DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 8-9 are New.
This action is in response to the “request for continued examination” filed 12/22/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 & 9 contain the trademark/trade name universal serial bus (USB). Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a type of electrical connection and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20190195641) in view of Shin (US20150362325).
Claim 1:
Kim explicitly teaches:
A vehicle system comprising: a vehicle device; and
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
an external device that is operable alone and communicably connected to the vehicle device,
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein. Hereinafter, for convenience of description, the electronic device 320 is described as the component separate from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0069)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: “Operable alone” is recited with a high degree of generality. Per BRI, this may correspond with any form of operational independence.
wherein the external device is configured to receive data from the vehicle device and enable an access from an external terminal configured to change the received data,
(Kim) – “In operation 820, the processor 323 may request operation data of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 310 in FIG. 3) and receive the operation data from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0189)
“In operation 840, the processor 323 may request and receive data related to the destination in response to determining that the start of the vehicle 310 is running.” (Para 0191)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the processor 323 may request the external server 330 connected to electronic device 320 through various communication means or the mobile terminal 340 for the data related to a destination” (Para 0192)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may receive data related to the destination from the external server 330 in response to a request of the electronic device 320 for the data related to the destination, and may transmit the data related to the destination to the electronic device 320.” (Para 0195)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may be electrically connected to the electronic device 320. The mobile terminal 340 may receive information related to the destination transmitted from the electronic device 320 or the external server 330. The mobile terminal 340 may display the information related to the destination received through a screen of the mobile terminal 340. For example, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the user with the navigation service using the received information related to the destination.” (Para 0074)
“Referring to FIG. 4, an electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 320 in FIG. 3) according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may include a wireless communication circuit 321, a processor 323, and a memory 325.” (Para 0076)
Examiner Note: Data is recited broadly. Per BRI, any manipulation or generation of data may reasonably correspond to a “change.” Furthermore, any communicative coupling between an external device and a vehicle device may correspond with “the external device is configured to receive data from the vehicle device.”
the vehicle device includes a first operating system (OS), the external device includes a second OS, and [an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS], and
(Kim) – “The program 140 may be stored in the memory 130 as software, and may include, for example, an operating system (OS) 142, middleware 144, or an application 146.” (Para 0030)
“FIG. 2 is a block diagram 200 illustrating the program 140 according to various embodiments. According to an embodiment, the program 140 may include an operating system (OS) 142 to control one or more resources of the electronic device 101, middleware 144, or an application 146 executable in the OS 142. The OS 142 may include, for example, Android™, iOS™, Windows™, Symbian™, Tizen™, or Bada™. At least part of the program 140, for example, may be pre-loaded on the electronic device 101 during manufacture, or may be downloaded from or updated by an external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 or 104, or the server 108) during use by a user.” (Para 0052)
“A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
the vehicle device is mounted on a vehicle, the external device is different from a smart phone, a tablet terminal and a personal computer, and
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may be electrically connected with the vehicle 310 using a connector, the standard of which is compatible with an on board diagnostic (OBD) standard, a separate communication standard used by the vehicle 310.” (Para 0064)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein.” (Para 0069)
the external terminal is at least one of the smart phone, the tablet terminal and the personal computer.
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“The mobile terminal 340 may refer to the mobile terminal 340 carried by a person on board the vehicle 310, such as a driver who operates the vehicle 310, a fellow passenger, or the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the navigation service indicating the route to the destination, in response to a user's input through a navigation application program installed in the mobile terminal 340.” (Para 0073)
“To be specific, a connected car is a technology for providing a more convenient operation environment by convergence of the vehicle with a function of a mobile communication terminal (e.g., a smart phone). The connected car may provide a user with various information using a method by which various sensors and measuring devices installed in the vehicle may perform communication with a user's mobile terminal or an external server.” (Para 0005)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS
(Shin) – “In addition, the navigation device may rely on only information provided by the navigation device itself or a software providing company, and thereby the update frequency is slow” (Para 0010)
“Another aspect of the present invention is for the navigation device to achieve optimal consumption of battery power and bandwidth as well as achieving easy access to the Internet and a frequent update operation by using a smartphone, thereby maximizing a user's convenience when updating the navigation device.” (Para 0019)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electronic device and method for a vehicle of Kim with the apparatus for updating a vehicle navigation using a user equipment of Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “maximizing a user's convenience when updating the navigation device.” (Shin Para 0019)
Claim 2:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is operable alone even when the vehicle device is not operating.
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein. Hereinafter, for convenience of description, the electronic device 320 is described as the component separate from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0069)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: “Operable alone” is recited with a high degree of generality. Per BRI, this may correspond with any form of operational independence.
Claim 3:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is operable alone even in a state where the external device is not connected to the vehicle device.
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein. Hereinafter, for convenience of description, the electronic device 320 is described as the component separate from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0069)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: “Operable alone” is recited with a high degree of generality. Per BRI, this may correspond with any form of operational independence.
Claim 4:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is configured to receive the data from an electronic control unit connected to the vehicle device.
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“In operation 820, the processor 323 may request operation data of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 310 in FIG. 3) and receive the operation data from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0189)
Claim 5:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is communicably connected to the external terminal via a wired or wireless communication path.
(Kim) – “In operation 820, the processor 323 may request operation data of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 310 in FIG. 3) and receive the operation data from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0189)
“In operation 840, the processor 323 may request and receive data related to the destination in response to determining that the start of the vehicle 310 is running.” (Para 0191)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the processor 323 may request the external server 330 connected to electronic device 320 through various communication means or the mobile terminal 340 for the data related to a destination” (Para 0192)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may receive data related to the destination from the external server 330 in response to a request of the electronic device 320 for the data related to the destination, and may transmit the data related to the destination to the electronic device 320.” (Para 0195)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may be electrically connected to the electronic device 320. The mobile terminal 340 may receive information related to the destination transmitted from the electronic device 320 or the external server 330. The mobile terminal 340 may display the information related to the destination received through a screen of the mobile terminal 340. For example, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the user with the navigation service using the received information related to the destination.” (Para 0074)
Claim 6:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is supplied with power from a built-in battery or from an in-vehicle battery to be operable alone.
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Claim 7:
Kim explicitly teaches:
A vehicle system comprising: a first processor that serves as a vehicle device; and
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
a second processor that serves as an external device that is operable alone and communicably connected to the vehicle device,
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein. Hereinafter, for convenience of description, the electronic device 320 is described as the component separate from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0069)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: “Operable alone” is recited with a high degree of generality. Per BRI, this may correspond with any form of operational independence.
wherein the external device is configured to receive data from the vehicle device and enable an access from a third processor that serves as an external terminal configured to change the received data,
(Kim) – “In operation 820, the processor 323 may request operation data of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 310 in FIG. 3) and receive the operation data from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0189)
“In operation 840, the processor 323 may request and receive data related to the destination in response to determining that the start of the vehicle 310 is running.” (Para 0191)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the processor 323 may request the external server 330 connected to electronic device 320 through various communication means or the mobile terminal 340 for the data related to a destination” (Para 0192)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may receive data related to the destination from the external server 330 in response to a request of the electronic device 320 for the data related to the destination, and may transmit the data related to the destination to the electronic device 320.” (Para 0195)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may be electrically connected to the electronic device 320. The mobile terminal 340 may receive information related to the destination transmitted from the electronic device 320 or the external server 330. The mobile terminal 340 may display the information related to the destination received through a screen of the mobile terminal 340. For example, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the user with the navigation service using the received information related to the destination.” (Para 0074)
“Referring to FIG. 4, an electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 320 in FIG. 3) according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may include a wireless communication circuit 321, a processor 323, and a memory 325.” (Para 0076)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any manipulation or generation of data may reasonably correspond to a “change.”
the vehicle device includes a first operating system (OS), the external device includes a second OS, and [an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS], and
(Kim) – “The program 140 may be stored in the memory 130 as software, and may include, for example, an operating system (OS) 142, middleware 144, or an application 146.” (Para 0030)
“FIG. 2 is a block diagram 200 illustrating the program 140 according to various embodiments. According to an embodiment, the program 140 may include an operating system (OS) 142 to control one or more resources of the electronic device 101, middleware 144, or an application 146 executable in the OS 142. The OS 142 may include, for example, Android™, iOS™, Windows™, Symbian™, Tizen™, or Bada™. At least part of the program 140, for example, may be pre-loaded on the electronic device 101 during manufacture, or may be downloaded from or updated by an external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 or 104, or the server 108) during use by a user.” (Para 0052)
“A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
the vehicle device is mounted on a vehicle, the external device is different from a smart phone, a tablet terminal and a personal computer, and
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may be electrically connected with the vehicle 310 using a connector, the standard of which is compatible with an on board diagnostic (OBD) standard, a separate communication standard used by the vehicle 310.” (Para 0064)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein.” (Para 0069)
the external terminal is at least one of the smart phone, the tablet terminal and the personal computer.
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“The mobile terminal 340 may refer to the mobile terminal 340 carried by a person on board the vehicle 310, such as a driver who operates the vehicle 310, a fellow passenger, or the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the navigation service indicating the route to the destination, in response to a user's input through a navigation application program installed in the mobile terminal 340.” (Para 0073)
“To be specific, a connected car is a technology for providing a more convenient operation environment by convergence of the vehicle with a function of a mobile communication terminal (e.g., a smart phone). The connected car may provide a user with various information using a method by which various sensors and measuring devices installed in the vehicle may perform communication with a user's mobile terminal or an external server.” (Para 0005)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS
(Shin) – “In addition, the navigation device may rely on only information provided by the navigation device itself or a software providing company, and thereby the update frequency is slow” (Para 0010)
“Another aspect of the present invention is for the navigation device to achieve optimal consumption of battery power and bandwidth as well as achieving easy access to the Internet and a frequent update operation by using a smartphone, thereby maximizing a user's convenience when updating the navigation device.” (Para 0019)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electronic device and method for a vehicle of Kim with the apparatus for updating a vehicle navigation using a user equipment of Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “maximizing a user's convenience when updating the navigation device.” (Shin Para 0019)
Claim 8:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is a universal serial bus (USB) module, and is connected to the vehicle device via USB.
(Kim) – “The interface 177 may support one or more specified protocols to be used for the electronic device 101 to be coupled with the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102) directly (e.g., wiredly) or wirelessly. According to an embodiment, the interface 177 may include, for example, a high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), a universal serial bus (USB) interface, a secure digital (SD) card interface, or an audio interface.” (Para 0036)
“A connecting terminal 178 may include a connector via which the electronic device 101 may be physically connected with the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102). According to an embodiment, the connecting terminal 178 may include, for example, a HDMI connector, a USB connector, a SD card connector, or an audio connector (e.g., a headphone connector),” (Para 0037)
“A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: See 112 rejection.
Claim 9:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection mailed 10/21/2025 have been considered but are not convincing.
Specifically, applicant argues:
“Specifically in this regard, amended independent Claims 1 and 7 set forth Applicant's unique and innovative arrangement and orientation of components, reciting a vehicle system including, in part, "the vehicle device is mounted on a vehicle, the external device is different from a smart phone, a tablet terminal and a personal computer, and the external terminal is at least one of the smart phone, the tablet terminal and the personal computer." Kim et al., alone or in combination with Shin et al. or any of the other references cited, does not disclose, teach or suggest, at least, any structure similar to a vehicle system including, in part, "the vehicle device is mounted on a vehicle, the external device is different from a smart phone, a tablet terminal and a personal computer, and the external terminal is at least one of the smart phone, the tablet terminal and the personal computer" as recited in amended independent Claims 1 and 7 of Applicant's claimed disclosure. There is no motivation or incentive in Kim et al., alone or in combination with Shin et al. or any of the other references cited, to arrive at Applicant's disclosure as claimed. In fact, the cited references teach away from and articulate various disadvantages associated with the arrangement, configuration and orientation of components taught in Applicant's claimed disclosure.”
However, this is incorrect. Kim, in fact, does explicitly teach “the vehicle device is mounted on a vehicle, the external device is different from a smart phone, a tablet terminal and a personal computer” (see at least Kim 0061, 0064, 0069) and “the external terminal is at least one of the smart phone, the tablet terminal and the personal computer” (see at least Kim 0061, 0073, 0005, Fig 5A).
Furthermore, Applicant argues:
“In the features previously added to each independent claim, a vehicle device (2) includes a first operating system (OS), an external device (3) includes a second OS, and an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS.
In Feature A, as illustrated in FIG.3 of Applicant's application reproduced below, the vehicle device (2) is mounted on a vehicle, the external device (3) is different from a smart phone, a tablet terminal and a personal computer, and an external terminal (7) is at least one of the smart phone, the tablet terminal and the personal computer. Shin et al. discloses a navigation device 110 mounted in a vehicle and a user equipment (UF), such as a smartphone, as illustrated in FIG. 1 of Shin et al. reproduced below. The navigation device 110 receives various information through the smartphone and updates its navigation database (DB). See Shin etal. At paragraph [0017].
Furthermore, by utilizing the user equipment UE (smartphone), frequent update operations can be achieved, thereby improving user convenience when updating the navigation device. See Shin et al. at paragraphs [0019] and [0041].
The target of these frequent updates is the vehicle-mounted navigation device 110. See Shin et al. at paragraph [0062]. There is no description in Shin et al. regarding updates of the user equipment UE (smartphone) itself.
Therefore, with respect to Feature A, since the update frequency of the vehicle- mounted device is lower than that of external devices such as smartphones, tablet terminals and personal computers, Shin et al.'s configuration, which enables frequent updates of the vehicle-mounted navigation device 110, differs from Feature A as recited in amended independent Claims 1 and 7 of Applicant's claimed disclosure.
Moreover, Shin et al. does not describe any relationship between the update frequency of the navigation device 110 and the update frequency of external devices other than the user equipment UE (smartphone). Accordingly, in the combination of Kim et al. and Shin et al., it is difficult to achieve each of Applicant's amended independent claims including Feature A as recited in amended independent Claims 1 and 7 of Applicant's claimed disclosure.”
However, this is unconvincing. If, for argument’s sake, the user equipment was not updated more frequently than the vehicle, then there would be no benefit of a “frequent update operation by using a smartphone” (Shin 0019). It is well understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art that a smartphone typically receives more frequent updates than a vehicle device by virtue of their more consistent connection to the internet and near continuous operation. This well understood relationship is clearly the reason for the “frequent update operation by using a smartphone” (Shin 0019).
Furthermore, Applicant argues:
“It is respectfully submitted that in view of Applicant's arguments stated above, Kim et al. is an improper primary reference, Shin et al. is an improper secondary reference, and Applicant's claims are patentably distinct with respect thereto, as well as no teaching in existence to suggest the combination of any of the cited references. As set forth in MPEP § 2142, "the key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious." As the U.S. Supreme Court noted in KSR Intl. Co. v. Teleflex Inc., "the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 should be made explicit." 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). The Federal Circuit has stated that "rejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of
obviousness. "In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977 at 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329 at 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In the Final Office Action, the Examiner's conclusory statements are insufficient to establish a prima facie rejection because no articulated reasoning with rational underpinning was given, and no explanation as to exactly how the combination or modification could have been made was provided. As a result, Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner has failed to identify any motivation by one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the art to arrive at the claimed disclosure other than the impermissible use of hindsight.
While it is Applicant's view that the claims as written are not obvious in light of the cited art and fully comply with Section 103, in the interest of advancing and expediting prosecution, and without prejudice to pursuing this and related subject matter in future applications, Applicant has amended independent Claims 1 and 7. Therefore, amended independent Claims 1 and 7 should be in condition for allowance. Further, because Claims 2-6 depend directly from amended independent Claim 1, they are at least as limited, are similarly not taught by Kim et al., alone or in combination with Shin et al. or any of the other references cited, and should also be in condition for allowance. In view of the above amendments and these remarks, Applicant respectfully requests the Examiner to reconsider and withdraw the Section 103 rejection to Claims 1-7.”
However, these arguments provide no justification or evidence in support of the allegations. As such Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
As such, the prior art rejection of all remaining claims has not been overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kobayashi (US20190332371) teaches an arrangement in which a smartphone is updated more frequently than a vehicle device.
Filippou (US20190053000) teaches an arrangement in which a smartphone is updated more frequently than a vehicle device.
Jang (KR20190079969) teaches an arrangement in which a smartphone is updated more frequently than a vehicle device.
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3667