DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 10-11 are New.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 05/04/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20190195641) in view of Shin (US20150362325) further in view of Kanamori (JP2020040646).
Claim 1:
Kim explicitly teaches:
A vehicle system comprising: a vehicle device; and
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
an external device that is operable alone and communicably connected to the vehicle device,
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein. Hereinafter, for convenience of description, the electronic device 320 is described as the component separate from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0069)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: “Operable alone” is recited with a high degree of generality. Per BRI, this may correspond with any form of operational independence.
wherein the external device is configured to receive data from the vehicle device and enable an access from an external terminal configured to change the received from the external device [different from the external terminal],
(Kim) – “In operation 820, the processor 323 may request operation data of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 310 in FIG. 3) and receive the operation data from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0189)
“In operation 840, the processor 323 may request and receive data related to the destination in response to determining that the start of the vehicle 310 is running.” (Para 0191)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the processor 323 may request the external server 330 connected to electronic device 320 through various communication means or the mobile terminal 340 for the data related to a destination” (Para 0192)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may receive data related to the destination from the external server 330 in response to a request of the electronic device 320 for the data related to the destination, and may transmit the data related to the destination to the electronic device 320.” (Para 0195)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may be electrically connected to the electronic device 320. The mobile terminal 340 may receive information related to the destination transmitted from the electronic device 320 or the external server 330. The mobile terminal 340 may display the information related to the destination received through a screen of the mobile terminal 340. For example, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the user with the navigation service using the received information related to the destination.” (Para 0074)
“Referring to FIG. 4, an electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 320 in FIG. 3) according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may include a wireless communication circuit 321, a processor 323, and a memory 325.” (Para 0076)
Examiner Note: Data is recited broadly. Per BRI, any manipulation or generation of data may reasonably correspond to a “change.” Furthermore, any communicative coupling between an external device and a vehicle device may correspond with “the external device is configured to receive data from the vehicle device.”
the vehicle device includes a first operating system (OS), the external device includes a second OS, and [an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS], and
(Kim) – “The program 140 may be stored in the memory 130 as software, and may include, for example, an operating system (OS) 142, middleware 144, or an application 146.” (Para 0030)
“FIG. 2 is a block diagram 200 illustrating the program 140 according to various embodiments. According to an embodiment, the program 140 may include an operating system (OS) 142 to control one or more resources of the electronic device 101, middleware 144, or an application 146 executable in the OS 142. The OS 142 may include, for example, Android™, iOS™, Windows™, Symbian™, Tizen™, or Bada™. At least part of the program 140, for example, may be pre-loaded on the electronic device 101 during manufacture, or may be downloaded from or updated by an external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 or 104, or the server 108) during use by a user.” (Para 0052)
“A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
the vehicle device is mounted on a vehicle, the external device is different from a smart phone, a tablet terminal and a personal computer, and
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may be electrically connected with the vehicle 310 using a connector, the standard of which is compatible with an on board diagnostic (OBD) standard, a separate communication standard used by the vehicle 310.” (Para 0064)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein.” (Para 0069)
the external terminal is at least one of the smart phone, the tablet terminal and the personal computer,
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“The mobile terminal 340 may refer to the mobile terminal 340 carried by a person on board the vehicle 310, such as a driver who operates the vehicle 310, a fellow passenger, or the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the navigation service indicating the route to the destination, in response to a user's input through a navigation application program installed in the mobile terminal 340.” (Para 0073)
“To be specific, a connected car is a technology for providing a more convenient operation environment by convergence of the vehicle with a function of a mobile communication terminal (e.g., a smart phone). The connected car may provide a user with various information using a method by which various sensors and measuring devices installed in the vehicle may perform communication with a user's mobile terminal or an external server.” (Para 0005)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
different from the external terminal …an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS… the vehicle device further includes a plurality of OSs and a hypervisor, the plurality of OSs include the first OS that executes a first multimedia process and a third OS that executes a process requiring real-time performance, the external device includes the second OS that executes a second multimedia process different from the first multimedia process, the external device does not include an OS that executes the process requiring the real-time performance and does not include the hypervisor, and the hypervisor enables the first OS and the third OS to be executed in parallel.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS
(Shin) – “In addition, the navigation device may rely on only information provided by the navigation device itself or a software providing company, and thereby the update frequency is slow” (Para 0010)
“Another aspect of the present invention is for the navigation device to achieve optimal consumption of battery power and bandwidth as well as achieving easy access to the Internet and a frequent update operation by using a smartphone, thereby maximizing a user's convenience when updating the navigation device.” (Para 0019)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electronic device and method for a vehicle of Kim with the apparatus for updating a vehicle navigation using a user equipment of Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “maximizing a user's convenience when updating the navigation device.” (Shin Para 0019)
Shin does not explicitly teach:
different from the external terminal …the vehicle device further includes a plurality of OSs and a hypervisor, the plurality of OSs include the first OS that executes a first multimedia process and a third OS that executes a process requiring real-time performance, the external device includes the second OS that executes a second multimedia process different from the first multimedia process, the external device does not include an OS that executes the process requiring the real-time performance and does not include the hypervisor, and the hypervisor enables the first OS and the third OS to be executed in parallel.
Kanamori, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
different from the external terminal …the vehicle device further includes a plurality of OSs and a hypervisor, the plurality of OSs include the first OS that executes a first multimedia process and a third OS that executes a process requiring real-time performance, the external device includes the second OS that executes a second multimedia process different from the first multimedia process, the external device does not include an OS that executes the process requiring the real-time performance and does not include the hypervisor, and the hypervisor enables the first OS and the third OS to be executed in parallel.
(Kanamori) – “The wireless communication device 71 is connected to the USB module 3. The wireless communication device 71 includes a BT communication unit and a Wi-Fi communication unit. The BT communication unit performs short-range wireless communication by a method based on the Bluetooth standard. Bluetooth is a registered trademark. The Wi-Fi communication unit performs short-range wireless communication by a method based on the Wi-Fi standard. Wi-Fi is a registered trademark.” (Para 0030)
“As shown in FIG. 2, the HCU 2 includes a hypervisor 81, a service bus 82, an operating system 83 (hereinafter, OS83), a real-time operating system 84 (hereinafter, real-time OS 84), a meter processing unit 85, and an HMI process. A section 86 and a firewall 87 are provided. OS is an abbreviation for Operating System. HMI is an abbreviation for Human Machine Interface.” (Para 0031)
“The hypervisor 81 has a function of managing a plurality of operating systems so that the plurality of operating systems can be executed in parallel on the CPU 21. That is, the hypervisor 81 manages the OS 83 and the real-time OS 84.” (Para 0032)
“The OS 83 is basic software installed on the HCU 2 to operate various applications.” (Para 0034)
“The real-time OS 84 has a function of managing the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 so that the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 can be executed in parallel on the CPU 21. The real-time OS 84 manages the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 so that real-time processing by the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 can be ensured.” (Para 0038)
“The USB module 3 includes an operating system 91 (hereinafter, OS91). The OS 91 is basic software installed on the USB module 3 to operate various applications.” (Para 0042)
“Next, in S30, the hypervisor 81 is started. Further, in S40, the service bus 82 is started. Thereafter, in S50, the OS 83 and the real-time OS 84 are started. In S60, a process for connecting an external OS (that is, OS 91) to the service bus 82 is executed.” (Para 0046)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electronic device and method for a vehicle of Kim with the vehicle control system of Kanamori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “the functions of the applications installed in the mobile terminal OS also increase, and accordingly, it is necessary to improve the performance of the hardware installed in the mobile terminal.” (Kanamori Para 0002)
Claim 2:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is operable alone even when the vehicle device is not operating.
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein. Hereinafter, for convenience of description, the electronic device 320 is described as the component separate from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0069)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: “Operable alone” is recited with a high degree of generality. Per BRI, this may correspond with any form of operational independence.
Claim 3:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is operable alone even in a state where the external device is not connected to the vehicle device.
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein. Hereinafter, for convenience of description, the electronic device 320 is described as the component separate from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0069)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: “Operable alone” is recited with a high degree of generality. Per BRI, this may correspond with any form of operational independence.
Claim 4:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is configured to receive the data from an electronic control unit connected to the vehicle device.
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“In operation 820, the processor 323 may request operation data of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 310 in FIG. 3) and receive the operation data from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0189)
Claim 5:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is communicably connected to the external terminal via a wired or wireless communication path.
(Kim) – “In operation 820, the processor 323 may request operation data of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 310 in FIG. 3) and receive the operation data from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0189)
“In operation 840, the processor 323 may request and receive data related to the destination in response to determining that the start of the vehicle 310 is running.” (Para 0191)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the processor 323 may request the external server 330 connected to electronic device 320 through various communication means or the mobile terminal 340 for the data related to a destination” (Para 0192)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may receive data related to the destination from the external server 330 in response to a request of the electronic device 320 for the data related to the destination, and may transmit the data related to the destination to the electronic device 320.” (Para 0195)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may be electrically connected to the electronic device 320. The mobile terminal 340 may receive information related to the destination transmitted from the electronic device 320 or the external server 330. The mobile terminal 340 may display the information related to the destination received through a screen of the mobile terminal 340. For example, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the user with the navigation service using the received information related to the destination.” (Para 0074)
Claim 6:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is supplied with power from a built-in battery or from an in-vehicle battery to be operable alone.
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Claim 7:
Kim explicitly teaches:
A vehicle system comprising: a first processor that serves as a vehicle device; and
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
a second processor that serves as an external device that is operable alone and communicably connected to the vehicle device,
(Kim) – “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein. Hereinafter, for convenience of description, the electronic device 320 is described as the component separate from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0069)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may include a separate battery, and in this case, the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320 may be supplied by the separate battery. In a case where the electronic device 320 does not have a battery therein, the battery of the vehicle 310 electrically connected to the electronic device 320 may supply the power required for the operation of the electronic device 320.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: “Operable alone” is recited with a high degree of generality. Per BRI, this may correspond with any form of operational independence.
wherein the external device is configured to receive data from the vehicle device and enable an access from a third processor that serves as an external terminal configured to change the received from the external device [different from the external terminal],
(Kim) – “In operation 820, the processor 323 may request operation data of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 310 in FIG. 3) and receive the operation data from the vehicle 310.” (Para 0189)
“In operation 840, the processor 323 may request and receive data related to the destination in response to determining that the start of the vehicle 310 is running.” (Para 0191)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the processor 323 may request the external server 330 connected to electronic device 320 through various communication means or the mobile terminal 340 for the data related to a destination” (Para 0192)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may receive data related to the destination from the external server 330 in response to a request of the electronic device 320 for the data related to the destination, and may transmit the data related to the destination to the electronic device 320.” (Para 0195)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may be electrically connected to the electronic device 320. The mobile terminal 340 may receive information related to the destination transmitted from the electronic device 320 or the external server 330. The mobile terminal 340 may display the information related to the destination received through a screen of the mobile terminal 340. For example, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the user with the navigation service using the received information related to the destination.” (Para 0074)
“Referring to FIG. 4, an electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 320 in FIG. 3) according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may include a wireless communication circuit 321, a processor 323, and a memory 325.” (Para 0076)
Examiner Note: Data is recited broadly. Per BRI, any manipulation or generation of data may reasonably correspond to a “change.” Furthermore, any communicative coupling between an external device and a vehicle device may correspond with “the external device is configured to receive data from the vehicle device.”
the vehicle device includes a first operating system (OS), the external device includes a second OS, and [an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS], and
(Kim) – “The program 140 may be stored in the memory 130 as software, and may include, for example, an operating system (OS) 142, middleware 144, or an application 146.” (Para 0030)
“FIG. 2 is a block diagram 200 illustrating the program 140 according to various embodiments. According to an embodiment, the program 140 may include an operating system (OS) 142 to control one or more resources of the electronic device 101, middleware 144, or an application 146 executable in the OS 142. The OS 142 may include, for example, Android™, iOS™, Windows™, Symbian™, Tizen™, or Bada™. At least part of the program 140, for example, may be pre-loaded on the electronic device 101 during manufacture, or may be downloaded from or updated by an external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 or 104, or the server 108) during use by a user.” (Para 0052)
“A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
the vehicle device is mounted on a vehicle, the external device is different from a smart phone, a tablet terminal and a personal computer, and
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device (e.g., 320) may be electrically connected to the vehicle 310. The phrase ‘electrically connected’, may include both cases in which the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are connected with each other using a wireless standard, and the electronic device 320 and the vehicle 310 are wired and connected with each other using a separate standard.” (Para 0063)
“According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device 320 may be electrically connected with the vehicle 310 using a connector, the standard of which is compatible with an on board diagnostic (OBD) standard, a separate communication standard used by the vehicle 310.” (Para 0064)
“Although the electronic device 320 is illustrated as a component separate from the vehicle 310, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be configured to include the electronic device 320. For example, the vehicle 310 may implement all the operations or components of the electronic device 320 described herein.” (Para 0069)
the external terminal is at least one of the smart phone, the tablet terminal and the personal computer.
(Kim) – “A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
“The mobile terminal 340 may refer to the mobile terminal 340 carried by a person on board the vehicle 310, such as a driver who operates the vehicle 310, a fellow passenger, or the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the mobile terminal 340 may provide the navigation service indicating the route to the destination, in response to a user's input through a navigation application program installed in the mobile terminal 340.” (Para 0073)
“To be specific, a connected car is a technology for providing a more convenient operation environment by convergence of the vehicle with a function of a mobile communication terminal (e.g., a smart phone). The connected car may provide a user with various information using a method by which various sensors and measuring devices installed in the vehicle may perform communication with a user's mobile terminal or an external server.” (Para 0005)
Kim does not explicitly teach:
different from the external terminal …an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS… the vehicle device further includes a plurality of OSs and a hypervisor, the plurality of OSs include the first OS that executes a first multimedia process and a third OS that executes a process requiring real-time performance, the external device includes the second OS that executes a second multimedia process different from the first multimedia process, the external device does not include an OS that executes the process requiring the real-time performance and does not include the hypervisor, and the hypervisor enables the first OS and the third OS to be executed in parallel.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
an update frequency of the second OS is higher than an update frequency of the first OS
(Shin) – “In addition, the navigation device may rely on only information provided by the navigation device itself or a software providing company, and thereby the update frequency is slow” (Para 0010)
“Another aspect of the present invention is for the navigation device to achieve optimal consumption of battery power and bandwidth as well as achieving easy access to the Internet and a frequent update operation by using a smartphone, thereby maximizing a user's convenience when updating the navigation device.” (Para 0019)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electronic device and method for a vehicle of Kim with the apparatus for updating a vehicle navigation using a user equipment of Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “maximizing a user's convenience when updating the navigation device.” (Shin Para 0019)
Shin does not explicitly teach:
different from the external terminal …the vehicle device further includes a plurality of OSs and a hypervisor, the plurality of OSs include the first OS that executes a first multimedia process and a third OS that executes a process requiring real-time performance, the external device includes the second OS that executes a second multimedia process different from the first multimedia process, the external device does not include an OS that executes the process requiring the real-time performance and does not include the hypervisor, and the hypervisor enables the first OS and the third OS to be executed in parallel.
Kanamori, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
different from the external terminal …the vehicle device further includes a plurality of OSs and a hypervisor, the plurality of OSs include the first OS that executes a first multimedia process and a third OS that executes a process requiring real-time performance, the external device includes the second OS that executes a second multimedia process different from the first multimedia process, the external device does not include an OS that executes the process requiring the real-time performance and does not include the hypervisor, and the hypervisor enables the first OS and the third OS to be executed in parallel.
(Kanamori) – “The wireless communication device 71 is connected to the USB module 3. The wireless communication device 71 includes a BT communication unit and a Wi-Fi communication unit. The BT communication unit performs short-range wireless communication by a method based on the Bluetooth standard. Bluetooth is a registered trademark. The Wi-Fi communication unit performs short-range wireless communication by a method based on the Wi-Fi standard. Wi-Fi is a registered trademark.” (Para 0030)
“As shown in FIG. 2, the HCU 2 includes a hypervisor 81, a service bus 82, an operating system 83 (hereinafter, OS83), a real-time operating system 84 (hereinafter, real-time OS 84), a meter processing unit 85, and an HMI process. A section 86 and a firewall 87 are provided. OS is an abbreviation for Operating System. HMI is an abbreviation for Human Machine Interface.” (Para 0031)
“The hypervisor 81 has a function of managing a plurality of operating systems so that the plurality of operating systems can be executed in parallel on the CPU 21. That is, the hypervisor 81 manages the OS 83 and the real-time OS 84.” (Para 0032)
“The OS 83 is basic software installed on the HCU 2 to operate various applications.” (Para 0034)
“The real-time OS 84 has a function of managing the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 so that the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 can be executed in parallel on the CPU 21. The real-time OS 84 manages the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 so that real-time processing by the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 can be ensured.” (Para 0038)
“The USB module 3 includes an operating system 91 (hereinafter, OS91). The OS 91 is basic software installed on the USB module 3 to operate various applications.” (Para 0042)
“Next, in S30, the hypervisor 81 is started. Further, in S40, the service bus 82 is started. Thereafter, in S50, the OS 83 and the real-time OS 84 are started. In S60, a process for connecting an external OS (that is, OS 91) to the service bus 82 is executed.” (Para 0046)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electronic device and method for a vehicle of Kim with the vehicle control system of Kanamori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “the functions of the applications installed in the mobile terminal OS also increase, and accordingly, it is necessary to improve the performance of the hardware installed in the mobile terminal.” (Kanamori Para 0002)
Claim 8:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim further teaches:
wherein the external device is a universal serial bus (USB) module, and is connected to the vehicle device via USB.
(Kim) – “The interface 177 may support one or more specified protocols to be used for the electronic device 101 to be coupled with the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102) directly (e.g., wiredly) or wirelessly. According to an embodiment, the interface 177 may include, for example, a high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), a universal serial bus (USB) interface, a secure digital (SD) card interface, or an audio interface.” (Para 0036)
“A connecting terminal 178 may include a connector via which the electronic device 101 may be physically connected with the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102). According to an embodiment, the connecting terminal 178 may include, for example, a HDMI connector, a USB connector, a SD card connector, or an audio connector (e.g., a headphone connector),” (Para 0037)
“A vehicle 310 may refer to any vehicle capable of transporting various objects such as people, stuffs, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the vehicle 310 may be electrically connected to at least one of an electronic device 320, an external server 330 and a mobile terminal 340 using various communication means (e.g., wireless fidelity “wi-fi”, BlueTooth, NFC, etc.). The vehicle 310 may include a separate electronic device (e.g., a navigational unit) that provides a navigation service generating route guidance towards a destination.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: See 112 rejection.
Claim 9:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 8.
Claim 10:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim does not explicitly teach the following limitations in full. Kanamori further teaches:
wherein the process requiring the real-time performance executed by the third OS includes display output or audio output, the first multimedia process executed by the first OS of the vehicle device includes a navigation process, and the second multimedia process executed by the second OS of the external device does not include the navigation process.
(Kanamori) – “The wireless communication device 71 is connected to the USB module 3. The wireless communication device 71 includes a BT communication unit and a Wi-Fi communication unit. The BT communication unit performs short-range wireless communication by a method based on the Bluetooth standard. Bluetooth is a registered trademark. The Wi-Fi communication unit performs short-range wireless communication by a method based on the Wi-Fi standard. Wi-Fi is a registered trademark.” (Para 0030)
“As shown in FIG. 2, the HCU 2 includes a hypervisor 81, a service bus 82, an operating system 83 (hereinafter, OS83), a real-time operating system 84 (hereinafter, real-time OS 84), a meter processing unit 85, and an HMI process. A section 86 and a firewall 87 are provided. OS is an abbreviation for Operating System. HMI is an abbreviation for Human Machine Interface.” (Para 0031)
“The hypervisor 81 has a function of managing a plurality of operating systems so that the plurality of operating systems can be executed in parallel on the CPU 21. That is, the hypervisor 81 manages the OS 83 and the real-time OS 84.” (Para 0032)
“The OS 83 is basic software installed on the HCU 2 to operate various applications.” (Para 0034)
“In the present embodiment, the OS 83 operates the radio application 101, the air conditioner application 102, the navigation application 103, and the voice recognition application 104.” (Para 0032)
“The real-time OS 84 has a function of managing the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 so that the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 can be executed in parallel on the CPU 21. The real-time OS 84 manages the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 so that real-time processing by the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 can be ensured.” (Para 0038)
“The HMI processing unit 86 performs a process of controlling display by the center display 51, the meter display 52, the head-up display 53, and the air conditioner controller display 54 based on video data input from outside the HMI processing unit 86. In addition, the HMI processing unit 86 performs a process of controlling the audio output by the speaker 55 based on the audio data input from outside the HMI processing unit 86.” (Para 0040)
“The USB module 3 includes an operating system 91 (hereinafter, OS91). The OS 91 is basic software installed on the USB module 3 to operate various applications. In the present embodiment, the OS 91 is an android. The OS 91 operates the mobile device communication application 121.” (Para 0042)
“Next, in S30, the hypervisor 81 is started. Further, in S40, the service bus 82 is started. Thereafter, in S50, the OS 83 and the real-time OS 84 are started. In S60, a process for connecting an external OS (that is, OS 91) to the service bus 82 is executed.” (Para 0046)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electronic device and method for a vehicle of Kim with the vehicle control system of Kanamori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “the functions of the applications installed in the mobile terminal OS also increase, and accordingly, it is necessary to improve the performance of the hardware installed in the mobile terminal.” (Kanamori Para 0002)
Claim 11:
Kim in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Kim does not explicitly teach the following limitations in full. Kanamori further teaches:
further comprising a service bus and a database for associating data for an application layer of each OS with data for a lower layer indicating any layer below the application layer, and the service bus converts a data format between the application layer and the lower layer by referring to the database, and performs data exchange between the first OS and the third OS within the vehicle device, and data exchange between the vehicle device and the external device.
(Kanamori) – “The wireless communication device 71 is connected to the USB module 3. The wireless communication device 71 includes a BT communication unit and a Wi-Fi communication unit. The BT communication unit performs short-range wireless communication by a method based on the Bluetooth standard. Bluetooth is a registered trademark. The Wi-Fi communication unit performs short-range wireless communication by a method based on the Wi-Fi standard. Wi-Fi is a registered trademark.” (Para 0030)
“As shown in FIG. 2, the HCU 2 includes a hypervisor 81, a service bus 82, an operating system 83 (hereinafter, OS83), a real-time operating system 84 (hereinafter, real-time OS 84), a meter processing unit 85, and an HMI process. A section 86 and a firewall 87 are provided. OS is an abbreviation for Operating System. HMI is an abbreviation for Human Machine Interface.” (Para 0031)
“The hypervisor 81 has a function of managing a plurality of operating systems so that the plurality of operating systems can be executed in parallel on the CPU 21. That is, the hypervisor 81 manages the OS 83 and the real-time OS 84.” (Para 0032)
“The service bus 82 is an application that bridges data between an application layer and a lower layer representing an arbitrary layer below the presentation layer. The service bus 82 exchanges data so that the HCU 2 and the USB module 3 that communicate via the USB connector 14 can exchange data as if they were one device. To this end, the service bus 82 includes a database for associating data used in the lower layer with data used in the application layer. By referring to this database, data is transferred between the application layer and the lower layer.” (Para 0033)
“The OS 83 is basic software installed on the HCU 2 to operate various applications.” (Para 0034)
“In the present embodiment, the OS 83 operates the radio application 101, the air conditioner application 102, the navigation application 103, and the voice recognition application 104.” (Para 0032)
“The real-time OS 84 has a function of managing the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 so that the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 can be executed in parallel on the CPU 21. The real-time OS 84 manages the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 so that real-time processing by the HMI processing unit 86 and the meter processing unit 85 can be ensured.” (Para 0038)
“The HMI processing unit 86 performs a process of controlling display by the center display 51, the meter display 52, the head-up display 53, and the air conditioner controller display 54 based on video data input from outside the HMI processing unit 86. In addition, the HMI processing unit 86 performs a process of controlling the audio output by the speaker 55 based on the audio data input from outside the HMI processing unit 86.” (Para 0040)
“The USB module 3 includes an operating system 91 (hereinafter, OS91). The OS 91 is basic software installed on the USB module 3 to operate various applications. In the present embodiment, the OS 91 is an android. The OS 91 operates the mobile device communication application 121.” (Para 0042)
“Next, in S30, the hypervisor 81 is started. Further, in S40, the service bus 82 is started. Thereafter, in S50, the OS 83 and the real-time OS 84 are started. In S60, a process for connecting an external OS (that is, OS 91) to the service bus 82 is executed.” (Para 0046)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electronic device and method for a vehicle of Kim with the vehicle control system of Kanamori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “the functions of the applications installed in the mobile terminal OS also increase, and accordingly, it is necessary to improve the performance of the hardware installed in the mobile terminal.” (Kanamori Para 0002)
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection presented in the office action mailed 02/02/2026 has been withdrawn because the amendment and remarks filed 05/04/2026 sufficiently overcomes this rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection mailed 02/02/2026 have been considered but are not convincing.
Specifically, all claims are now rejected further in view of Kanamori as necessitated by amendment. Examiner maintains that Kanamori resolves any alleged deficiencies in the prior art rejection as fully evidenced in the updated rejection rationale.
As such, the prior art rejection of all remaining claims has not been overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (US20220022165) teaches a similar use of a hypervisor and multiple access stratum layers
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658