DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Per the Applicant’s response dated 7/14/2026, claims 1, 3, 19 and 20 are amended. Claim 2 is canceled. Claims 1 and 3-20 are pending and examined. The rejections provided in the Office Action dated 5/15/2026 are amended as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo et al. [US20170092926A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024], hereafter Doo.
Regarding claim 1, Doo discloses a wound electrode assembly [Doo abstract and throughout], comprising:
a positive electrode sheet [Doo 0056 and throughout, Figs. 1-7, plate 110 or 110’] comprising:
a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, central portion of 110 or 110’ up to first tab 122 or 122’]; and
a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, continuing portion of 110 or 110’; wherein: the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Doo Figs. 1-7, plate 110 is continuous]; and the positive electrode winding starting section is wound at least one circle [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, Figs. 2-4 show nearly 2 circles which meets the limitation] .
Doo does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Doo Figs. 1-7 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Doo and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Doo teaches that the capacity and output of a battery depends on the volume of the container and the number of tabs [Doo 0007]. The skilled artisan would know that Doo’s teaching about the volume of the container limiting the capacity and output is due to the limit of the total length of electrode plate wound to fit into the container. Thus, the total length of the positive electrode plate for a specific battery size affects the capacity. For example, a larger battery can have a longer electrode plate than a smaller battery. Further, a larger battery/longer electrode plate can accommodate more tabs than a smaller battery with a shorter electrode plate. Both affect capacity and output [Doo 0007]. Thus, the total length of the electrode plate is a result-effective variable and, therefore, the percentage of the percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet would also be a result effective variable depending on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance [Doo 0007, 0024-0026, and throughout]. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation with Doo’s teachings as described, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
Regarding Claims 3-4, modified Doo discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, Doo does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for a specific percentage of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Doo Figs. 1-7 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Doo and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Doo teaches that the capacity and output of a battery depends on the volume of the container and the number of tabs [Doo 0007]. The skilled artisan would know that Doo’s teaching about the volume of the container limiting the capacity and output is due to the limit of the total length of electrode plate wound to fit into the container. Thus, the total length of the positive electrode plate for a specific battery size affects the capacity. For example, a larger battery can have a longer electrode plate than a smaller battery. Further, a larger battery/longer electrode plate can accommodate more tabs than a smaller battery with a shorter electrode plate. Both affect capacity and output [Doo 0007]. Thus, the total length of the electrode plate is a result-effective variable and, therefore, the percentage of the percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet would also be a result effective variable depending on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance [Doo 0007, 0024-0026, and throughout]. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation with Doo’s teachings as described, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Doo discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode tab is one of a plurality of positive electrode tabs provided at the positive electrode winding extension section [Doo 0051-0055 and throughout, Doo teaches two or more.], from a positive electrode winding start end to a positive electrode winding finish end [Doo Figs. 1B-1C, 2-4, where the winding start end is where the first tab is positioned on the electrode plate and the winding finishing end is where the positive electrode ends on the outside of the wound assembly], an area of the first positive electrode tab of the positive electrode winding extension section is larger than an area of the remaining positive electrode tabs of the positive electrode winding extension section [Doo 0051-0069, Figs. 1B-1C, Figs. 2-4, Doo does not explicitly teach the remaining electrode tabs all have a smaller area than the first electrode tab; however, Doo teaches an embodiment where the width of the first tab can be larger than the width of the second tab [Doo 0066-0069], Figs. 1B-1C, Figs. 2-4]. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that the recited Doo Figs. indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts; thus, in addition to the width of the first tab 122 being larger than the width of the second tab 124 as taught by Doo, the area of first tab 122 is larger than the area of second tab 124 as shown in Figs. 1B-1C, and 2-4. Further, it would be expected that Doo’s embodiment showing the area of the second tab being smaller than the area of the first tab would be applied to all of the remaining positive tabs in the positive electrode winding extension section for the same reasons of supporting the overlap (fit) of the electrode tabs which are welded together [Doo 0066-0069] by merely duplicating Doo’s teaching as described for all remaining electrode tabs. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Doo’s embodiment as described with the wound assembly of Doo for the predictable result of a battery wound electrode supporting the alignment and overlap of the first tab and the other tabs [Doo 0067-0068 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Doo discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 5, wherein from the positive electrode winding start end to the positive electrode winding finish end, the areas of the plurality of the positive electrode tabs gradually decrease [As describe in Claim 5 above, the above recited figures show this limitation].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Doo discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a negative electrode sheet [Doo 0088, sheet 130]. Doo does not explicitly disclose
wherein an area of the positive electrode tab is larger than an area of a negative electrode tab of the negative electrode sheet. However, Doo discloses positive electrode tabs with different widths and lengths and as shown in Fig. 1C [Doo 0052-0054 and throughout]. Further, the length of each of the electrode tabs as shown in Fig. 7 would be chosen based on the design requirements of the battery [Doo 0052-0054 and throughout, Figs. 1C, 7]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for an area of the positive electrode tab to be larger than an area of the negative electrode tab to meet the design requirements of the specific battery such as making the required electrical connections as shown in Doo Fig. 7 or alignment of electrode tabs as shown in Fig. 1C. See MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changes in size/proportion would be considered obvious if the same function is provided of making the required electrical connections and alignment of the electrode tabs as taught by Doo. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Doo discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding middle section is connected between the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding middle section is wound at least one circle, and one positive electrode tab is arranged on each layer of the positive electrode winding middle section in each circle [Doo 0056-0070, Fig. 3 and throughout, for clarity see annotated Fig. 3 below for an example of Doo reading on the limitations].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Doo discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding middle section is connected between the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding finishing section is wound at least one circle, and one positive electrode tab is arranged on each circle of the positive electrode winding finishing section [Doo 0056-0070, Fig. 3 and throughout, for clarity see annotated Fig. 3 below for an example of Doo reading on the limitations].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Doo discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding middle section is connected between the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding finishing section is wound at least one circle, and the positive electrode winding finishing section is not provided with positive electrode tabs [Doo 0056-0070, Fig. 3 and throughout, for clarity see annotated Fig. 3 below an example of Doo reading on the limitations].
Regarding Claim 16, modified Doo discloses a battery cell, comprising: a shell having an accommodating cavity; and the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the wound electrode assembly is accommodated in the accommodating cavity [Doo title, abstract, 0023, 0087- 0095, Figs. 6-7 and throughout, battery is 10, electrode assembly 100, shell is can 200 accommodating the electrode assembly within.].
Regarding Claim 18, modified Doo discloses an electrical device, comprising the battery cell according to claim 16 [Doo 0005-0006].
Regarding Claim 19, Doo discloses manufacturing method of a wound electrode assembly [Doo 0057-0084], comprising: providing a positive electrode sheet [Doo 0056 and throughout, Figs. 1-7, plate 110 or 110’], the positive electrode sheet comprising a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs and a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab, wherein the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, central portion of 110 or 110’ up to first tab 122 or 122’, plate 110/110’ is continuous]; and arranging the positive electrode sheet in a wound manner and winding the positive electrode winding starting section at least one circle [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, Figs. 2-4 show nearly 2 circles which meets the limitation].
Doo does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Doo Figs. 1-7 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Doo and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Doo teaches that the capacity and output of a battery depends on the volume of the container and the number of tabs [Doo 0007]. The skilled artisan would know that Doo’s teaching about the volume of the container limiting the capacity and output is due to the limit of the total length of electrode plate wound to fit into the container. Thus, the total length of the positive electrode plate for a specific battery size affects the capacity. For example, a larger battery can have a longer electrode plate than a smaller battery. Further, a larger battery/longer electrode plate can accommodate more tabs than a smaller battery with a shorter electrode plate. Both affect capacity and output [Doo 0007]. Thus, the total length of the electrode plate is a result-effective variable and, therefore, the percentage of the percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet would also be a result effective variable depending on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance [Doo 0007, 0024-0026, and throughout]. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation with Doo’s teachings as described, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo, as provided for Claim 1 above, in further view of Xu et al. [CN212907831u, as provided on the IDS dated 10/12/2023, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereafter Xu.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Doo discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: a negative electrode sheet comprising one or more negative electrode tabs [Doo 0089 and throughout, Fig. 7, negative electrode sheet 130 with tab 140]; wherein: the positive electrode tab is one of one or more positive electrode tabs of the positive electrode sheet [Doo 0057 and throughout, tabs 122 and 124]. Doo is silent to a number of the one or more positive electrode tabs is less than a number of the one or more negative electrode tabs. Xu teaches a wound electrode assemble where a number of the one or more positive electrode tabs is less than a number of the one or more negative electrode tabs [Xu n0029 and throughout]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Xu’s teaching as described in Doo’s wound assembly with the predictable result of the lithium delithiation rate of the positive electrode is matched with the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode, optimizing the fast charging capability of the negative electrode and reducing the occurrence of easy lithium deposition on the negative electrode during fast charging due to the mismatch between the two rates; thus, extending the long cycle life of the multi-tab battery and improving the cycle performance of the battery [Xu n0019].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Doo disclose the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: a negative electrode sheet [Doo 0089 and throughout, Fig. 7, negative electrode sheet 130 with tab 140] ; wherein: the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section [Doo Fig. 3 and throughout, up to the first tab 122 would be the start section and beginning at tab 122 would be the start of the middle section. The finishing section would be at the end of the middle section].;
the negative electrode sheet comprises a negative electrode winding starting section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding starting section, a negative electrode winding middle section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding middle section, and a negative electrode winding finishing section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding finishing section [Doo 0056, 0089 Fig. 3, Doo teaches the positive plate 110 is rolled with the negative plate 130 with separator 150 [0089] and the teachings about the positive electrode plate can be applied to the negative electrode plate [0056]; thus, merely duplicating the structure of Doo’s positive plate for the negative plate would meet the claimed limitation, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B]. Doo does not explicitly teach the negative electrode winding starting section is wound at least one circle, and one negative electrode tab is arranged on each layer of the negative electrode winding starting section in each circle.
Xu teaches a wound electrode where the winding starting section is wound at least one circle, and one negative electrode tab is arranged on each layer of the negative electrode winding starting section in each circle [Xu throughout, Fig. 2 where the negative electrode sheet 2 has a tab 2 a in the first circle, which could be considered the starting section.]. Xu further teaches optimizing the number of positive and negative electrode foil tabs inside the multi-tab lithium-ion battery, the lithium delithiation rate of the positive electrode is matched with the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode, optimizing the fast charging capability of the negative electrode and reducing the occurrence of easy lithium deposition on the negative electrode during fast charging due to the mismatch between the two rates. This extends the long cycle life of the multi-tab battery and improves the cycle performance of the battery. [Xu n0019]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Xu’s teaching about the number and location of the negative tabs and positive tabs with the wound electrode of Doo for the predictable result of a battery with improved cycle performance as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Doo disclose the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: a negative electrode sheet [Doo 0089 and throughout, Fig. 7, negative electrode sheet 130 with tab 140] ; wherein: the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section [Doo Fig. 3 and throughout, up to the first tab 122 would be the start section and beginning at tab 122 would be the start of the middle section. The finishing section would be at the end of the middle section].;
the negative electrode sheet comprises a negative electrode winding starting section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding starting section, a negative electrode winding middle section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding middle section, and a negative electrode winding finishing section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding finishing section [Doo 0056, 0089 Fig. 3, Doo teaches the positive plate 110 is rolled with the negative plate 130 with separator 150 [0089] and the teachings about the positive electrode plate can be applied to the negative electrode plate [0056]; thus, merely duplicating the structure of Doo’s positive plate for the negative plate would meet the claimed limitation, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B]. Doo does not explicitly teach the negative electrode winding middle section is wound a plurality of circles, and one negative electrode tab is arranged on each circle of the negative electrode winding middle section in.
Xu teaches a wound electrode where the winding middle section is wound a plurality of circles, and one negative electrode tab is arranged on each circle of the negative electrode winding starting section [Xu throughout, Fig. 2 where the negative electrode sheet 2 has a tab 2a in the second and third circle, which could be considered the middle section.]. Xu further teaches optimizing the number of positive and negative electrode foil tabs inside the multi-tab lithium-ion battery, the lithium delithiation rate of the positive electrode is matched with the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode, optimizing the fast charging capability of the negative electrode and reducing the occurrence of easy lithium deposition on the negative electrode during fast charging due to the mismatch between the two rates. This extends the long cycle life of the multi-tab battery and improves the cycle performance of the battery. [Xu n0019]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Xu’s teaching about the number and location of the negative tabs and positive tabs with the wound electrode of Doo for the predictable result of a battery with improved cycle performance as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Doo disclose the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: a negative electrode sheet [Doo 0089 and throughout, Fig. 7, negative electrode sheet 130 with tab 140] ; wherein: the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section [Doo Fig. 3 and throughout, up to the first tab 122 would be the start section and beginning at tab 122 would be the start of the middle section. The finishing section would be at the end of the middle section].;
the negative electrode sheet comprises a negative electrode winding starting section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding starting section, a negative electrode winding middle section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding middle section, and a negative electrode winding finishing section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding finishing section [Doo 0056, 0089 Fig. 3, Doo teaches the positive plate 110 is rolled with the negative plate 130 with separator 150 [0089] and the teachings about the positive electrode plate can be applied to the negative electrode plate [0056]; thus, merely duplicating the structure of Doo’s positive plate for the negative plate would meet the claimed limitation, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B]. Doo does not explicitly teach the negative electrode winding finishing section is wound at least one circle, and one negative electrode tab is arranged on each circle of the negative electrode winding finishing section.
Xu teaches a wound electrode where the winding finishing section is wound at least one circle, and one negative electrode tab is arranged on each circle of the negative electrode winding finishing section [Xu throughout, Fig. 2 where the negative electrode sheet 2 has a tab 2a in the last full circle, which could be considered the finishing section.]. Xu further teaches optimizing the number of positive and negative electrode foil tabs inside the multi-tab lithium-ion battery, the lithium delithiation rate of the positive electrode is matched with the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode, optimizing the fast charging capability of the negative electrode and reducing the occurrence of easy lithium deposition on the negative electrode during fast charging due to the mismatch between the two rates. This extends the long cycle life of the multi-tab battery and improves the cycle performance of the battery. [Xu n0019]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Xu’s teaching about the number and location of the negative tabs and positive tabs with the wound electrode of Doo for the predictable result of a battery with improved cycle performance as discussed above.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8-14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. [CN212907831u, as provided on the IDS dated 10/12/2023, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereafter Xu.
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a wound electrode assembly [Xu n0006, Fig. 2, and throughout], comprising:
a positive electrode sheet [Xu n0006, n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, sheet 3] comprising:
a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches no positive electrode tabs 3a up to fold 2 or 3.]; and
a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, folds 2 or 3 to the end of sheet 3 with up to 3 tabs 3a];
wherein: the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2 and throughout, plate 3 is continuous]; and the positive electrode winding starting section is wound at least one circle [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches the first positive tabs 3a at fold 2 or 3] .
Xu does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Xu Fig. 2 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Xu and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Xu teaches optimizing the number of positive and negative electrode foil tabs in the battery allows matching between the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode and delithiation rate of the positive electrode [Xu n0019], teaches a ratio of the length of the coated electrode plates is related to the number of tabs [Xu n0035], and teaches no positive electrode tabs for the first few folds [Xu n0036, Fig. 2]. The skilled artisan would know that Xu’s teaching as described demonstrate that some length of the positive electrode without tabs is required to achieve a fast-charging battery with matched delithiation and lithium insertion, making the length of the positive electrode sheet without a tab a result-effective variable. The skilled artisan would also understand that a larger capacity/output battery would require a longer electrode plate than a smaller capacity battery; thus, determining the required percentage of positive electrode plate without tabs at the starting portion of the wound electrode would depend on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II, in consideration of Xu’s teachings. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
Regarding Claims 3-4, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, Xu does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for a specific percentage of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Xu Fig. 2 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Xu and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Xu teaches optimizing the number of positive and negative electrode foil tabs in the battery allows matching between the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode and delithiation rate of the positive electrode [Xu n0019], teaches a ratio of the length of the coated electrode plates is related to the number of tabs [Xu n0035], and teaches no positive electrode tabs for the first few folds [Xu n0036, Fig. 2]. The skilled artisan would know that Xu’s teaching as described demonstrate that some length of the positive electrode without tabs is required to achieve a fast-charging battery with matched delithiation and lithium insertion, making the length of the positive electrode sheet without a tab a result-effective variable. The skilled artisan would also understand that a larger capacity/output battery would require a longer electrode plate than a smaller capacity battery; thus, determining the required percentage of positive electrode plate without tabs at the starting portion of the wound electrode would depend on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II, in consideration of Xu’s teachings. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding middle section is connected between the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding middle section is wound at least one circle [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches tabs at folds 2 or 3, which would be the beginning of the middle section. Thus, the middle section is connected to the starting section, which is from the start of the electrode plate up to either fold 2 or 3. The finishing section starts at the end of the middle section, which could be any part of plate 3 after the first tab 3a after one fold.], and one positive electrode tab is arranged on each layer of the positive electrode winding middle section in each circle [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout ,Fig. 2 and throughout, for clarity see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of Xu reading on the limitations].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding middle section is connected between the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding finishing section is wound at least one circle [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches tabs at folds 2, 7, or 3, 7, which would be the middle section. Thus, the middle section is connected to the starting section, which is from the start of the electrode plate up to either fold 2 or 3. The finishing section starts at the end of the middle section, which could be any part of plate 3 after the first tab 3a after one fold.], and one positive electrode tab is arranged on each circle of the positive electrode winding finishing section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2 and throughout, for clarity see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of Xu reading on the limitations].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding middle section is connected between the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding finishing section, the positive electrode winding finishing section is wound at least one circle [Xu n0036 and throughout, Xu teaches tabs at folds 2, 7, and 14 or 3, 7, and 11 which could be the middle section. Thus, the middle section is connected to the starting section, which is from the start of the electrode plate up to either fold 2 or 3. The finishing section starts at the end of the middle section at either fold 14 or 11 as disclosed by Xu.], and the positive electrode winding finishing section is not provided with positive electrode tabs [Xu n0036 and throughout, Xu teaches the positive tabs may be in folds 14 or 11 as the final tab of a 15 fold wound electrode assembly and thus meets the limitation since there would be no tab in either the 15th fold or after fold 11.].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: a negative electrode sheet comprising one or more negative electrode tabs [Xu n0029 and throughout, Fig. 2, sheet 2 with tabs 2a]; wherein: the positive electrode tab is one of one or more positive electrode tabs of the positive electrode sheet [Xu n0029 and throughout]; and a number of the one or more positive electrode tabs is less than a number of the one or more negative electrode tabs [Xu n0029 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a negative electrode sheet [Xu n0029 and throughout, Fig. 2, sheet 2 with tabs 2a];
wherein: the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches tabs at folds 2 or 3, which would be the beginning of the middle section. The finishing section starts at the end of the middle section, which could be any part of plate 3 after the first tab 3a after one fold .];
the negative electrode sheet comprises a negative electrode winding starting section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding starting section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of one interpretation of Xu. ], a negative electrode winding middle section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding middle section, and a negative electrode winding finishing section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding finishing section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of one interpretation of Xu. ]; and the negative electrode winding starting section is wound at least one circle [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, two are shown, see example below for clarity], and one negative electrode tab is arranged on each layer of the negative electrode winding starting section in each circle [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a negative electrode sheet [Xu n0029 and throughout, Fig. 2, sheet 2 with tabs 2a];
wherein: the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches tabs at folds 2 or 3, which would be the beginning of the middle section. The finishing section starts at the end of the middle section.];
the negative electrode sheet comprises a negative electrode winding starting section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding starting section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of one way Xu can be interpreted to meet the limitation], a negative electrode winding middle section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding middle section Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of one way Xu can be interpreted to meet the limitation], and a negative electrode winding finishing section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding finishing section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of one way Xu can be interpreted to meet the limitation]; and
the negative electrode winding middle section is wound a plurality of circles [Xu n0029-n0036, Fig. 2, two are shown, see example below for clarity], and one negative electrode tab is arranged on each circle of the negative electrode winding middle section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a negative electrode sheet [Xu n0029 and throughout, Fig. 2, sheet 2 with tabs 2a];
wherein: the positive electrode winding extension section comprises a positive electrode winding middle section and a positive electrode winding finishing section [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches tabs at folds 2 or 3, which would be the beginning of the middle section. The finishing section starts at the end of the middle section.];
the negative electrode sheet comprises a negative electrode winding starting section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding starting section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of one way Xu can be interpreted to meet the limitation], a negative electrode winding middle section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding middle section Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of one way Xu can be interpreted to meet the limitation], and a negative electrode winding finishing section arranged corresponding to the positive electrode winding finishing section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of one way Xu can be interpreted to meet the limitation]; and the negative electrode winding finishing section is wound at least one circle, and one negative electrode tab is arranged on each circle of the negative electrode winding finishing section [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, see annotated Fig. 2 below for an example of one way Xu can be interpreted to meet the limitation].
Regarding Claim 19, Xu discloses manufacturing method of a wound electrode assembly [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout], comprising:
providing a positive electrode sheet [Xu n0006, n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, sheet 3], the positive electrode sheet comprising a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches no positive electrode tabs 3a up to fold 2 or 3] and a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, folds 2 or 3 to the end of sheet 3 with up to 3 tabs 3a], wherein the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2 and throughout, plate 3 is continuous]; and arranging the positive electrode sheet in a wound manner and winding the positive electrode winding starting section at least one circle [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches the first positive tabs 3a at fold 2 or 3] .
Xu does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Xu Fig. 2 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Xu and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Xu teaches optimizing the number of positive and negative electrode foil tabs in the battery allows matching between the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode and delithiation rate of the positive electrode [Xu n0019], teaches a ratio of the length of the coated electrode plates is related to the number of tabs [Xu n0035], and teaches no positive electrode tabs for the first few folds [Xu n0036, Fig. 2]. The skilled artisan would know that Xu’s teaching as described demonstrate that some length of the positive electrode without tabs is required to achieve a fast-charging battery with matched delithiation and lithium insertion, making the length of the positive electrode sheet without a tab a result-effective variable. The skilled artisan would also understand that a larger capacity/output battery would require a longer electrode plate than a smaller capacity battery; thus, determining the required percentage of positive electrode plate without tabs at the starting portion of the wound electrode would depend on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II, in consideration of Xu’s teachings. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as provided for Claim 1 above, in further view of Doo et al. [US20170092926A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024], hereafter Doo.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode tab is one of a plurality of positive electrode tabs provided at the positive electrode winding extension section [Xu n0029-n0036, Fig. 2, Xu teaches 2 or 3 tabs.], from a positive electrode winding start end to a positive electrode winding finish end [Xu n0029-n0036, Fig. 2, Xu teaches 2 or 3 tabs 3a in sheet 3. The start end would be just before the first tab 3a and the finish end is the end of sheet 3.]. Xu is silent to an area of the first positive electrode tab of the positive electrode winding extension section is larger than an area of the remaining positive electrode tabs of the positive electrode winding extension section. Doo teaches a wound electrode body [Doo abstract and throughout] and further teaches an embodiment where the width of the first tab can be larger than the width of the second tab [Doo 0066-0069, Figs. 1B-1C, Figs. 2-4]. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that the recited Doo Figs. indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts; thus, in addition to the width of the first tab 122 being larger than the width of the second tab 124 as taught by Doo, the area of first tab 122 is larger than the area of second tab 124 as shown in Figs. 1B-1C, and 2-4. Further, it would be expected that Doo’s embodiment showing the area of the second tab being smaller than the area of the first tab could be applied to all of the remaining positive tabs in the positive electrode winding extension section for the same reasons of supporting the overlap (fit) of the electrode tabs which are welded together [Doo 0066-0069] by merely duplicating Doo’s teaching as described for all remaining electrode tabs. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Doo’s embodiment as described with the wound assembly of Xu for the predictable result of a battery wound electrode supporting the alignment and overlap of the first tab and the other tabs [Doo 0067-0068 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 5, wherein from the positive electrode winding start end to the positive electrode winding finish end, the areas of the plurality of the positive electrode tabs gradually decrease [As describe in Claim 5 above, the above recited Doo figures show this limitation.].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a negative electrode sheet [Xu noo29 and throughout, Fig. 2 , sheet 2]. Xu does not explicitly disclose
wherein an area of the positive electrode tab is larger than an area of a negative electrode tab of the negative electrode sheet. Doo teaches a wound electrode assembly [Doo throughout] and teaches positive electrode tabs 122/124 with different widths and lengths and as shown in Fig. 1C [Doo 0052-0054 and throughout]. Further, the length of each of the electrode tabs as shown in Fig. 7 would be chosen based on the design requirements of the battery [Doo 0052-0054 and throughout, Figs. 1C, 7]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Doo’s teaching to Xu’s wound electrode assembly such that an area of the positive electrode tab to be larger than an area of the negative electrode tab to meet the design requirements of the specific battery such as making the required electrical connections as shown in Doo Fig. 7 or alignment of electrode tabs as shown in Fig. 1C. See MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changes in size/proportion would be considered obvious if the same function is provided of making the required electrical connections and alignment of the electrode tabs as taught by Doo. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo and/or Xu, as provided for Claim 1 above, and in further view of Kim et al. [US20220376321A1, priority date 5/6/21 see WO2021085917A1], hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Doo and/or modified Xu discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1 but is silent to wherein the positive electrode winding starting section is provided with a heat dissipation structure. Kim teaches heat-dissipation tape 180 which can be provided at the winding central portion of the positive electrode 113 of an electrode assembly. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Kim’s teaching to Doo’s and/or Xu’s wound electrode assembly by providing heat-dissipation tape to the starting section of Doo’s and/or Xu’s positive electrode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kim’s teaching to Doo’s and/or Xu’s wound electrode assembly for the predictable result of a battery that is able to dissipate heat generated in the winding central portion, thereby preventing the risk of ignition of the secondary battery from occurring, ensuring the stability, and preventing the secondary battery from being deteriorated. [Kim 0014, 0048, and throughout].
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo, as provided for Claim 16 above, and in further view Kosugi [US20090239133A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Doo disclose the battery cell according to claim 16 but does not disclose a box body. Kosugi teaches a battery with a wound electrode assembly in a can 10 with a cavity accommodating a wound electrode assembly [Kosugi 0029 and throughout, assembly 14 in the accommodating space of can 10, Fig. 1]
comprising: a box body wherein the battery cell is accommodated in the box body [Kosugi 0029 and throughout, Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Doo’s wound electrode in a box body as taught by Kosugi for the predictable result of a battery cell with a rectangular shape to meet the specific shape requirements for the battery’s application since changes in shape are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 IV, B.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as provided for Claim 1 above, and in further view Kosugi [US20090239133A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024].
Regarding claim 16, modified Xu discloses a battery cell [Xu n0029 and throughout] but is silent to a shell and a cavity. Kosugi teaches a battery cell [Kosugi 0029 and throughout], comprising: a shell having an accommodating cavity [Kosugi 0029, Fig. 1, shell 10 with cavity shown as the interior shell 10 of Fig. 1], wherein the wound electrode assembly is accommodated in the accommodating cavity [Kosugi 0029, Fig. 10, assembly 14 is accommodated in the cavity of shell 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kosugi’s case with Xu’s battery cell for the predictable result of a protective case to enclose the electrode assembly and electrolyte [Kosugi 0029 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Xu discloses a battery comprising a box body; and the battery cell according to claim 16, wherein the battery cell is accommodated in the box body [Kosugi 0029, Fig. 1, box body 10 as shown].
Regarding Claim 18, modified Xu discloses an electrical device, comprising the battery cell according to claim 16 [Kosugi 0006]. Claim 18 is considered a use case of the battery of claim 16. Further, per MPEP 2114 II, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Claim 18 does not provide additional structure; thus, the limitations are met by the prior art.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo et al. [US20170092926A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024], hereafter Doo, and in further view Kosugi [US20090239133A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024].
Regarding Claim 20, Doo discloses a wound electrode assembly by winding a positive electrode sheet [Doo 0056 and throughout, Figs. 1-7, plate 110 or 110’] comprising:
a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, central portion of 110 or 110’ up to first tab 122 or 122’]; and
a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, continuing portion of 110 or 110’; wherein: the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Doo Figs. 1-7, plate 110 is continuous]; and the positive electrode winding starting section is wound at least one circle [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, Figs. 2-4 show nearly 2 circles which meets the limitation] .
Doo does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Doo Figs. 1-7 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Doo and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Doo teaches that the capacity and output of a battery depends on the volume of the container and the number of tabs [Doo 0007]. The skilled artisan would know that Doo’s teaching about the volume of the container limiting the capacity and output is due to the limit of the total length of electrode plate wound to fit into the container. Thus, the total length of the positive electrode plate for a specific battery size affects the capacity. For example, a larger battery can have a longer electrode plate than a smaller battery. Further, a larger battery/longer electrode plate can accommodate more tabs than a smaller battery with a shorter electrode plate. Both affect capacity and output [Doo 0007]. Thus, the total length of the electrode plate is a result-effective variable and, therefore, the percentage of the percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet would also be a result effective variable depending on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance [Doo 0007, 0024-0026, and throughout]. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation with Doo’s teachings as described, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
Doo is silent to an apparatus comprising a providing device and an assembling device.
Kosugi teaches a providing device for a positive electrode [Kosugi 0052-0053 and throughout, Fig. 7, reel 62] and an assembling device [Kosugi 0052-0053 and throughout, Fig. 7, take-up hub 70]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kosugi’s apparatus with Doo’s wound electrode with a positive electrode sheet as described for the predictable result of an apparatus for providing Doo’s wound electrode. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. [CN212907831u, as provided on the IDS dated 10/12/2023, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereafter Xu, and in further view Kosugi [US20090239133A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024].
Regarding Claim 20, Xu discloses a wound electrode assembly by winding a positive electrode sheet [Xu n0006, n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, sheet 3], the positive electrode sheet comprising a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches no positive electrode tabs 3a up to fold 2 or 3] and a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, folds 2 or 3 to the end of sheet 3 with up to 3 tabs 3a], wherein the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2 and throughout, plate 3 is continuous]; and the positive electrode sheet and wind the positive electrode winding starting section at least one circle [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches the first positive tabs 3a at fold 2 or 3] .
Xu does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Xu Fig. 2 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Xu and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Xu teaches optimizing the number of positive and negative electrode foil tabs in the battery allows matching between the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode and delithiation rate of the positive electrode [Xu n0019], teaches a ratio of the length of the coated electrode plates is related to the number of tabs [Xu n0035], and teaches no positive electrode tabs for the first few folds [Xu n0036, Fig. 2]. The skilled artisan would know that Xu’s teaching as described demonstrate that some length of the positive electrode without tabs is required to achieve a fast-charging battery with matched delithiation and lithium insertion, making the length of the positive electrode sheet without a tab a result-effective variable. The skilled artisan would also understand that a larger capacity/output battery would require a longer electrode plate than a smaller capacity battery; thus, determining the required percentage of positive electrode plate without tabs at the starting portion of the wound electrode would depend on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II, in consideration of Xu’s teachings. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
Xu is silent to an apparatus comprising providing device and an assembling device. Kosugi teaches a providing device for a positive electrode [Kosugi 0052-0053 and throughout, Fig. 7, reel 62] and an assembling device [Kosugi 0052-0053 and throughout, Fig. 7, take-up hub 70]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kosugi’s apparatus with Xu’s wound electrode with a positive electrode sheet as described for the predictable result of an apparatus for providing Xu’s wound electrode. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For purpose of compact prosecution, alternative rejections of claims 19-20 are provided below:
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo et al. [US20170092926A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024], hereafter Doo, and in further view of Zheng [CN212625655U, as provided in the IDS dated 10/12/2023, machine transition relied upon provided].
Regarding Claim 19, Doo discloses manufacturing method of a wound electrode assembly [Doo 0057-0084], comprising: providing a positive electrode sheet [Doo 0056 and throughout, Figs. 1-7, plate 110 or 110’], the positive electrode sheet comprising a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs and a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab, wherein the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, central portion of 110 or 110’ up to first tab 122 or 122’, plate 110/110’ is continuous]; and arranging the positive electrode sheet in a wound manner and winding the positive electrode winding starting section at least one circle [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, Figs. 2-4 show nearly 2 circles which meets the limitation].
Doo does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Doo Figs. 1-7 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Doo and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Doo teaches that the capacity and output of a battery depends on the volume of the container and the number of tabs [Doo 0007]. The skilled artisan would know that Doo’s teaching about the volume of the container limiting the capacity and output is due to the limit of the total length of electrode plate wound to fit into the container. Thus, the total length of the positive electrode plate for a specific battery size affects the capacity. For example, a larger battery can have a longer electrode plate than a smaller battery. Further, a larger battery/longer electrode plate can accommodate more tabs than a smaller battery with a shorter electrode plate. Both affect capacity and output [Doo 0007]. Thus, the total length of the electrode plate is a result-effective variable and, therefore, the percentage of the percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet would also be a result effective variable depending on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance [Doo 0007, 0024-0026, and throughout]. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation with Doo’s teachings as described, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
For purpose of compact prosecution, Zheng teaches wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet [Zheng 0038-0039 and throughout, Zheng teaches 25% which is within the claimed range. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Zheng’s teaching to Doo’s method. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Zheng’s teaching a of the length of the positive electrode starting section as a percentage of the total length in Doo’s method for the predictable result of a wound assembly with a workable internal resistance [Zheng 0038-0039 and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. [CN212907831u, as provided on the IDS dated 10/12/2023, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereafter Xu, and in further view of Zheng [CN212625655U, as provided in the IDS dated 10/12/2023, machine transition relied upon provided].
Regarding Claim 19, Xu discloses manufacturing method of a wound electrode assembly [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout], comprising:
providing a positive electrode sheet [Xu n0006, n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, sheet 3], the positive electrode sheet comprising a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches no positive electrode tabs 3a up to fold 2 or 3] and a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, folds 2 or 3 to the end of sheet 3 with up to 3 tabs 3a], wherein the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2 and throughout, plate 3 is continuous]; and arranging the positive electrode sheet in a wound manner and winding the positive electrode winding starting section at least one circle [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches the first positive tabs 3a at fold 2 or 3] .
Xu does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5%-30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Xu Fig. 2 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Xu and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Xu teaches optimizing the number of positive and negative electrode foil tabs in the battery allows matching between the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode and delithiation rate of the positive electrode [Xu n0019], teaches a ratio of the length of the coated electrode plates is related to the number of tabs [Xu n0035], and teaches no positive electrode tabs for the first few folds [Xu n0036, Fig. 2]. The skilled artisan would know that Xu’s teaching as described demonstrate that some length of the positive electrode without tabs is required to achieve a fast-charging battery with matched delithiation and lithium insertion, making the length of the positive electrode sheet without a tab a result-effective variable. The skilled artisan would also understand that a larger capacity/output battery would require a longer electrode plate than a smaller capacity battery; thus, determining the required percentage of positive electrode plate without tabs at the starting portion of the wound electrode would depend on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II, in consideration of Xu’s teachings. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
For purpose of compact prosecution, Zheng teaches wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet [Zheng 0038-0039 and throughout, Zheng teaches 25% which is within the claimed range. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Zheng’s teaching to Xu’s method. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Zheng’s teaching a of the length of the positive electrode starting section as a percentage of the total length in Xu’s method for the predictable result of a wound assembly with a workable internal resistance [Zheng 0038-0039 and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo et al. [US20170092926A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024], hereafter Doo, and in further view Kosugi [US20090239133A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024], and in further view of Zheng [CN212625655U, as provided in the IDS dated 10/12/2023, machine transition relied upon provided].
Regarding Claim 20, Doo discloses a wound electrode assembly by winding a positive electrode sheet [Doo 0056 and throughout, Figs. 1-7, plate 110 or 110’] comprising:
a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, central portion of 110 or 110’ up to first tab 122 or 122’]; and
a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, continuing portion of 110 or 110’; wherein: the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Doo Figs. 1-7, plate 110 is continuous]; and the positive electrode winding starting section is wound at least one circle [Doo 0056-0074, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, Figs. 2-4 show nearly 2 circles which meets the limitation] .
Doo does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Doo Figs. 1-7 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Doo and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Doo teaches that the capacity and output of a battery depends on the volume of the container and the number of tabs [Doo 0007]. The skilled artisan would know that Doo’s teaching about the volume of the container limiting the capacity and output is due to the limit of the total length of electrode plate wound to fit into the container. Thus, the total length of the positive electrode plate for a specific battery size affects the capacity. For example, a larger battery can have a longer electrode plate than a smaller battery. Further, a larger battery/longer electrode plate can accommodate more tabs than a smaller battery with a shorter electrode plate. Both affect capacity and output [Doo 0007]. Thus, the total length of the electrode plate is a result-effective variable and, therefore, the percentage of the percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet would also be a result effective variable depending on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance [Doo 0007, 0024-0026, and throughout]. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation with Doo’s teachings as described, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
For purpose of compact prosecution, Zheng teaches wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet [Zheng 0038-0039 and throughout, Zheng teaches 25% which is within the claimed range. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Zheng’s teaching to Doo’s method. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Zheng’s teaching a of the length of the positive electrode starting section as a percentage of the total length in Doo’s method for the predictable result of a wound assembly with a workable internal resistance [Zheng 0038-0039 and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Doo is silent to an apparatus comprising a providing device and an assembling device.
Kosugi teaches a providing device for a positive electrode [Kosugi 0052-0053 and throughout, Fig. 7, reel 62] and an assembling device [Kosugi 0052-0053 and throughout, Fig. 7, take-up hub 70]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kosugi’s apparatus with Doo’s wound electrode with a positive electrode sheet as described for the predictable result of an apparatus for providing Doo’s wound electrode. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. [CN212907831u, as provided on the IDS dated 10/12/2023, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereafter Xu, and in further view Kosugi [US20090239133A1, as provided on the IDS dated 11/25/2024], and in further view of Zheng [CN212625655U, as provided in the IDS dated 10/12/2023, machine transition relied upon provided].
Regarding Claim 20, Xu discloses a wound electrode assembly by winding a positive electrode sheet [Xu n0006, n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, sheet 3], the positive electrode sheet comprising a positive electrode winding starting section not provided with positive electrode tabs [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches no positive electrode tabs 3a up to fold 2 or 3] and a positive electrode winding extension section provided with a positive electrode tab [Xu n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, folds 2 or 3 to the end of sheet 3 with up to 3 tabs 3a], wherein the positive electrode winding starting section and the positive electrode winding extension section are connected [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2 and throughout, plate 3 is continuous]; and the positive electrode sheet and wind the positive electrode winding starting section at least one circle [Xu n0029-n0036 and throughout, Fig. 2, Xu teaches the first positive tabs 3a at fold 2 or 3] .
Xu does not specifically teach the claimed ranges of wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet. It would be expected by the skilled artisan that Xu Fig. 2 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at a percentage of length of the positive electrode winding starting section as compared to the total length of the positive electrode sheet from the prior art of Xu and to further refine the range by routine experimentation with the motivation described below.
Xu teaches optimizing the number of positive and negative electrode foil tabs in the battery allows matching between the lithium insertion rate of the negative electrode and delithiation rate of the positive electrode [Xu n0019], teaches a ratio of the length of the coated electrode plates is related to the number of tabs [Xu n0035], and teaches no positive electrode tabs for the first few folds [Xu n0036, Fig. 2]. The skilled artisan would know that Xu’s teaching as described demonstrate that some length of the positive electrode without tabs is required to achieve a fast-charging battery with matched delithiation and lithium insertion, making the length of the positive electrode sheet without a tab a result-effective variable. The skilled artisan would also understand that a larger capacity/output battery would require a longer electrode plate than a smaller capacity battery; thus, determining the required percentage of positive electrode plate without tabs at the starting portion of the wound electrode would depend on the specific design requirements for the battery such as capacity, output, and resistance. Determining the required range of the percentage length of the positive electrode winding starting section merely requires balancing the design requirements for a specific battery size/configuration as discussed above through routine experimentation, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.05II, in consideration of Xu’s teachings. Further, changing the size and or proportion would be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, changes in size/proportion.
For purpose of compact prosecution, Zheng teaches wherein a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 5% to 30% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet [Zheng 0038-0039 and throughout, Zheng teaches 25% which is within the claimed range. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Zheng’s teaching to Xu’s method. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Zheng’s teaching a of the length of the positive electrode starting section as a percentage of the total length in Xu’s method for the predictable result of a wound assembly with a workable internal resistance [Zheng 0038-0039 and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Xu is silent to an apparatus comprising providing device and an assembling device. Kosugi teaches a providing device for a positive electrode [Kosugi 0052-0053 and throughout, Fig. 7, reel 62] and an assembling device [Kosugi 0052-0053 and throughout, Fig. 7, take-up hub 70]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kosugi’s apparatus with Xu’s wound electrode with a positive electrode sheet as described for the predictable result of an apparatus for providing Xu’s wound electrode. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the anticipation rejections provided in the Office Action dated 5/15/2026; thus, those rejections are withdrawn.
On pgs. 11-17, the applicant argues against Doo’s and Xu’s teachings regarding the length of the positive electrode starting section relative to the total length of the positive electrode sheet as a result-effective variable. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
On pgs. 11-12, the Applicant recites case law and MPEP but does not present specific arguments regarding the rejections.
On pgs. 13-14, Applicant arguments are provided regarding the rejection over Doo. The Examiner has fully considered Applicant arguments and does not find them persuasive. While the Examiner agrees that Doo does not explicitly recite the claimed range, in the recited Office Action, the Examiner references Doo Figs. 1-7 and describes how Doo’s teachings demonstrate that the claimed length is a result-effective variable. First regarding Doo Figs. 1-7, the prior art must be considered for all that it teaches relevant to the examination of claims, included the information in the drawings. Though Doo does not teach the Figs. 1-7 are drawn to scale, it would be expected by the skilled artisan that Doo’s Figs. 1-7 indicate the general dimensional relationships between parts. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the relative dimensions of the portions of the electrode plate (i.e., winding starting section vs. the overall length) from Figs. 1-7, which shows a length to the left of uncoated portion 112, which is the leading edge of the wound assembly or the claimed positive electrode winding starting section, and the total length of the electrode plate 110 and to further refine the lengths of the proportions in view of the battery performance characteristics taught by Doo, such as output, capacity, and internal resistance described throughout. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the relationship between Doo’s positive electrode winding starting section and Doo’s total length of electrode plate 110 is within the claimed range or merely close; thus, it would not be considered novel or nonobvious to claim a range of length % including the length % shown in Figs. 1-7.
Second, regarding the length of the winding section as a result effective variable, as described above, Doo’s invention has a winding starting section which would be considered to be a percentage of the length as shown in Figs. 1-7. Specifically, Doo teaches throughout about the effect of the number of tabs on the performance of the wound assembly [Doo 0006-0007, 0047-0051, and throughout]. Further, Doo teaches tabs on non-coated portions and that the first non-coated portion and the second non-coated portion may be positioned while being spaced apart from each other at a relative center (e.g., being spaced apart radially), not both ends of an entire length of the electrode plate (e.g., not positioned on a respective end of the electrode plate and being spaced apart at an entire length of the electrode plate) [Doo 0049]. Thus, Doo explicitly teaches the electrode tabs are not at the ends of the plate. Thus, per Doo’s teachings, there is a length of the winding starting section. Doo further teaches that the locations of the tabs are varied depending on the number of tabs and that the plurality of tabs are provided to reduce the resistance of the battery to increase output [Doo 0047-0051]. This selection of location of tabs based on the performance requirements and number of tabs would set the workable length range of the winding starting section. Thus, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Doo’s teachings including the relative length dimensions in the Figs. 1-7 and regarding the number of tabs and their placement as taught throughout to determine the workable range of length between the winding center and the first tab (the winding starting section) and its percentage for the specific requirements of capacity, output, and resistance [Doo 0007, 0024-0026, and throughout] for the wound electrode assembly. Thus, the skilled artisan would know that Doo’s teachings regarding the volume of the battery affecting output and capacity are directly related to the length of the electrode plate and Doo’s teachings about the placement of electrode tabs with respect to output and internal resistance are directly related to the length of the winding starting section. Thus, the combination of Doo’s teachings and Figs. 1-7 regarding wound electrode performance, make the determination of the length of each the total electrode plate and the winding starting section result effective variables and thus the percentage of each would also be a result effective variable. Thus, it would be obvious to determine the workable range of each the length of the winding starting section and the total length in view of Doo’s teachings as described above for the required performance of a specific wound assembly through routine optimization (see rejection in the recited Office Action).
Regarding Applicant arguments on pgs. 14-15 against the Examiner’s recitation of MPEP 2144.04 IV, A, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that the Applicant has demonstrated criticality of the specific limitation of length %. In the instant Application, no evidence is provided of the criticality of the lengths of the winding starting section, the total length of the electrode plate, or the relative dimensions. Specifically, no examples are provided demonstrating performance metrics of a wound assembly with the claimed percentage of 5% to 30% being critical as compared to a percentage outside of that range. Likewise, there is no evidence of the criticality of the narrower ranges of claims 3 and 4. See MPEP 716, specifically 716.02(d) regarding evidence required to demonstrate criticality of a claimed range or unexpected results.
Thus, the prior art of Doo applies as provided above.
On pgs. 15-17, Applicant argues against Xu regarding the limitations of % length of the winding starting section. The Examiner has fully considered Applicant arguments and does not find them persuasive. While the Examiner agrees that Xu does not explicitly recite the claimed range, in the recited Office Action, the Examiner references Xu Fig. 2 and describes how Xu’s teachings demonstrate that the claimed length is a result-effective variable. First regarding Xu Fig. 2, the prior art must be considered for all that it teaches relevant to the examination of claims, included the information in the drawings. Though Xu does not teach the Fig. 2 is drawn to scale, it would be expected by the skilled artisan that Xu’s Fig. 2 indicates the general dimensional relationships between parts. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the relative dimensions of the portions of the electrode plate (i.e., winding starting section vs. the overall length) from Fig. 2, which shows a length to the left of the positive electrode plate up to the first tab, or the claimed positive electrode winding starting section, and the total length of the electrode plate and to further refine the lengths of the proportions in view of the battery performance characteristics taught by Xu, such as fast-charging with matched delithiation and lithium insertion described throughout. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the relationship between Xu’s positive electrode winding starting section and Xu’s total length of electrode plate is within the claimed range or merely close; thus, it would not be considered novel or nonobvious to claim a range of length % including the length % shown in Fig. 2.
Second, regarding the length of the winding section as a result effective variable, Xu’s invention has a winding starting section which would be considered to be a percentage of the length as shown in Fig. 2. Specifically, Xu teaches throughout about the effect of the number of tabs on the performance of the wound assembly [Xu 0005, 0019-0022 and throughout] and teaches no tabs on the ends of the electrode plate [Fig. 2 and throughout]. Thus, the number of tabs is a result effective variable directly related to the performance, and per Xu’s teachings, there is a length of the winding starting section prior to the first tab and a total length of the electrode plate both of which are related by geometry to the number of folds. Xu further teaches the number of tabs is two or more [Xu 0030 and throughout] and provides an example with a first tab at fold 2 or 3 for a 15 fold wound electrode [Xu 0036], an example 1 with a first tab at fold 3 for a 23 fold battery [Xu 0039], and an example 2 with a first tab at fold 3 for a 25 fold battery [Xu 0044] and further provides performance results related to the number of tab/fold configurations [Xu 0038-0047]. With Xu’s teaching of the number of tabs and folds combined with Fig. 2, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to determine based on the geometry of the specific electrode assembly the percentage of the electrode plate up to the first tab relative to the total length of electrode plate. Since the number of tabs and folds is a result effective variable, the length up to the first tab and the total length of the electrode plate, which are directly related to the number of tabs and folds based on the geometry of the wound electrode, would also be considered a result effective variable. Thus, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Xu’s teachings to determine the workable range of length between the winding center and the first tab (the winding starting section) and its percentage for a wound electrode assembly with the required cycle performance [Xu 0038-0047 and throughout] through routine optimization (see rejection in the recited Office Action).
Regarding Applicant argument on pg. 16 that Xu’s rate matching result is related to the number of tabs and not the length of the starting section, this argument is found unpersuasive since the number of tabs and number of folds are related to the length of the electrode plate up to the first tab and the length of the electrode plate. Further, the Xu shows the lengths of each in Fig. 2.
In response to applicant's argument on pgs. 16-17 that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., lithium plating at the bending portions of the electrode assembly through a deliberate increase in the internal resistance of the positive electrode winding starting section, bounded so that the temperature rise at the first positive electrode tab remains acceptable) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, in the instant Application, no evidence is provided of the criticality of the lengths of the winding starting section, the total length of the electrode plate, or the relative dimensions. Specifically, no examples are provided demonstrating performance metrics of a wound assembly with the claimed percentage of 5% to 30% being critical as compared to a percentage outside of that range. Likewise, there is no evidence of the criticality of the narrower ranges of claims 3 and 4. See MPEP 716, specifically 716.02(d) regarding evidence required to demonstrate criticality of a claimed range or unexpected results.
Thus, the prior art of Xu applies as provided above.
For these reasons, the evidence of obviousness over the prior art outweighs evidence of novelty and nonobviousness of the instant invention.
Though it was not relied upon in the rejection of claims 1, 3 and 4, for the purpose of compact prosecution, the prior art of Zheng CN212625655U would be considered relevant to the argued length limitations of claims 1, 3, and 4. Zheng’s teaching of a length of the positive electrode winding starting section accounts for 25% of a total length of the positive electrode sheet [Zheng 0038-0039 and throughout]. Zheng’s teachings would be considered to obviate the range of claimed length % of claims 1 and 3, and would be considered merely close to the range of claimed length % of claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724