DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 10, 11, 14-16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al, US Patent Application Publication 2021/0408109 in view of Kwon et al, US Patent Application Publication 2019/0245156 (both as cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate 100 comprising a front panel region DP, a rear panel region PP, and a bending region BP between the front panel region and the rear panel region (figure 12);
a thin film transistor TFT on the substrate, the thin film transistor including an active layer ACT, a gate insulating layer GI, a gate electrode GE, a source electrode SE, and a drain electrode DE;
an interlayer insulating film ILD on the gate electrode of the thin film transistor;
a connection electrode on the interlayer insulating film, the connection electrode electrically connected to the thin film transistor (the drain electrode and source electrode on the op surface of ILD);
an adhesive layer PAS1 on the connection electrode, the adhesive layer including adhesive material;
a planarization layer OC1 on the adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer and the planarization layer is formed with a contact hole exposing at least a portion of the connection electrode;
at least one micro light emitting diode (micro LED) ED disposed on at least a portion of the adhesive layer, the micro LED including a semiconductor layer 111 and another semiconductor layer 113 (figure 5);
a wire electrode AE electrically connecting the semiconductor layer of the micro LED and the connection electrode through the contact hole (figures 3).
Figure 3 of Jang fails to teach a connection wire on the interlayer insulating film apart from the connection electrode, wherein the adhesive layer in on the connection wire, wherein the connection wire extends from the front panel of the substrate to the rear panel through the bending region, wherein the micro LED is an inorganic light emitting element having an inorganic material disposed as a light emitting layer.
However figures 5-6 and [0169] of Jang teaches that an inorganic light emitting diode having an inorganic material disposed as a light emitting layer may also be used as a light emitting diode. Micro light emitting diode chips made of inorganic materials can have advantages of operations for long time and under low currents, such that the colorfulness and resolution of the display device can be increased without increasing the power consumption of the display device, and occurrences of light-mixing can be as well reduced.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a inorganic light emitting diode of figures 5-6 with that of figure 3 because micro light emitting diode chips made of inorganic materials can have advantages of operations for long time and under low currents, such that the colorfulness and resolution of the display device can be increased without increasing the power consumption of the display device, and occurrences of light-mixing can be as well reduced.
Jang fails to teach a connection wire on the interlayer insulating film apart from the connection electrode, wherein the adhesive layer in on the connection wire, wherein the connection wire extends from the front panel of the substrate to the rear panel through the bending region.
Kwon teaches a connection wires 150 on the interlayer insulating film 135 apart from the connection electrode 123/124 (figure 5), wherein the connection wires extend from the front panel of the substrate to the rear panel through the bending region (figures 1-2). The combination of Kwon with that of Jang then meets the limitation of “the adhesive layer in on the connection wire”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with that of Jang because connection wirings are generally-used in a display apparatus to electrically connect the TFT and LED device to the printed circuit board, thereby allowing the display device to electrically function.
Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches a passivation layer 118 covering a side surface of the semiconductor layer or a side surface of the another semiconductor layer (figure 5)
Regarding claims 7, Jang teaches a bank BNK1 on the planarization layer, wherein the bank fills at least a portion of the contact hole (figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Jang teaches a sealing insulation ENC covering the bank, the planarization layer, and the wire electrode (figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Jang teaches a reflection layer CE disposed below the micro LED, the reflection layer including a material that is configured to reflect light emitted from the micro LED (figure 5 and [0153])
Regarding claim 14, Jang teaches the substrate is a flexible substrate (figure 9).
Regarding claim 15, Jang teaches a first connection wire on the front panel region of the substrate, the first connection wires electrically connected to the micro LED; a side wire extending from the first connection wire on the bending region of the substrate, and the second connection wire extending from the side wire on the rear panel region of the substrate, the second connection wire electrically connected to an integrated circuit chip 220 [0201].
Note: [0199] of Jang discloses that pad electrode PD is exposed on the PAS1 and may be electrically connected to a connection line pass through the bending part through a contact hole. This would imply that this connection line would connect to the micro LED and TFT on the first front panel region, then extend from the first connection wire on the bending region of the substrate, then extend from the side wire on the rear panel region of the substrate
Jang and Kwon fail to teach a width of a side wire is wider than a width of a first connection wire or a width of a second connection wire.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 16, Jang teaches a tiling device (figure 7 and [0038]), comprising :a set of display devices 10-1, 10-2, 10-3, 10-4, the set of display devices including the display device of claim 1 , wherein each display device is electrically connected to an adjacent display device, wherein the bending region of the display device of claim 1 is adjacent to another bending region of a substrate of another display device (figures 3 and 9)
Regarding claim 21, Kwon teaches the connection wires extend 150 from the front panel region to the rear panel region, without being cut off (figures 1-2).
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 12, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al, US Patent Application Publication 2020/0168777 in view of Kwon et al, US Patent Application Publication 2019/0245156 (both as cited in previous Office Action)
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate 110 comprising a front panel region (as shown in figure 3),
a thin film transistor T3 on the substrate, the thin film transistor including an active layer SCL, a gate insulating layer 112, a gate electrode GE, a source electrode SE, and a drain electrode DE;
an interlayer insulating film 113 on the gate electrode of the thin film transistor;
a connection electrode PCE on the interlayer insulating film, the connection electrode electrically connected to the thin film transistor
an adhesive layer 114 on the connection electrode, the adhesive layer including adhesive material;
a planarization layer 115 on the adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer and the planarization layer is formed with a contact hole exposing at least a portion of the connection electrode;
at least one micro light emitting diode (micro LED) 150 disposed on at least a portion of the adhesive layer, the micro LED including a semiconductor layer 152 and another semiconductor layer 153 (figure 4 and [0076]);
a wire electrode PE electrically connecting the semiconductor layer of the micro LED and the connection electrode through the contact hole, wherein the micro LED is an inorganic light emitting element having an inorganic material disposed as a light emitting layer (figure 3).
Kang fails to teach a rear panel region, a bending region between the front panel region and the rear panel region, and a connection wire on the interlayer insulating film apart from the connection electrode, wherein the adhesive layer in on the connection wire, wherein the connection wire extends from the front panel of the substrate to the rear panel through the bending region,
However, Kang teaches that substrate 110 may have flexible characteristics [0041]. The reference of Kwon teaches a substrate that has flexible characteristics, which includes a rear panel region (which includes 180 and 190), and a bending region BA/BAX between the front panel region and the rear panel region (figures 1 and 2). Further, Kwon teaches a connection wire 150 on the interlayer insulating film 135 apart from the connection electrode 123/124 (figure 5), wherein the connection wire extends from the front panel of the substrate to the rear panel through the bending region (figures 1-2). The combination of Kwon with that of Jang then meets the limitation of “the adhesive layer in on the connection wire”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwon with that of Jang because flexible substrates are used in the art to allow them to be placed into more electrical components than rigid substrates and connection wirings are generally-used in a display apparatus to electrically connect the TFT and LED device to the printed circuit board, thereby allowing the display device to electrically function.
Regarding claims 2-3, Kang teaches a passivation layer 155 covering a side surface of the semiconductor layer or a side surface of the another semiconductor layer, wherein the planarization layer 115-2 covers a side surface of the passivation layer (figure 3)
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches the planarization layer includes a first planarization layer 115-1 and a second planarization layer 115-2 or 155 on the first planarization layer (figure 3)
Regarding claims 5-6, Kang teaches the second planarization layer is formed with a second contact hole exposing at least a portion of an electrode 156 on the semiconductor layer, and wherein the wire electrode 155 is electrically connected to the electrode through the contact hole, and electrically connects the electrode to the connection electrode, wherein the second planarization layer 115-2 and 155 covers a side surface of the wire electrode and a side surface of the electrode (Figure 3).
Regarding claims 7, Kang teaches a bank 116 on the planarization layer, wherein the bank fills at least a portion of the contact hole (figure 3).
Regarding claims 11-12, Kang teaches a reflection layer 111 disposed below the micro LED, the reflection layer including a material that is configured to reflect light emitted from the micro LED, wherein the reflection layer is disposed below the adhesive layer 114 (figure 3).
Regarding claim 21, Kwon teaches the connection wires extend 150 from the front panel region to the rear panel region, without being cut off (figures 1-2).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and Kwon as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Sakakura et al, US Patent 7,423,373 (as cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 8, Jang and Kwon fail to teach the bank includes a black material.
However, Sakakura teaches black pigment-containing layer is conventionally-used in the art for a bank material in order to make a black matrix (see column 14, lines 1-2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sakakura with that of Jang and Kwon because black pigment-containing layer is conventionally-used in the art for a bank material in order to make a black matrix, which protects the underlying structures from unwanted light interaction.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and Kwon as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim, US Patent 10,153,322 (as cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 9, while Jang teaches the bank extends to cover at least a portion of the front panel region and a rear panel region (figure 12), Jang and Kwon fail to teach the bank extends to cover at least the bending region.
However, Kim teaches that the bank extends 114 to cover at least the bending region (BA, figure 8A), as well in the front panel (and the rear panel). The bank disposed in the active area AA is also disposed in the bending area BA so that the neutral plane NP is raised without performing additional deposition and etching processes, thereby, the tensile force which is applied due to the bending may be reduced and improving the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with that of Jang and Kwon because the bank disposed in the active area AA is also disposed in the bending area BA so that the neutral plane NP is raised without performing additional deposition and etching processes, thereby, the tensile force which is applied due to the bending may be reduced and improving the device.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and Kwon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Son et al, US Patent Application Publication 2018/0190747 (as cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 13, Jang and Kwon fail to teach the interlayer film includes organic material.
Son teaches the interlayer insulation film includes organic material [0104] as one of several material that is conventionally-used in the art for an interlayer insulation layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Son with that of Jang and Kwon because organic material one of several material that is conventionally-used in the art for a interlayer insulation layer.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and Kwon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al, US Patent 10,446,636 (as cited in previous Office Action)
Regarding claim 17, while Jang teaches the substrate is a single substrate 100 formed of a material, Jang, Kwon, and Mao fail to teach transparent insulating material.
Lee teaches transparent insulating material (column 7, lines 35-37) as an appropriate material that is used in the art for a flexible substrate material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Jang, and Kwon because a transparent polymer is an appropriate material that is used in the art for a flexible substrate material.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang and Kwon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin et al, US Patent Application Publication 2020/0350464 (newly submitted)
Regarding claim 23, while Kang teaches the micro LED 150 includes a first portion (above layer 152) including a first electrode 151, a second portion (below layer 152) opposite to the first portion, wherein the adhesive layer is interposed between the second portion of the micro LED and the interlayer insulating film, Kang and Kwon fail to teach the first portion including a second electrode.
However, it is generally-known in the art that micro LED device contain many contain different shapes and structural architecture. One such device is shown in figures 3-4 of Shin, which teaches the first portion including a second electrode, in which both first electrode E1 and second electrode E2 are on the first portion (which is above layer 310 in figure 4) of the micro LED.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin with that of Kang and Kwon because it is generally-known in the art that micro LED device contain many contain different shapes and structural architecture and is dependent upon the design of the electronic component formed.
Regarding claim 24, while Kang teaches the micro LED comprises an active layer 152, a first electrode 151, and a second electrode 153 (figure 3), Kang fails to teach
However, it is generally-known in the art that micro LED device contain many different shapes and structural architecture. One such device is shown in figure 3-4 of Shin, which teaches a first semiconductor layer 310; the active layer 330 disposed on a portion of the first semiconductor layer; a second semiconductor layer 350 disposed on the active layer; the first electrode E2 disposed on and electrically connected to a portion of the first semiconductor layer that is not overlapped by the active layer and the second semiconductor layer; and the second electrode E1 electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are disposed on a same side of the micro LED.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin with that of Kang and Kwon because it is generally-known in the art that micro LED device contain many contain different shapes and structural architecture and is dependent upon the design of the electronic component formed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention including “...a passivation layer covering a side surface of the first semiconductor layer and a side surface of the second semiconductor layer, wherein the planarization layer covers at least a side surface of the passivation layer...” in combination with the remaining limitations of claims 1 and 24. With regards to claim 25, the cited prior art(s) of record teach all of the limitations presented, but fail to recite the limitation above. Further, no other prior art was found that would meet the limitations of these claims, either in anticipatory or in combination with other references. Therefore, claims 25 have been found to be allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 September 2026 with regards to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the cited prior art of record fails to teach the amended limitations of “the micro LED is an inorganic light emitting element having an inorganic material disposed as a light emitting layer”, it is noted that both the reference of Jang and the reference of Kwon teach using a micro LED that is a light emitting element that contains an inorganic materials disposed as the light emitting element.
Figures 5-6 and [0169] of Jang recites “the light-emitting diodes ED may have a size of a micro-meter or a nano-meter, and may be an inorganic light-emitting diode containing an inorganic material. Inorganic light-emitting diodes may be aligned between two electrodes facing each other as polarities may be created by forming an electric field in a particular direction between the two electrodes”, which meets the limitation of this claim.
Figure 3 and [0032] Kang recites “LED elements may include a compound semiconductor, such as gallium nitride (GaN), so a high current can be supplied for the characteristics of an inorganic material. Accordingly, high luminance can be achieved. Further, LED elements may not be easily influenced by the external environment, such as heat, water, and oxygen, so they have high reliability”
While Applicant has argued that these references have employ different light emitting architects, it is noted that claim 1 does not recite a particular architect of the micro LED. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 using the cited prior art of Jang and Kang is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 23 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
QVJ
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899