DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant's election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 3/10/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanoue et al. (US 2018/0005845) (hereafter Tanoue).
Regarding claim 1, Tanoue discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising:
(a) obtaining a plurality of semiconductor devices (SD in Fig. 6, paragraph 0041);
(b) preparing a carrier tape (BT in Fig. 5, paragraph 0048) and a cover tape (CVT in Fig. 9, paragraph 0057), the carrier tape (BT in Fig. 4) having a plurality of pockets 13 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0049) arranged in a first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 4);
(c) accommodating the plurality of semiconductor devices (SD in Fig. 6) in the plurality of pockets 13 (Fig. 6), respectively; and
(d) after the (c), attaching the cover tape (CVT in Fig. 9) to the carrier tape (BT in Fig. 9) so as to cover the plurality of semiconductor devices (SD in Fig. 9) respectively accommodated in the plurality of pockets 13 (Fig. 9),
wherein each of the plurality of semiconductor devices (SD in Fig. 2) includes:
a semiconductor chip 3 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0041);
a plurality of leads 2 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0041) arranged around the semiconductor chip 3 (Fig. 2) in plan view; and
a sealing body 1 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0041) sealing an inner lead portion of each of the plurality of leads 2 (Fig. 3) and the semiconductor chip 3 (Fig. 3),
wherein the plurality of leads 2 (Fig. 2) includes:
a first lead group (top portion of 2 in Fig. 2) arranged along a first side (top side of 1 in Fig. 2) of the sealing body 1 (Fig. 2); and
a second lead group (bottom portion of 2 in Fig. 2) arranged along a second side (bottom side of 1 in Fig. 2) of the sealing body 1 (Fig. 2), the second side (bottom side of 1 in Fig. 2) being opposite the first side (top side of 1 in Fig. 2),
wherein the carrier tape (CVT in Fig. 8) prepared in the (b) includes:
a first long side (top portion of CVT in Fig. 8) extending in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8);
a second long side (bottom portion of CVT in Fig. 8) extending in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8) and located on an opposite side of the first long side (top portion of CVT in Fig. 8);
a first area (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) located between the plurality of pockets 13 (Fig. 8) and the first long side (top portion of CVT in Fig. 8);
a second area (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) located between the plurality of pockets 13 (Fig. 8) and the second long side (bottom portion of CVT in Fig. 8); and
a third area (area between leftmost 13 and middle 13 in Fig. 8) located between a first pocket (leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) of the plurality of pockets 13 (Fig. 8) and a second pocket (middle 13 in Fig. 8) of the plurality of pockets 13 (Fig. 8), the first pocket (leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the second pocket (middle 13 in Fig. 8) being adjacent to each other, wherein each of the plurality of pockets 13 (Fig. 4) prepared in the (b) includes:
a sealing body accommodating portion 14 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0051) for accommodating the sealing body 1 (Fig. 6);
a first lead accommodating portion (top portion of 18 in Fig. 4, paragraph 0051) extended along the first long side (top portion of CVT in Fig. 8) and for accommodating the first lead group (top portion of 2 in Fig. 2); and
a second lead accommodating portion (bottom portion of 18 in Fig. 4, paragraph 0051) extended along the second long side (bottom portion of CVT in Fig. 8) and for accommodating the second lead group (bottom portion of 2 in Fig. 2),
wherein the third area (area between leftmost 13 and middle 13 in Fig. 8) includes:
a fourth area (left 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) located between the sealing body accommodating portion (leftmost 14 in Fig. 8) of the first pocket (leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the sealing body accommodating portion (middle 14 in Fig. 8) of the second pocket (middle 13 in Fig. 8);
a fifth area (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) located between the first lead accommodating portion (top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) of the first pocket (leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the first lead accommodating portion (top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) of the second pocket (middle 13 in Fig. 8); and
a sixth area (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) located between the second lead accommodating portion (bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) of the first pocket (leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the second lead accommodating portion (bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) of the second pocket (middle 13 in Fig. 8), and
wherein, in the (d), the carrier tape (BT in Fig. 9) and the cover tape (CVT in Fig. 9) are thermocompression (see paragraph 0085, wherein “thermocompression bonding”) bonded to each other (see Fig. 9, wherein BT and CVT are bonded at 12) at each of the first area (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), the second area (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), the fifth area (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) and the sixth area (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) without (see Fig. 9, wherein BT and CVT are not bonded at 18) thermocompression bonding to each other at the fourth area (left 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 2, Tanoue further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a portion in which the carrier tape (BT in Fig. 9) and the cover tape (CVT in Fig. 9) are thermocompression (see paragraph 0085, wherein “thermocompression bonding”) bonded to each other in the (d) includes:
a first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) provided in the first area (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8);
a second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) provided in the second area (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8);
a fifth seal portion (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) provided in the fifth area (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8); and
a sixth seal portion (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) provided in the sixth area (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8), and wherein a shape (see Fig. 8) in plan view of each of the first seal portion, the second seal portion, the fifth seal portion and the sixth seal portion is comprised of a shape extended in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Tanoue further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein a width of the fifth seal portion (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) is narrower than a width of each of the first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), and wherein a width of the sixth seal portion (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) is narrower than the width of each of the first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Tanoue further discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the carrier tape (BT in Fig. 8) includes:
a seventh area (portion of top 12s laterally between top 12s of leftmost 13 and top 12s of middle 13) arranged in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8), located next to the first area (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), and located next to the fifth area (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 4) in a second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 8) intersecting the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8); and
an eighth area (portion of bottom 12s laterally between bottom 12s of leftmost 13 and bottom 12s of middle 13) arranged in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8), located next to the second area (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), and located next to the sixth area (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 4) in the second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 8), and wherein the portion in which the carrier tape (BT in Fig. 8) and the cover tape (CVTin Fig. 8) are thermocompression bonded (see paragraph 0085, wherein “thermocompression bonding”) to each other in the (d) includes:
a seventh seal portion (portion of top 12s laterally between top 12s of leftmost 13 and top 12s of middle 13) provided in the seventh area (portion of top 12s laterally between top 12s of leftmost 13 and top 12s of middle 13) and extended in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8) so as to connect a first portion of the first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), which is located between the first pocket (leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the first long side (top portion of CVT in Fig. 8), and a second portion of the first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), which is located between the second pocket (middle 13 in Fig. 8) and the first long side (top portion of CVT in Fig. 8), with each other; and
an eighth seal portion (portion of bottom 12s laterally between bottom 12s of leftmost 13 and bottom 12s of middle 13) provided in the eighth area (portion of bottom 12s laterally between bottom 12s of leftmost 13 and bottom 12s of middle 13) and extended in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8) so as to connect a first portion of the second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), which is located between the first pocket (leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the second long side (bottom portion of CVT in Fig. 8), and a second portion of the second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), which is located between the second pocket (middle 13 in Fig. 8) and the second long side (bottom portion of CVT in Fig. 8), with each other.
Regarding claim 5, Tanoue further discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein a width of the seventh seal portion (portion of top 12s laterally between top 12s of leftmost 13 and top 12s of middle 13) is narrower than the width of each of the first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), and wherein a width of the eighth seal portion (portion of bottom 12s laterally between bottom 12s of leftmost 13 and bottom 12s of middle 13) is narrower than the width of each of the first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Tanoue further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the carrier tape (CVT in Fig. 8) includes:
a seventh area (portion of top 12s laterally between top 12s of leftmost 13 and top 12s of middle 13) arranged in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8), located next to the first area (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), and located next to the fifth area (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 4) in a second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 8) intersecting the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8); and
an eighth area (portion of bottom 12s laterally between bottom 12s of leftmost 13 and bottom 12s of middle 13) arranged in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8), located next to the second area (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), and located next to the sixth area (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 4) in the second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 8), and wherein a first portion of the first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), which is located between the first pocket (leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the first long side (top portion of CVT in Fig. 8), and a second portion of the first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), which is located between the second pocket (middle 13 in Fig. 8) and the first long side (top portion of CVT in Fig. 8), are spaced apart from each other via the seventh area (portion of top 12s laterally between top 12s of leftmost 13 and top 12s of middle 13), and wherein a first portion of the second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), which is located between the first pocket (leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) and the second long side (bottom portion of CVT in Fig. 8), and a second portion of the second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), which is located between the second pocket (middle 13 in Fig. 8) and the second long side (bottom portion of CVT in Fig. 8), are spaced apart from each other via the eighth area (portion of bottom 12s laterally between bottom 12s of leftmost 13 and bottom 12s of middle 13).
Regarding claim 7, Tanoue further discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein a width of the first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), a width of the second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8), a width of the fifth seal portion (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) and the sixth seal portion (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) are the same as each other.
Regarding claim 8, Tanoue further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a portion in which the carrier tape (BT in Fig. 8) and the cover tape (CVT in Fig. 8) are thermocompression bonded (see paragraph 0085, wherein “thermocompression bonding”) to each other in the (d) includes:
a first seal portion (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) provided in the first area (top 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8);
a second seal portion (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8) provided in the second area (bottom 12s of leftmost 13 in Fig. 8);
a fifth seal portion (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) provided in the fifth area (top portion of 12 between top portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and top portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8); and
a sixth seal portion (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8) provided in the sixth area (bottom portion of 12 between bottom portion of 18 of leftmost 13 and bottom portion of 18 of middle 13 in Fig. 8), wherein a shape (see Fig. 8) in plan view of each of the first seal portion and the second seal portion is comprised of a shape extended in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8), and wherein a shape (see Fig. 8) in plan view of each of the fifth seal portion and the sixth seal portion is comprised of a shape extended in a second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 8) intersecting the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Tanoue further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of leads 2 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0041) includes:
a third lead group (left portion of 2 in Fig. 2) arranged along a third side (left side of 1 in Fig. 2) of the sealing body 1 (Fig. 2), the third side (left side of 1 in Fig. 2) being extended in a direction intersecting each of the first side (top side of 1 in Fig. 2) and the second side (bottom side of 1 in Fig. 2); and
a fourth lead group (right side of 1 in Fig. 2) arranged along a fourth side (right side of 1 in Fig. 2) of the sealing body 1 (Fig. 2), the fourth side being opposite the first long side, and
wherein each of the plurality of pockets 13 (Fig. 8) prepared in the (b) includes:
a third lead accommodating portion (left portion of 18 in Fig. 8) for accommodating the third lead group (left portion of 2 in Fig. 8); and
a fourth lead accommodating portion (right portion of 18 in Fig. 8) for accommodating the fourth lead group (right portion of 2 in Fig. 8).
Conclusion
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813