DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chien et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2005/0162927 A1).
[Re claim 11] Chien discloses the semiconductor structure, comprising: a substrate (108); a dielectric layer (112) on the substrate (108); isolation structures (104) extending through the dielectric layer (112) into the substrate (108); and a floating gate (102a and 102b) on the dielectric layer (112) and between the isolation structures (104), wherein the floating gate comprises: a first portion (102 vertical part above 112 dielectric layer) directly on the dielectric layer; and second portions (102 vertical part above 104 isolation) on sidewalls of the first portion, wherein a vertical dimension of the first portion is greater than a vertical dimension of each of the second portions (see figure 7A-7G and paragraph [0042]-[0044]).
[Re claim 12] Chien discloses the semiconductor structure wherein a width of a top portion of the floating gate (top surface of 102) is greater than a width of a bottom portion of the floating gate (bottom portion of 102) (see figure 7G).
[Re claim 14] Chien discloses the semiconductor structure wherein a top surface of the floating gate (top surface of 102) is higher than top surfaces of the isolation structures (104) (see figure 7G).
[Re claim 15] Chien discloses the semiconductor structure wherein bottom surfaces of the second portions (102 vertical part above 104 isolation) are in direct contact with top surfaces of the isolation structures (104) (see figure 7G).
[Re claim 16] Chien discloses the semiconductor structure wherein the first portion (102 vertical part above 112 dielectric layer) is in direct contact with sidewalls of the isolation structures (104) (see figure 7G).
[Re claim 17] Chien discloses the semiconductor structure wherein the first portion (102 vertical part above 112 dielectric layer) and the second portions (102 vertical part above 104 isolation) comprise a same material (polysilicon) (see paragraph [0042] and [0044]).
[Re claim18] Chien discloses the semiconductor structure further comprising: a dielectric material (110) disposed along a sidewall and a top surface of the floating gate (102) and along top surfaces of the isolation structures (104); and a control gate (106) on the dielectric material (see figure 7I-7J and paragraph [0045]-[0046]).
[Re claim 19] Chien also discloses the semiconductor structure wherein the dielectric material (ONO layer 110) comprises: a first dielectric layer (oxide layer); a second dielectric layer (nitride layer) on the first dielectric layer; and a third dielectric layer (oxide layer) on the second dielectric layer (see paragraph [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2005/0162927 A1) in view of Yamauchi et al. (US Patent No. 5,962,889).
[Re claim 13] Chien discloses the device as claimed and rejected in claim 11, but Chien does not disclose the semiconductor structure wherein the floating gate comprises rounded corners. However, Yamauchi discloses the semiconductor structure wherein the floating gate (3’) comprises rounded corners (see figure 8G and column 8 line 30-35). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to the effective filing date of the instant application to the floating gate having rounded corners in the device of Chien in order to improve reliability of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-10 allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 1 allowable because of the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the method, the step of conformally forming a second conductor layer on the first conductor layer and the isolation structures; and removing horizontal portions of the second conductor layer to form a floating gate, wherein the floating gate comprises a first portion corresponding to the first conductor layer and second portions corresponding to vertical portions of the second conductor layer, wherein a vertical dimension of the first portion is greater than a vertical dimension of each of the second portions. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 so they are allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYOUNG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817