DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on December 30, 2025 has been reviewed.
Claim 7 is amended in the amendment.
Claims 1-18 have been examined.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscic et al. (US 2023/0156091 A1), hereinafter referred to as Poscic, in view of Dhammawat et al. (US 2022/0386179 A1), hereinafter referred to as Dhammawat.
With respect to claim 1, Poscic teaches A method for sharing bandwidth consumption information in a communication system having a first user plane function (UPF) that serves an access point name (APN), a second UPF that serves said APN, and a third UPF that serves said APN (method for designating a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, and receive the broadcast control traffic forwarded from (e.g., only) the first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106), wherein said method comprises:
receiving by said first UPF from said second UPF, information indicating a current control traffic flow by said second UPF for said APN (a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; the broadcast control traffic received at each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0013; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106);
receiving by said first UPF from said third UPF, information indicating a current control traffic flow by said third UPF for said APN (a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; the broadcast control traffic received at each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0013; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106);
sending from said first UPF to said second UPF, information indicating a current control traffic flow by said first UPF for said APN and said current control traffic flow by said third UPF for said APN (maintaining a bidirectional forwarding traffic with each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0019; load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.), para. 0074; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106); and
sending from said first UPF to said third UIPF, information indicating said current control traffic flow by said first UPF for said APN and said current control traffic flow by said second UPF for said APN (maintaining a bidirectional forwarding traffic with each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0019; load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.), para. 0074; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106),
whereby each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of current control traffic flows by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF for said APN (designating a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, and receive the broadcast control traffic forwarded from (e.g., only) the first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106).
Poscic does teach load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.) (para. 0074); but does not explicitly teach that
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF;
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF;
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF; and
information indicating said current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF,
whereby each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF.
However, Dhammawat teaches
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF node monitor a total bandwidth usage for each predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the UPF node; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage exceeds a threshold limit, the UPF node send a message which indicates a request for readjusting the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, and indicating the total bandwidth usage, para. 0036);
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF node monitor a total bandwidth usage for each predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the UPF node; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage exceeds a threshold limit, the UPF node send a message which indicates a request for readjusting the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, and indicating the total bandwidth usage, para. 0036);
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF maintain bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s) at the UPF level, and monitor the (real-time) actual bandwidth usage at each UPF level for detecting if the usage has exceeded the threshold for the UPF level; when exceeded, the UPF communicate an indication and/or usage for readjusting the bandwidth allocation of the UPF level, para. 0061); and
information indicating said current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF maintain bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s) at the UPF level, and monitor the (real-time) actual bandwidth usage at each UPF level for detecting if the usage has exceeded the threshold for the UPF level; when exceeded, the UPF communicate an indication and/or usage for readjusting the bandwidth allocation of the UPF level, para. 0061),
whereby each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the total bandwidth usage that is monitored consumed from simultaneously-maintained QoS Flows routed via the user plane function node to identify whether it exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage does or will exceed the threshold limit (again as identified in step 608), the classification, type, and/or priority checked (step 610 of FIG. 6); if the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application) (again as identified in step 610), the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification readjusted to allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0097) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the method of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 2, Poscic in view of Dhammawat teaches The method of claim 1 as described above,
Further, Dhammawat teaches wherein said first UPF performs further operations of:
comparing said total current bandwidth to a threshold value (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the user plane function node check to identify whether the total bandwidth usage exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification); and
performing a programmed action in response to said total current bandwidth exceeding said threshold value (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the method of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 3, Poscic in view of Dhammawat teaches The method of claim 2 as described above,
Furthermore, Dhammawat teaches wherein said programmed action is an action selected from the group consisting of dropping packets and prioritizing packets (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the method of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 4, Poscic teaches The method of claim 1 as described above,
Poscic does teach detecting a failure at the first user plane function; designate a second user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as the designated broadcast forwarder in response to detecting the failure at the first user plane function (para. 0018).
Further, Dhammawat teaches wherein said second UPF performs further operations of:
comparing said total current bandwidth to a threshold value (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the user plane function node check to identify whether the total bandwidth usage exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification); and
performing a programmed action in response to said total current bandwidth exceeding said threshold value (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the method of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 5, Poscic in view of Dhammawat teaches The method of claim 4 as described above,
Furthermore, Dhammawat teaches wherein said programmed action is an action selected from the group consisting of dropping packets and prioritizing packets (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the method of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 6, Poscic teaches The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of:
a) said method is executed periodically; and
b) i) said first UPF is nominated as a delegator to perform said method, and ii) said second UPF is elected as said delegator in response to a failure of said first UPF (regarding to a failure at step S702, designation of the DBF moved from one UPF to another UPF, in order to rebalance the traffic across the UPFs, para. 0106).
With respect to claim 7, Poscic teaches A communication system, comprising:
a first user plane function (UPF) that serves an access point name (APN), a second UPF that serves said APN, and a third UPF that serves said APN (method for designating a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, and receive the broadcast control traffic forwarded from (e.g., only) the first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106), wherein the first, second and third UPFs are each implemented as a programmable circuit comprising a processor and a memory (a memory 540; a processor 520 connected to the memory 540, para. 0139);
wherein said first UPF performs operations of:
receiving from said second UPF, information indicating a current control traffic flow by said second UPF for said APN (a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; the broadcast control traffic received at each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0013; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106);
receiving from said third UPF, information indicating a current control traffic flow by said third UPF for said APN (a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; the broadcast control traffic received at each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0013; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106);
sending to said second UPF, information indicating a current control traffic flow by said first UPF for said APN and said current control traffic flow by said third UPF for said APN (maintaining a bidirectional forwarding traffic with each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0019; load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.), para. 0074; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106); and
sending to said third UPF, information indicating said current control traffic flow by said first UPF for said APN and said current control traffic flow by said second UPF for said APN (maintaining a bidirectional forwarding traffic with each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0019; load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.), para. 0074; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106),
whereby each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of current control traffic flows by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF for said APN (designating a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, and receive the broadcast control traffic forwarded from (e.g., only) the first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106).
Poscic does teach load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.) (para. 0074); but does not explicitly teach that
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF;
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF;
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF; and
information indicating said current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF,
whereby each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF.
However, Dhammawat teaches
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF node monitor a total bandwidth usage for each predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the UPF node; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage exceeds a threshold limit, the UPF node send a message which indicates a request for readjusting the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, and indicating the total bandwidth usage, para. 0036);
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF node monitor a total bandwidth usage for each predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the UPF node; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage exceeds a threshold limit, the UPF node send a message which indicates a request for readjusting the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, and indicating the total bandwidth usage, para. 0036);
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF maintain bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s) at the UPF level, and monitor the (real-time) actual bandwidth usage at each UPF level for detecting if the usage has exceeded the threshold for the UPF level; when exceeded, the UPF communicate an indication and/or usage for readjusting the bandwidth allocation of the UPF level, para. 0061); and
information indicating said current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF maintain bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s) at the UPF level, and monitor the (real-time) actual bandwidth usage at each UPF level for detecting if the usage has exceeded the threshold for the UPF level; when exceeded, the UPF communicate an indication and/or usage for readjusting the bandwidth allocation of the UPF level, para. 0061),
whereby each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the total bandwidth usage that is monitored consumed from simultaneously-maintained QoS Flows routed via the user plane function node to identify whether it exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage does or will exceed the threshold limit (again as identified in step 608), the classification, type, and/or priority checked (step 610 of FIG. 6); if the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application) (again as identified in step 610), the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification readjusted to allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0097) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the system of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 8, Poscic in view of Dhammawat teaches The communication system of claim 7 as described above,
Further, Dhammawat teaches wherein said first UPF performs further operations of:
comparing said total current bandwidth to a threshold value (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the user plane function node check to identify whether the total bandwidth usage exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification); and
performing a programmed action in response to said total current bandwidth exceeding said threshold value (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the system of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 9, Poscic in view of Dhammawat teaches The communication system of claim 8 as described above,
Furthermore, Dhammawat teaches wherein said programmed action is an action selected from the group consisting of dropping packets and prioritizing packets (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the system of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 10, Poscic teaches The communication system of claim 7 as described above,
Poscic does teach detecting a failure at the first user plane function; designate a second user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as the designated broadcast forwarder in response to detecting the failure at the first user plane function (para. 0018).
Further, Dhammawat teaches wherein said second UPF performs further actions of:
comparing said total current bandwidth to a threshold value (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the user plane function node check to identify whether the total bandwidth usage exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification); and
performing a programmed action in response to said total current bandwidth exceeding said threshold value (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the system of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 11, Poscic in view of Dhammawat teaches The communication system of claim 10 as described above,
Furthermore, Dhammawat teaches wherein said programmed action is an action selected from the group consisting of dropping packets and prioritizing packets (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the system of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 12, Poscic teaches The communication system of claim 7, wherein at least one of:
a) said operations are executed periodically; and
b) i) said first UPF is nominated as a delegator to perform said method, and ii) said second UPF is elected as said delegator in response to a failure of said first UPF (regarding to a failure at step S702, designation of the DBF moved from one UPF to another UPF, in order to rebalance the traffic across the UPFs, para. 0106).
With respect to claim 13, Poscic teaches A storage device that is non-transitory, comprising instructions that are readable by a processor (the memory 540 may be a computer readable storage medium and processor, para. 0140) to cause said processor to perform operations of:
receiving by a first user plane function (UPF) that serves an access point name (APN) from a second UPF that serves said APN, information indicating a current control traffic flow by said second UPF for said APN (a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; the broadcast control traffic received at each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0013; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106);
receiving by said first UPF from a third UPF that serves said APN, information indicating a current control traffic flow by said third UPF for said APN (a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; the broadcast control traffic received at each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0013; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106);
sending from said first UPF to said second UPF, information indicating a current control traffic flow by said first UPF for said APN and said current control traffic flow by said third UPF for said APN (maintaining a bidirectional forwarding traffic with each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0019; load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.), para. 0074; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106); and
sending from said first UPF to said third UPF, information indicating said current control traffic flow by said first UPF for said APN and said current control traffic flow by said second UPF for said APN (maintaining a bidirectional forwarding traffic with each of the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0019; load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.), para. 0074; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106),
whereby each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of current control traffic flows by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF for said APN (designating a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, and receive the broadcast control traffic forwarded from (e.g., only) the first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106).
Poscic does teach load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.) (para. 0074); but does not explicitly teach that
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF;
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF;
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF; and
information indicating said current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF,
whereby each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF.
However, Dhammawat teaches
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF node monitor a total bandwidth usage for each predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the UPF node; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage exceeds a threshold limit, the UPF node send a message which indicates a request for readjusting the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, and indicating the total bandwidth usage, para. 0036);
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF node monitor a total bandwidth usage for each predefined service classification, consumed from simultaneously-maintained Quality of Service (QoS) flows routed via the UPF node; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage exceeds a threshold limit, the UPF node send a message which indicates a request for readjusting the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification, and indicating the total bandwidth usage, para. 0036);
information indicating a current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said third UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF maintain bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s) at the UPF level, and monitor the (real-time) actual bandwidth usage at each UPF level for detecting if the usage has exceeded the threshold for the UPF level; when exceeded, the UPF communicate an indication and/or usage for readjusting the bandwidth allocation of the UPF level, para. 0061); and
information indicating said current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF and said current bandwidth being consumed by said second UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the UPF maintain bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s) at the UPF level, and monitor the (real-time) actual bandwidth usage at each UPF level for detecting if the usage has exceeded the threshold for the UPF level; when exceeded, the UPF communicate an indication and/or usage for readjusting the bandwidth allocation of the UPF level, para. 0061),
whereby each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the total bandwidth usage that is monitored consumed from simultaneously-maintained QoS Flows routed via the user plane function node to identify whether it exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage does or will exceed the threshold limit (again as identified in step 608), the classification, type, and/or priority checked (step 610 of FIG. 6); if the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application) (again as identified in step 610), the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification readjusted to allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0097) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the device of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 14, Poscic in view of Dhammawat teaches The storage device of claim 13 as described above,
Further, Dhammawat teaches wherein said instructions cause said processor to perform further operations of:
comparing said total current bandwidth to a threshold value (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the user plane function node check to identify whether the total bandwidth usage exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification); and
performing a programmed action in response to said total current bandwidth exceeding said threshold value (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the device of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 15, Poscic in view of Dhammawat teaches The storage device of claim 14 as described above,
Furthermore, Dhammawat teaches wherein said programmed action is an action selected from the group consisting of dropping packets and prioritizing packets (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the device of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 16, Poscic teaches The storage device of claim 13 as described above,
Poscic does teach detecting a failure at the first user plane function; designate a second user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as the designated broadcast forwarder in response to detecting the failure at the first user plane function (para. 0018).
Further, Dhammawat teaches wherein said second UPF performs further operations of:
comparing said total current bandwidth to a threshold value (configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs, para. 0061; the user plane function node check to identify whether the total bandwidth usage exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification); and
performing a programmed action in response to said total current bandwidth exceeding said threshold value (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the device of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 17, Poscic in view of Dhammawat teaches The storage device of claim 16 as described above,
Furthermore, Dhammawat teaches wherein said programmed action is an action selected from the group consisting of dropping packets and prioritizing packets (based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a first type (e.g. associated with a non-critical service or application, and/or a non-priority service or application), the user plane function node prevent a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification from being established (step 1312 of FIG. 13); based on identifying that the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application), the user plane function node allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established, para. 0117) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the device of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
With respect to claim 18, Poscic teaches The storage device of claim 13, wherein at least one of:
a) said operations are executed periodically; and
b) i) said first UPF is nominated as a delegator to perform said method, and ii) said second UPF is elected as said delegator in response to a failure of said first UPF (regarding to a failure at step S702, designation of the DBF moved from one UPF to another UPF, in order to rebalance the traffic across the UPFs, para. 0106).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s main arguments are that “Poscic does not logically suggest that "each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF for said APN."… there is absolutely no suggestion that each of the three UPFs is aware of the total current bandwidth being consumed by all three UPFs. Therefore, the teachings of Poscic have no relevance to the claimed features at issue.” (Argument 1, REMARKS page 8) and “the paragraphs of Dhammawat cited by the Examiner are similarly irrelevant to the claimed features at issue…Dhammawat merely states that "configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different 'UPF levels' may involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs," but this statement has no logical relevance to whether "each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF for said APN." …Dhammawat mentions that "a total bandwidth usage for a predefined service classification associated with one or more predefined types of a communication resource at a user plane function node may be monitored," but there is no reasonable suggestion that each of the three UPFs is aware of the total current bandwidth being consumed by all three UPFs… Dhammawat merely mentions "allowing or preventing new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths," but this statement is completely irrelevant to whether "each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF for said APN.” (Argument 2, REMARKS page 8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments.
In response to Applicant’s Argument 1 that “each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF for said APN."… there is absolutely no suggestion that each of the three UPFs is aware of the total current bandwidth being consumed by all three UPFs. Therefore, the teachings of Poscic have no relevance to the claimed features at issue” it is noted that Poscic teaches current control traffic flows by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF for said APN (designating a first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, as a designated broadcast forwarder from which to receive broadcast control traffic, and receive the broadcast control traffic forwarded from (e.g., only) the first user plane function, from among the plurality of user plane functions, para. 0009; selecting a UPF, from among the UPFs 106-1 and 106-2, as the DBF UPF by enabling, the default CPRi between the UPF and the CPF 108 and disabling the default CPRi between the other UPF and the CPF 108; once designated, the subscriber control (or broadcast) traffic flows only from the UPF 106-2 [first user plane function], among the UPFs 106-1 AND 106-2, para. 0106).
In response to Applicant’s Argument 2 that “nothing in Dhammawat suggests the claimed limitation that "each of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF is thus aware of a total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF for said APN.” it is noted that Poscic does teach load balancing across UPFs or selecting the UPFs with certain traffic forwarding characteristics (e.g., latency, bandwidth, etc.) (para. 0074); but does not explicitly teach that traffic forwarding characteristics as traffic control flows of said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF as total current bandwidth being consumed by said first UPF, said second UPF and said third UPF.
However, Dhammawat teaches configurations of allocated bandwidths at the different “UPF levels” involve different sets of parameters (e.g. bandwidth allocation value(s), threshold(s), and/or priority(s)) for multiple UPFs (para. 0061); the total bandwidth usage that is monitored consumed from simultaneously-maintained QoS flows routed via the user plane function node to identify whether it exceeds or will exceed a threshold limit associated with the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification; based on identifying that the total bandwidth usage does or will exceed the threshold limit (again as identified in step 608), the classification, type, and/or priority checked (step 610 of FIG. 6); if the classification, type, or priority is of a second type (e.g. associated with a critical service or application, and/or a priority service or application) (again as identified in step 610), the allocated bandwidth for the predefined service classification readjusted to allow a newly-requested QoS Flow in the predefined service classification to be established (para. 0097) in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
Therefore, based on Poscic in view of Dhammawat, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhammawat to the method of Poscic in order to allow or prevent new QoS Flows from being established based on the total bandwidth usage and allocated bandwidth, readjusting and reallocating bandwidths, etc. as taught by Dhammawat (para. 0132).
For the above reasons, Examiner believed that rejection of the last Office action was proper and within their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. See MPEP 2111 [R-1] Interpretation of Claims-Broadest Reasonable Interpretation.
Contact Information
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
January 19, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447