Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a power supply for a radio frequency coil assembly of a MRI apparatus, does not reasonably provide enablement for a power supply for any component. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Regarding claim 1, the claim discloses “a power supply device for a magnetic resonance system” only in the preamble in the claim. The preamble does not have patentable weight. Therefore, the scope of the limitations of the power supply in the body of the claim are for any component according to the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Taking these factors into account, undue experimentation would be required by one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the full scope of claim 1. Claims 2-15 are rejected for depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (US 2012/0287678).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a power supply device for a magnetic resonance system, comprising:
a DC power source [Fig. 9-13, see Vin. See also rest of reference.];
a full-bridge circuit coupled to the DC power source and having a first bridge arm and a second bridge arm, the full-bridge circuit being used to output a periodic voltage signal through the first bridge arm and the second bridge arm [Fig. 9-13, see switch transistors Q1-Q4 which form a full bridge. See also rest of reference.];
a resonant circuit, having a symmetrical circuit structure, wherein two symmetric input terminals are connected to the first bridge arm and the second bridge arm, respectively, so as to receive the periodic voltage signal [Fig. 9-13, see capacitors (such as C91-C92) and inductors (such as L91 and L92) in the middle of the circuit arrangement. The LC circuits are symmetric. See also rest of reference.]; and
a boost circuit, connected to two symmetric output terminals of the resonant circuit so as to receive the periodic voltage signal modulated by the resonant circuit, the boost circuit being used to provide a boosted voltage, and the boosted voltage having an amplitude greater than the amplitude of the periodic voltage signal [See boost auto-transformer. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 2, Xu further teaches wherein the resonant circuit comprises a first inductor, a first capacitor, a second capacitor and a second inductor, one end of the first inductor being connected to the first bridge arm, one end of the second inductor being connected to the second bridge arm, the other end of the first inductor being connected sequentially in series to the first capacitor and the second capacitor, and then connected to the other end of the second inductor, the other ends of the first inductor and the second inductor serving as the two symmetric output terminals, respectively, and a connection node of the first capacitor and the second capacitor being grounded [Fig. 9-13, see capacitors (such as C91-C92) and inductors (such as L91 and L92) in the middle of the circuit arrangement. The LC circuits are symmetric. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 3, Xu further teaches wherein the boost circuit comprises a symmetrical circuit structure, the symmetrical circuit structure comprising a first boost portion and a second boost portion, the first boost portion and the second boost portion being connected to the two symmetric output terminals of the resonant circuit, respectively, and the first boost portion and the second boost portion being used to produce divided voltages of the boosted voltage [Fig. 9-13, See boost auto-transformer. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 5, Xu further teaches further comprising an energy storage capacitor, wherein both the first boost portion and the second boost portion are connected to a positive electrode of the energy storage capacitor so as to provide the boosted voltage to the energy storage capacitor [See C93, C103, C113, C123, C133 in Figs. 9-13. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 6, Xu further teaches wherein a fifth diode is connected between the first boost portion and second boost portion, and the energy storage capacitor [See Diodes D91/92, D101/102, D111/112, D121/122, D131/132 in Figs. 9-13. See also rest of reference.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Xu, in view of Hirakawa (US 2021/0288583).
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends from.
Xu is silent in teaching wherein the first boost portion comprises a plurality of third capacitors, a plurality of fifth capacitors, a plurality of first diodes and a plurality of second diodes, and the second boost portion comprises a plurality of fourth capacitors, the plurality of fifth capacitors, a plurality of third diodes and a plurality of fourth diodes, a negative electrode of each third capacitor being connected to an anode of a first diode and a cathode of a second diode, each third capacitor corresponding to one fourth capacitor, a negative electrode of the fourth capacitor corresponding to each third capacitor being connected to an anode of a third diode and a cathode of a fourth diode, cathodes of each first diode and a corresponding third diode being connected to each other and then connected to a positive electrode of a fifth capacitor, and anodes of each second diode and a corresponding fourth diode being connected to each other and then connected to a negative electrode of a fifth capacitor.
Hirakawa teaches wherein the first boost portion comprises a plurality of third capacitors, a plurality of fifth capacitors, a plurality of first diodes and a plurality of second diodes, and the second boost portion comprises a plurality of fourth capacitors, the plurality of fifth capacitors, a plurality of third diodes and a plurality of fourth diodes, a negative electrode of each third capacitor being connected to an anode of a first diode and a cathode of a second diode, each third capacitor corresponding to one fourth capacitor, a negative electrode of the fourth capacitor corresponding to each third capacitor being connected to an anode of a third diode and a cathode of a fourth diode, cathodes of each first diode and a corresponding third diode being connected to each other and then connected to a positive electrode of a fifth capacitor, and anodes of each second diode and a corresponding fourth diode being connected to each other and then connected to a negative electrode of a fifth capacitor [See Fig. 8. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Hirakawa because both references teach a rectifier circuits and Hirakawa teaches the claimed configuration is a known configuration for a rectifier circuit [Hirakawa - See Fig. 8. See also rest of reference.].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Xu, in view of Gataric (US 11,114,932).
Regarding claim 7, Xu teaches the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends from.
Xu is silent in teaching wherein the first inductor and the second inductor are wound to form a coupled inductor.
Gataric teaches wherein the first inductor and the second inductor are wound to form a coupled inductor [See coupled inductor. See Fig. 6. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Gataric because both references are in the field of electrical converters and because Gataric teaches the coupled inductors can reduce ripple currents.
Regarding claim 8, Xu and Gataric teaches the limitations of claim 7, which this claim depends from.
Xu is silent in teaching wherein the first inductor and the second inductor are wound and extended to form a ring shape.
Gataric teaches wherein the first inductor and the second inductor are wound and extended to form a ring shape [See coupled inductor. See Fig. 6. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Gataric because both references are in the field of electrical converters and because Gataric teaches the coupled inductors can reduce ripple currents.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Xu, in view of previously cited Gataric, and in further view of Park (US 2022/0140722).
Regarding claim 9, Xu and Gataric teaches the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends from.
Gataric further teaches wherein the coupled inductor comprises an circular carrier, and the first inductor and the second inductor are each wound in parallel along the entire periphery of the circular carrier in multiple turns [See coupled inductor. See Fig. 6. See also rest of reference.].
However, Xu and Gataric are silent in teaching an annular carrier.
Park further teaches wherein the coupled inductor comprises an annular carrier, and the first inductor and the second inductor are wound along the periphery of the annular carrier in multiple turns [Fig. 8. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Gataric with the teachings of Park because all references are in the field of electrical converters and Park teaches it is known in the art to wind inductors along an annular carrier [Park - Fig. 8. See also rest of reference.].
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Xu, in view of Song (US 2015/0115954).
Regarding claim 10, Xu teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Xu is silent in teaching further comprising a controller, for controlling the full-bridge circuit to output the periodic voltage signal.
Song, which is also in the field of bridge circuits, teaches further comprising a controller, for controlling the full-bridge circuit to output the periodic voltage signal [¶0028. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Song because both references are in the field of bridge circuits and because Song teaches it is known to use a control signal to control the switches of the bridge circuits [Song - ¶0028. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends from.
Xu is silent in teaching wherein the full-bridge circuit comprises a plurality of field-effect transistor switches, and the controller is used to switch the plurality of field-effect transistor switches between on and off, wherein a switching frequency of the controller for the plurality of field-effect transistor switches is outside of an operating frequency range of the magnetic resonance system.
Song, which is also in the field of bridge circuits, teaches wherein the full-bridge circuit comprises a plurality of field-effect transistor switches, and the controller is used to switch the plurality of field-effect transistor switches between on and off, wherein a switching frequency of the controller for the plurality of field-effect transistor switches is outside of an operating frequency range of the magnetic resonance system [¶0028, ¶0041. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Song because both references are in the field of bridge circuits and because Song teaches it is known to use a control signal to control the switches of the bridge circuits [Song - ¶0028. See also rest of reference.].
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Xu, in view of Gu (US 2020/0200845).
Regarding claim 12, Xu teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
However, Xu is silent in teaching wherein the power supply device is integrated in a resonance assembly of the magnetic resonance system.
Gu, which is also in the field of power supplies, teaches wherein the power supply device is integrated in a resonance assembly of the magnetic resonance system [¶0002].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Gu because both references are in the field of power supplies and because Xu teaches that the disclosed that the resonant converter is important to the developing trends of switchable power supplies, and the RF power supply of Gu is switchable.
Regarding claim 13, Xu teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Xu teaches the power supply device of claim 1 [see claim 1 above].
Xu is silent in teaching a magnetic resonance system, comprising: a main magnet; a radio frequency coil; a radio frequency control link, comprising at least one of a radio frequency transmit link and a radio frequency receive link; and a power supply device, for supplying power to one or more loads in the radio frequency control link.
Gu teaches a magnetic resonance system, comprising: a main magnet [Fig. 1]; a radio frequency coil [Fig. 1]; a radio frequency control link, comprising at least one of a radio frequency transmit link and a radio frequency receive link [Fig. 1]; and a power supply device, for supplying power to one or more loads in the radio frequency control link [Fig. 1 and ¶0002].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Gu because both references are in the field of power supplies and because Xu teaches that the disclosed that the resonant converter is important to the developing trends of switchable power supplies, and the RF power supply of Gu is switchable.
Regarding claim 14, Xu and Gu teach the limitations of claim 13, which this claim depends from.
Xu is silent in teaching wherein the main magnet, the radio frequency coil, the one or more loads of the radio frequency control link, and the power supply device thereof are all disposed in a magnet room.
Gu teaches wherein the main magnet, the radio frequency coil, the one or more loads of the radio frequency control link, and the power supply device thereof are all disposed in a magnet room [Fig. 1 and ¶0002].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Gu because both references are in the field of power supplies and because Xu teaches that the disclosed that the resonant converter is important to the developing trends of switchable power supplies, and the RF power supply of Gu is switchable.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Xu, in view of previously cited Gu, and in further view of Tomiha (US 2014/0097844).
Regarding claim 15, Xu and Gu teach the limitations of claim 13, which this claim depends from.
Xu and Gu are silent in teaching wherein the power supply device is disposed in a housing accommodating the main magnet.
Tomiha further teaches wherein the power supply device is disposed in a housing accommodating the main magnet [Fig. 11, wherein batter 304 is part of second radio communication unit 300A, which can be located in the MRI bore (see Fig. 1). See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Gu with the teachings of Tomiha because Tomiha teaches it is possible for RF power supplies to be located in the MRI bore closer to the RF coil, which can reduce power loss.
Conclusion
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896