corresponding uplink transmission power level (see Fig. 13 (S1303) para. [0476] discloses the UE transmits SRS to the eNB with the determined transmission power).
Zhang and Park are both are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication systems and power control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the signal sequences as described by Park.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve link performance.
Park does not clearly disclose but Yang teaches choose an uplink transmission power level out of the plurality of uplink transmission power levels to be used by the client device for uplink transmission based on the received plurality of signal sequences (see Figure 6 (select open-loop power level for UE based on service type), para. [0081]-[0084] discloses the base station determines a number of open-loop power levels to be used for uplink transmission, may indicate the open-loop power levels to the UE, and may select one of the open loop power levels to be used for UL Tx by the UE); and
transmit an indication about the chosen uplink transmission power level to the client device (see Figure 6 (DCI message), para. [0081]-[0084] discloses the base station determines a number of open-loop power levels to be used for uplink transmission, may indicate the open-loop power levels to the UE, and may select one of the open loop power levels to be used for UL Tx by the UE).
Park and Yang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication systems and power control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to include the signal sequences as described by Yang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve link performance.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses a network node device wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor (see Fig. 8, para. [0118];[0121] discloses a network computing device, may work as a network element, base station, include a processing system coupled to a memory and peripherals; processor configured by processor executable instructions. Software application may be stored in the memory before they are loaded into the processing system),
cause the network node device to choose the uplink transmission power level to be used for uplink transmission by performing:
choose the uplink transmission power level by comparing each estimated signal sequence to a known signal sequence (see Fig. 5c, Fig 7, para. [0104];[0114]-[0117] discloses table with range of transmit power values; determine Uplink Power Adjustment for the wireless device to enable the wireless device to send a next signal to the base station using a second transmit power) estimate each signal sequence in the plurality of signal sequences (see Fig. 5c, Fig 7, para. [0104];[0114]-[0117] discloses table with range of transmit power values; determine Uplink Power Adjustment for the wireless device to enable the wireless device to send a next signal to the base station using a second transmit power).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses a method (see para. [0002] discloses methods performed by processor of wireless device for coordination of uplink power with a base station).
Zhang fails to disclose but Park teaches comprising:
obtaining a signal sequence configuration indicating a plurality of signal sequences (see Fig. 13 (S1301), para. [0469] discloses UE receives SRS configuration control information (DCI) that may include a parameter set of power control of SRS of each SRS resource set, the SRS resource set may include one or more SRS resources), wherein each signal sequence in the plurality of signal sequences corresponds to an uplink transmissions power level of a plurality of uplink transmission power levels (see Fig. 13 (S1302), para. [0471]-[0474] discloses UE determines transmission power of the SRS based on the parameter set of the power control of the SRS);
transmitting each of the plurality of signal sequences to a network node device at the corresponding uplink transmission power level (see Fig. 13 (S1303) para. [0476] discloses the UE transmits SRS to the eNB with the determined transmission power).
Zhang and Park are both are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication systems and power control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the signal sequences as described by Park.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve link performance.
Park does not clearly disclose but Yang reaches receiving, from the network node device, an indication about an uplink transmission power level out of the plurality of uplink transmission power levels to be used for uplink transmission (see Figure 6 (DCI message), para. [0081]-[0084] discloses the base station determines a number of open-loop power levels to be used for uplink transmission, may indicate the open-loop power levels to the UE, and may select one of the open loop power levels to be used for UL Tx by the UE); and
performing an uplink transmission using the indicated uplink transmission power level to the network node device (see Figure 6 (UL TX), para. [0084] discloses the base station may select one of the open loop power levels to be used for UL Tx by the UE).
Park and Yang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to include the uplink transmission indication as described by Yang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve link performance.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses a computer program product comprising program code configured to perform the method when the computer program product is executed on a computer (see Fig. 2, para. [0056];[0077];[0083];[0118];[0121];[0141] discloses a computing system for implementation of the embodiments; network computing device that may include processing systems with machine readable instructions and instruction modules that may include computer program modules).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20220346025 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Park et al (US 20190190747 A1) (hereinafter “Park”) and further in view of Yang et al (US 20210160784 A) (hereinafter “Yang”) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kanterakis et al (US 20050117549 A1) (hereinafter “Kanterakis”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses a client device (see Fig. 4A, para [0077];[0088]-0089] discloses wireless device with one or more processors, with machine readable instructions, storage media that may include non-transitory storage media, configured to execute modules by hardware or software).
Zhang fails to disclose but Kanterakis teaches a device wherein each signal sequence in the plurality of signal sequences corresponds to an amplitude-scaled version of a common signal sequence (see Fig. 6. Para. [0051] discloses an access burst signal, that has a plurality of segments, each one with preamble and pilot signal, and plurality of power levels. The power level of each segment increases with each subsequent segment).
Zhang and Kanterakis are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the amplitude scales version of the signal as described by Kanterakis.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve link performance.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20220346025 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Park et al (US 20190190747 A1) (hereinafter “Park”) and further in view of Yang et al (US 20210160784 A) (hereinafter “Yang”) as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Chen et al (WO 2023141897 A1- Published 01/27/2022) (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses a network node device according wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor (see Fig.8, para. [0118];[0121] discloses a network computing device, may work as a network element, base station, include a processing system coupled to a memory and peripherals; processor configured by processor executable instructions. Software application may be stored in the memory before they are loaded into the processing system).
Zhang fails to disclose but Chen teaches causing the network node device to choose the uplink transmission power level to be used for uplink transmission by performing:
compute a channel estimate for the client device based on the received plurality of signal sequences (see para. [0052] discloses apparatus for determining transmit power; the network device may configure different sounding reference signals (SRS) for different panels so the terminal device may obtain uplink channel information);
compute a combining vector for the client device based on the channel estimate of the client device (see para. [0052] discloses apparatus for determining transmit power; the network device may configure different sounding reference signals (SRS) for different panels so the terminal device may obtain uplink channel information. The network device may configure a set of SRS resources for each panel of the terminal, so the terminal device may perform beam management on each panel according to the precoding vector);
estimate each signal sequence in the plurality of signal sequences based on the combining vector of the client device (see para. [0052] discloses apparatus for determining transmit power; the network device may configure different sounding reference signals (SRS) for different panels so the terminal device may obtain uplink channel information. The network device may configure a set of SRS resources for each panel of the terminal, so the terminal device may perform beam management on each panel according to the precoding vector); and
choose the uplink transmission power level by comparing each estimated signal sequence to a known signal sequence (see para. [0052] discloses in order to determine the panel used to transmit the signal, the network device can configure multiple sets of reference signal resources for the terminal device, where different sets of reference signals are sent or received by different panels, so as to indicate the panel used for transmitting signals through multiple sets of reference signal resources. Exemplarily, the reference signal resource set may be a channel state information reference signal (Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS) resource set, or an SRS resource set).
Zhang and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include network node as described by Chen.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve link performance.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20220346025 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Park et al (US 20190190747 A1) (hereinafter “Park”) and further in view of Yang et al (US 20210160784 A) (hereinafter “Yang”) as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Singh et al (US 20160028454 A1) (hereinafter “Singh”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a network node device wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor (see Fig.8, para. [0118];[012] discloses a network computing device, may work as a network element, base station, include a processing system coupled to a memory and peripherals; processor configured by processor executable instructions. Software application may be stored in the memory before they are loaded into the processing system).
Zhang fails to disclose but Singh teaches a network node device wherein the network node device further comprises at least one analog-to-digital converter with 1 - 10 quantization bits (see Fig. 5-6, para. [0049];[0056] discloses analog to digital converter (ADC) that converts the received waveform into digital domain; discloses A 2 bit ADC specified by a set of three thresholds), cause the network node device to receive the uplink transmission from the client device using the at least one analog-to-digital converter (see Fig. 6 discloses receiver optimizes the choice of the input distribution and ADC quantizer).
Zhang and Singh are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the ADC and quantization as described by Singh.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improve link performance and efficiency.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 01/14/2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 1-7,1 3 and 14, see pages 8-10, and claims 8-11, see pages 10-13, under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered by the examiner, regarding the indication of a plurality of signal sequences, transmission of each signal sequence and reception from the node and indication about uplink transmission level out of the plurality of uplink transmission power levels to be used by the client device. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Park et al (US 20190190747 A) and Yang (US 20210160784 A1).
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419