DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (US Publication 20190157081).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a superlattice buffer structure (Fig. 1, 108) comprising:
a plurality of superlattice blocks comprising a first superlattice block and a second superlattice block having different average gallium compositions from one another (plurality of blocks 108-1, 108-2, 108-m, para 67, different average gallium compositions para 68),
wherein each of the plurality of superlattice blocks has a structure in which a plurality of first layers including Al(1-x)GaxN (0≤x≤1) and a plurality of second layers including Al(1-y)GayN (0≤y≤1, x>y) are alternately stacked on each other (block 108-1 with first layer 108-1-1 and second layer 108-2, para 67-68).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends.
Zhao teaches wherein each of the plurality of superlattice blocks independently comprises a dopant of at least one of carbon, iron, and magnesium (para 68, carbon).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 3 depends.
Zhao teaches wherein the average gallium compositions is defined as (xxTx+yxTy)/(Tx+Ty), wherein Tx denotes a total thickness sum of a first of the plurality of first layers in a corresponding superlattice block, and Ty denotes a total thickness sum of the plurality of second layers in the corresponding superlattice block (Fig. 25, para 248).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 2 upon which claim 5 depends.
Zhao teaches wherein a doping concentration of each of the plurality of superlattice blocks increases in a stack direction of the plurality of first layers and the plurality of second layers (para 70).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 2 upon which claim 7 depends.
Zhao teaches wherein a doping concentration of each of the plurality of superlattice blocks is in a range of about 1E17 atoms/cm3 to about 1E21 atoms/cm3 (para 20).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1, 102);
a superlattice buffer structure on the substrate (Fig. 1, 108); and
an active layer on the superlattice buffer structure (Fig. 1, 112),
wherein the superlattice buffer structure comprises a plurality of superlattice blocks comprising a first superlattice block and a second superlattice block having different average gallium compositions from one another (plurality of blocks 108-1, 108-2, 108-m, para 67, different average gallium compositions para 68), each of the plurality of superlattice blocks has a structure in which a plurality of first layers including Al(1-x)GaxN (0_x<1) and a plurality of second layers including Al(1- y)GayN (0<y<_1, x>y) are alternately stacked on each other (block 108-1 with first layer 108-1-1 and second layer 108-2, para 67-68).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 9 upon which claim 10 depends.
Zhao teaches wherein each of the plurality of superlattice blocks independently comprises a dopant of at least one of carbon, iron, and magnesium (para 68, carbon).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 9 upon which claim 11 depends.
Zhao teaches wherein the average gallium compositions is defined as (xxTx+yxTy)/(Tx+Ty), wherein Tx denotes a total thickness sum of the plurality of first layers in a corresponding superlattice block, and Ty denotes a total thickness sum of the plurality of second layers in the corresponding superlattice block (Fig. 25, para 248).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 10 upon which claim x depends.
Zhao teaches wherein a doping concentration of each of the plurality of superlattice blocks increases in a stack direction of the plurality of first layers and the plurality of second layers (para 70).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 10 upon which claim x depends.
Zhao teaches wherein a doping concentration of each of the plurality of superlattice blocks is in a range of about 1E17 atoms/cm3 to about 1E21 atoms/cm3 (para 20).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 9 upon which claim x depends.
Zhao teaches further comprising: a nucleation layer between the substrate and the superlattice buffer structure (para 41).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 9 upon which claim x depends.
Zhao teaches further comprising: a channel supply layer provided on the active layer and configured to generate a 2-dimensional electron gas in the active layer (para 43), wherein a source electrode and a drain electrode are arranged on the active layer to be apart from each other, and a gate electrode is arranged on the channel supply layer (para 76).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim x depends.
Zhao teaches wherein the plurality of superlattice blocks includes three or more superlattice blocks, and each of the three or more superlattice blocks includes a first one of the plurality of first layers, a first one of the plurality of second layers stacked on the first one of the plurality of first layers, a second one of the plurality of first layers stacked on the first one of the plurality of second layers, and a second one of the plurality of second layers stacked on the second one of the plurality of first layers (Fig. 1, plurality of blocks 108-1, 108-2, 108-m, para 67-68).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 9 upon which claim x depends.
Zhao teaches wherein the plurality of superlattice blocks includes three or more superlattice blocks, and each of the three or more superlattice blocks includes a first one of the plurality of first layers, a first one of the plurality of second layers stacked on the first one of the plurality of first layers, a second one of the plurality of first layers stacked on the first one of the plurality of second layers, and a second one of the plurality of second layers stacked on the second one of the plurality of first layers (Fig. 1, plurality of blocks 108-1, 108-2, 108-m, para 67-68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 8, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US Publication 20190157081) in view of Chou et al (US Publication 20230072850).
Regarding claims 4, 6, and 8, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claims 4, 6, and 8 depend.
Zhao does not specifically teach:
[claim 4] wherein the average gallium compositions of a superlattice block increases in a stack direction of the plurality of first layers and the plurality of second layers.
[claim 6] wherein a difference in the average gallium compositions between neighboring superlattice blocks of the plurality of superlattice blocks is about 0.01 or more.
[claim 8] wherein the average gallium compositions is are in a range of about 0.25 to about 0.95.
Chou teaches:
[claim 4] wherein the average gallium compositions of a superlattice block increases in a stack direction of the plurality of first layers and the plurality of second layers (Fig. 25, para 248).
[claim 6] wherein a difference in the average gallium compositions between neighboring superlattice blocks of the plurality of superlattice blocks is about 0.01 or more (Fig. 25, para 248).
[claim 8] wherein the average gallium compositions is are in a range of about 0.25 to about 0.95 (Fig. 25, para 248).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Zhao to include the average gallium composition in the superlattice buffer layer structure as taught by Chou in order to improve the strain management, crystal quality, and buffer growth of the device.
Regarding claims 12, 14, and 16, Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 9 upon which claims 12, 14, and 16 depend.
Zhao does not specifically teach:
[claim 12] wherein the average gallium composition of a superlattice block increases in a stack direction of the plurality of first layers and the plurality of second layers.
[claim 14] wherein a difference in the average gallium compositions between neighboring superlattice blocks of the plurality of superlattice blocks is about 0.01 or more.
[claim 16] wherein the average gallium composition is in a range of about 0.25 to about 0.95.
Chou teaches:
[claim 12] wherein the average gallium composition of a superlattice block increases in a stack direction of the plurality of first layers and the plurality of second layers (Fig. 25, para 248).
[claim 14] wherein a difference in the average gallium compositions between neighboring superlattice blocks of the plurality of superlattice blocks is about 0.01 or more (Fig. 25, para 248).
[claim 16] wherein the average gallium composition is in a range of about 0.25 to about 0.95 (Fig. 25, para 248).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Zhao to include the average gallium composition in the superlattice buffer layer structure as taught by Chou in order to improve the strain management, crystal quality, and buffer growth of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818