DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to am amendment/argument submitted on 02/03/2026. The applicant amends claims 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer US 2018/0011772 in view of Esler US 2013/0124009.
As per claim 1, A vehicle system, comprising:
a vehicular device; (Meyer paragraph 0008 discloses, "a computing device may choose to display different information in a different format when the car is moving versus when the car is stationary, or the computing device may choose to display different content to different displays within a car (e.g., based on whether the display is a heads-up display, a main console display, or a backseat display).") and
an external device solely operable and communicatively connected to the vehicular device, (Meyer paragraph 0006 discloses, "In another example, when a smartphone connects to a display in an automobile, the smartphone may know how to format content such that it may be displayed on the automobile's display, but the smartphone may not understand that there are touch controls or hardware buttons available on the display, that there are speech capabilities on the display, that the display is a heads-up display versus a center console display or a backseat display, and the like. As such, the smartphone may not be maximizing the capabilities of the automobile display.") wherein
the external device is configured to be accessible from an external terminal device in advance or remotely to allow the external device to change data stored in the external device and is configured to reflect the changed data, as a result of such an access from the external terminal device in advance or remotely, on the vehicular device, thereby enablinq in-advance or remote access from the external terminal device to the external device to transmit the changed data to the vehicular device arbitrarily at a time of connection of the external device to the vehicular device.
(Meyer paragraph 0007 discloses, "To maximize the features of peripheral devices, a peripheral device may send peripheral device information to a computing device upon detecting that the peripheral device is connected to the computing device. The peripheral device information may be any suitable information specifying any characteristics associated with the peripheral device." and paragraph 0006 discloses, "in the case of a peripheral device that is a display, the information sent to a computing device in communication with the display may be limited to resolution options, color depth, aspect ratio, or orientation of the display. This may be used by the computing device to properly configure the display adapter settings of the computing device such that the computing device may use the display.) and (Esler paragraph 0026 teaches, “the remote server implemented vehicle database enables a device (e.g., user client) independent vehicle configuration management system. The user can access the configuration template as well as his previously stored configuration data, from anywhere, using any compatible user client. For example, a user can start the configuration process of his vehicle on his office computer, and the user can save the configuration data in the middle of the process. The user can obtain the saved configuration data from the vehicle database in the server, and continue the configuration process in his vehicle using his mobile phone. After the user arrives home, the user can re-calibrate the configuration data using his home computer.” And paragraph 0029 teaches, “The control module 130 is connected with other modules and devices for adjusting and controlling the features of the vehicle 140. When the control module 130 receives configuration data, it communicates with other modules and devices of the vehicle 140 to configure them in accordance with the parameters in the configuration data. In an embodiment, the control module 130 obtains the configuration data from the user client 110, a wired or wireless connection,” and paragraph 0030 teaches, “in an alternative embodiment, the control module 130 obtains configuration data from the vehicle database 120 implemented in a remote server. The control module 130 may communicate with the remote server on its own,”)
Meyer discloses peripheral device operation of a system within a vehicle. Meyer does not disclose operation of a peripheral device remote of the vehicle. Esler teaches operation of a peripheral device remote of the vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Esler et.al. into the invention of Meyer. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to allow the operator flexibility to control the peripheral device.
As per claim 2, The vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the external device is accessible from the external terminal device regarding data related to a function implemented in the vehicular device, and the external device is configured to reflect the result of the access from the external terminal device on the vehicular device when the external device is connected to the vehicular device. (Meyer paragraph 0007 discloses, "To maximize the features of peripheral devices, a peripheral device may send peripheral device information to a computing device upon detecting that the peripheral device is connected to the computing device. The peripheral device information may be any suitable information specifying any characteristics associated with the peripheral device." and paragraph 0006 discloses, "in the case of a peripheral device that is a display, the information sent to a computing device in communication with the display may be limited to resolution options, color depth, aspect ratio, or orientation of the display. This may be used by the computing device to properly configure the display adapter settings of the computing device such that the computing device may use the display.)
As per claim 3, The vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the external device is accessible from the external terminal device regarding data related to a peripheral device or an electronic control device connected to the vehicular device, and the external device is configured to reflect the result of the access from the external terminal device on the vehicular device when the external device is connected to the vehicular device. (Meyer paragraph 0007 discloses, "To maximize the features of peripheral devices, a peripheral device may send peripheral device information to a computing device upon detecting that the peripheral device is connected to the computing device. The peripheral device information may be any suitable information specifying any characteristics associated with the peripheral device." and paragraph 0006 discloses, "in the case of a peripheral device that is a display, the information sent to a computing device in communication with the display may be limited to resolution options, color depth, aspect ratio, or orientation of the display. This may be used by the computing device to properly configure the display adapter settings of the computing device such that the computing device may use the display.)
As per claim 4, The vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the external device is configured to operate solely even when the vehicular device is not operating. (Meyer paragraph 0010 discloses, "Peripheral device 102 may transmit peripheral device information to computing device 104 (e.g., via connection 106). The peripheral device information may include any suitable information specifying any characteristics associated with peripheral device 102, such as a purpose, capability, and context of peripheral device 102. For example, peripheral device 102 may send peripheral device information that may include any one or more of a type associated with peripheral device 102 (e.g., whether peripheral device 102 is a keyboard, mouse, etc.), specifications associated with peripheral device 102, a date, a time, a geographic location of peripheral device 102, a movement of peripheral device 102, a state of peripheral device 102, an environment of peripheral device 102, and the like." If the device can transmit it can then operate on its' own.)
As per claim 5, The vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the external device is configured to operate solely even when the external device is not connected to the vehicular device. (Meyer paragraph 0006 discloses a smartphone which operate as a stand-alone)
As per claim 6, The vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the external device is communicatively connected to the external terminal device via a wired communication path or a wireless communication path. (Meyer paragraph 0009 discloses, "Peripheral device 102 and computing device 104 may be in communication with each other via connection 106, which maybe any suitable connection such as via a wired connection or a wireless connection (e.g., Bluetooth).")
As per claim 7, The vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the external device is configured to solely operate by receiving electric power from an internal battery or an in-vehicle battery. (Meyer paragraph 0006 discloses a smartphone is powered by an internal power.)
8. (currently amended) A vehicle system, comprising:
a vehicular device; (Meyer paragraph 0008 discloses, "a computing device may choose to display different information in a different format when the car is moving versus when the car is stationary, or the computing device may choose to display different content to different displays within a car (e.g., based on whether the display is a heads-up display, a main console display, or a backseat display) and
an external device having a communication circuit and an external communication circuit, the communication circuit solely operable and communicatively connected to the vehicular device and the external communication circuit communicatively connected to an external terminal device via a communication path that is different from a communication path used by the vehicular device; (Meyer paragraph 0006 discloses, "In another example, when a smartphone connects to a display in an automobile, the smartphone may know how to format content such that it may be displayed on the automobile's display, but the smartphone may not understand that there are touch controls or hardware buttons available on the display, that there are speech capabilities on the display, that the display is a heads-up display versus a center console display or a backseat display, and the like. As such, the smartphone may not be maximizing the capabilities of the automobile display.")
wherein the external device is configured to be accessible from the external terminal device in advance or remotely to allow the external device to change data stored in the external device and is configured to reflect the changed data, as a result of such an access from the external terminal device in advance or remotely, on the vehicular device, thereby enabling in-advance or remote access from the external terminal device to the external device to transmit the changed data to the vehicular device arbitrarily at a time of connection of the external device to the vehicular device. (Meyer paragraph 0007 discloses, "To maximize the features of peripheral devices, a peripheral device may send peripheral device information to a computing device upon detecting that the peripheral device is connected to the computing device. The peripheral device information may be any suitable information specifying any characteristics associated with the peripheral device." and paragraph 0006 discloses, "in the case of a peripheral device that is a display, the information sent to a computing device in communication with the display may be limited to resolution options, color depth, aspect ratio, or orientation of the display. This may be used by the computing device to properly configure the display adapter settings of the computing device such that the computing device may use the display.) and (Esler paragraph 0026 teaches, “the remote server implemented vehicle database enables a device (e.g., user client) independent vehicle configuration management system. The user can access the configuration template as well as his previously stored configuration data, from anywhere, using any compatible user client. For example, a user can start the configuration process of his vehicle on his office computer, and the user can save the configuration data in the middle of the process. The user can obtain the saved configuration data from the vehicle database in the server, and continue the configuration process in his vehicle using his mobile phone. After the user arrives home, the user can re-calibrate the configuration data using his home computer.” And paragraph 0029 teaches, “The control module 130 is connected with other modules and devices for adjusting and controlling the features of the vehicle 140. When the control module 130 receives configuration data, it communicates with other modules and devices of the vehicle 140 to configure them in accordance with the parameters in the configuration data. In an embodiment, the control module 130 obtains the configuration data from the user client 110, a wired or wireless connection,” and paragraph 0030 teaches, “in an alternative embodiment, the control module 130 obtains configuration data from the vehicle database 120 implemented in a remote server. The control module 130 may communicate with the remote server on its own,”)
Meyer discloses peripheral device operation of a system within a vehicle. Meyer does not disclose operation of a peripheral device remote of the vehicle. Esler teaches operation of a peripheral device remote of the vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Esler et.al. into the invention of Meyer. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to allow the operator flexibility to control the peripheral device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended claims include a new feature of advance or remote, which required a new search. New art is applied which makes the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664