Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202211252854X, filed on 10/11/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/12/2023 has been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: wherein the hybrid coupler is not coupled to any radiating element other than the pair of the radiating elements. It is recommended to change the language to read as thus: wherein the hybrid coupler is not coupled to any other radiating element other than the pair of the radiating elements. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20220069874 A1) in view of Ai et al (EP 3654450 A1), hereinafter Ai.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses:
A twin-beam base station antenna comprising (Wu, para [0083], Though the system 200 has only one radio 290, antenna systems according to other embodiments of the present invention may include multiple radios that are coupled to the same antenna array. For example, additional radios and diplexers could be provided to provide a frequency division duplex (“FDD”) twin-beam or tri-beam or quad-beam antenna system that operated in a different sub-band of the operating frequency range of the radiating elements 130 so that the antenna array 212 may be used as a TDD beamforming array in the first sub-band and as an FDD sector splitting array in the second sub-band),:
an antenna array comprising a plurality of radiating elements (Wu, para [0069], FIG. 1A is a schematic front view of a conventional antenna system 100 that includes an 8T8R radio 190 and an antenna 110 having an antenna array 112 that includes four columns 120-1 through 120-4 of dual-polarized radiating elements 130. Each radiating element 130 may comprise, for example, a crossed-dipole radiating element that includes a first dipole radiator 132 and a second dipole radiator 134 that crosses/intersects the first dipole radiator 132. The dipole radiators 132 and 134 each have two dipole “arms.” Each column 120 includes one or more groups 122 (e.g., one or more sub-arrays) of radiating elements 130. Note that herein when multiple like elements are provided, they may be numbered using two-part reference numerals. These elements may be referred to individually by their full reference numeral (e.g., column 120-3), and may be referred to collectively by the first part of their reference numeral (e.g., the columns 120);
first and second power dividers (Wu, para [0079], The coupling circuit 250 connects (e.g., electrically connects) the antenna signal ports 140 to the columns 120. Specifically, the coupling circuit 250 is configured to split an RF signal that is input to a first of the antenna signal ports 140 into two sub-components and to feed the two sub-components of this RF signal to the first polarization radiators 132 of the radiating elements 130 in respective first and second of the columns 120. The coupling circuit 250 is further configured to split an RF signal that is input to a second of the antenna signal ports 140 into two sub-components and to feed the two sub-components of this RF signal to the first polarization radiators 132 of the radiating elements 130 in respective third and fourth of the columns 120. The coupling circuit 250 is likewise configured to similarly split RF signals that are input to third and fourth of the antenna signal ports 140 into respective pairs of sub-components and to feed those sub-components to the second polarization radiators 130 of the radiating elements 130 in a similar fashion. The coupling circuit 250 may comprise various types of analog RF circuitry, such as a plurality of RF couplers and/or a plurality of RF splitters/combiners (e.g., RF power dividers). Though shown in FIG. 2A as being inside the antenna 210, the coupling circuit 250 may, in some embodiments, be external to the antenna 210. As an example, the coupling circuit 250 may be a standalone device that is coupled between (a) the radio signal ports 192 and (b) the antenna signal ports 140);
-.
Ai discloses:
and a hybrid coupler that is coupled between the first and second power dividers and a pair of the radiating elements that are in a row of the antenna array (Ai, para [0065], An input port of the first power divider 321 and an input port of the 90-degree hybrid coupler 323 are respectively connected to an input port of the BUTLER network 32. As shown in FIG. 3A, a first input port of the 90-degree hybrid coupler 323 is connected to a first input port of the BUTLER network 32, a second input port of the 90-degree hybrid coupler 323 is zero loaded, the input port of the first power divider 321 is connected to a second input port of the BUTLER network 32. That is to say, the BUTLER network 32 has two input ports.
[0066] As shown in FIG. 3B, the first input port of the 90-degree hybrid coupler 323 is connected to the first input port of the BUTLER network 32, the second input port of the 90-degree hybrid coupler 323 is connected to a second input port of the BUTLER network 32, the input port of the first power divider 321 is connected to a third input port of the BUTLER network 32. That is to say, the BUTLER network 32 has three input ports) and (Ai, Fig. 3A
) Examiner notes hybrid coupler 324 coupled between power dividers 321 and 322 .
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modification of Wu and Ai to incorporate the features of: and a hybrid coupler that is coupled between the first and second power dividers and a pair of the radiating elements that are in a row of the antenna array. The arts are considered analogous arts as they disclose systems that comprise radiating elements coupled to hybrid couplers and power dividers. Wu does discloses twin-beam antenna system that comprises hybrid couplers coupled to power dividers; however does not disclose a hybrid coupler that is coupled between the first and second power dividers and a pair of the radiating elements that are in a row of the antenna array as discloses by Ai. The modification would render the predictable results of wider bandwidth, improved impedance, and improved signal clarity.
Improved phase and amplitude control and reduction of patter distortions between feed network interactions.
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 1 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein the hybrid coupler is not coupled to any radiating element other than the pair of the radiating elements (Wu, para [0103], The first coupler and/or splitter 360-1 connects a first antenna signal port 140-1 of the antenna 310 to both the first column 120-1 and the fifth column 120-5. The second coupler and/or splitter 360-2 connects a third antenna signal port 140-3 of the antenna 310 to both the second column 120-2 and the sixth column 120-6. The third coupler and/or splitter 360-3 connects a fifth antenna signal port 140-5 of the antenna 310 to both the third column 120-3 and the seventh column 120-7. Similarly, the fourth coupler and/or splitter 360-4 connects a seventh antenna signal port 140-7 of the antenna 310 to both the fourth column 120-4 and the eighth column 120-8. The antenna signal ports 140-1, 140-3, 140-5, and 140-7 may be first polarization ports. For simplicity of illustration, second polarization ports 140-2, 140-4, 140-6, and 140-8 are omitted from view in FIG. 3B. An identical circuit including another four couplers and/or splitters 360 may connect the second polarization ports 140-2, 140-4, 140-6, and 140-8 to the eight columns 120 of antenna array 212) and Fig. 3B, couplers 360-1, 360-2, 360-3 to antenna ports 140-1, 140-2, 140-3, respectively )
Examiner notes that each coupling circuit is coupled to the corresponding pair of radiating elements respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 1 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein the pair of the radiating elements comprises consecutive radiating elements in the row (Wu, para [0074], In FIG. 1B, the rows labeled “Beam X” (X=1, 2, 3, 4) show the relative phases of the four RF signals that are provided to the first radiators 123 of the radiating elements 130 in the four columns 120. Thus, for example, the first signal source (Beam 1) outputs a signal having a relative amplitude of 0 dB and a relative phase of −405 to the radiators 132 of the first column 120-1, outputs a signal having a relative amplitude of 0 dB and a relative phase of −270 to the radiators 132 of the second column 120-1, outputs a signal having a relative amplitude of 0 dB and a relative phase of −135 to the radiators 132 of the third column 120-3, and outputs a signal having a relative amplitude of 0 dB and a relative phase of 0 to the radiators 132 of the fourth column 120-4. The four RF signals output by the first signal source in radio 190 to the four columns 120-1 through 120-4 as described above generate a first antenna beam that points in a first direction in the azimuth plane. The second, third and fourth signal sources in radio 190 generate second, third and fourth antenna beams that point in three additional directions in the azimuth plan).
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 1 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein no power divider is coupled between the hybrid coupler and any radiating element of the pair of the radiating elements (Wu, para [0079] and Fig. 2A, coupling circuit 250, radiating elements 130,
).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 1 (Wu, para [0083]),
further comprising first and second phase-controllable delay lines that bypass the hybrid coupler (Wu, para [0127], In some embodiments, analog RF circuitry may provide a phase adjustment to a signal that is output from a coupler and/or splitter 360 before it reaches a column 120. For example, respective phase-adjustment components 755 may be coupled to the columns 120. As an example, the phase-adjustment components 755 may be delay lines or other phase shifting element),
wherein the row comprises first through fourth radiating elements (Wu, para [0074]),
wherein the first power divider is coupled to the first radiating element by the first phase-controllable delay line (Wu, para [0079] and [0127]),
wherein the pair of the radiating elements comprises the second and third radiating elements (Wu, paras [0069] and [0074]),
and wherein the second power divider is coupled to the fourth radiating element by the second phase-controllable delay line (Wu, paras [0097], It should also be noted that the amplitudes of the signals are fed to the different columns 120. In particular, the RF signals fed to columns 120-3 and 120-4 may have a relative amplitude of 0 dB since these signals are not passed through a coupler and/or splitter. The couplers and/or splitters 260 may be implemented as four-port hybrid couplers, which may be assumed to have an insertion loss of, for example, 1 dB. The smaller signal output by each coupler and/or splitter 260 is fed to the outer column 120, and hence the signals fed to columns 120-1 and 120-6 may have relative amplitudes of −4.76 dB (i.e., an insertion loss of 1 dB and the coupler and/or splitter 260 reduces the magnitude of the signal by an additional 3.76 dB), and the signals fed to columns 120-2 and 120-5 may have relative amplitudes of −1.76 dB (i.e., an insertion loss of 1 dB and the coupler and/or splitter 260 reduces the magnitude of the signal by an additional 0.76 dB)) and (para [0127]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 5 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein the first through fourth radiating elements are consecutive radiating elements in the row (Wu, para [0074]),
wherein the row comprises a first row of the antenna array (Wu, para [0074]),
and wherein a second row of the antenna array comprises consecutive fifth through eighth radiating elements (Wu, para [0139], In some embodiments, the antenna array 1112 may be expanded to include more rows 1130 and/or more columns 120 while still using the radio 1190. For example, adding two rows 1130 (for a total of eight) may increase the vertical gain of the antenna array 1112. As another example, adding two columns 120 (for a total of eight) may increase the azimuth gain of the antenna array 1112. On the other hand, using a total of six rows 1130 and six columns 120 can maintain a small size and low cost of the antenna array 1112 relative to expanded variants thereof. Accordingly, the antenna array 1112 may have at least six rows 1130 and at least six columns 120, with performance, size, and cost tradeoffs based on whether the number is six, seven, or eight).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 6 (Wu, para [0083], Though the system 200 has only one radio 290, antenna systems according to other embodiments of the present invention may include multiple radios that are coupled to the same antenna array. For example, additional radios and diplexers could be provided to provide a frequency division duplex (“FDD”) twin-beam or tri-beam or quad-beam antenna system that operated in a different sub-band of the operating frequency range of the radiating elements 130 so that the antenna array 212 may be used as a TDD beamforming array in the first sub-band and as an FDD sector splitting array in the second sub-band),
wherein the second radiating element is rotated 180 degrees relative to the first, third, and fourth radiating elements (Wu, para [0104], In some embodiments, the orientation of the hook baluns on the dipole radiators 132, 134 of the radiating elements 130 included in columns 120-5 through 120-8 may be reversed as compared to the orientation of the hook baluns on the dipole radiators 132, 134 of the radiating elements 130 included in columns 120-1 through 120-4, thus offsetting the phases of the signals fed to the four left-side columns 120 as compared to the four right-side columns 120 by 180 degrees. Moreover, the columns 120 may be spaced apart from each other by at least 62 mm in some embodiments)
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 6 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein the hybrid coupler comprises a first hybrid coupler (Wu, para [0087], In some embodiments, the couplers and/or splitters 260-1 and 260-2 may be respective analog RF couplers. Herein, the term “coupling circuit” is used to cover a wide variety of power coupling and/or splitting devices, including four-port devices such as hybrid couplers, branch line couplers, rat race couplers, and the like, and three-port devices such as Wilkinson power couplers/dividers and the like) Examiner notes multiple hybrid couplers and that coupling circuity may include hybrid couplers;,
and wherein the twin-beam base station antenna further comprises (Wu, para [0083]):
a second hybrid coupler (Wu, para [0087]) Examiner notes multiple hybrid couplers and that coupling circuity may include hybrid couplers;
and third and fourth power dividers that are coupled between the second hybrid coupler and the second row (Wu, para [0137], As schematically illustrated in FIG. 11A, the coupling circuit 1150 may include a plurality of couplers and/or splitters (e.g., power dividers) 1160 (FIG. 12A) that are coupled to multiple rows 1130, thereby providing a significant cost saving by facilitating the use of the radio 1190 rather than a 64T64R radio, which would have sixty-four radio signal ports. Each radio signal port 192 of the radio 1190 may thus be shared by multiple rows 1130 instead of (or in addition to) being shared by multiple columns 120. Accordingly, while other examples herein discuss columns 120 that share an RF signal that is output by a single port 192, each port 192 in those examples that outputs an RF signal may additionally or alternatively be coupled to multiple rows 1130. To reduce the complexity of the feeding network (e.g., the coupling circuit 1150) for the antenna array 1112, only multiple rows 1130 or only multiple columns 120 (rather than both) may, in some embodiments, be coupled to each port 192) Examiner notes that coupling circuit may include hybrid circuits.
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 1 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein a total of three of radiating elements in the row are coupled to the hybrid coupler (Wu, para [0079]),
or wherein the pair of the radiating elements comprises a first pair of radiating elements in the row (Wu, paras [0137] and [0138], As used herein, the term “row” refers to a row of groups 122 of radiating elements 130, where each group 122 may include at least two radiating elements 130. Moreover, some groups 122 may, in some embodiments, be in a sub-array 1120 of (e.g., a set of sixteen) groups 122 that share ports 192 of the radio 1190 with other groups 122 that are outside of the sub-array 1120. For example, (i) a group 122 that is outside of the sub-array 1120 in row 1130-1 and (ii) another group 122 that is inside the sub-array 1120 in row 1130-5 (and in. e.g., column 120-5) may be coupled to the radio 1190 by the same coupler and/or splitter 1160 of the coupling circuit 1150. Additional couplers and/or splitters 1160 of the coupling circuit 1150 may couple additional pairs of the groups 122 to the radio 1190),
and the hybrid coupler is also coupled to a second pair of radiating elements in the row (Wu, para [0137]).
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses:
a twin-beam base station antenna comprising (Wu, para [0083]):
first and second radiating elements (Wu, paras [0069] and [0074]);
a power divider (Wu, para [0079]);
a hybrid coupler that is coupled between the power divider and the second radiating element (Wu 874, para [0079]);
and a phase-controllable delay line and is coupled between the power divider and the first radiating element (Wu, para [0079] and [0127]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 13 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein only two radiating elements are coupled to the hybrid coupler (Wu, para [0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 13 (Wu, para [0083]),
further comprising a third radiating element (Wu, paras [0069] and [0074]),
wherein the third radiating element is coupled to the hybrid coupler (Wu, para [0079]),
and wherein the second radiating element is rotated 180 degrees relative to the first and third radiating elements (Wu, Figs. 3A and 7A, radiating elements 130).
Regarding claim 16, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 13 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein the power divider comprises a first power divider that is configured to split a first radio frequency (RF) signal between the hybrid coupler and the phase-controllable delay line (Wu, paras [0079] and [0127]) ,
wherein the phase-controllable delay line comprises a first phase-controllable delay line (Wu, para [0079] and [0127]),
wherein the twin-beam base station antenna further comprises (Wu, para [0083]):
a third radiating element that is coupled to the hybrid coupler (Wu, para [0079]);
a fourth radiating element (Wu, paras [0069] and [0074]);
a second power divider (Wu, para [0079]) Examiner notes multiple power dividers;
and a second phase-controllable delay line that bypasses the hybrid coupler and is coupled between the second power divider and the fourth radiating element (Wu, paras [0079] and [0127]),
and wherein the second power divider is configured to split a second RF signal between the hybrid coupler and the second phase-controllable delay line (Wu, paras [0079] and [0127]).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 16 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein the second phase-controllable delay line is configured to provide a different phase delay from the first phase-controllable delay line (Wu, paras [0079] and [0127]) Examiner notes multiple phase controlled delay lines.
Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 16 (Wu, para [0083]),
wherein the second radiating element is between the first radiating element and the third radiating element (Wu, paras [0069] and [0074]),
and wherein the third radiating element is between the second radiating element and the fourth radiating element (Wu, paras [0069] and [0074]).
Claims 8 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 20220069874 A1), hereinafter Wu -874 Wu US 20220069874 A1 in view of Ai et al (EP 3654450 A1), hereinafter Ai in further view of Wu (WO 2020205225 A1), hereinafter Wu -225.
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 6- (Wu -874, para [0083]),
-,
-,
-,
-,
The combination of Wu -874 and Ai fails to disclose:
-,
-,
-,
-,
Wu -225 discloses:
further comprising a reflector (Wu -225, para [0066], The radiating arm 2 may be constructed as a metal radiating arm, and may be constructed as a sheet metal (for example, a copper radiating arm or an aluminum radiating arm). As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the radiating arm 2 includes a first arm segment 201 and a second arm segment 202, wherein the first arm segment 201 is supported on the PCB coupling arm 3 in an orientation substantially parallel to the reflector, and the second arm segment 202 extends, preferably vertically, away from the reflector from an outer side region of the first arm segment 201. Two side edges of the first arm segment 201 are each provided with a second arm segment that extends away from the reflector. That is, in the present embodiment, the radiating arm 2 has one horizontally-extending first arm segment 201, and two second arm segments 202 that extend vertically forward from the outer side region of the first arm segment 201. Owing to the good ductility of metal, the first arm segment 201 and the second arm segments 202 of the radiating arm 2 may be constructed as a monolithic structure. This makes it possible to bend the metal radiating arm in a simple and cost- effective manner.
[0067] Compared with the two-dimensional extension of the major surfaces of radiating arms of the radiator, major surfaces of the radiating arms of the radiator 1 according to the embodiments of the present invention extend to a three-dimensional space. Based on the bended second arm segments 202, the radiation area of the radiating arm 2 may be effectively increased. In this way, the dimension of horizontal extension of the radiator 1 is advantageously reduced while maintaining the effective electrical length of the radiating arm, thereby enlarging the spacing between the adjacent radiators 1 and improving the isolation between the radiators 1)
wherein the first and fifth radiating elements are on a first portion of the reflector (Wu -225, paras [0066-0067]) ,
wherein the second, third, sixth, and seventh radiating elements are on a second portion of the reflector (Wu -225, paras [0066-0067]),
wherein the fourth and eighth radiating elements are on a third portion of the reflector (Wu -225, paras [0066-0067]),
and wherein the first and third portions of the reflector are bent relative to the second portion of the reflector (Wu -225, paras [0066-0067])
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wu -874 and Ai with Wu -225 to incorporate the features of: further comprising a reflector, wherein the first and fifth radiating elements are on a first portion of the reflector, wherein the second, third, sixth, and seventh radiating elements are on a second portion of the reflector, wherein the second, third, sixth, and seventh radiating elements are on a second portion of the reflector wherein the fourth and eighth radiating elements are on a third portion of the reflector, and wherein the first and third portions of the reflector are bent relative to the second portion of the reflector. The arts are considered analogous arts as they disclose systems that comprise radiating elements coupled to hybrid couplers and power dividers. Wu -874 does discloses twin-beam antenna system; however does not disclose further comprising a reflector as disclosed by Wu -225. Ai discloses a beamforming antenna; however does not discloses further comprising a reflector, wherein the first and fifth radiating elements are on a first portion of the reflector, wherein the second, third, sixth, and seventh radiating elements are on a second portion of the reflector, wherein the second, third, sixth, and seventh radiating elements are on a second portion of the reflector wherein the fourth and eighth radiating elements are on a third portion of the reflector, and wherein the first and third portions of the reflector are bent relative to the second portion of the reflector as discloses in Wu -335. The modification would render the predictable results of wider bandwidth, improved impedance, and improved signal clarity.
Regarding claim 19, Wu -874 discloses:
a twin-beam base station antenna comprising (Wu -874, para [0083]):
first through fourth radiating elements (Wu -874, paras [0069] and [0074]);
a second portion having the second and third radiating elements thereon (Wu -874, paras [0069] and [0074]),
and a third portion having the fourth radiating element thereon (Wu -874, paras [0069] and [0074]),
Wu -225 discloses:
and a reflector comprising a first portion having the first radiating element thereon (Wu -225, para [0063], The feed boards 4 may be constructed as a pair of printed circuit boards, that is, constructed as PCB feed boards. The pair of printed circuit boards are oriented at an angle of 90° with respect to each other so as to have a cross-section in the form of an X. A feed PCB board (not shown) may be mounted on the reflector, and a base of the feed board 4 may be mounted on the feed PCB board. A feed circuit is provided on each printed circuit board of the feed board 4, and the feed circuit may provide respective signal paths from the feed PCB board to each respective pair of radiating arms 2),
wherein the first portion of the reflector is bent more than 33 degrees relative to the second portion of the reflector (Wu -225, paras [0063] and [0066-0067]) Examiner notes that the printed circuit boards are place on a reflector and notes that the 90 degrees is more than 33 degrees,
and wherein the third portion of the reflector is bent more than 33 degrees relative to the second portion of the reflector (Wu -225, paras [0063] and [0066-0067]).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu -874 with Wu -225 to incorporate the features of: and a reflector comprising a first portion having the first radiating element thereon, wherein the first portion of the reflector is bent more than 33 degrees relative to the second portion of the reflector, and wherein the third portion of the reflector is bent more than 33 degrees relative to the second portion of the reflector. Wu -874 does discloses twin-beam antenna system; however does not disclose further comprising a reflector as disclosed by Wu -225. The modification would render the predictable results of wider bandwidth, improved impedance, and improved signal clarity.
Regarding claim 20, Wu -874 discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 19 (Wu -874, para [0083]),
Wu -225 discloses:
wherein the first portion of the reflector is bent more than 35 degrees relative to the second portion of the reflector (Wu -225, paras [0063] and [0066-0067]))
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu -874 with Wu -225 to incorporate the features of: wherein the first portion of the reflector is bent more than 35 degrees relative to the second portion of the reflector. Wu -874 does discloses twin-beam antenna system; however does not disclose further comprising a reflector as disclosed by Wu -225. The modification would render the predictable results of wider bandwidth, improved impedance, and improved signal clarity.
Regarding claim 21, Wu -874 discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 19 (Wu -874, para [0083]),
Wu -225 discloses:
wherein the third portion of the reflector is bent more than 35 degrees relative to the second portion of the reflector (Wu -225, para [0063]).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu -874 with Wu -225 to incorporate the features of: wherein the third portion of the reflector is bent more than 35 degrees relative to the second portion of the reflector. Wu -874 does discloses twin-beam antenna system; however does not disclose further comprising a reflector as disclosed by Wu -225. The modification would render the predictable results of wider bandwidth, improved impedance, and improved signal clarity.
Regarding claim 22, Wu -874 discloses:
the twin-beam base station antenna of Claim 19, further comprising (Wu -874, para [0083]):
a power divider (Wu -874, paras [0079] and [0127]);
a hybrid coupler that is coupled between the power divider and the second and third radiating elements (Wu -874, paras [0079] and [0127]);
and a phase-controllable delay line that bypasses the hybrid coupler and is coupled between the power divider and the first radiating element (Wu 874, paras [0079] and [0127]),
wherein the first through fourth radiating elements are in a row of an antenna array (Wu -874, paras [0074]).
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as thus:
Junttila et al US 20220131578 A1 discloses a beamforming antenna that comprises RF power dividers (para [0006]); hybrid couplers (para [0103]); and phase adjustment components such as delay lines (para [0148])
Kasani et al US 20230291123 A1 discloses twin-beam base station antennas having integrated beamforming networks that comprises reflectors (paras [0007-0008], [0051] and [0054]) and hybrid couplers (para [0057])
Lee et al (KR 20160082360 A) discloses a twin-beam controller for antenna that comprises multiple hybrid couplers (Figs. 1-4, hybrid coupler 10 and 40) and power dividers 10 and 20
Foo et al (US 11245442 B1) discloses hybrid couplers arranged in a series-parallel configuration wherein a plurality of power splitters each coupled to a pair of antenna elements (col. 9, lines 24-46)
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY JENKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648